Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 218 reviews
Cabbage Soup Diet

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Cabbage Soup Diet is a weight loss plan said to be a short term solution for 10 pounds of weight loss in a week. It emphasizes eating an unlimited amount of cabbage soup, and many different websites offer different variations.

Generally, one is allowed to eat certain added fruits and vegetables depending on the day of the diet. It’s unknown who came up it with this plan, but it’s believed to have started in the 1980’s. It’s considered a crash diet, and much like other similar diets is advised only for a few days with no guarantee of long term weight loss. Our experts reviewed many diets and found the 18Shake Diet to be the best solution for weight loss. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link found here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cabbage Soup Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The Cabbage Soup Diet dies not rely on diet pills or pre-packaged foods, all the food eaten have to be prepared. One website that promotes the Cabbage Soup Diet says:

“not suitable for long-term weight loss”

It’s instead intended:

“If you have a special occasion coming up or you simply need to lose weight fast”

Often it will be advised that in order to maintain the diet one should follow these rules:

  • Drink a minimum of 4 glasses of water.
  • Take a multivitamin.
  • Eating as much soup as possible, not starving oneself.
  • Introducing different recipes to avoid boredom.

A 2 week break is recommended for people who want to restart the diet. Cabbage isn’t the only produce allowed; one can also add things like onions, celery, asparagus, zucchini, squash, barley, some meats, and many different seasonings.

Though this can be healthy, relying on it solely can potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies. Web MD also adds:

“this crash diet won’t help you in the long run, and it doesn’t give your body the nutrients it needs to stay healthy”

Furthermore, they add:

“Health experts don’t recommend following very low-calorie diets unless you’re under a doctor’s care”

This is due to there being numerous damaging health effects that the diet can have. A list of the highest rated diet plans is found in the link provided here.

The results of this diet are not likely to continue, as Web MD confirms:

“you’ll like regain any weight that you lose”

“It will likely leave you feeling hungry, weak, and bored. You might even feel sick”

This is because there’s a lack of adequate food options. It’s not offered as a long term solution, and instead is said to be a quick weight loss solution. There’s one Cabbage Soup Diet website that admits:

“A lot of people quit because the soup can be a bit bland, and they quickly tire of eating it every day”

There are several considerations to keep in mind. It’s not recommended for long-term use, and it’s believed the only reason one might lose weight is due to water weight and not fat. Live Strong.com adds:

“It’s possible to lose as much as 20 pounds of body weight during one week, most of which is water”

This is likely the reason why one sees any weight loss from this diet, since it’s low in carbohydrates and high in fluids, most water weight is flushed out of the body. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet”, many customers regained their weight as soon as they stopped the diet.

One popular variation of the diet allows for the following:

  • Day one: Unlimited fruit except for bananas alongside water, tea, and coffee.
  • Day two: No fruit, only raw vegetables and one baked potato
  • Day three: Unlimited fruits and vegetables except for potatoes and bananas.
  • Day four: 8 bananas and unlimited skimmed milk.
  • Day five: 6 tomatoes and 565g of beef
  • Day six: Unlimited vegetables and beef but no potatoes.
  • Day seven: Some brown rice and sugar free fruit juice.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 diet plans is offered in the link provided here.       

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cabbage Soup Diet Quality of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients are healthy as it relies on fresh produce and grains. However, there is an issue with boredom as the same basic good groups have to be eaten repeatedly.

Also, there’s no science that eating only cabbage soup is healthy and safe. A Dr. Melinda Ratini says:

“You’ll likely get less than 1,000 calories a day on the limited menu. That’s far fewer than the 2,000 daily calories recommended for most adults”

“The pounds come off quickly, but mostly you’ll lose water weight”

“chances are, you’ll regain it all back as soon as you start eating a normal diet again”

The diet was made to help one with weight loss in a one week period, but this does not mean it will help with long term weight loss. Health experts also agree it’s likely not a quality solution for weight loss due to its limited food options. A top 10 list of the highest ranked diet plans is offered in the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Cabbage Soup Diet

The price depends on where one gets their grocery from, as no prepackaged foods are needed.

The diet does advise to get a multivitamin, due to the lack of food options that are high in nutrients. It’s also necessary to eat unlimited amounts of cabbage soup. This means one will have to cook for the full 7 days, as the diet also limits the kinds of seasonings through reducing sodium provided from salt.

Due to the lack of clinical studies proving that this is an effective and safe weight loss solution, it’s a very poor diet. A comprehensive top 10 list features the highest rated diet pills.

The Mayo Clinic also had this to say:

“Fad diets like this one may be tempting, but keep in mind that long-term weight loss depends on making lasting healthy changes”

The changes needed in this diet are too short term to truly be a quality solution for weight loss.

Business of Cabbage Soup Diet

It’s unknown who created this diet, though many websites offer books and tips. Each group offers slightly different advice, with the only key thing being that you can only eat cabbage soup alongside some fruits and vegetables for a total of 7 days.

The diet will often be presented in either a free format via a PDF, or through a book. There are no claims that anyone made this diet, though each book claims it has the optimal guide. There are often recipe books offered as well as tips.

