Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 218 reviews
Cabbage Soup Diet

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Cabbage Soup Diet is a weight loss plan said to be a short term solution for 10 pounds of weight loss in a week. It emphasizes eating an unlimited amount of cabbage soup, and many different websites offer different variations.

Generally, one is allowed to eat certain added fruits and vegetables depending on the day of the diet. It’s unknown who came up it with this plan, but it’s believed to have started in the 1980’s. It’s considered a crash diet, and much like other similar diets is advised only for a few days with no guarantee of long term weight loss. Our experts reviewed many diets and found the 18Shake Diet to be the best solution for weight loss. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link found here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cabbage Soup Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The Cabbage Soup Diet dies not rely on diet pills or pre-packaged foods, all the food eaten have to be prepared. One website that promotes the Cabbage Soup Diet says:

“not suitable for long-term weight loss”

It’s instead intended:

“If you have a special occasion coming up or you simply need to lose weight fast”

Often it will be advised that in order to maintain the diet one should follow these rules:

  • Drink a minimum of 4 glasses of water.
  • Take a multivitamin.
  • Eating as much soup as possible, not starving oneself.
  • Introducing different recipes to avoid boredom.

A 2 week break is recommended for people who want to restart the diet. Cabbage isn’t the only produce allowed; one can also add things like onions, celery, asparagus, zucchini, squash, barley, some meats, and many different seasonings.

Though this can be healthy, relying on it solely can potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies. Web MD also adds:

“this crash diet won’t help you in the long run, and it doesn’t give your body the nutrients it needs to stay healthy”

Furthermore, they add:

“Health experts don’t recommend following very low-calorie diets unless you’re under a doctor’s care”

This is due to there being numerous damaging health effects that the diet can have. A list of the highest rated diet plans is found in the link provided here.

The results of this diet are not likely to continue, as Web MD confirms:

“you’ll like regain any weight that you lose”

“It will likely leave you feeling hungry, weak, and bored. You might even feel sick”

This is because there’s a lack of adequate food options. It’s not offered as a long term solution, and instead is said to be a quick weight loss solution. There’s one Cabbage Soup Diet website that admits:

“A lot of people quit because the soup can be a bit bland, and they quickly tire of eating it every day”

There are several considerations to keep in mind. It’s not recommended for long-term use, and it’s believed the only reason one might lose weight is due to water weight and not fat. Live Strong.com adds:

“It’s possible to lose as much as 20 pounds of body weight during one week, most of which is water”

This is likely the reason why one sees any weight loss from this diet, since it’s low in carbohydrates and high in fluids, most water weight is flushed out of the body. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet”, many customers regained their weight as soon as they stopped the diet.

One popular variation of the diet allows for the following:

  • Day one: Unlimited fruit except for bananas alongside water, tea, and coffee.
  • Day two: No fruit, only raw vegetables and one baked potato
  • Day three: Unlimited fruits and vegetables except for potatoes and bananas.
  • Day four: 8 bananas and unlimited skimmed milk.
  • Day five: 6 tomatoes and 565g of beef
  • Day six: Unlimited vegetables and beef but no potatoes.
  • Day seven: Some brown rice and sugar free fruit juice.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 diet plans is offered in the link provided here.       

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cabbage Soup Diet Quality of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients are healthy as it relies on fresh produce and grains. However, there is an issue with boredom as the same basic good groups have to be eaten repeatedly.

Also, there’s no science that eating only cabbage soup is healthy and safe. A Dr. Melinda Ratini says:

“You’ll likely get less than 1,000 calories a day on the limited menu. That’s far fewer than the 2,000 daily calories recommended for most adults”

“The pounds come off quickly, but mostly you’ll lose water weight”

“chances are, you’ll regain it all back as soon as you start eating a normal diet again”

The diet was made to help one with weight loss in a one week period, but this does not mean it will help with long term weight loss. Health experts also agree it’s likely not a quality solution for weight loss due to its limited food options. A top 10 list of the highest ranked diet plans is offered in the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Cabbage Soup Diet

The price depends on where one gets their grocery from, as no prepackaged foods are needed.

The diet does advise to get a multivitamin, due to the lack of food options that are high in nutrients. It’s also necessary to eat unlimited amounts of cabbage soup. This means one will have to cook for the full 7 days, as the diet also limits the kinds of seasonings through reducing sodium provided from salt.

Due to the lack of clinical studies proving that this is an effective and safe weight loss solution, it’s a very poor diet. A comprehensive top 10 list features the highest rated diet pills.

The Mayo Clinic also had this to say:

“Fad diets like this one may be tempting, but keep in mind that long-term weight loss depends on making lasting healthy changes”

The changes needed in this diet are too short term to truly be a quality solution for weight loss.

Business of Cabbage Soup Diet

It’s unknown who created this diet, though many websites offer books and tips. Each group offers slightly different advice, with the only key thing being that you can only eat cabbage soup alongside some fruits and vegetables for a total of 7 days.

The diet will often be presented in either a free format via a PDF, or through a book. There are no claims that anyone made this diet, though each book claims it has the optimal guide. There are often recipe books offered as well as tips.

