Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 218 reviews
Cabbage Soup Diet

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Cabbage Soup Diet is a weight loss plan said to be a short term solution for 10 pounds of weight loss in a week. It emphasizes eating an unlimited amount of cabbage soup, and many different websites offer different variations.

Generally, one is allowed to eat certain added fruits and vegetables depending on the day of the diet. It’s unknown who came up it with this plan, but it’s believed to have started in the 1980’s. It’s considered a crash diet, and much like other similar diets is advised only for a few days with no guarantee of long term weight loss. Our experts reviewed many diets and found the 18Shake Diet to be the best solution for weight loss. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link found here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cabbage Soup Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The Cabbage Soup Diet dies not rely on diet pills or pre-packaged foods, all the food eaten have to be prepared. One website that promotes the Cabbage Soup Diet says:

“not suitable for long-term weight loss”

It’s instead intended:

“If you have a special occasion coming up or you simply need to lose weight fast”

Often it will be advised that in order to maintain the diet one should follow these rules:

  • Drink a minimum of 4 glasses of water.
  • Take a multivitamin.
  • Eating as much soup as possible, not starving oneself.
  • Introducing different recipes to avoid boredom.

A 2 week break is recommended for people who want to restart the diet. Cabbage isn’t the only produce allowed; one can also add things like onions, celery, asparagus, zucchini, squash, barley, some meats, and many different seasonings.

Though this can be healthy, relying on it solely can potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies. Web MD also adds:

“this crash diet won’t help you in the long run, and it doesn’t give your body the nutrients it needs to stay healthy”

Furthermore, they add:

“Health experts don’t recommend following very low-calorie diets unless you’re under a doctor’s care”

This is due to there being numerous damaging health effects that the diet can have. A list of the highest rated diet plans is found in the link provided here.

The results of this diet are not likely to continue, as Web MD confirms:

“you’ll like regain any weight that you lose”

“It will likely leave you feeling hungry, weak, and bored. You might even feel sick”

This is because there’s a lack of adequate food options. It’s not offered as a long term solution, and instead is said to be a quick weight loss solution. There’s one Cabbage Soup Diet website that admits:

“A lot of people quit because the soup can be a bit bland, and they quickly tire of eating it every day”

There are several considerations to keep in mind. It’s not recommended for long-term use, and it’s believed the only reason one might lose weight is due to water weight and not fat. Live Strong.com adds:

“It’s possible to lose as much as 20 pounds of body weight during one week, most of which is water”

This is likely the reason why one sees any weight loss from this diet, since it’s low in carbohydrates and high in fluids, most water weight is flushed out of the body. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet”, many customers regained their weight as soon as they stopped the diet.

One popular variation of the diet allows for the following:

  • Day one: Unlimited fruit except for bananas alongside water, tea, and coffee.
  • Day two: No fruit, only raw vegetables and one baked potato
  • Day three: Unlimited fruits and vegetables except for potatoes and bananas.
  • Day four: 8 bananas and unlimited skimmed milk.
  • Day five: 6 tomatoes and 565g of beef
  • Day six: Unlimited vegetables and beef but no potatoes.
  • Day seven: Some brown rice and sugar free fruit juice.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 diet plans is offered in the link provided here.       

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cabbage Soup Diet Quality of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients are healthy as it relies on fresh produce and grains. However, there is an issue with boredom as the same basic good groups have to be eaten repeatedly.

Also, there’s no science that eating only cabbage soup is healthy and safe. A Dr. Melinda Ratini says:

“You’ll likely get less than 1,000 calories a day on the limited menu. That’s far fewer than the 2,000 daily calories recommended for most adults”

“The pounds come off quickly, but mostly you’ll lose water weight”

“chances are, you’ll regain it all back as soon as you start eating a normal diet again”

The diet was made to help one with weight loss in a one week period, but this does not mean it will help with long term weight loss. Health experts also agree it’s likely not a quality solution for weight loss due to its limited food options. A top 10 list of the highest ranked diet plans is offered in the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Cabbage Soup Diet

The price depends on where one gets their grocery from, as no prepackaged foods are needed.

