Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 36, 702 total comments)

bigbird

OK I lost 5lbs, and he lost 10lbs wheres the fairness in that! I am disappointed when you see some people on here losing at least 10lbs and some more, but the good thing is my bacon and egg tasted abosutely like heaven this morning, (Slimming world of course)

posted Jan 8th, 2011 3:37 pm


bigbird

Last day just eaten my rice and veg, good job really i am sooooo sick of veg soup. I hope that the weigh in, in the morning shows that all this has been worth it. Not sure my husbands moods have been worth the support of him doing it with me, and I will probably be savage if he loses more weight than me but I am optimistic watch this space....

posted Jan 7th, 2011 7:34 pm


ingrid

My soup is cooking right now.....I tried this diet few years ago and couldn't finish it succesfully...:((( I will try again and hopefully, with the help of my knowdlege now, I will stick with it....

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:20 am


CaboInMAY!!!

@ Ivette
i'll join in with you!!! a tad late but I started mine today!
I'm 29, 5'0 and now weigh 115. A few years back i was reaaally healthy and very active and i weighed 102lbs (i'm a small frame and was lean). I got together with my bf about 2 n half years ago so i put on some "happy" weight since we always went out. Well now i not only have my best friends bachelorette in Mexico in May but my brothers wedding in July. I lack motivation even though it's all staring me in my face!!!! Ahhh!

Never done this diet before but today was my first day. I see so many different ranges of weight lost...some ppl 6lbs some people 16. I'm gonna go in the middle and hope that i lose about 8-9?
So far so good. Soups good too!
Anyone my size and age had any luck?

Ivette .....keep me posted :)

Good luck everyone!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 6:53 am


bigbird

Cabbage soup my arse its vegetable soup really, you can make it taste much better with spices and stuff, husband agreed to do it with me, not sure that was a good idea. He's a grumpy little oink at the best of times, this had made him worse and I've never heard so much moaning although he now feels much better and we're only on day 5. Even if I don't lose any weight it has made us really take a good hard look at actually what we have been eating ! Not going back there

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:38 pm


Sam

day 6 ... I have lost 4 pounds so far, which is not a lot. I have not had any problem with this diet since I started, no sickness, still full of energy. The meat day is awesome :)

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 12:55 am


Ivette

Thanks for your reviews. I will give it a try. Hopefully, some else could join me, to start on January 1, 2010.

posted Dec 31st, 2010 4:52 am


Sam

My first day today, and already lost almost 2lbs at the end of the night :) too soon to tell but it is looking good so far.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 8:13 am


Vanessa

I have completed this diet back in March 2010 when i was 94 kilos. I did this for 1 week & managed to lose 7 kilos.

This diet was a kick start to better eating and 7 months later i now weigh 30 kilos lighter.

You must stick to this diet & NOT cheat!
Keep your goal in your head & its only for 1 week.

posted Dec 7th, 2010 1:58 am


KimmyK

I tried this diet two weeks ago and lasted 4 days. Did not loose an inch in that 4 days and got very pissed and quit. I'm ussually not a quitter but when pips confess to loosing 5-7 lbs in two days, how would I not be devilshly pissed if my weight is not shifting doing the same thing.

I tried again this week, same..I"ll never been caught dead eating cabbage again. I HATE cabbage. Goodluck to those loosing weight...you're the lucky, blessed ones.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 3:14 pm


Ani

Well today is my first day on this diet... I've had an apple and a orange so far and a un sweetened green tea,... kinda have a headache but about to eat my soup soon... Instead of chopping my veggies I actually grinded them into very thin thin thiiiin pieces so I can hold it down lol... Im not a big fan of cabbage... My friend who is doing the diet with me as of today told me she lost 10 lbs 2 years ago when she did this diet and hopefully it will work for me... for some reason I feel like I have hit a brick wall and cant lose any more weight... :( I will keep you guys posted !!!

posted Dec 1st, 2010 7:43 pm


Jenny

I'm on day 7 and in total I've list 10lbs. Gone down from 158 to 149. The diet was hard at times. I stuck to chili and garlic stir fried veg on the veg days and dud not cheat. In worried about tomorrow and going back to normal but aim to be careful. Would defo recommend!

posted Dec 1st, 2010 7:23 pm


Claire

Since I lasted posted on November 2nd I thought I'd post an update.

