Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 35, 700 total comments)

claudia

today is my day 2 and im feeling so weak... i dont do excercise, only following correctly the soup diet. do you guys think i can cut off some weight if i only follow the diet plan? anyone wth same experience??plz share

posted Feb 9th, 2012 7:16 am


mskey

Day 1 of the Cabbage Soup Diet. So far so good. Can't wait til I weigh myself in the a.m.

posted Feb 8th, 2012 7:29 pm


mamta

Day 3. I am 114.6 today. lol.

Disgusting even after eating lot of soup why I am gaining weight?

I will try one more day today then will decide if I need to continue or my other ways are better to work.

start weight-114 lbs.
day 1-114 lbs
day2-114.6 lbs.


posted Feb 8th, 2012 2:22 pm


Nindi

Today is my first day eating the Soup. Ive had 3 bowls of it and Im already sick of it and gassy. Im feeling lighter though so Im going for a run. On my way back Ill buy some berries for tonight and get the veggies for tomorrow. Do you know if I can do beans? Gee, I crave cheese and bread :s

posted Feb 8th, 2012 12:44 am


mamta

Day 2 started no weight loss yet. infact yesterday i gained 4 lbs after eating my soup. today morning I am at 114lbs.
starting weight-114lbs
day 1 114lbs

posted Feb 7th, 2012 2:08 pm


Nindi

Hey Mamta, Im starting my cabbage soup diet today. My weight is 135 pounds, Im 5'3. As you see I have much more to loose but please keep me posted on your progress. Ill do the same. Help!

posted Feb 7th, 2012 5:36 am


mamta

Starting my cabbage soup diet today and this is day 1.
I am 114 lbs today and 5'2 . I was 100 lbs before pregnancy and gained 40 lbs during pregnancy lost around 18 lbs in first month after delivery of my baby after that weight was stuck at 122 lbs.
for last week I gave it a thought and lost some weight and now I am 114lbs. I want to get little more low in scale for my "V' day dress. I know Iosing weight is not a big problem for me but I wanna get my more than a flat bally back with this diet.

Let's see how it works and will update you everyday watching my weight at 7am.

posted Feb 6th, 2012 6:08 pm


andrea

guess i'm the only one here. anyways....on DAY 7 weight is now 130.5.

so far have had 2 servings of stir fried brown rice. in it i put cabbage, mushrooms, scallions, onions and asparagus and a scrambled egg.

cant face the soup at all. have two more servings left. would be nice to see the 20's in the morning!

posted Feb 5th, 2012 8:35 pm


Sasha

So I am coming to my 7th day tommorrow! I have only lost like 5 lbs though, thought i would have lost more! I followed the plan properly! I would really like to start the diet back, It wasnt bad at all! But after researching I saw that it was said not to do so! But I really need to loose another 5 lbs! So i am thinking to skip 1 day n start again! What is the most that will happen? Also i am in the gym! I have rel energy!

posted Feb 5th, 2012 7:07 pm


Jay

Ok, so this is day two of the csd. I started out at 152lbs... Day one was ok, however I don't think I really lost anything. Was also wondering if you could eat canned vegetables? Maybe after rinsing them or so? Well I am hungy again, so here goes to another bowl of soup.

posted Feb 5th, 2012 2:14 pm


andrea

day 4 coming to a close. todays menu
banana, milk, soup. banana, milk, soup. banana, milk. two cups of herb tea and water thru out the day.

will be cooking my steak with green onions, reg onions and mushrooms in the am.
here's hoping the scale is kind tomorrow!

posted Feb 3rd, 2012 3:18 am


andrea

good morning DAY 4.

1/2lb down this morning for a total of 5.5lbs down.

SW 139
CW 133.5
GW 130

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 12:33 pm


kirnose

hello andrea.no its my second time.last time i lost total 6 pounds in 6 days.i quit on actaully 6th day so u can say 6 pounds in 5 days.yes i do feel diffrence in my clothes.they r loose on me.today after completing 4 days i am down to 4 lbs.i have no idea how people lose 4lbs in one day.how r u doing how much u lost dear do let me know.

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 8:25 am


andrea

so my DAY 3 is coming to a close. ate 2 oranges, soup and spinach, salad, apple, soup and spinach and another apple. dont want fruit, dont want spinach, dont want salad and definately dont want anymore soup!

so i just blended my soup for milk and banana day tomorrow. hope i can get excited about it again!!!

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 2:10 am


andrea

kirnose do you feel any difference in your clothes? is this your first time doing the csd?

i am about sick of eating the soup. cant wait to rush thru banana day and get to the steak!

hang in there!!

posted Feb 1st, 2012 8:08 pm


kirnose

i am soooooooooooooooo hungry and bored no suppote no more weight loss but still trying to stick with it

posted Feb 1st, 2012 6:43 pm


andrea

ok so DAY 3 here. this morning weighed 134.5. so a loss of 4.5lbs.

feeling a bit headachy. i only managed the soup twice yesterday had a small potato and no butter. craving carbs today now!!

so far i have eaten 2 oranges. will have soup at 10:30 and add spinach for my grean leafy veg then an apple, then salad for lunch and another orange then soup again and an orange.

posted Feb 1st, 2012 3:09 pm


andrea

not seeing any of my posts from yesterday

posted Feb 1st, 2012 12:48 pm


kirnose

hi there.andrea u dont know how much happy i am to c yr feedback as i was kind of g etting bored while on this diet as there was no support.plz leave feedback so i can stick to it till the end.end of first day i lost 2lbs
second day no loss
will tell u about 3rd tommarrow i wish i wish i am down another 2 atleast .i feel real hungry .so wish me goodluck and plz keep me update about yrself.

posted Jan 31st, 2012 6:01 pm


andrea

made a mistake. i'm 5ft. not sure where 5'2 came from. maybe wishful thinking?

hi kirnose. this is the start of my DAY 2 and i am down 2lbs. how are you doing?

posted Jan 31st, 2012 11:56 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account