Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 36, 702 total comments)

ar.d.

I tried the cabbage soup diet to lose those last few pounds before my wedding. I love soup, and I live in a cold place, and I was so busy planning that I didn't mind the lack of variety all that much. I made a huge batch in the crock pot and followed the rules of the diet pretty strictly. I noticed my pants were loose after 3 days and had to use a belt. Then, the pants were bagging in the butt at the 5-day mark. By the time I went to pick up my wedding dress, I had lost too much weight and had to have it taken in. This was an easy to follow diet (I have not really done fad-diets before, because I eat pretty healthy but had a goal I was trying to meet). I didn't feel sick during this diet and noticed my skin improved (maybe lack of sugars?) I'm not a fan of cabbage, but with extra spices in the soup it was okay. Everyone couldn't believe how great I looked on my wedding day, and I would incorporate cabbage soup into my diet in the future before events or bathing suit season!

posted Sep 16th, 2011 3:41 am


Lisa

I ve tried to do this diet twice. The first time i couldnt stick to it but this time I successfully completed it and lost 6.5 pounds! That was two weeks ago, I've been eating the things that i like but counting my calories and not going over 1400 and ive managed to loose 3.5 pounds more. I feel great and feel this is a great way to get you started, you WILL NOT put the weight back if you continue to watch what you eat. If you go back to your old ways of course everything will come back. I paired it with a multivitamin and never felt weak or lightheaded. Try it!

posted Sep 13th, 2011 1:21 pm


Natalie

I loveee it... First week I lost 12lbs.. Did zumba one hour 4days a week...i use to weight 298 llbs I am now down 196 im only 22yo I cant wait to be 160!!!

posted Sep 6th, 2011 4:20 pm


Jordyloo1991

Can you stop losing weight when your still heavy? I'm 187 pounsds! So I cheated a little last week. But still lost 5.4 pounds. Which is good! However, I'm on day tw of week 3...and haven't lost anything! I'm guessing it's because I cheated and had 'options hot chocolate' BUT its only 40 cals a cup so i thought it'd be no harm done. OBVIOUSLY wrong! I'm going to start again today from fresh. Without cheating. Wish me luck people!

posted Aug 30th, 2011 5:41 am


beccap

So I'm on day one of the diet. I just got back from vacation and will be leaving for school in 2 weeks so I want to shed off the extra pounds I gained.

I just made 2 batches of soup: one tomato based and one water based. Both are pretty good, but I definitely like the tomato based one better. I only put veggies that I like in (so no onions and I only like green peppers raw so I will eat them tomorrow). Today is great because I love fruit and don't mind eating the soup.

Although I have been eating the soup and fruit (as of now just grapes) and drinking lots of water I feel a little hungry.

I'm really excited to see my results and will keep updating as I progress! Good luck to everyone who is trying it out!

posted Aug 27th, 2011 11:15 am


Tam

If you stick to it you can lose 10 lbs in a week (I lost 9 the first week) and more in the second (10). It's hard to stick to it but if you spice up your cabbage a bit with seasonings it will work.

posted Aug 26th, 2011 11:13 am


andrea

So its day #2. Day 1 with the soup and fruits was a piece of cake, i love fruit and like the soup i made. However I did cheat. I had a 45calorie fudgsicle at the end of the night when i was having a serious sugar craving... meh Its not so bad.

Today, i woke up with some bloating and constipation. I went for an hour long walk and it relieved my stomach.

Anyhow, i kinda skipped breakfast, i had a couple carrots, but ive never really been a breakfast person if i didnt have a hangover lol. But for lunch I made a massive salad, mixed greens, avocado, yellow/red/green peppers, cucumber, spinach and cauliflower. It was fantastic. I used the lowest possible calorie dressing and barely used any of it. I havent had any soup yet today but I will a little later on. Im excited about the potato..and really looking forward to banana day.

My energy has been high, but i should mention that ive been on womens one a day for about 2 weeks prior to starting this, and I had just quit smoking about 2 weeks ago, so im on a get healthy high maybe thats why im so optomistic, but i feel like this diet isnt too much of a pain and i feel good about seeing it through and starting a healthier eating plan for next week.

posted Aug 25th, 2011 4:18 pm


andrea

Im just making te soup now. I can see that eventually I will get bored of eating the same thing all the time, but i love fruits and veggies so thats no problem. Ive tasted it had a couple spoonfuls tonight and its pretty tasty. I did deviate a bit from the org reciepe but not by much.

Heres what I used:
6 green onions
1/4 of a yellow onion
3-4 handfuls of baby carrots chopped up
5-6 celery sticks
2 green peppers
1 quart of mushrooms
1/2 can of mixed beans--- i know it says no beans but i like them and how bad can they be
1 can of spicy diced tomatos
1 chicken bouillon cube
3 cups of water
2 cups of low sodium v8
a dash or cayenne pepper, sea salt, and reg pepper

Its almost the reciepe exact except the beans

im at 160lbs right now, and where i get by the end of the week and ill update how i feel about eating so much soup.

p.s. i plan on making a different style( same kinda ingredients) soup at day 4.

wish me luck!

posted Aug 23rd, 2011 10:59 pm


Jordyloo1991

I've just finished my week and lost a total of 5.4 pounds in one week. I cheated on the last day two and had a fish pie. Yummy!

