Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 36, 711 total comments)

MrsK

You stated that "would be too weak to" exercise. NOT true, I felt perfect, had no problems, didn't feel tired at all.

posted Jul 5th, 2011 9:29 pm


Adrianne

I did this diet about 30 years ago. I went from a six 24 to a six 10. BUT -- I stayed on it way, way, way too long, about nine months. I highly recommend this diet but no more than 1-2 weeks a month. It really does help your mind set and will help you to eating healthier.

posted Jun 29th, 2011 9:08 pm


Freckles

I've done this diet a number of times. It can b hard but if u plan to succeed u will. I'm on day 2 this time and I've lost 6lbs already! Started off at 174 now at 168. I've also had the energy to do a 2-3 mile run and do quite a bit of walking throughout the day. I must admit the worst part of it for me is the soup! I started off liking it the 1st time I did it and I can't really stand the taste even though I do love all veg. One thing to note is I did have a cappuccino today hopefully I will have got away with it and won't have put on. Looking forward to banana day as from then on the food is a little more exciting. Wish I could lose another 6lb but in reality I think il have lost 10lb by the end of the week.

posted Jun 13th, 2011 6:24 pm


Sabina

Starting this today! My wedding is in 3 weeks and I want to lose at least 10lbs...somehow I lost 5lbs this last week so that a Bonus! I think this diet is a good jump start to a healthier life style as you can see results fast and that alone is a good motivation to keep eating healthy! Summer is here, and 7 days is not that long! Good luck everyone!

posted Jun 10th, 2011 5:05 pm


Kerry

This diet definately works! I followed it for the 5 days and lost 3.1kgs. I weigh 66kgs now and am 1.67cm tall so its not as if i have lots to lose either. I felt very fresh and cleansed and have kept the weight off with a healthy diet

posted Jun 7th, 2011 12:49 am


Aluna

works

posted May 29th, 2011 10:11 pm


Rita

I started today. So far, I just had some fruit and waiting till lunch for my soup. I think this diet is healthy and fast. It helps you jump start your dieting changes. I am hoping to lose 3-4 pounds and then continue eating less and healthier. I don't understand why some people call it dangerous, when you actually eat heathly all you want. I'm going to take a good vitamin supplement just like on any other diet. I believe this diet is great!

posted Apr 27th, 2011 10:39 am


Sadie

Well finished day one yesterday really positive i added curry powder to my soup and i think it tastes great must admit though i am looking forward to having jacket potato shortly. Get married August so would be great to lose 10lb real good kick start to healthy eating x

posted Mar 30th, 2011 10:22 am


Ashley

I started the diet on Monday and that was a really bad day. Around lunch time, I started feeling dizzy and it was difficult to focus (just like the article says!) but once I made it past like 3pm, I was ok. I definitely went to bed hungry though. I would also like to add that I'm not doing the soup... the diet was my boyfriends idea for us to do together (he's done it before) and he said we don't need the soup. Looking back, I don't think that was such a good idea so I will probably make soup tomorrow night to eat on the banana day (day 4). Today was great because I got a baked potato but I'm tired of fruits and veggies and I want some damn french fries!!!!! I spend half of the day dreaming about what I'm going to eat when I'm done... I guess thats how people end up fat again! My SW was 160 and I haven't weighed myself but I feel like I've gained weight. I think it may take a little more time for the pounds to drop off... or maybe I need some soup first! Anyhoo, my goal is to lose 10 lbs on this diet and 15 lbs total. Good luck to you all and my advice is to prepare yourself before you start. Make sure you take plenty of food (for whatever day it is) to work or school so you're not as tempted. You'll still be tempted but if you have something to snack on (from the diet) then it'll be easier on you! Oh, and it's made me pretty grumpy... I think its the lack of calories and also not being able to eat what I want (spoiled!).

posted Mar 30th, 2011 1:28 am


userfile
zambezi

Well day 3 and I am down 3Ibs already passed my 2Ibs goal and so happy to see scales moving the right way! Lets see what happens over the next few days!

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 4:45 pm


sweetsnp

going back on this diet tomorrow! I love this diet, it has helped me lose weight! I am down from 150 to 130!! I havent gained the pounds back! I just checked the scale and see that i am now at 134 :(, its ok becux i am bak on my csd tomorrow!! for 2 weeks or more!! i am hoping to go down to 115 by summer.

