Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 35, 700 total comments)

zambezi

I am 5' 7" and starting the CSD tomorrow (21/3/11). I have never tried it before and really what Im looking for is just a kickstart so I can see a visible result and watch those scales start going the right way (2 pounds is the goal but any more than that would be lovely!) before entering into a long term healthy eating and exercise regime which I may punctuate fortnightly with the CSD although Im undecided!
My SW is 223Ibs.
That is actually the first time I have weighed myself in around a year and I have been in serious denial about my ever increasing weight gain. This is the heaviest I have ever been. I lost a massive amount of weight 2 years ago (down to 140-150Ibs) however this was due to starvation and bulemia. I don't want to get locked in that cycle again and end up putting myself through that only to be heavier than I was before I even started. This time I'll do it right! I feel physically sick from actually confronting the scales but thats the first step. Right? I will update with how I get on. Good luck to everyone else!

posted Mar 20th, 2011 4:05 pm



3kids

day 1
5'8" 181 lbs

posted Mar 7th, 2011 3:07 pm


MeganC

So...here goes nothing! Today is my first day starting the CSD, and I am extremely motivated and excited! My wedding is in May, so I'm trying to get over this weight loss plateau that I've had for the last 3 months. I am 5'2 and weigh 155 lbs starting today. I will not weigh myself until the 7 days are over, and then I will be following a moderate healthy diet after this is finished. Here's praying that I see some major results! WISH ME LUCK! Hoping to lose 8-9 pounds on CSD.

posted Feb 25th, 2011 9:17 am


HollyJ

I'm on day 3, and went from 138lbs to 137.6lbs.... Not impressed! i'm considering on quitting. Since I would probably weigh the same if I ate what I usually ate. I don't get how people have lost 3 or 4 pounds by day 3..

posted Feb 23rd, 2011 4:10 pm


Christina

I'm on my 4th day and its going great except I want cake! The first 2 days I got headaches and felt strange. Now I feel like I have enough to eat. I don't get how people say its a starvation diet because I don't feel deprived at all in fact this diet is making me grow. However I am eating a shit load of soup. Haha gl

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 8:47 pm


lisa

Its me again. Today is day 9 on this diet. However I didnt know what to do after day 7 so I just dropped back and started eating fruits and veggies plus the soup. I popped on the scale and it said 128.6 :):)..means I lost 2.40lbs in a week. I am thrilled to see the scale go in the correct direction. I am going to continue this diet but not be too obessed about being strict...just chosing to eat better..so instead of the fried chicken, I will probably opt for baked fish and only eat 1/2 portion and bring the other 1/2 home. I am confident I will hit my target weight of 120 by St Pattys day. I am pretty committed to this. Thanks CSD for the perfect BOOST I needed.

posted Feb 16th, 2011 9:56 am


Andrea Schweizer

If you can get through it, it's worth it. I'm doing this for the 5th time in my life....and I've never failed to lose weight on this diet. I usually lost between 7 and 10 pounds in a week. It's a good kick start to dieting if you want to lose. It helps give the motivation to keep losing. The weight WILL stay off if you keep eating healthy afterwards, and not go right back to old habits. Oh yeah, and I've never made it to the 7th day--I've always stopped on day 5 or 6, and STILL lost 7-10 pounds. It really does work :)

posted Feb 16th, 2011 8:42 am


lisa

I am starting day 6. As of yesturday I have actually gained 1lb. My soup does not have the lipton soup mix or the V8. I Have been very faithful to the program with an exception of a cup of coffee with FF milk and 1 splenda in the morning. Not sure what I am doing wrong? Even though the scale has not moved in the direction I would like I am going to weigh myself on the morning of day 8 and continue to eat the soup as I feel less bloated. This diet seemed a little hard at first as I was constantly fighting hunger and I ate ALOT of fruit on day 1 and ALOT of green veggies on day 2. But by day 4, I thought It would be the hardest with only being able to eat banannas and milk...it was not...Now I find myself not hungry at all..yesturday I had a spinach salad with 2 tomatoes, a bowl of soup and 1 steak..thats it all day.
So as I cheat and drink my morning coffee any inspiration or advise is welcome. I am a member of the cabbage soup diet on Facebook if anyone wants to chat. I plan on continueing this diet until the end of Feb. If it doesnt work, I will give in and committ to Weight Watchers. Weight when i started this diet on 2/8 was 130, current weight is 131, Desired weight is 120...Had a baby 2 years ago and just finally getting around to doing something about myself....excited for spring so I can get out and walk or run with my jogger :)

posted Feb 13th, 2011 8:27 am


Lisa

HELP!!! Im about ready to complete day 5. I have gained 1lb. The only cheating I have done is I have a cup of coffee with splenda in the morning....last night I had a glass of wine...but I have been strict..In FACT my soup does NOT have all the sodium..no V8, no Lipton onion soup..only thing in my soup is the veggies with 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I drink at least 60oz of H20 and I am peeing all the time. I want to continue this because they say everyone loses at differnt times. I do feel a very very small decrease in my bloating but thats it.. any suggestions?