Majorly happy with my weight loss and going to do it for another two weeks. I agree you DO get sick of the soup. But what i did, was made my own version....it consisted of...

FIRST BATCH
3 large carrots
2 Cabbages
1 medium size potato
4 broccoli stalks
Half a garlic
Half an onion
Salt and pepper
Boiling it all then whizz it into a soup. Add about 3-4 cups of water to thinnen in out.

SECOND BATCH
3 carrots
2 cauliflour
Curry Powder
1 cup of spinach
Half an onion
1 medium potato




So yeah i did this and still lost weight. also using two soups which tasted differently made it less boring! :D


I'll keep you guys updated about my weight loss next week!



WAS 196.8
NOW 191.4

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 6:03 am


Krys

i started this yesterday. i was over fruit quickly. i really want some meat in my life. today is death by carrots. yum... i need this cleansing though!

posted Aug 9th, 2011 3:42 pm


Stacey

I'm on day 6 - and this diet has been very tough at times, especially the first 3 days. However, the results I have to admit are amazing. I've lost 7 pounds so far and I was not very overweight to start - 145 and 5'4". I have cruise coming up and have tried diet after diet over the last 6 months and could not lose more than 2 pounds before giving up. This has given me a lot of motivation and has taught me how well my body responds to lower carbs and no sugar. I would have to recommend this if you are stuck with traditional dieting.

posted Jul 16th, 2011 8:57 am


MrsK

You stated that "would be too weak to" exercise. NOT true, I felt perfect, had no problems, didn't feel tired at all.

posted Jul 5th, 2011 9:29 pm


Adrianne

I did this diet about 30 years ago. I went from a six 24 to a six 10. BUT -- I stayed on it way, way, way too long, about nine months. I highly recommend this diet but no more than 1-2 weeks a month. It really does help your mind set and will help you to eating healthier.

posted Jun 29th, 2011 9:08 pm


Freckles

I've done this diet a number of times. It can b hard but if u plan to succeed u will. I'm on day 2 this time and I've lost 6lbs already! Started off at 174 now at 168. I've also had the energy to do a 2-3 mile run and do quite a bit of walking throughout the day. I must admit the worst part of it for me is the soup! I started off liking it the 1st time I did it and I can't really stand the taste even though I do love all veg. One thing to note is I did have a cappuccino today hopefully I will have got away with it and won't have put on. Looking forward to banana day as from then on the food is a little more exciting. Wish I could lose another 6lb but in reality I think il have lost 10lb by the end of the week.

posted Jun 13th, 2011 6:24 pm


Sabina

Starting this today! My wedding is in 3 weeks and I want to lose at least 10lbs...somehow I lost 5lbs this last week so that a Bonus! I think this diet is a good jump start to a healthier life style as you can see results fast and that alone is a good motivation to keep eating healthy! Summer is here, and 7 days is not that long! Good luck everyone!

posted Jun 10th, 2011 5:05 pm


Kerry

This diet definately works! I followed it for the 5 days and lost 3.1kgs. I weigh 66kgs now and am 1.67cm tall so its not as if i have lots to lose either. I felt very fresh and cleansed and have kept the weight off with a healthy diet

posted Jun 7th, 2011 12:49 am


Aluna

works

posted May 29th, 2011 10:11 pm


Rita

I started today. So far, I just had some fruit and waiting till lunch for my soup. I think this diet is healthy and fast. It helps you jump start your dieting changes. I am hoping to lose 3-4 pounds and then continue eating less and healthier. I don't understand why some people call it dangerous, when you actually eat heathly all you want. I'm going to take a good vitamin supplement just like on any other diet. I believe this diet is great!

posted Apr 27th, 2011 10:39 am


Sadie

Well finished day one yesterday really positive i added curry powder to my soup and i think it tastes great must admit though i am looking forward to having jacket potato shortly. Get married August so would be great to lose 10lb real good kick start to healthy eating x

posted Mar 30th, 2011 10:22 am


Ashley

I started the diet on Monday and that was a really bad day. Around lunch time, I started feeling dizzy and it was difficult to focus (just like the article says!) but once I made it past like 3pm, I was ok. I definitely went to bed hungry though. I would also like to add that I'm not doing the soup... the diet was my boyfriends idea for us to do together (he's done it before) and he said we don't need the soup. Looking back, I don't think that was such a good idea so I will probably make soup tomorrow night to eat on the banana day (day 4). Today was great because I got a baked potato but I'm tired of fruits and veggies and I want some damn french fries!!!!! I spend half of the day dreaming about what I'm going to eat when I'm done... I guess thats how people end up fat again! My SW was 160 and I haven't weighed myself but I feel like I've gained weight. I think it may take a little more time for the pounds to drop off... or maybe I need some soup first! Anyhoo, my goal is to lose 10 lbs on this diet and 15 lbs total. Good luck to you all and my advice is to prepare yourself before you start. Make sure you take plenty of food (for whatever day it is) to work or school so you're not as tempted. You'll still be tempted but if you have something to snack on (from the diet) then it'll be easier on you! Oh, and it's made me pretty grumpy... I think its the lack of calories and also not being able to eat what I want (spoiled!).

posted Mar 30th, 2011 1:28 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account