Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 36, 711 total comments)

dab

Stepped on the scale this morning and I am pumped! Down 4 #s! HOOT HOO! My husband is doing this diet with me and it is a win-win. He is a heartburn suffferer so bad that he has been on prilosec for a couple years. He couldn't go a day without it or he would suffer that night. This diet does not include coffee... and guess what? He quit the coffee and no more heartburn or prilosec! (avid coffee drinker) He had a bit of indigestion yesterday on the bananas but did not have to take a prilosec as the heartburn passed. We were a bit discouraged yesterday morning as we had only seen a loss of 1 # each. He stepped on the scale this morning and he was down 6#s! He is so pleased with that. He was 182, went down to 176, and I think after these 3 days, he could conceivably see 172 which is where he would like to be. So if you are patient and true to the diet... IT WORKS!!! (p.s. still love the soup! I think I will make it to keep on hand in the freezer and anytime I need a day of less... soup it will be!)

posted Feb 11th, 2011 4:01 pm


madge

day 4 today only down 2lbs not happy with that.i'll stick it out and see what happens.i'm hoping for 6-8 lb loss fingers crossed

posted Feb 11th, 2011 8:57 am


Dab

I am on day 4. I am only down 1 lb at this point. I am so hoping to drop at least 5 or 6. I have been following the diet to a T so am not quite sure why the weight is not coming off. The food allowed for this diet is way more food than I normally eat in a day. It's all delicious food to me. I am going to beef up my water as I see a lot of people recommended that. Hopefully that will help. If it works, I will be doing it again in a couple weeks.

posted Feb 10th, 2011 6:10 pm


madge

am starting csd tomorrow wish me luck. current weight 197lbs

posted Feb 7th, 2011 10:51 am


userfile
SpicyShar

So I quit the diet....for so many reasons Its just not worth starving myself to lose lbs.....so i revised it to fit my style since I did like the soup but eating it every day all day is just bad for business....but I wish every1 else much luck

posted Feb 3rd, 2011 5:14 pm


chubbynurse

I tried this soup today and while it tasted great, PLEASE BE AWARE that this soup can and will drastically lower your blood sugar very quickly. It happened to me and I am now having to take measures to keep my blood sugar levels up. This is a life threatening situation. Please, PLEASE consult your doctor before starting this diet, especially if you are prone to low blood sugars.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 7:52 pm


userfile
SpicyShar

Day 2
Its morning I went to bed soooo hungry atleast today I get to eat a potato...I'm trying to stick it out cause its only 7 days but I'm a tad bit constipated and a little confused......So far not liking this diet

Since yesterday I lost 2 lbs

SW 165 (Jan 31st)
CW 163
GW 135-140

posted Feb 1st, 2011 1:45 pm


carrot

Hi there, just a quick question for those who say Cabbage diet is lacking in unhealthy and dangerous??? How can it be, all of the food recommended with this diet is good for you, I can understand that it's low in calorie, but not dangerous.. All diets are bad, not that I have try this diet but, all the food mention on this diet your recommended to have ever day.

Surely is healthier than Shake meal replacements, Special K and so on..

So I would like someone who Knows more about food to tell me why is't dangerous???????

posted Jan 31st, 2011 10:18 pm


userfile
SpicyShar

Today is my first day and I'm almost have through but I'm starving and I have a headache.....I know the 1st day is the hardest so I'm going to suck it up....but I gotta be honest if I haven't lost anything when I get up tomorrow I may be cutting these 7 days short

posted Jan 31st, 2011 9:02 pm


gordita30

I lost 5 pounds, not bad, but I was hoping to loose more. Still pretty good, since it help me kick start my diet and I no longer crave carbs the way I use to.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:47 pm


Determined

I've done this diet several times throughout my life. Sometimes I completed it and sometimes I didn't. It is not easy but if followed by the book...definitely works! I've lost btwn 10-12 lbs. in 7 days every time I followed it correctly. You do put the weight right back and then some if you run straight to McDonalds when it's over. You really need to have a game plan as far as food and excercise when you get off this diet. It's a great way to jump start your weight loss. I am starting the CSD tomorrow. Very excited.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 4:50 am


userfile
SpicyShar

So I'm going to try this out....I haven't told anyone because I typically don't stick with these type of things but we'll see how it goes

posted Jan 30th, 2011 5:12 pm


lisa

I am going to start sunday any ideas for me can i still drink coffee??

posted Jan 29th, 2011 5:59 am


yazz

its my 4th day, i havn't lost any weight . i dont know if this is working 4 me . sm1 advice me plz

posted Jan 28th, 2011 1:38 pm


Cassie

I tried this diet once by myself and couldn't finish it, but tried a second time w/ a partner and finished it fine. It can be challenging at times, but at the end of the week I felt SO much better. I experienced dizziness, weakness, and fatigue throughout the week, but it was worth it. 10 lbs gone, and I am more motivated than ever to continue my weight loss mission with weight watchers. LOVE this "cleanser."

posted Jan 27th, 2011 7:12 pm


gordita30

day 4 - feeling pretty good after I ate a huge banana and an apple - I was really hungry when I woke up. My skin is surprisingly softer and moisturize :) and my hubby told me I look skinnier .... i haven't weight myself since I started and wont until I'm finish... I will certainly let you know if this diet WORK OR NOT? but I can see how I'm gonna be able to eat healthier after this.... it really helps kick the carb addiction good bye.

posted Jan 27th, 2011 6:35 pm


yazz

im on my 3rd day and i am feeling it i am really tried. i pray i loose weight. i need to . i feel like giving up

posted Jan 27th, 2011 3:21 pm


gordita30

WOW day 3 is a lot easier!

posted Jan 26th, 2011 7:56 pm


gordita30

day 2 - feeling good, biggest obstacle is that this diet is boring, miss having my latte and muffin in the morning. Soup is pretty good, but I am bored. I'm still cooing regular food for my family, so I get to smell delicious things I cant have - I will be strong :)

posted Jan 25th, 2011 4:05 pm


tor

Started this diet yesterday. Today was the day I dreaded as I'm not too keen on veg other than potatoes, corn and peas, none of which I can have apart from my baked potato tonight which I am looking forward to (pathetically). I think the first 3 days will be the worst as there is no variety. Look forward to the milk and bananas and then steak, which now seems like such a treat. I want to lose about 7-10lbs and then keep to a healthier diet. I have had black tea today even though it doesn't say I can but there are no calories in it so can't see the harm. Also I'm eating rocket which i love so hope that's ok. The soup is ok but i added garlic pepper and mixed herbs. Think i'll be sick of it by Sunday. My husband does a physical job so comes home and has hot toast and butter after work which I am trying not to see (I can still smell it though!) I'm not particularly hungry but would love normal food now. Could never be a vegetarian.

posted Jan 25th, 2011 2:29 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account