| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 217 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

  • You will lose weight
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.


No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.


For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup,, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet


The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 36, 716 total comments)


day 4 - feeling pretty good after I ate a huge banana and an apple - I was really hungry when I woke up. My skin is surprisingly softer and moisturize :) and my hubby told me I look skinnier .... i haven't weight myself since I started and wont until I'm finish... I will certainly let you know if this diet WORK OR NOT? but I can see how I'm gonna be able to eat healthier after this.... it really helps kick the carb addiction good bye.

posted Jan 27th, 2011 6:35 pm


im on my 3rd day and i am feeling it i am really tried. i pray i loose weight. i need to . i feel like giving up

posted Jan 27th, 2011 3:21 pm


WOW day 3 is a lot easier!

posted Jan 26th, 2011 7:56 pm


day 2 - feeling good, biggest obstacle is that this diet is boring, miss having my latte and muffin in the morning. Soup is pretty good, but I am bored. I'm still cooing regular food for my family, so I get to smell delicious things I cant have - I will be strong :)

posted Jan 25th, 2011 4:05 pm


Started this diet yesterday. Today was the day I dreaded as I'm not too keen on veg other than potatoes, corn and peas, none of which I can have apart from my baked potato tonight which I am looking forward to (pathetically). I think the first 3 days will be the worst as there is no variety. Look forward to the milk and bananas and then steak, which now seems like such a treat. I want to lose about 7-10lbs and then keep to a healthier diet. I have had black tea today even though it doesn't say I can but there are no calories in it so can't see the harm. Also I'm eating rocket which i love so hope that's ok. The soup is ok but i added garlic pepper and mixed herbs. Think i'll be sick of it by Sunday. My husband does a physical job so comes home and has hot toast and butter after work which I am trying not to see (I can still smell it though!) I'm not particularly hungry but would love normal food now. Could never be a vegetarian.

posted Jan 25th, 2011 2:29 pm


I started this diet yesterday so am only eating the soup and some veg today. Not feeling too hungry but really looking forward to my baked potato and butter tonight. Not sure about black coffee but am having black tea twice a day as I can't not have a hot drink all day. Today I have already lost a couple of lbs. Good luck to everyone else going through it at the moment!

posted Jan 25th, 2011 2:00 pm


I'm starting today, first time user :) we'll see you it goes - feeling pretty good right now!! is coffee ok?

posted Jan 24th, 2011 6:25 pm


I am starting this diet tomorrow. I had tried this diet last summer and i lost a tremendous amount of weight. During this winter i have not been up to date with exercising etc. I have gain a pound or two and i am not happy with that. So i will definitely be more discipline this time around. The cabbage soup diet is the best kick start!!

posted Jan 24th, 2011 1:07 am


Well, I'm starting it next monday, just to see how it works, if it does, I'm planning on doing it every last week of the month?

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 7:49 am


hello i have done the diet for 2 weeks now and lost 18pounds am so please and i am still gona carry on with the cabbage diet but am going to cut down on it and start just eating healthy doing loads off situps help shift the weight quicker why ur on the diet! :)

posted Jan 21st, 2011 1:22 pm


I pureed my soup, which makes it much more palatable. Also, first batch I made Italian style (added garlic, chillies and oregano and freshly chopped parsley or basil when serving), second batch, Moroccan style (added cumin, hot curry powder, ginger powder, cardamon seeds and turmeric, fresh chopped cilantro or mint when serving). I don't get bored with it, as I made them taste good without cheating. Am on banana day today, which is the hardest so far. Bad taste in my mouth, feeling tired (I have been doing strenuous walks though), but ok to see out the week. Have lost nearly 3kg's so far.

posted Jan 20th, 2011 6:52 pm


so im starting the diet 2marrow any advice on that i want to lose 70pounds so im hoping this will be a jump start what kind of diet should i do after i finish the soup diet

posted Jan 17th, 2011 4:40 pm


day 4 today and i have lost 8 lbs so far
i like the soup but i am happy not to have every day !!!lol

posted Jan 14th, 2011 3:22 pm


Ok, the reason why you loose weight on Cabbage soup in that it is an aromatase inhibitor. It blocks the production of estrogen. Most people gain weight because of hormone imbalances.

posted Jan 11th, 2011 3:07 am


OK I lost 5lbs, and he lost 10lbs wheres the fairness in that! I am disappointed when you see some people on here losing at least 10lbs and some more, but the good thing is my bacon and egg tasted abosutely like heaven this morning, (Slimming world of course)

posted Jan 8th, 2011 3:37 pm


Last day just eaten my rice and veg, good job really i am sooooo sick of veg soup. I hope that the weigh in, in the morning shows that all this has been worth it. Not sure my husbands moods have been worth the support of him doing it with me, and I will probably be savage if he loses more weight than me but I am optimistic watch this space....

posted Jan 7th, 2011 7:34 pm


My soup is cooking right now.....I tried this diet few years ago and couldn't finish it succesfully...:((( I will try again and hopefully, with the help of my knowdlege now, I will stick with it....

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:20 am


@ Ivette
i'll join in with you!!! a tad late but I started mine today!
I'm 29, 5'0 and now weigh 115. A few years back i was reaaally healthy and very active and i weighed 102lbs (i'm a small frame and was lean). I got together with my bf about 2 n half years ago so i put on some "happy" weight since we always went out. Well now i not only have my best friends bachelorette in Mexico in May but my brothers wedding in July. I lack motivation even though it's all staring me in my face!!!! Ahhh!

Never done this diet before but today was my first day. I see so many different ranges of weight lost...some ppl 6lbs some people 16. I'm gonna go in the middle and hope that i lose about 8-9?
So far so good. Soups good too!
Anyone my size and age had any luck?

Ivette .....keep me posted :)

Good luck everyone!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 6:53 am


Cabbage soup my arse its vegetable soup really, you can make it taste much better with spices and stuff, husband agreed to do it with me, not sure that was a good idea. He's a grumpy little oink at the best of times, this had made him worse and I've never heard so much moaning although he now feels much better and we're only on day 5. Even if I don't lose any weight it has made us really take a good hard look at actually what we have been eating ! Not going back there

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:38 pm


day 6 ... I have lost 4 pounds so far, which is not a lot. I have not had any problem with this diet since I started, no sickness, still full of energy. The meat day is awesome :)

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 12:55 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account