| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

  • You will lose weight
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.


No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.


For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup,, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet


The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 36, 711 total comments)


today was my first day.just had clear soup .any one on this diet plz tell me can i eat vegies in soup too?started at 130 cant wait to check tommarow hope i have lost some will keep u updated .

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 7:20 pm


was wondering do we have to eat clear soup or we can eat all the vegeiesin it?

posted Feb 22nd, 2012 7:23 pm


Doing acai berry 14 day course. feeling gr8 and 2 lbs down in week1.

posted Feb 22nd, 2012 4:45 am


Day 1---not bad at all my only problem is not drinking diet cokes!!! I'm starting at 167 lbs with my goal being 159 in 7 days!!! Good luck!!

posted Feb 20th, 2012 8:14 pm


Just finished Day 1 on the CSD. Not too bad, but did get tired early evening and took a cat nap. Already decided to add an egg white to my Day 2 morning vegetables so I have enough protein to get through my morning workout!! Hoping this cleanse will help me lose those pesky final lbs!!

posted Feb 20th, 2012 3:48 am


This is my first day on the csd. I hope it works. I feel so hungry, like I'm missing out on something :(

posted Feb 15th, 2012 4:56 pm


I have started today. weighing 10 stone 2 pounds. just ,made the soup and had first bowl i quite like it.... for now anyways. does anyone know if you are allowed to drink green tea?

posted Feb 13th, 2012 11:55 am


Did not work for me. I quit the diet and planning to start again later.

I think I eat more when taking soup than I usually eat. My weight gain did took me to this conclusion to leave it now and try after week or so. I am not a looser but will try it again next week.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 5:10 pm


BEGINNING OF DAY 3, I feel fine. I lost 1 more pound. So far 5lbs down in 2 days...

posted Feb 10th, 2012 3:38 pm


@ Claudia, this is my first time doing the csd. I did not do any exercising yesterday. I wanted to see what my results were bf i decided to walk a couple of miles a day. I actually have more energy than I expected. So I persaonnally think you can not go wrong with a little physical activity. However if you are really weak I would take it easy, follow the diet and you should be fine.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 7:03 pm


I AM ON DAY 2, I am down 4lbs from yesterday. I fell somewhat ok. If I jump up too fast, I feel a little lite headed, but nothing too serious. I am very pleased with my results so I plan on taking it alllll they way.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 6:56 pm


today is my day 2 and im feeling so weak... i dont do excercise, only following correctly the soup diet. do you guys think i can cut off some weight if i only follow the diet plan? anyone wth same experience??plz share

posted Feb 9th, 2012 7:16 am


Day 1 of the Cabbage Soup Diet. So far so good. Can't wait til I weigh myself in the a.m.

posted Feb 8th, 2012 7:29 pm


Day 3. I am 114.6 today. lol.

Disgusting even after eating lot of soup why I am gaining weight?

I will try one more day today then will decide if I need to continue or my other ways are better to work.

start weight-114 lbs.
day 1-114 lbs
day2-114.6 lbs.

posted Feb 8th, 2012 2:22 pm


Today is my first day eating the Soup. Ive had 3 bowls of it and Im already sick of it and gassy. Im feeling lighter though so Im going for a run. On my way back Ill buy some berries for tonight and get the veggies for tomorrow. Do you know if I can do beans? Gee, I crave cheese and bread :s

posted Feb 8th, 2012 12:44 am


Day 2 started no weight loss yet. infact yesterday i gained 4 lbs after eating my soup. today morning I am at 114lbs.
starting weight-114lbs
day 1 114lbs

posted Feb 7th, 2012 2:08 pm


Hey Mamta, Im starting my cabbage soup diet today. My weight is 135 pounds, Im 5'3. As you see I have much more to loose but please keep me posted on your progress. Ill do the same. Help!

posted Feb 7th, 2012 5:36 am


Starting my cabbage soup diet today and this is day 1.
I am 114 lbs today and 5'2 . I was 100 lbs before pregnancy and gained 40 lbs during pregnancy lost around 18 lbs in first month after delivery of my baby after that weight was stuck at 122 lbs.
for last week I gave it a thought and lost some weight and now I am 114lbs. I want to get little more low in scale for my "V' day dress. I know Iosing weight is not a big problem for me but I wanna get my more than a flat bally back with this diet.

Let's see how it works and will update you everyday watching my weight at 7am.

posted Feb 6th, 2012 6:08 pm


guess i'm the only one here. anyways....on DAY 7 weight is now 130.5.

so far have had 2 servings of stir fried brown rice. in it i put cabbage, mushrooms, scallions, onions and asparagus and a scrambled egg.

cant face the soup at all. have two more servings left. would be nice to see the 20's in the morning!

posted Feb 5th, 2012 8:35 pm


So I am coming to my 7th day tommorrow! I have only lost like 5 lbs though, thought i would have lost more! I followed the plan properly! I would really like to start the diet back, It wasnt bad at all! But after researching I saw that it was said not to do so! But I really need to loose another 5 lbs! So i am thinking to skip 1 day n start again! What is the most that will happen? Also i am in the gym! I have rel energy!

posted Feb 5th, 2012 7:07 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account