No studies or proof that this diet actually works and is safe is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to determine why the diet was created and suggested in the way it’s displayed. It also allows many different groups to make claims about what to add to the diet, without providing any proof. Our experts compiled a list of the highest rated diet plans in the list featured here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet

Here are some reviews from users who have used this diet:

“Cabbage soup is not a filler upper”

“I see no real physical weight loss”

“have quite a headache”

“worst heart burn I have ever had”

People did mention they lost weight, but that they often gained it all back one they resumed eating. This makes sense as it’s likely the only reason one is losing weight is due to water weight.

Some also experienced side effects such as gas, bloating, and nausea. There were also concerns from people that they quickly became bored of it, and that they often felt like quitting. A list of the highest ranked diet plans is available in the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cabbage Soup Diet Work?

There are many things to consider about the Cabbage Soup Diet. There’s no science or proof that this diet actually works, and that’s why there’s many different variations on it. Many people who tried it say they regained all their weight loss, which is common for crash diets that serve to reduce water weight instead of fat. Health experts on the Mayo Clinic and Web MD website also confirm its likely not safe or effective for real weight loss.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It combines a high protein, appetite suppressing meal replacement as well as a natural stimulant free metabolism booster. Many customers say it’s effective for weight loss, and that it’s easy to use. There are no added filler ingredients, stimulants, or processed additives. It contains only natural extracts and ingredients clinically shown to help with weight loss. Many users have left glowing testimonials and positive reviews on their website.

The 18Shake Diet offers its supplements with a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed within these 30 days with no risk and no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link provided here.

How Does Cabbage Soup Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cabbage Soup Diet
  • 29 /100



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 36, 718 total comments)

Charity

?

Any suggestion on a support group to help with ideas and questions about the cabbage soup diet? First time CSD plan... Need some advice on pros and cons and snacks...Just Started the CSD yesterday... I'm gettimg married March 17th... I look like a pumpkin head and of course being 36 I would love to be down a few pounds... Any suggestion on a support group to help with ideas and questions?

posted Jan 30th, 2012 7:09 pm


kirnose

awwwwwwwwwwwww was looking for some ones feedback for support but any way i started csd again after completion of first day my weight was 126 and its down to 124 i lost 2lbs in one day .good for now will let u know everyday.i am hungry but i guess 5 more days not a big deal.wish me goodluck plz

posted Jan 30th, 2012 4:57 pm


kirnose

hey i have started the diet again but i dont c any reviews any more .why is that plz any one on this diet plz if its working for u wrtie a supporting review so i can stick to it.

posted Jan 29th, 2012 3:17 pm


kirnose

+

hey key i am sorry dont know will u get me feedback as i am trying to leave messages but i dont c them on reviews.any way now that i knew that u r she i will be careful sorry if i offended u somehow unintentionally sweety.okay so whats up everyone who is happy and give us feedback as its v supporting.i will start from sun and will keep u guys updated.key will keep the walking factor in my mind too thanks a bunch for that tip.all the best

posted Jan 27th, 2012 1:23 pm


key

You are so welcome Kirnose and I'm sorry that it took so long but I am not a he I am a 29 year old female, a woman, a girl, a lady, a she. I am so not a dude.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 4:40 pm


kirnose

hi everyone.me again.key was just wondering there r different recepies for this csd.i use only tommatoes.cabbage head,carrots,celery.green onions.and bell pepper.somewhere some kind of mushrrom r also in the recepie.what r yr ingredients.and also u have to eat in this diet even if u r not hugry or onll when u r hungry.it says eat soup because more u will loose if more u will eat this soup but u tell me what u did.as till now i can c that u r the only person who has lost so much in just 3 days.sorry for botheration but i feel i can loose a lot if i follow what u exactly did .yr help will be appriated sweety. regards

posted Jan 26th, 2012 3:48 pm


kirnose

thanx key for the long awaited reply and promise of helping me with whatever i will ask,grt.shakil u r welcome.now we both should follow key as he seems to b a key to this achievement.guys i will start this diet from sunday as am invited for dinner .this sat.so cheers everyone and plz keep us posted about yr experience.ressults.it will keep us going on this diet without cheating as then we dont have to feel sorry for ourself to b on this diet olne.so gr8 wooooooooooooow.all the best.and anyone plz tell me if thay gain all the weight back on his diet after few days.so lets start

posted Jan 26th, 2012 1:18 pm


blkhwx10

To some of the people I have been reading about below that are not losing weight - - you cannot add anything that is not specifically listed in the diet. I saw eggs, dates, grapefruit juice .... every bit of that has sugars and none of it is on the diet. If you add anything that is not in the diet, then you are just basically causing unnecessary misery to yourself by depriving yourself of food because it will not work. Just something I have learned.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 3:12 am


key

+

Hi Kirnose I am a 29 year old female the first day was the hardest for me but once I got through the first day the second day was a little easier and when I got through the second day the third day was even easier but then i did something very foolish and switched diets big mistake I gained 2.lbs back so I am restarting the diet today and I am doing very well so far I used the regular recipe I didnt add or take away anything from the soup on day 1 I just ate a bowl of the soup and a bowl of fresh mixed fruit of cantaloupe,grapes and strawberries then for lunch I ate a bowl of the soup and a bowl of the same fresh fruit and when i got hungry I just snacked on fruit and for day 2 I ate soup for breakfast and had a small salad and for lunch i ate the same as I did for breakfast i did not eat dinner simply because I just wasnt hungry and i did walk 1 1/2 hours both days and to shakil you just have to stick to the diet you shouldn't be eating all that other stuff. Hope I have been of help to some or all of you and I will weigh in and post my results in the morning. Goodluck everyone!

