Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 183 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 35, 699 total comments)

kirnose

today was my 5th day.i cheated a bit with a half bar of choclate .i was feeling v weak and down i thought i need to eat some thing sweet.but so far it good.i am feeling very light and clothes r getting lose on me.will check my weight tommarow and will let everyone know who is or thinking of going on this diet.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 7:33 pm


kirnose

thanks kat.by the end of 3rd day i lost 4 pounds.not bad,still wondering how people lose up to 10-15 pounds in one week.i am having headaches though.still will continue.hope i can lose 4 more pounds i guess i will.lets hope.all the best for the starters plz keep posting and yes i wa just wondering any of u .what about the weight it was temprory loss ?or for good.plz let us know.

posted Jan 17th, 2012 4:01 pm


JolyAnn

Ok.. I just started the CSD today... went well.. I'm ready for day 2.. and looking foward to the bake potato.

Question is... Since I already lost a lot of weight last week (due to the water loss) .. would the CSD still work as well? .. takling the fat part?

posted Jan 16th, 2012 10:35 pm


Kat

To Kirnose,
All together I lost 9 lbs on this diet. However I was only really faithful to the diet for 5 days, on day 6 and 7 I cheated a bit (had some fruits and potatoes, and some buns).
I would say that you can have pomagranate because it would say so if you were not allowed. Good luck!

posted Jan 16th, 2012 6:12 pm


kirnose

kat i was just wondering how much u lost in one week .plz anyone on this diet plz tell me can i eat pomegranete on fruits day?
first day my weight=130
second day my weight=128

posted Jan 15th, 2012 3:17 pm


kirnose

second day lost 2 pound already.let c if i can achieve my goal from 130 to 122 pounds

posted Jan 15th, 2012 3:16 pm


karan

today is my second day.
first day =130lbs
second day=128lbs
just excited to c if i can achieve my goal on one week which is 122lbs.wish me good luck.plz god help me.

posted Jan 15th, 2012 2:43 pm


karan

Can you have pomegranate on the cabbage soup diet? Can i have pomegranate on fruits day.as much as i want to? -- fat burning soup diet.can i have pomegranate as ,much as i want to?

posted Jan 15th, 2012 1:20 pm


karan

today is my second day.i lost 2lbs in one day wow.i am excited.today is a bit rough day becuase of vegies but still its worth it.i have no craving for any junk and sweets and in just one day i am feeling very energatic and fresh.i am drinking lot of water,green tea as well.let weight and watch and i think i will be able to finish this plan as losing 2lbs in a day has motivated me to stick to it till i reach my goal which is 124lbs.my weight on 14th jan was 130
15th jan morning 128 .....will keep u updated ...

posted Jan 15th, 2012 1:16 pm


Kat

Today is day 6 and I cheated a bit - I had a glass of orange juice this morning (100% pure orange juice) and a grapefriut - so I don't think it's too much of a CSD sin since they are both healthy.

Other than that things are still going good. I haven't seen any weight come off in the last few days, but in the first 3 days I dropped 8lbs. I can also see a difference in my body, and my clothes fit a bit looser. I also enjoy drinking water a lot more, and I find that my appetite is a lot better and I'm not as hungry as often.

All in all, this is a good diet. I think I will still continue to eat the soup once a day, and I will still eat the brown rice tomorrow, but I might mix some fruit in with my day - which I don't think should affect anything.

posted Jan 14th, 2012 10:57 pm


karan

i hope i can acheive my goal soon.wish me good luck:)

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:39 pm


karan

can i eat pomegrante on fruits day?

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:28 pm


karan

well i am very excited .was going through the reviews and wishing that it works for me too.just started today ate two bowls of soup and fruits including oranges,apple ,pomegranate ,water 130lbs wana go down to 1241bs wish me good look.tomarrow is going to b a hard day but looking farward to potatoe with butter lets c

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:18 pm


Kat

I am now on day 5! And I am very happy to almost be done! I feel great and can see a big difference in my appearance, especially in my tummy and hips. I didn't weight myself today because I had a big bowl of soup first thing and didn't want to weight myself after that cause it may have discouraged me, so i will weight in tomorrow morning.

I am also very use to the soup now, and rather like it. I eat about 4 bowls a day, and I have no problem with it. I also add only pepper - nothing else, not even the seasoning cubes or spice only soup mix.
And last night when I was craving something sweet I blended together some bananas and skim milk - it was like a milkshake! Very good!

Anyways I have only a few more days left! Keep it up everyone!

posted Jan 13th, 2012 2:31 pm


kalpana

i am on 3rd day of CSD today and done it earlier also.. i have lost 2 kg in just 5 days as i couldn't complete the diet for 7 days but 2 kgs loss is very satisfing in just 5 days.. i had tried almost everything to loss wait but all the way out are almost disappointing. it is the wayout which gives result instantly and you feel encoured to loss more weight.

I really like it a lot and recommand to everyone who wants to shen pound fast..

on the end of 1st day of CSD, i was 79 kg and wish that i could turn to 75 kg by the end of 7th day..

Oh god please bless me...

posted Jan 13th, 2012 9:33 am


Kat

I have started day 3 and now it just feels like easy sailing from now on. Yesterday was a little harder than day 1 because I don't like veggies as much but I had 4 bowls of soup and some carrots, cellery, and cuccumber and I felt very full.

The best part of yesterday was the baked potato with butter (I used margarine on mine). I normally don't even like baked potatoes but I ate the whole thing in about a minute and I was stuffed!

Morning of day 1 : 168 lbs
Morning of day 2 : 163 lbs
Morning of day 3 : 160 lbs
Total loss so far is 8 lbs! AND my pants are baggy! Looks like my goal of 150lbs might not be so far out of reach after all!

Keep it up everyone! You can do it!

posted Jan 11th, 2012 2:37 pm


Robert

Just wanted everyone to know this diet works just finished day 7. I started at 202 now at 188 what a difference a week makes. I am starting the gym today and look forward to a lifestyle change.

posted Jan 11th, 2012 1:04 pm


Kathryn Williams

So I'm on day 2 of the CSD and I actually didn't mind having the soup for breakfast today - much easier to eat.

Yesterday morning before the diet I stepped on the scale and was 168 lbs, this morning I am 163 lbs - no lie.

Seeing the weight drop off like that is a big boost to get me to stay on the diet. I would LOVE to get down to 150 lbs but we will see.

Today will be tough cause I don't like veggies as much as fruit, but I'm looking forward to the baked potato.

Keep it up everyone! Good luck!

posted Jan 10th, 2012 6:14 pm


Mimilv

Day 5 has ened and my jeans are big! Wohoooo!!! Today was easy because I did enjoy my chicken and tomatoes (which I did put very little salt and olive oil on). I would say the first two days of the diet are hard but after that you get used to it:) I can't wait to weigh myself on day 7, 2 more days to go

posted Jan 10th, 2012 9:43 am


Jessica

Starting the csd tomorrow! I'm really excited, i just finished making the soup... it's in the crockpot right now. My goal is to lose about 10 lbs this week and then continue eating VERY healthy afterwards and working out. Hopefully this turns out to be a good jumpstart to my weightloss :) wish me luckk

posted Jan 10th, 2012 4:07 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account