The diet does advise to get a multivitamin, due to the lack of food options that are high in nutrients. It’s also necessary to eat unlimited amounts of cabbage soup. This means one will have to cook for the full 7 days, as the diet also limits the kinds of seasonings through reducing sodium provided from salt.

Due to the lack of clinical studies proving that this is an effective and safe weight loss solution, it’s a very poor diet. A comprehensive top 10 list features the highest rated diet pills.

The Mayo Clinic also had this to say:

“Fad diets like this one may be tempting, but keep in mind that long-term weight loss depends on making lasting healthy changes”

The changes needed in this diet are too short term to truly be a quality solution for weight loss.

Business of Cabbage Soup Diet

It’s unknown who created this diet, though many websites offer books and tips. Each group offers slightly different advice, with the only key thing being that you can only eat cabbage soup alongside some fruits and vegetables for a total of 7 days.

The diet will often be presented in either a free format via a PDF, or through a book. There are no claims that anyone made this diet, though each book claims it has the optimal guide. There are often recipe books offered as well as tips.

No studies or proof that this diet actually works and is safe is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to determine why the diet was created and suggested in the way it’s displayed. It also allows many different groups to make claims about what to add to the diet, without providing any proof. Our experts compiled a list of the highest rated diet plans in the list featured here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet

Here are some reviews from users who have used this diet:

“Cabbage soup is not a filler upper”

“I see no real physical weight loss”

“have quite a headache”

“worst heart burn I have ever had”

People did mention they lost weight, but that they often gained it all back one they resumed eating. This makes sense as it’s likely the only reason one is losing weight is due to water weight.

Some also experienced side effects such as gas, bloating, and nausea. There were also concerns from people that they quickly became bored of it, and that they often felt like quitting. A list of the highest ranked diet plans is available in the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cabbage Soup Diet Work?

There are many things to consider about the Cabbage Soup Diet. There’s no science or proof that this diet actually works, and that’s why there’s many different variations on it. Many people who tried it say they regained all their weight loss, which is common for crash diets that serve to reduce water weight instead of fat. Health experts on the Mayo Clinic and Web MD website also confirm its likely not safe or effective for real weight loss.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It combines a high protein, appetite suppressing meal replacement as well as a natural stimulant free metabolism booster. Many customers say it’s effective for weight loss, and that it’s easy to use. There are no added filler ingredients, stimulants, or processed additives. It contains only natural extracts and ingredients clinically shown to help with weight loss. Many users have left glowing testimonials and positive reviews on their website.

The 18Shake Diet offers its supplements with a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed within these 30 days with no risk and no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link provided here.

How Does Cabbage Soup Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cabbage Soup Diet
  • 29 /100



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 36, 718 total comments)

Sandy

+

I am on Day 6 and lost 8 lbs so far. I am having a hard time with the soup today, will put some of the baked chicken in it to deflect the awful onion smell and taste. I experienced a headache on Day 1, and developed a dislike for the soup on Day 2. Day 3 I actually liked the soup, especially when I stepped on the scale. So, I definitely have a love-hate relationship with the cabbage soup diet, but I WILL persevere until I reach my goal of losing 25 pounds. After that, I will do the 5:2 (2 days of below 500 calories followed by 5 days of healthy eating).

posted Jan 11th, 2016 6:24 pm


shawnb

?

Is there a certain recipe to follow for the soup? Is squash allowed in the soup? Any veggies that aren't allow

posted Jan 10th, 2016 1:23 am


Michelle

I started the diet on October 26, 2015 and the first four days there was no weight loss. On the last few days the weight seemed to fall off. I lost a total of 16 lbs!!! I plan on doing it again, this time with some excercise. The first day was the worst day for me, I felt light headed then I began to take a vitamin and felt much better. You can eat as much as you want so no one should go hungry. Good luck and just any other diet and you go back to eating bad the weight will come back on.