No studies or proof that this diet actually works and is safe is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to determine why the diet was created and suggested in the way it’s displayed. It also allows many different groups to make claims about what to add to the diet, without providing any proof. Our experts compiled a list of the highest rated diet plans in the list featured here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet

Here are some reviews from users who have used this diet:

“Cabbage soup is not a filler upper”

“I see no real physical weight loss”

“have quite a headache”

“worst heart burn I have ever had”

People did mention they lost weight, but that they often gained it all back one they resumed eating. This makes sense as it’s likely the only reason one is losing weight is due to water weight.

Some also experienced side effects such as gas, bloating, and nausea. There were also concerns from people that they quickly became bored of it, and that they often felt like quitting. A list of the highest ranked diet plans is available in the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cabbage Soup Diet Work?

There are many things to consider about the Cabbage Soup Diet. There’s no science or proof that this diet actually works, and that’s why there’s many different variations on it. Many people who tried it say they regained all their weight loss, which is common for crash diets that serve to reduce water weight instead of fat. Health experts on the Mayo Clinic and Web MD website also confirm its likely not safe or effective for real weight loss.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It combines a high protein, appetite suppressing meal replacement as well as a natural stimulant free metabolism booster. Many customers say it’s effective for weight loss, and that it’s easy to use. There are no added filler ingredients, stimulants, or processed additives. It contains only natural extracts and ingredients clinically shown to help with weight loss. Many users have left glowing testimonials and positive reviews on their website.

The 18Shake Diet offers its supplements with a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed within these 30 days with no risk and no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link provided here.

How Does Cabbage Soup Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cabbage Soup Diet
  • 29 /100



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 36, 718 total comments)

MeganC

So...here goes nothing! Today is my first day starting the CSD, and I am extremely motivated and excited! My wedding is in May, so I'm trying to get over this weight loss plateau that I've had for the last 3 months. I am 5'2 and weigh 155 lbs starting today. I will not weigh myself until the 7 days are over, and then I will be following a moderate healthy diet after this is finished. Here's praying that I see some major results! WISH ME LUCK! Hoping to lose 8-9 pounds on CSD.

posted Feb 25th, 2011 9:17 am


HollyJ

-

I'm on day 3, and went from 138lbs to 137.6lbs.... Not impressed! i'm considering on quitting. Since I would probably weigh the same if I ate what I usually ate. I don't get how people have lost 3 or 4 pounds by day 3..

posted Feb 23rd, 2011 4:10 pm


Christina

I'm on my 4th day and its going great except I want cake! The first 2 days I got headaches and felt strange. Now I feel like I have enough to eat. I don't get how people say its a starvation diet because I don't feel deprived at all in fact this diet is making me grow. However I am eating a shit load of soup. Haha gl

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 8:47 pm


lisa

Its me again. Today is day 9 on this diet. However I didnt know what to do after day 7 so I just dropped back and started eating fruits and veggies plus the soup. I popped on the scale and it said 128.6 :):)..means I lost 2.40lbs in a week. I am thrilled to see the scale go in the correct direction. I am going to continue this diet but not be too obessed about being strict...just chosing to eat better..so instead of the fried chicken, I will probably opt for baked fish and only eat 1/2 portion and bring the other 1/2 home. I am confident I will hit my target weight of 120 by St Pattys day. I am pretty committed to this. Thanks CSD for the perfect BOOST I needed.

posted Feb 16th, 2011 9:56 am


Andrea Schweizer

If you can get through it, it's worth it. I'm doing this for the 5th time in my life....and I've never failed to lose weight on this diet. I usually lost between 7 and 10 pounds in a week. It's a good kick start to dieting if you want to lose. It helps give the motivation to keep losing. The weight WILL stay off if you keep eating healthy afterwards, and not go right back to old habits. Oh yeah, and I've never made it to the 7th day--I've always stopped on day 5 or 6, and STILL lost 7-10 pounds. It really does work :)

posted Feb 16th, 2011 8:42 am


lisa

+

I am starting day 6. As of yesturday I have actually gained 1lb. My soup does not have the lipton soup mix or the V8. I Have been very faithful to the program with an exception of a cup of coffee with FF milk and 1 splenda in the morning. Not sure what I am doing wrong? Even though the scale has not moved in the direction I would like I am going to weigh myself on the morning of day 8 and continue to eat the soup as I feel less bloated. This diet seemed a little hard at first as I was constantly fighting hunger and I ate ALOT of fruit on day 1 and ALOT of green veggies on day 2. But by day 4, I thought It would be the hardest with only being able to eat banannas and milk...it was not...Now I find myself not hungry at all..yesturday I had a spinach salad with 2 tomatoes, a bowl of soup and 1 steak..thats it all day.
So as I cheat and drink my morning coffee any inspiration or advise is welcome. I am a member of the cabbage soup diet on Facebook if anyone wants to chat. I plan on continueing this diet until the end of Feb. If it doesnt work, I will give in and committ to Weight Watchers. Weight when i started this diet on 2/8 was 130, current weight is 131, Desired weight is 120...Had a baby 2 years ago and just finally getting around to doing something about myself....excited for spring so I can get out and walk or run with my jogger :)

posted Feb 13th, 2011 8:27 am


Lisa

HELP!!! Im about ready to complete day 5. I have gained 1lb. The only cheating I have done is I have a cup of coffee with splenda in the morning....last night I had a glass of wine...but I have been strict..In FACT my soup does NOT have all the sodium..no V8, no Lipton onion soup..only thing in my soup is the veggies with 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I drink at least 60oz of H20 and I am peeing all the time. I want to continue this because they say everyone loses at differnt times. I do feel a very very small decrease in my bloating but thats it.. any suggestions?