posted Jan 25th, 2012 5:29 pm


key

+

Goodmorning everyone. I did something very foolish i was doing so great on this diet i never should have stopped but unfortunately i did to try this mayo clinic diet that my family was bragging was so good BIG MISTAKE I gained 2. something lbs back however im still down 4lbs but i've decided that the cabbage soup diet is best for me so sorry I let everyone down but im back at it this day 1 for me so please wish me goodluck.

Kirnose I will help you the best I can sweetie and to answer your questions I am 29 years old and I just use the regular recipe i didn't add or take away anything in the soup and I also did not cheat at all I ate the soup for breakfast then again for lunch. I also walked for 1 1/2 hours each day I am starting again today and this time I wont stop for anyone I will gladly keep you posted and if you have anymore questions please ask I will answer them for you the best way that I can and please note the exercise I think really helps alot and remember don't cheat I will keep everyone posted and thanks everyone the support really helps.

posted Jan 25th, 2012 1:24 pm


shakil

+

kirnose thank you dear for hope and advise

posted Jan 25th, 2012 11:18 am


kirnose

dear shakil .well i did this diet last week but was not able to finish it so in 5 days i lost 4 lbs.but my clothes really got loose on me.i dont think u r doing it right.please stick to the plan .do not add anything u ate boiled eggs,dates and fruit chat .eat soup as much as u can as more u go to washroom more u will loose.but this diet is good for only short term.like not more then 2 weeks .i hope i was of any help to u.i was reading review of key .i guess he is a male i was just wondering how he lost so much in 3 days asked for his comments but did not heard from him.so let wait for his or her reply.may b that is of anyhelp too.

posted Jan 24th, 2012 5:45 pm


shakil

Hi EveryOne, I have started CGS for last 4 days first day i ate onlly fruit chat (i add dates in it also) and second day i ate onlly 100 grams spinach and thirday i ate fruit chat and 1boil egg and 4th day i ate 2 eggs omlette and 1 boil egg in the evening and today is my 5th day till now i just drink grapefruit juice but i dont lose even 1lb till now i dont know whats wrong with it please let me know someone who has lost much weight i want to know the schdule and quantity and types of food please let me know someone help me please my weight is 80 Kg i am tooooooo worry i will be very thankfull who will help me about eating schdule thanks and regards

posted Jan 24th, 2012 2:33 pm


kirnose

key would u plz reply to my message ,i will be grateful

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 4:55 pm


key

+

Goodmorning everyone i weighed in again this morning and i have gone from 236.4lbs down to 233.8lbs so i am down another 2.6lbs and that was only the 2nd day on the csd so that is a total of 6.8lbs in 2 days how great is that goodluck to everyone else and i will continue to keep you all posted

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 1:11 pm


kirnose

hi key i m happy for u.i was on this diet last week but was not able to complete so will start again tommarrow lost 4 pounds in 5 days but really surprised to c yr result how old r u ?and what u used for soup may b i can have the same results if i follow yr diet i mean what u ate plz help me

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 11:51 am


key

+

i started the csd yesterday i weighed in yesterday morning my starting weight was 240.6 i weighed in then i weighed in again this morning and i now weigh 236.4 so i lost 4.2lbs in just 1 ay that just great and i am very motivated to lose lots more so wish me luck everyone

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 2:15 am


Taylor

?

On day 4 of the cabbage soup diet, can I make a banana milk shake? for day 4 can i make a banana and milk shake? just bannana and milk in it? also after the diet is done can you eat healthy food but eat bread and rice? like carbs but not junk food. like grains, etc?

posted Jan 19th, 2012 5:27 am


4everdiamond

TODAY IS MY THIRD DAY, I HAVE LOST 2# AS OF THIS MORNING. I AM FOLLOWING THE DIET TO A T BESIDES SEASONINGS. I AM AVOIDING CRANBERRY JUICE AS WELL. WALMART DOES HAVE A 100 PERCENT NO SUGAR BUT I CANT REMEMBER THE BRAND I DO KNOW THAT IT IS NOT YOUR TYPICAL BRANDS.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 11:04 pm


kirnose

today was my 5th day.i cheated a bit with a half bar of choclate .i was feeling v weak and down i thought i need to eat some thing sweet.but so far it good.i am feeling very light and clothes r getting lose on me.will check my weight tommarow and will let everyone know who is or thinking of going on this diet.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 7:33 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet

Whats better than
Cabbage Soup Diet?