Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 35, 700 total comments)

Angela

Okay day 4 is easiest so far. The banana's are really filling and I lost my craving for reeses (which i'd been craving since day one). I'm trying the custard recipe from below, I have my banana's freezing right now. :)

posted Apr 8th, 2010 2:35 pm


Angela

I'm on the morning of day three and have already lost 4 lbs. I almost didn't make it through yesterday but after seeing how much weight I lost in 2 days was encouraging. Today should be easier as I can eat fruit and veggies. The soup came out really delicious too! So far no headaches, but I did get diarrea yesterday. The first two days are the hardest I think...

posted Apr 7th, 2010 9:32 am


Averi

The night before day 4 I freeze 8 cut up bananas. On day four i take the bananas and blend them with 1/4 cup of skim milk... it makes perfectly delicious banana custard/ice cream!!!! I love day 4!!!!!!

posted Apr 5th, 2010 3:55 pm


Jeannie

tyann

LOL you want to know what else people did to lose 20-25 pounds in one week on this diet?

MY guess is they cut off a limb! lol

posted Mar 28th, 2010 6:30 pm


Jeannie

Mrs M

LOL are you kidding? " not worth the trouble of cooking" you say? It's the easiet thing in the world to cook
Actually, it is healthy for the ONE WEEK it's said to follow
What is not healthy about cutitng out JUNK, surgars, diet cokes, too much fat etc etc and ADDING more fruits and veggies that most if not all of us need more of
More and more research keeps showing how less food is healthier and adds years to our lives too!
I have not experienced any adverse affects and I am on day 7 now.
I have actually been working out more intensely than before the diet.
Every day I have done weight/resistance with more resistance than before AND i added running OUTSIDE to that
No headaches, no lightheadedness at all....
I have felt TOO FULL at times from all the water and eating dinner when i was not even hungry

posted Mar 28th, 2010 6:27 pm


Enj28

i started a few days ago nd not seeing much but i enjoy the soup its filling

posted Mar 27th, 2010 8:15 pm


OH CANADA

Day 2 Started at 170 Pounds
Lost a Whopping 5 pounds and this is my second day. I thought the scale was broke. how is that possible to lose so much so fast. Now at 165 Pounds. My Goal is 145 pounds. Ps I am starving:( See ya tomorrow when I just on the scale again.

posted Mar 25th, 2010 12:08 pm


OH CANADA

Is an orange a Fruit, Vegetable, or a Berry? And if you search the internet seems like no one really knows lol.... So can I eat it I am starving and only into the first day:(

posted Mar 24th, 2010 2:16 pm


OH-CANADA

CONGRATULATIONS to everyone:)

Day 1----- 170 Pounds

My Goal is 145 Pounds

Stayed tuned...

posted Mar 24th, 2010 9:35 am


Luc

Well I've done it!! the seven day cabbadge soup really worked well for me. But keep in mind that I'm an avide runner and kept at a reduce pace my running activities. I stuck to diet like a text book and lost 11 pounds in seven days. I never felt light headed or any discomfort other than feeling hungry at night. I would not waste my time and write these comments if it would not have worked for me!!! don't take my word for it, give it a try.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 6:55 am


Amanda

I have been on the diet for 3 days now and I dont see alot of weight lost??? I mean I have done everything by the book so far and im drink lots and lots of water. Please someone tell me what else I can do to lose 10 pounds in the week.
thank you

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 2:09 pm


Marina

Im starting day 5, and i've lost a total of 5lbs-6lbs. Wooo I was ecstatic, never have I seen numbers on a scale drop so rapidly. yes, it may be water weight, but whatever, it's motivating AS HELL.

posted Mar 19th, 2010 3:49 pm


callie

In all honesty, ive done this diet various times over the last 5 years.
I've lost almost 200 pounds.

posted Mar 18th, 2010 7:06 pm


Laura

I roasted my tomatoes, peppers and onions before I blended them with boiled carrot, stir fried cabbage and raw celery. I used red peppers too because they're much better for you and it's pretty tasty to be honest.

posted Mar 16th, 2010 6:38 am


belaynesh

I did the 7 day/cabbage soup diet and it was physically uncomfortable. I had headaches off and on, it was hard to concentrate and I didn't have a lot of energy. By day 3 i felt kinda nauseus and light headed by the end of the day. I used more olive oil in cooking then recommended and some days I was so weak, I'd eat stir fry veggies or fruit even if the day didn't call for it.

I lost a couple of pounds, lost my sugar craving and started doing a new nutritional plan with way more calories and way more food options. Also, totally stopped eating the soup after day 3. the thought of smelling or eatingit made me wanna hurl. wouldn't do this diet again or recommend it.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 10:36 pm


Vanessa

I love the soup! I feel great and know that it works because I have already lost 8lbs in just 5 days. Keep with it and the reward will be seen at the end of your weight loss journey! Be sure to have your healthy eating plan already in place after you lose all of the weight that you want to lose. That is key; to making this a permanent solution!

posted Mar 12th, 2010 1:09 pm


nadz

doesnt work i passed out and had a consion... beacuse i was sooo tired. It lacks nutrition. STOP the crazyness just eat healthy meaning...stop eating meat, suger, and salt, DUHHH. AAND EXCERSIE

posted Mar 12th, 2010 9:05 am


Maya

I started on Monday and today was my 3rd day; I lost only 1 lb. I was wondering to know if I am doing something wrong or I have to wait until the last day to see how much I lose? any comment?

posted Mar 11th, 2010 2:25 am


nicole

I started this diet on Monday today is day two and i have lost 3.1 lbs. It is very hard and yesterday I was so grummy and I was so hungry I had to bring myself to eat a very light salad because I was getting a headache from not eating much of anything. It is a great way to lose weight just have to have teh will power.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 1:49 pm


Lee

I did the CSD late 2008 for 4 weeks and lost 36 pounds. I am 5'6" and went from 148 pounds to 112 pounds. Afterwards I stuck to a low fat, low sugar eating plan.

It's now Mar 2010 and I've only gained 4 pounds back but will do the CSD again for 1-2 weeks. I add more cabbage than recommended, puree the soup and add some chilli. We don't have Lipton in Australia so I just add a lentil soup mix. It's very thick and very filling.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 9:46 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account