posted Feb 13th, 2011 12:20 am


dab

Stepped on the scale this morning and I am pumped! Down 4 #s! HOOT HOO! My husband is doing this diet with me and it is a win-win. He is a heartburn suffferer so bad that he has been on prilosec for a couple years. He couldn't go a day without it or he would suffer that night. This diet does not include coffee... and guess what? He quit the coffee and no more heartburn or prilosec! (avid coffee drinker) He had a bit of indigestion yesterday on the bananas but did not have to take a prilosec as the heartburn passed. We were a bit discouraged yesterday morning as we had only seen a loss of 1 # each. He stepped on the scale this morning and he was down 6#s! He is so pleased with that. He was 182, went down to 176, and I think after these 3 days, he could conceivably see 172 which is where he would like to be. So if you are patient and true to the diet... IT WORKS!!! (p.s. still love the soup! I think I will make it to keep on hand in the freezer and anytime I need a day of less... soup it will be!)

posted Feb 11th, 2011 4:01 pm


madge

day 4 today only down 2lbs not happy with that.i'll stick it out and see what happens.i'm hoping for 6-8 lb loss fingers crossed

posted Feb 11th, 2011 8:57 am


Dab

I am on day 4. I am only down 1 lb at this point. I am so hoping to drop at least 5 or 6. I have been following the diet to a T so am not quite sure why the weight is not coming off. The food allowed for this diet is way more food than I normally eat in a day. It's all delicious food to me. I am going to beef up my water as I see a lot of people recommended that. Hopefully that will help. If it works, I will be doing it again in a couple weeks.

posted Feb 10th, 2011 6:10 pm


madge

am starting csd tomorrow wish me luck. current weight 197lbs

posted Feb 7th, 2011 10:51 am



SpicyShar

So I quit the diet....for so many reasons Its just not worth starving myself to lose lbs.....so i revised it to fit my style since I did like the soup but eating it every day all day is just bad for business....but I wish every1 else much luck

posted Feb 3rd, 2011 5:14 pm


chubbynurse

I tried this soup today and while it tasted great, PLEASE BE AWARE that this soup can and will drastically lower your blood sugar very quickly. It happened to me and I am now having to take measures to keep my blood sugar levels up. This is a life threatening situation. Please, PLEASE consult your doctor before starting this diet, especially if you are prone to low blood sugars.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 7:52 pm



SpicyShar

Day 2
Its morning I went to bed soooo hungry atleast today I get to eat a potato...I'm trying to stick it out cause its only 7 days but I'm a tad bit constipated and a little confused......So far not liking this diet

Since yesterday I lost 2 lbs

SW 165 (Jan 31st)
CW 163
GW 135-140

posted Feb 1st, 2011 1:45 pm


carrot

Hi there, just a quick question for those who say Cabbage diet is lacking in unhealthy and dangerous??? How can it be, all of the food recommended with this diet is good for you, I can understand that it's low in calorie, but not dangerous.. All diets are bad, not that I have try this diet but, all the food mention on this diet your recommended to have ever day.

Surely is healthier than Shake meal replacements, Special K and so on..

So I would like someone who Knows more about food to tell me why is't dangerous???????

posted Jan 31st, 2011 10:18 pm



SpicyShar

Today is my first day and I'm almost have through but I'm starving and I have a headache.....I know the 1st day is the hardest so I'm going to suck it up....but I gotta be honest if I haven't lost anything when I get up tomorrow I may be cutting these 7 days short

posted Jan 31st, 2011 9:02 pm


gordita30

I lost 5 pounds, not bad, but I was hoping to loose more. Still pretty good, since it help me kick start my diet and I no longer crave carbs the way I use to.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:47 pm


Determined

I've done this diet several times throughout my life. Sometimes I completed it and sometimes I didn't. It is not easy but if followed by the book...definitely works! I've lost btwn 10-12 lbs. in 7 days every time I followed it correctly. You do put the weight right back and then some if you run straight to McDonalds when it's over. You really need to have a game plan as far as food and excercise when you get off this diet. It's a great way to jump start your weight loss. I am starting the CSD tomorrow. Very excited.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 4:50 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account