I ended up losing a total of 7lbs during my diet and I was quite pleased. I stayed off for two weeks and continued to maintain my new weight rather easily [I even lost a couple of lbs].

This week again, I have decided to follow the diet again, because I feel I need another extra push.

This time round it has been so much harder. I'm one of those that can't eat the same thing over and over and I'm sick of it. I'm going to continue because all in all I've lost 12lbs and I'm determined to lose those 17 extra lbs.

It IS easy to keep the weight off that you have lost but not having a sweet tooth works in your favour.

posted Nov 25th, 2010 7:56 pm


Desparate for weight loss

I did this diet 5 years back but two babies and a busy schdule later I am where I started from. I have started this again. Today is day 3. I already feel so light and CLEANSED...really its an awesome feeling. My poor body had to digest all the crap I used to put down my throat now I feel my body is relaxing...Its sad but my baby is a year old and I still have the baby belly ;( so I am so in for it and it has worked AWESOME for me in the past so I am hooked. Best of luck to everyone else.

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:47 pm


yup

well im on day too ive been on a strict no sugar diet for two day before this and have ran about a mile a day and lift light weights as i am trying to lose fat not gain muscle 1 was at 265 now at 255 was at 25 percent body fat now at 22 im saying something is working

posted Nov 11th, 2010 7:03 pm


Emma

Hi guys, this is a great site I am on day 4 of the diet and read all the comments on here to keep me motivated. I haven't cheated at all and am looking forward to beef and tomato day tomorrow!!
Can anyone tell me if you have noticed the weight loss after one week in your clothes or the way you look?
xx

posted Nov 5th, 2010 6:42 pm


Claire

Started my diet five days ago, I have lost 5 lbs so far. I'm 5ft 1 and weighed 155lbs at the start. I have cheated a little eating a veggie burger and had a bite of a sausage sandwich.

The first batch I made was as online recipes stated and was awful so I binned it and instead I used half a cabbage head, a bit of broccoli and to make it sweeter, 3 large parsnips and one butternut squash.

I also added bay leaves, tarragon, salt, pepper and mixed herbs and I strongly recommend adding parsnips and squash to make it a lot more palatable.
I also made shakes out of the banana and skimmed milk and I was sooo full. Definately not a starvation diet, although I felt weak on my first day, I now have so much energy!

To answer people's questions:
Eat the veg and soup water
Make a new batch every 3 days otherwise it ferments
You can subsititute the bananas with pears and kiwi fruit
You can substitute the beef for skinless chicken breasts
The more you eat of the soup the more you lose

You will be gassy as H*** for the first three days but this will pass. The gas is the bad stuff coming out.

posted Nov 2nd, 2010 11:57 pm


Ke

I am now on my third day of the diet, and following each step, and not cheating. however, I haven't lost any weight at all. Are we really suppose to eat the soup as much as we want???? HELP!!!

posted Nov 2nd, 2010 9:03 pm


Jenn

Hi. I started the diet today and it's been a little hard because I got myself used to be ating like there's no tomorrow. I was 112 6 months ago but have been staing home since then and eating like there's no tomorrow so I'm up to 130 now. I went to the gym and my energy was same as always, can't wait 'til tomorrow to weight myself !

posted Oct 27th, 2010 10:51 pm


Lillian

Shaddyanne - No, you won't. If you're drinking 6-8 glasses of water a day and are exercising properly, you will NOT be losing water weight - it will be real weight loss. I did this diet over a year ago and lost 11 pounds - and I've not gained it back. Perhaps you should actually try the diet and do it correctly before you go making statements that everyone who tries it will gain the weight back.

posted Oct 16th, 2010 10:53 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account