Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 204 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 36, 708 total comments)

shakil

kirnose thank you dear for hope and advise

posted Jan 25th, 2012 11:18 am


kirnose

dear shakil .well i did this diet last week but was not able to finish it so in 5 days i lost 4 lbs.but my clothes really got loose on me.i dont think u r doing it right.please stick to the plan .do not add anything u ate boiled eggs,dates and fruit chat .eat soup as much as u can as more u go to washroom more u will loose.but this diet is good for only short term.like not more then 2 weeks .i hope i was of any help to u.i was reading review of key .i guess he is a male i was just wondering how he lost so much in 3 days asked for his comments but did not heard from him.so let wait for his or her reply.may b that is of anyhelp too.

posted Jan 24th, 2012 5:45 pm


shakil

Hi EveryOne, I have started CGS for last 4 days first day i ate onlly fruit chat (i add dates in it also) and second day i ate onlly 100 grams spinach and thirday i ate fruit chat and 1boil egg and 4th day i ate 2 eggs omlette and 1 boil egg in the evening and today is my 5th day till now i just drink grapefruit juice but i dont lose even 1lb till now i dont know whats wrong with it please let me know someone who has lost much weight i want to know the schdule and quantity and types of food please let me know someone help me please my weight is 80 Kg i am tooooooo worry i will be very thankfull who will help me about eating schdule thanks and regards

posted Jan 24th, 2012 2:33 pm


kirnose

key would u plz reply to my message ,i will be grateful

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 4:55 pm


key

Goodmorning everyone i weighed in again this morning and i have gone from 236.4lbs down to 233.8lbs so i am down another 2.6lbs and that was only the 2nd day on the csd so that is a total of 6.8lbs in 2 days how great is that goodluck to everyone else and i will continue to keep you all posted

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 1:11 pm


kirnose

hi key i m happy for u.i was on this diet last week but was not able to complete so will start again tommarrow lost 4 pounds in 5 days but really surprised to c yr result how old r u ?and what u used for soup may b i can have the same results if i follow yr diet i mean what u ate plz help me

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 11:51 am


key

i started the csd yesterday i weighed in yesterday morning my starting weight was 240.6 i weighed in then i weighed in again this morning and i now weigh 236.4 so i lost 4.2lbs in just 1 ay that just great and i am very motivated to lose lots more so wish me luck everyone

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 2:15 am


Taylor

On day 4 of the cabbage soup diet, can I make a banana milk shake? for day 4 can i make a banana and milk shake? just bannana and milk in it? also after the diet is done can you eat healthy food but eat bread and rice? like carbs but not junk food. like grains, etc?

posted Jan 19th, 2012 5:27 am


4everdiamond

TODAY IS MY THIRD DAY, I HAVE LOST 2# AS OF THIS MORNING. I AM FOLLOWING THE DIET TO A T BESIDES SEASONINGS. I AM AVOIDING CRANBERRY JUICE AS WELL. WALMART DOES HAVE A 100 PERCENT NO SUGAR BUT I CANT REMEMBER THE BRAND I DO KNOW THAT IT IS NOT YOUR TYPICAL BRANDS.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 11:04 pm


kirnose

today was my 5th day.i cheated a bit with a half bar of choclate .i was feeling v weak and down i thought i need to eat some thing sweet.but so far it good.i am feeling very light and clothes r getting lose on me.will check my weight tommarow and will let everyone know who is or thinking of going on this diet.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 7:33 pm


kirnose

thanks kat.by the end of 3rd day i lost 4 pounds.not bad,still wondering how people lose up to 10-15 pounds in one week.i am having headaches though.still will continue.hope i can lose 4 more pounds i guess i will.lets hope.all the best for the starters plz keep posting and yes i wa just wondering any of u .what about the weight it was temprory loss ?or for good.plz let us know.

posted Jan 17th, 2012 4:01 pm


JolyAnn

Ok.. I just started the CSD today... went well.. I'm ready for day 2.. and looking foward to the bake potato.

Question is... Since I already lost a lot of weight last week (due to the water loss) .. would the CSD still work as well? .. takling the fat part?

posted Jan 16th, 2012 10:35 pm


Kat

To Kirnose,
All together I lost 9 lbs on this diet. However I was only really faithful to the diet for 5 days, on day 6 and 7 I cheated a bit (had some fruits and potatoes, and some buns).
I would say that you can have pomagranate because it would say so if you were not allowed. Good luck!

posted Jan 16th, 2012 6:12 pm


kirnose

kat i was just wondering how much u lost in one week .plz anyone on this diet plz tell me can i eat pomegranete on fruits day?
first day my weight=130
second day my weight=128

posted Jan 15th, 2012 3:17 pm


kirnose

second day lost 2 pound already.let c if i can achieve my goal from 130 to 122 pounds

posted Jan 15th, 2012 3:16 pm


karan

today is my second day.
first day =130lbs
second day=128lbs
just excited to c if i can achieve my goal on one week which is 122lbs.wish me good luck.plz god help me.

posted Jan 15th, 2012 2:43 pm


karan

Can you have pomegranate on the cabbage soup diet? Can i have pomegranate on fruits day.as much as i want to? -- fat burning soup diet.can i have pomegranate as ,much as i want to?

posted Jan 15th, 2012 1:20 pm


karan

today is my second day.i lost 2lbs in one day wow.i am excited.today is a bit rough day becuase of vegies but still its worth it.i have no craving for any junk and sweets and in just one day i am feeling very energatic and fresh.i am drinking lot of water,green tea as well.let weight and watch and i think i will be able to finish this plan as losing 2lbs in a day has motivated me to stick to it till i reach my goal which is 124lbs.my weight on 14th jan was 130
15th jan morning 128 .....will keep u updated ...

posted Jan 15th, 2012 1:16 pm


Kat

Today is day 6 and I cheated a bit - I had a glass of orange juice this morning (100% pure orange juice) and a grapefriut - so I don't think it's too much of a CSD sin since they are both healthy.

Other than that things are still going good. I haven't seen any weight come off in the last few days, but in the first 3 days I dropped 8lbs. I can also see a difference in my body, and my clothes fit a bit looser. I also enjoy drinking water a lot more, and I find that my appetite is a lot better and I'm not as hungry as often.

All in all, this is a good diet. I think I will still continue to eat the soup once a day, and I will still eat the brown rice tomorrow, but I might mix some fruit in with my day - which I don't think should affect anything.

posted Jan 14th, 2012 10:57 pm


karan

i hope i can acheive my goal soon.wish me good luck:)

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:39 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account