posted Nov 2nd, 2015 12:54 pm


Justin

Started diet on 140kg. Now on day 3. Severe headaches last night, feeling light-headed - lethargic today. Will continue as I have ambitious plan to get to 100kgs.

posted Oct 25th, 2015 1:21 am


Samantha

+

Currently finishing day 2 of this diet. Lost 1.5lb on the first day. Excited to see the result at the end. Struggling with taste, everything is so bland!! Going well so far. Not sure how much exercise has to do with the finial outcome but work keeps me on my toes. Love reading all the sucess stories too!

posted Aug 31st, 2015 2:29 am


aNgie

Hello ...DAY 1.... 166.4... so far so good.. Wish me luck!!

posted May 28th, 2015 12:09 am


Dori

+

am on Day 6 First time...has been the easiest diet ever and was 6 ponds down on the 5th Day and I agree that this diet has lots of nutrition...dont know what the person above was talking about (dangerously low in nutrition and calories) I have been a purest with it as well and have not suffered any...my version allows Beef or skinless chicken on the meat days and does not have all the added things I have seen above; but my cravings for chocolate, ice cream, cookies etc have dissapeared...my diet also warns to take a two week break between rounds...I am hoping the next two weeks I will eat smaller portions and stick to healthy foods...then I will try for the next 10 pounds

posted May 23rd, 2015 4:01 pm


kiki

+

first week within 6 days lost 10 lbs. Second week with out break lost 1 lb within 3 days. I really recommend some time break in between diet, otherwise it would be hard to loose

posted Apr 28th, 2015 2:02 am


peachymomof3

I don't see how this could be "extremely low calorie" or "unhealthy". Did you see the "unlimited fruits and veggies" almost every day? It does include lean protein or milk on several days. The only thing it cuts out is fat and bread/pasta/sugar. As for the allegedly low calories, I calculate about 56 calories per serving of soup, which you could easily eat 4-8 servings of in a day plus the other things. Bananas and apples have about 100 calories for a medium one (x 8 is 800 calories) plus milk, which is almost the same. Chicken breast has 600 calories (lean beef is the same) for the recommended 20oz. I calculate around 1000 calories per day (some diabetics live on 1200). The only truly extreme low calorie day is the one where only vegetables and baked potato/butter are allowed (around 500). I don't see any evidence that fasting (or almost fasting) for one day every harmed anyone. Or, that going without bread/pasta/sugar and fat for one week every harmed anyone. The key is continuing after the diet to consume limited bread/pasta/sugar and healthy fats like nuts and avocados in order to maintain the weight loss. I've lost 90 lbs and kept it off for the last year and a half following a diet very similar to this and can say this with confidence and experience. One tip I will give, is that I've always found when sugar cravings hit really hard, try eating an apple and a small handful of almonds along with a full glass of water. This almost always works for me and the almonds don't really break the diet significantly as long as you don't overdo it.

posted Apr 13th, 2015 2:07 pm


Joy

+

I have done the diet once before and found it very easy. I am a veggie so I swapped out beef for tofu and milk for almond milk. I also recommend using a low sodium soup stock to reduce water retention. I did not have a lot of weight to loose so I dropped 5 pounds but I felt it was a great reboot for when I might have overindulged a bit. I did not regain any of the weight but I also kept up a healthy diet afterwards. I'm pretty sure if I binged out again it would all pile back. I think that's like most diets though.

posted Apr 11th, 2015 2:22 pm


AVUU

+

hey everyone im on banana day and skim milk so far so good. lets do this and im going to take 2 weeks and 1 week apart until i lost 20

posted Apr 9th, 2015 9:52 am


Ontario

+

March 2 / 2015 . I'm male age 50 height 5'4" weight 178.8. On the start of the third day I weigh myself and 173.0. That's almost 6 pounds lost in just 2 days . I do get mild headaches . But it's the end of day 3 and I will weight in tomorrow morning again at the start of my 4 th day. It's like (Buckleys Couch med) LOL :) . It's horrible but it works :). I don't cheat on it . If you have the will power , it's only 7 day diet , Not 7 years :) just think next week when you look in the mirror how good you will feel about yourself :)). If ya got a double chin lol watch it disappear :). Good luck and let's get Er done :)

