Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 183 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 35, 699 total comments)

Samantha

I am on day 1 of the diet which im thinking wont be too hard for me to follow since im a vegetarian but being a veg doesnt mean im skinny. I am 5'7 and 159 lbs hoping to get to 135 but not expecting those results to come in the week of this diet. Im using this as a healthy kick start to eating with caution again. I am getting married in July of 2011 and I gained some "happy weight" as we go out to eat alot and so i am hoping this will work! had sliced apples for breakfast, i have water, a tupperware of soup for lunch, ill also eat it for dinner and i have grapes for snack! wish me luck and goodluck to all!

posted Sep 21st, 2010 8:11 am


Debbie

Today is my second day I have a headache all day and light head as well but is worth I dropped 1 pound so far ,, lot of people said the cabbage soup is disgusting but I used different spices and is actually delicious eg, dried oregano, and chili pepper also I used cilantro and let it cook overnight in the crock pot I also blended my soup cuz i hate my veggies lol but turned out pretty good... I so enjoyed my potato today was like a juice steak.
I am expecting drop at least 7 lb ,I'll kee it post.

posted Sep 16th, 2010 12:43 am


Julie

Im on day 4 and only down 3lbs. I started at 173 and now at 170.. Slight headache but overall i feel lighter. I hope by day 7 i drop more since i am 40lbs over weight.

posted Sep 15th, 2010 11:39 am


Cncpt

I started at 169.8 and today, the morning of day 7, I weighed 162.8. I added black beans and canned corn to the recipe and used the grocery store version of spicy V8, I didn't use onion soup mix, too many chemicals. I made the soup in the crock pot, let it cook overnight.

I cheated a couple of times, I ate an egg roll my husband saved for me on baked patoto day, however I didn't eat the potato. One morning I ate a small amount of eggs my husband made, I didn't tell him about the diet. Two days ago I drank a coke and a beer, I was with someone I also didn't want to tell about the diet and today I ate a small amount of cashews, I was lightheaded. I've also eaten a lot more fruit than vegetables. On banana and milk day I made a smoothie with 1 banana, 1 peach, a handful of blueberries, ice and skimmed milk, it was great!

I have forgotten to eat soup a couple of the days, I have 3 or 4 bowls left, I am going to try to get below 160 before I go on a healtier eating plan.

I didn't tell family or friends, I didn't want to hear anyone's opinions, I wanted to kickstart my weight loss.

posted Sep 14th, 2010 2:41 pm


RoyalPurple

Started my first day today. I have absolutely noooo idea if this is going to work out or not, but hopefully it does. Just had my first bowl of soup; added ground paprika and it's actually pretty good. There should be some kind of support forum for this diet or something. The seven days would be so much easier if there was a real platform for discussion somewhere.

posted Sep 13th, 2010 1:08 am


mdeds

I am on day 2 of the diet. I have stuck to it exactly. On tuesday I weighed 136 and tonight I weigh 139. WHy is everyone else losing weight in the first few days and I am heavier??? I have not eaten anything not on the diet. I don't get it!?!?

posted Sep 10th, 2010 12:48 am


shenell

Finished day 7! It was hard to get through the day but I made it. Lost one more pound. So 6 pounds total.

posted Aug 30th, 2010 10:29 am


shenell

Day 7!! 11:20 am. Started Monday at 136 and this morning I'm at 131. I'd like to be between 125 and 130 so I am pretty close. I followed this diet to the letter; didn't cheat once. It's a bit hard but I would do it again. Mayby as a once a year cleansing. Good luck to all; you can do it!

posted Aug 29th, 2010 12:28 pm


N Texas

On Day 2 and feeling a bit drained but I worked out yesterday & today already at Curves. I'm down 3 pounds (of H2O for sure) this AM from yesterday. Planning to jump to a 1300 cal diet as soon as this first week is over.

posted Aug 27th, 2010 2:32 pm


marisela

im on day 3 of my cabbage diet. i dont know how much weight i have lost. i dont want to weigh myself yet. but i feel a lil lighter. i hope this really works. i get really bad head aches and i got to the rest room like ten times a day. so i htink it will work.

posted Aug 25th, 2010 1:25 pm



Rebecca Parks Fernandez

**wanting to cleanse / lose weight fast**
I'm on day one- just finished my first bowl of soup. My husband and I had a lot of fun chopping all the veggies in the kitchen, and being non-meat eaters as it is, this doesn't look so much different than what we usually stick with. Wondering how I'm going to feel about it in a few days...

posted Aug 24th, 2010 3:32 pm


OA

Morning of Day 5 , went from 138 to 134.5. No energy to work out, brain is not working because of no carbs. So 3 more days to go, would like to reach 130 but do not know if thats possible. Missing balanced food!

posted Aug 17th, 2010 8:34 am


N Mo

Morning of Day 3 and I've already lost 4 lbs! Ramadan started yesterday so I am also fasting.. but the soup is so filling! I feel so liberated of bad foods.
Going to do this throughout the year, maybe every couple months or so.

posted Aug 12th, 2010 1:42 pm


Alex Anton

I tried this diet about a year ago and I started eating granola and eating very healthy 3 days before I got on this diet. After 3 days of eating extremely healthy and being on the diet for 7 days. I lost a total of 19 lbs. After the diet I didnt eat a hamburger right away I started eating healthier again before eating the greasy foods. I did not gain the weight back though. Great Results but I hated being on the diet.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 6:56 pm


Heather

Today is day 4 and it's the first day I have felt bad. I have a head ache and have no energy. If I have one more banana I might get sick! Today is the hardest for me. Can't wait for my steak tomorrow night. I have stuck to this diet 100%. I started out at 152 and today I weighed in at 148. I would like to lose 3 more, we'll see.
Next week I am going to follow the diet but eat tuna instead of the soup. I want to be 135 in less than 2 months!!

posted Aug 5th, 2010 4:40 pm


sonbeky

I started this diet today i am 139 pounds and would like to get down to 130 by the end of the week, so far i feel very full!! so even wonder is this really working?? ate two bowls of soup and 2 mangos, lots of grapes and 2 glases of water so far need to drink more,,,,...so far so good will see later...

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 10:06 pm


stefanee

im on day 3 lost 3 already but i am just eating the soup and nothing else, anyone else do that will it still work? starting exercise tonight! i like it so far!

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 12:28 pm


D L

i'm not sure about the chicken thing, what exactly can i eat the day of the chicken thing..?

posted Aug 1st, 2010 1:15 pm


CL

A few suggestions for breaking the monotony of the soup. Blend it, eat it hot or cold. Add different spices like chili powder, cumin, jalapenos, cilantro and fresh lime squeezed in for a Mexican flare. Or...on day 4 add some curry and non fat plain yogurt (sub yogurt for 1 cup of NF milk that's allowed). My fav way is to eat it like Gazpacho. Blend and eat cold with chunks of cucumber, red bell, celery and red onion,Worcestershire and red wine vinegar added (on a veggie day only) Yum. Hope these help for those struggling to get through.

posted Jul 28th, 2010 7:26 pm


suzanne byrne

you definrtly loose the pounds but u really have to stick it out..u also feel very weak and light headed.

posted Jul 27th, 2010 3:51 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account