| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

  • You will lose weight
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.


No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.


For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup,, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet


The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 36, 711 total comments)

N Texas

On Day 2 and feeling a bit drained but I worked out yesterday & today already at Curves. I'm down 3 pounds (of H2O for sure) this AM from yesterday. Planning to jump to a 1300 cal diet as soon as this first week is over.

posted Aug 27th, 2010 2:32 pm


im on day 3 of my cabbage diet. i dont know how much weight i have lost. i dont want to weigh myself yet. but i feel a lil lighter. i hope this really works. i get really bad head aches and i got to the rest room like ten times a day. so i htink it will work.

posted Aug 25th, 2010 1:25 pm

Rebecca Parks Fernandez

**wanting to cleanse / lose weight fast**
I'm on day one- just finished my first bowl of soup. My husband and I had a lot of fun chopping all the veggies in the kitchen, and being non-meat eaters as it is, this doesn't look so much different than what we usually stick with. Wondering how I'm going to feel about it in a few days...

posted Aug 24th, 2010 3:32 pm


Morning of Day 5 , went from 138 to 134.5. No energy to work out, brain is not working because of no carbs. So 3 more days to go, would like to reach 130 but do not know if thats possible. Missing balanced food!

posted Aug 17th, 2010 8:34 am

N Mo

Morning of Day 3 and I've already lost 4 lbs! Ramadan started yesterday so I am also fasting.. but the soup is so filling! I feel so liberated of bad foods.
Going to do this throughout the year, maybe every couple months or so.

posted Aug 12th, 2010 1:42 pm

Alex Anton

I tried this diet about a year ago and I started eating granola and eating very healthy 3 days before I got on this diet. After 3 days of eating extremely healthy and being on the diet for 7 days. I lost a total of 19 lbs. After the diet I didnt eat a hamburger right away I started eating healthier again before eating the greasy foods. I did not gain the weight back though. Great Results but I hated being on the diet.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 6:56 pm


Today is day 4 and it's the first day I have felt bad. I have a head ache and have no energy. If I have one more banana I might get sick! Today is the hardest for me. Can't wait for my steak tomorrow night. I have stuck to this diet 100%. I started out at 152 and today I weighed in at 148. I would like to lose 3 more, we'll see.
Next week I am going to follow the diet but eat tuna instead of the soup. I want to be 135 in less than 2 months!!

posted Aug 5th, 2010 4:40 pm


I started this diet today i am 139 pounds and would like to get down to 130 by the end of the week, so far i feel very full!! so even wonder is this really working?? ate two bowls of soup and 2 mangos, lots of grapes and 2 glases of water so far need to drink more,,,, far so good will see later...

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 10:06 pm


im on day 3 lost 3 already but i am just eating the soup and nothing else, anyone else do that will it still work? starting exercise tonight! i like it so far!

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 12:28 pm


i'm not sure about the chicken thing, what exactly can i eat the day of the chicken thing..?

posted Aug 1st, 2010 1:15 pm


A few suggestions for breaking the monotony of the soup. Blend it, eat it hot or cold. Add different spices like chili powder, cumin, jalapenos, cilantro and fresh lime squeezed in for a Mexican flare. Or...on day 4 add some curry and non fat plain yogurt (sub yogurt for 1 cup of NF milk that's allowed). My fav way is to eat it like Gazpacho. Blend and eat cold with chunks of cucumber, red bell, celery and red onion,Worcestershire and red wine vinegar added (on a veggie day only) Yum. Hope these help for those struggling to get through.

posted Jul 28th, 2010 7:26 pm

suzanne byrne

you definrtly loose the pounds but u really have to stick it out..u also feel very weak and light headed.

posted Jul 27th, 2010 3:51 pm

Mia's Mamma

Here's another tip for those of you who think the soup is bland. You don't have to be Emeril to spice this soup up. Just get some Mrs. Dash (they make several blends) and start adding to the soup mixture. I also tried a Durkee steak seasoning mix. Or just add some garlic and a little salt and pepper. You can make it work for you!

posted Jul 27th, 2010 12:51 pm

Mia's Mamma

I did this diet once in high school (about 12 or 13 years ago) under the supervision of my mother. No, it is not always easy to stick to, but you have to view it like it's only 1 week and you can do it. When I did this diet previously, I lost 20 lbs in the weeks and months subsequent do doing it. I think it's important once you finish this, to maintain reasonable eating habits and exercise. This is a great kick start, or maybe a way to help you out from time to time, but not something you should do all the time. I'm on day two now. Doing just fine and feel just fine. I don't know why some people are complaining of being hungry a lot. Eat more! You can pretty much eat as much of the soup or whatever else you're supposed to eat for the day, unless where specified. Good luck everyone!

posted Jul 27th, 2010 12:49 pm


after day 3 and i was feeling good. i even eat siomai and chinese noodles for lunch, i run for 20mins. i lost 5lbs. day 4 and looking forward for more pounds to lost

posted Jul 9th, 2010 8:55 pm


i am on daytwo i weighed my self this moring an in down 5lbs wow is all i can say

posted Jul 8th, 2010 10:47 pm


im starting my cabbage diet today, I am not into fruits and vegetables thing but since im on summer holiday, it wouldn't be that hard(i hope)...i will be checking your status guys to keep me motivated. thank you for the comments,

posted Jul 6th, 2010 9:38 pm


im starting my cabbage diet today... goodluck to us!

posted Jul 6th, 2010 9:27 pm


perhaps i will start by tomorrow wish me luck and for me FIGHT !!!!!! good luck x_X

posted Jul 3rd, 2010 1:11 am


Day 5 and I am down 9 lbs. It hasn't been as hard as I thought. on day 4 I felt kind of weak but this morning I feel great! Looking forward to eating steak or chicken.

posted Jul 2nd, 2010 9:04 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account