posted Mar 2nd, 2015 10:14 pm


Lisa Bowie

+

I have done the Cabbage Soup Diet 4 times with a one week break in between. I have lost 9 kg so far. I am going on a cruise in 7 weeks and needed to fit my bikini! I am amazed with this diet. I have done every diet there is and with this one I never feel hungry which is fantastic. My goal is to get to 60 kg and I think this goal will become a reality. Im so proud of myself. I exercise every day and have never had any problems. I also have 2 protein shakes every day. The only thing I have is a bit of gas. I have never done a diet that has had such dramatic results so fast and everyone can notice how much weight ive lost. I have totally stuck to the diet each time. Lisa

posted Feb 18th, 2015 10:22 pm


Zee

Hi
Any feedback would be appreciated, confused!

I did the cabbage diet last year and my stomach became as flat as an ironing board! Result! Went down a jeans size and my arms lost weight too.

This time round I'm very confused and upset .i have followed the diet strictly as suggested but I see no real physical weight loss. I started the diet this time in hope for the flat belly as I'm going on holiday but Iv probably lost at minimum weight.
I am due to start my period in ten days n I wondered if this maybe the reason and would I possibly shrink after that ?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks, Zee

posted Feb 6th, 2015 8:32 am


CJackson

+

I'm on Day 5 of this diet and have been exercising moderately both running (2-3 miles 7:00 min miles) and strength training. So far I've lost 13 lbs (Starting Weight - 222, Current Weight -209 - Muscular Build)
I don't add very much sodium/spices to the soup nor veggies soup which makes for a bland tasting diet. If I'm going to subject myself to such a diet, I make sure to cut every calorie possible. My suggestions are, meditate, pray, and persevere. It's not only about losing weight it's a mental challenge, take the challenge and conquer it! Good Luck and God Bless!

posted Jan 15th, 2015 1:29 am


Michelle

+

Ive done this diet before and it did the trick. Have just started day 1 again and don't feel hungry yet. Been on a 30 min run too. I blend my soup up and add lots of smoked paprika and also some fat free yogurt once heated with a splash of balsamic vinegar. On banana day i make banana milkshakes with skimmed milk. Hoping to lose 5 kgs in 7 days

posted Dec 15th, 2014 8:18 am


qiuuu

am gg to start day 1 today will let ur know how it goes!!!!

posted Nov 18th, 2014 12:15 am


Tay

Our office decided to do a cabbage soup diet challenge. Everyone pays a $4 no-refundable fee, and the winner wins all. I am beginning day4, and it is looking pretty good. II have lost 4 lbs. I drink 8 + glasses of water each day. On banana day, I decided to make a smoothie, and it was delicious. Good Luck

posted Nov 3rd, 2014 7:11 pm


Ms Tee

+

Started this past Monday 5/5/14 results thus far pd a day. Did not weigh in today, but as of yesterday Friday 5/9/14 I lost 6 pds. Today is steak day and your stool is sorta loose. Not too bad, I would recommend it for a quick fix and especially for an outfit and or an engagement. Yes, you should always incorporate EXERCISE... =) Good Luck!

posted May 10th, 2014 10:43 pm


Diane

+

I have done this diet 3 times over the past 5 years. I am beginning again tomorrow after putting on 7 lbs over the holidays. Its only 7 days to drop 7 to 10 lbs and it works!! The better you stick to the program the better the loss. I have a major sweet tooth and it really does take away the desire after the first few days and after the week of diet continues to work. I have found it easy to keep the weight off because it changes my junk food desires. Whenever I gain a few lbs I begin again. I find it pretty easy to follow, to make up variations in what your allowed to eat, and do not ever feel hungry. I would rather follow a diet for 7 days that you see real results and stay in check than having to be on a diet for weeks or months. This diet works great.

posted Jan 13th, 2014 2:59 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet

Whats better than
Cabbage Soup Diet?