posted Feb 13th, 2011 12:20 am


dab

Stepped on the scale this morning and I am pumped! Down 4 #s! HOOT HOO! My husband is doing this diet with me and it is a win-win. He is a heartburn suffferer so bad that he has been on prilosec for a couple years. He couldn't go a day without it or he would suffer that night. This diet does not include coffee... and guess what? He quit the coffee and no more heartburn or prilosec! (avid coffee drinker) He had a bit of indigestion yesterday on the bananas but did not have to take a prilosec as the heartburn passed. We were a bit discouraged yesterday morning as we had only seen a loss of 1 # each. He stepped on the scale this morning and he was down 6#s! He is so pleased with that. He was 182, went down to 176, and I think after these 3 days, he could conceivably see 172 which is where he would like to be. So if you are patient and true to the diet... IT WORKS!!! (p.s. still love the soup! I think I will make it to keep on hand in the freezer and anytime I need a day of less... soup it will be!)

posted Feb 11th, 2011 4:01 pm


madge

day 4 today only down 2lbs not happy with that.i'll stick it out and see what happens.i'm hoping for 6-8 lb loss fingers crossed

posted Feb 11th, 2011 8:57 am


Dab

I am on day 4. I am only down 1 lb at this point. I am so hoping to drop at least 5 or 6. I have been following the diet to a T so am not quite sure why the weight is not coming off. The food allowed for this diet is way more food than I normally eat in a day. It's all delicious food to me. I am going to beef up my water as I see a lot of people recommended that. Hopefully that will help. If it works, I will be doing it again in a couple weeks.

posted Feb 10th, 2011 6:10 pm


madge

am starting csd tomorrow wish me luck. current weight 197lbs

posted Feb 7th, 2011 10:51 am


userfile
SpicyShar

-

So I quit the diet....for so many reasons Its just not worth starving myself to lose lbs.....so i revised it to fit my style since I did like the soup but eating it every day all day is just bad for business....but I wish every1 else much luck

posted Feb 3rd, 2011 5:14 pm


chubbynurse

I tried this soup today and while it tasted great, PLEASE BE AWARE that this soup can and will drastically lower your blood sugar very quickly. It happened to me and I am now having to take measures to keep my blood sugar levels up. This is a life threatening situation. Please, PLEASE consult your doctor before starting this diet, especially if you are prone to low blood sugars.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 7:52 pm


userfile
SpicyShar

Day 2
Its morning I went to bed soooo hungry atleast today I get to eat a potato...I'm trying to stick it out cause its only 7 days but I'm a tad bit constipated and a little confused......So far not liking this diet

Since yesterday I lost 2 lbs

SW 165 (Jan 31st)
CW 163
GW 135-140

posted Feb 1st, 2011 1:45 pm


carrot

Hi there, just a quick question for those who say Cabbage diet is lacking in unhealthy and dangerous??? How can it be, all of the food recommended with this diet is good for you, I can understand that it's low in calorie, but not dangerous.. All diets are bad, not that I have try this diet but, all the food mention on this diet your recommended to have ever day.

Surely is healthier than Shake meal replacements, Special K and so on..

So I would like someone who Knows more about food to tell me why is't dangerous???????

posted Jan 31st, 2011 10:18 pm


userfile
SpicyShar

Today is my first day and I'm almost have through but I'm starving and I have a headache.....I know the 1st day is the hardest so I'm going to suck it up....but I gotta be honest if I haven't lost anything when I get up tomorrow I may be cutting these 7 days short

posted Jan 31st, 2011 9:02 pm


gordita30

+

I lost 5 pounds, not bad, but I was hoping to loose more. Still pretty good, since it help me kick start my diet and I no longer crave carbs the way I use to.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:47 pm


Determined

+

I've done this diet several times throughout my life. Sometimes I completed it and sometimes I didn't. It is not easy but if followed by the book...definitely works! I've lost btwn 10-12 lbs. in 7 days every time I followed it correctly. You do put the weight right back and then some if you run straight to McDonalds when it's over. You really need to have a game plan as far as food and excercise when you get off this diet. It's a great way to jump start your weight loss. I am starting the CSD tomorrow. Very excited.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 4:50 am


userfile
SpicyShar

So I'm going to try this out....I haven't told anyone because I typically don't stick with these type of things but we'll see how it goes

posted Jan 30th, 2011 5:12 pm


lisa

I am going to start sunday any ideas for me can i still drink coffee??

posted Jan 29th, 2011 5:59 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet

Whats better than
Cabbage Soup Diet?