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 9:17 pm


zambezi

I am 5' 7" and starting the CSD tomorrow (21/3/11). I have never tried it before and really what Im looking for is just a kickstart so I can see a visible result and watch those scales start going the right way (2 pounds is the goal but any more than that would be lovely!) before entering into a long term healthy eating and exercise regime which I may punctuate fortnightly with the CSD although Im undecided!
My SW is 223Ibs.
That is actually the first time I have weighed myself in around a year and I have been in serious denial about my ever increasing weight gain. This is the heaviest I have ever been. I lost a massive amount of weight 2 years ago (down to 140-150Ibs) however this was due to starvation and bulemia. I don't want to get locked in that cycle again and end up putting myself through that only to be heavier than I was before I even started. This time I'll do it right! I feel physically sick from actually confronting the scales but thats the first step. Right? I will update with how I get on. Good luck to everyone else!

posted Mar 20th, 2011 4:05 pm


userfile
3kids

day 1
5'8" 181 lbs

posted Mar 7th, 2011 3:07 pm


MeganC

So...here goes nothing! Today is my first day starting the CSD, and I am extremely motivated and excited! My wedding is in May, so I'm trying to get over this weight loss plateau that I've had for the last 3 months. I am 5'2 and weigh 155 lbs starting today. I will not weigh myself until the 7 days are over, and then I will be following a moderate healthy diet after this is finished. Here's praying that I see some major results! WISH ME LUCK! Hoping to lose 8-9 pounds on CSD.

posted Feb 25th, 2011 9:17 am


HollyJ

I'm on day 3, and went from 138lbs to 137.6lbs.... Not impressed! i'm considering on quitting. Since I would probably weigh the same if I ate what I usually ate. I don't get how people have lost 3 or 4 pounds by day 3..

posted Feb 23rd, 2011 4:10 pm


Christina

I'm on my 4th day and its going great except I want cake! The first 2 days I got headaches and felt strange. Now I feel like I have enough to eat. I don't get how people say its a starvation diet because I don't feel deprived at all in fact this diet is making me grow. However I am eating a shit load of soup. Haha gl

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 8:47 pm


lisa

Its me again. Today is day 9 on this diet. However I didnt know what to do after day 7 so I just dropped back and started eating fruits and veggies plus the soup. I popped on the scale and it said 128.6 :):)..means I lost 2.40lbs in a week. I am thrilled to see the scale go in the correct direction. I am going to continue this diet but not be too obessed about being strict...just chosing to eat better..so instead of the fried chicken, I will probably opt for baked fish and only eat 1/2 portion and bring the other 1/2 home. I am confident I will hit my target weight of 120 by St Pattys day. I am pretty committed to this. Thanks CSD for the perfect BOOST I needed.

posted Feb 16th, 2011 9:56 am


Andrea Schweizer

If you can get through it, it's worth it. I'm doing this for the 5th time in my life....and I've never failed to lose weight on this diet. I usually lost between 7 and 10 pounds in a week. It's a good kick start to dieting if you want to lose. It helps give the motivation to keep losing. The weight WILL stay off if you keep eating healthy afterwards, and not go right back to old habits. Oh yeah, and I've never made it to the 7th day--I've always stopped on day 5 or 6, and STILL lost 7-10 pounds. It really does work :)

posted Feb 16th, 2011 8:42 am


lisa

I am starting day 6. As of yesturday I have actually gained 1lb. My soup does not have the lipton soup mix or the V8. I Have been very faithful to the program with an exception of a cup of coffee with FF milk and 1 splenda in the morning. Not sure what I am doing wrong? Even though the scale has not moved in the direction I would like I am going to weigh myself on the morning of day 8 and continue to eat the soup as I feel less bloated. This diet seemed a little hard at first as I was constantly fighting hunger and I ate ALOT of fruit on day 1 and ALOT of green veggies on day 2. But by day 4, I thought It would be the hardest with only being able to eat banannas and milk...it was not...Now I find myself not hungry at all..yesturday I had a spinach salad with 2 tomatoes, a bowl of soup and 1 steak..thats it all day.
So as I cheat and drink my morning coffee any inspiration or advise is welcome. I am a member of the cabbage soup diet on Facebook if anyone wants to chat. I plan on continueing this diet until the end of Feb. If it doesnt work, I will give in and committ to Weight Watchers. Weight when i started this diet on 2/8 was 130, current weight is 131, Desired weight is 120...Had a baby 2 years ago and just finally getting around to doing something about myself....excited for spring so I can get out and walk or run with my jogger :)

posted Feb 13th, 2011 8:27 am


Lisa

HELP!!! Im about ready to complete day 5. I have gained 1lb. The only cheating I have done is I have a cup of coffee with splenda in the morning....last night I had a glass of wine...but I have been strict..In FACT my soup does NOT have all the sodium..no V8, no Lipton onion soup..only thing in my soup is the veggies with 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I drink at least 60oz of H20 and I am peeing all the time. I want to continue this because they say everyone loses at differnt times. I do feel a very very small decrease in my bloating but thats it.. any suggestions?

posted Feb 13th, 2011 12:20 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account