Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 36, 711 total comments)

rachel

i am on day one of the cabbage soup diet and i am enjoying it i have 51 pounds to lose i am now at 189 pounds and ii am 5.3 in hieght.

posted May 12th, 2010 10:16 am


Blakeley

Definitely not the easiest diet in the world ... but whay diet IS easy?! It definitely beats counting calories or drinking meal replacement drinks. I messed up on Day 1 because it just wasn't doing it for me, but got mad at myself for doing that and started over again today. Definitely can feel the lack of energy and concentration, but it's refreshing to know that I am only eating fruits and veggies (in the soup). I am so excited for banana/milk day and meat day! If it's only for 7 days, I know I can do it. May be tough, but I think it will get easier in the next day or so. My mom did this diet and was VERY successful - I think the end results will make one week worth it!! Good luck everyone!

posted May 4th, 2010 1:33 pm


userfile
Celia

I am now on day 6.... I have had lots of energy until today. I kinda pushed to hard yesterday. Almost finished though:) I am down 6 lbs so far. I will be happy to lose just 1 more to meet my 1st goal.

posted May 2nd, 2010 8:08 am


toti

i just started today hope i can make it .
i really need to lose the weight for prom =)))

posted May 1st, 2010 12:53 am


userfile
Celia

I am on day 4... mmm banana's.... so good. I have lost 4.5 lbs so far. I have been running 2 miles a day so far on the diet and have had more energy while dieting than I did before. I do have a slight headache today but its not unbarable. I started at 176.5 and am down to 172. Monday will be my last day. After that I plan to break for a couple of days and then start the grapefruit diet for the rest of the month. I have had alot of sucess with that diet, but its a little more gradual. Good Luck:)

posted Apr 30th, 2010 7:39 am


Linda Renee

I did this diet 11 yrs. ago. I was 212 lb. within 10 months I went down to 134 lb. I was not that same person at all. At that time my waist was the size of my right leg from when I was 212 lb. I was very active though. I gave myself 1 cheat day with moderation. The first week I lost 17 lbs. But I did suffer from head aches and drastic mood swings. With any diet I advise that a well balanced diet is the best way to loose weight. I kept my weight off for 4 yrs but as they years passed and had children all my weight came back. I??m going to try the diet again on Sunday. I hope I have the same willpower now as I had back then.

posted Apr 29th, 2010 1:55 am


jessica

Im starting this cabbage soup diet tomorrow but does it really work? Can u eat any kind of nuts like almonds or anything else or just stick to da 7-day plan..can anyone help

posted Apr 24th, 2010 9:33 pm


sharon

I started today, the only thing long time I had a written Cabbage Soup diet recipte and it included some fruits that should not be eaten

posted Apr 20th, 2010 9:16 am


emma-ray

i started today !! i'm sooo excited !!!

posted Apr 17th, 2010 10:15 am


Jennifer

Morning of day 3 and I've lost 5 lbs!! I know it's hard guys...but you can do it. Just remember...summer is coming and this will all be worth it!

posted Apr 14th, 2010 2:29 pm



suppaszhny

WELLL I JUST GOT ALL MY INGREDIENTS FOR THE CABBAGE SOUP AND ALL OF MY FRUIT FOR THE FIRST DAY. I AM VERY EXCITED AND MOTIVATED. IM NOT BASING MY WEIGHT LOSE ON POUNDS MORE SO ON COMFORT. I CANT AFFORD TO BUY ALL NEW CLOTHES SO I HV TO LOSE SOME WEIGHT TO GET BACC IN THE ONES I HV. I WILL CONSIDER MY WEIGHT LOSE A SUCCESS WHEN I DONT HAVE MUFFIN TOP OVER MY JEANS AND HAVE TO UNBUTTON THEM TO EAT LOL WISH ME LUCK

posted Apr 12th, 2010 8:14 pm


Angela

Okay day 4 is easiest so far. The banana's are really filling and I lost my craving for reeses (which i'd been craving since day one). I'm trying the custard recipe from below, I have my banana's freezing right now. :)

posted Apr 8th, 2010 2:35 pm


Angela

I'm on the morning of day three and have already lost 4 lbs. I almost didn't make it through yesterday but after seeing how much weight I lost in 2 days was encouraging. Today should be easier as I can eat fruit and veggies. The soup came out really delicious too! So far no headaches, but I did get diarrea yesterday. The first two days are the hardest I think...

posted Apr 7th, 2010 9:32 am


Averi

The night before day 4 I freeze 8 cut up bananas. On day four i take the bananas and blend them with 1/4 cup of skim milk... it makes perfectly delicious banana custard/ice cream!!!! I love day 4!!!!!!

posted Apr 5th, 2010 3:55 pm


Jeannie

tyann

LOL you want to know what else people did to lose 20-25 pounds in one week on this diet?

MY guess is they cut off a limb! lol

posted Mar 28th, 2010 6:30 pm


Jeannie

Mrs M

LOL are you kidding? " not worth the trouble of cooking" you say? It's the easiet thing in the world to cook
Actually, it is healthy for the ONE WEEK it's said to follow
What is not healthy about cutitng out JUNK, surgars, diet cokes, too much fat etc etc and ADDING more fruits and veggies that most if not all of us need more of
More and more research keeps showing how less food is healthier and adds years to our lives too!
I have not experienced any adverse affects and I am on day 7 now.
I have actually been working out more intensely than before the diet.
Every day I have done weight/resistance with more resistance than before AND i added running OUTSIDE to that
No headaches, no lightheadedness at all....
I have felt TOO FULL at times from all the water and eating dinner when i was not even hungry

posted Mar 28th, 2010 6:27 pm


Enj28

i started a few days ago nd not seeing much but i enjoy the soup its filling

posted Mar 27th, 2010 8:15 pm


OH CANADA

Day 2 Started at 170 Pounds
Lost a Whopping 5 pounds and this is my second day. I thought the scale was broke. how is that possible to lose so much so fast. Now at 165 Pounds. My Goal is 145 pounds. Ps I am starving:( See ya tomorrow when I just on the scale again.

posted Mar 25th, 2010 12:08 pm


OH CANADA

Is an orange a Fruit, Vegetable, or a Berry? And if you search the internet seems like no one really knows lol.... So can I eat it I am starving and only into the first day:(

posted Mar 24th, 2010 2:16 pm


OH-CANADA

CONGRATULATIONS to everyone:)

Day 1----- 170 Pounds

My Goal is 145 Pounds

Stayed tuned...

posted Mar 24th, 2010 9:35 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account