Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 183 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 35, 699 total comments)

andrea

day one on this diet is coming to a close. started at 5"2 139lbs. hope to get back to my smoking weight of 127.5 - 132 (jan 28th, 2011 was a year since i quit)

posted Jan 31st, 2012 3:29 am


Charity

Any suggestion on a support group to help with ideas and questions about the cabbage soup diet? First time CSD plan... Need some advice on pros and cons and snacks...Just Started the CSD yesterday... I'm gettimg married March 17th... I look like a pumpkin head and of course being 36 I would love to be down a few pounds... Any suggestion on a support group to help with ideas and questions?

posted Jan 30th, 2012 7:09 pm


kirnose

awwwwwwwwwwwww was looking for some ones feedback for support but any way i started csd again after completion of first day my weight was 126 and its down to 124 i lost 2lbs in one day .good for now will let u know everyday.i am hungry but i guess 5 more days not a big deal.wish me goodluck plz

posted Jan 30th, 2012 4:57 pm


kirnose

hey i have started the diet again but i dont c any reviews any more .why is that plz any one on this diet plz if its working for u wrtie a supporting review so i can stick to it.

posted Jan 29th, 2012 3:17 pm


kirnose

hey key i am sorry dont know will u get me feedback as i am trying to leave messages but i dont c them on reviews.any way now that i knew that u r she i will be careful sorry if i offended u somehow unintentionally sweety.okay so whats up everyone who is happy and give us feedback as its v supporting.i will start from sun and will keep u guys updated.key will keep the walking factor in my mind too thanks a bunch for that tip.all the best

posted Jan 27th, 2012 1:23 pm


key

You are so welcome Kirnose and I'm sorry that it took so long but I am not a he I am a 29 year old female, a woman, a girl, a lady, a she. I am so not a dude.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 4:40 pm


kirnose

hi everyone.me again.key was just wondering there r different recepies for this csd.i use only tommatoes.cabbage head,carrots,celery.green onions.and bell pepper.somewhere some kind of mushrrom r also in the recepie.what r yr ingredients.and also u have to eat in this diet even if u r not hugry or onll when u r hungry.it says eat soup because more u will loose if more u will eat this soup but u tell me what u did.as till now i can c that u r the only person who has lost so much in just 3 days.sorry for botheration but i feel i can loose a lot if i follow what u exactly did .yr help will be appriated sweety. regards

posted Jan 26th, 2012 3:48 pm


kirnose

thanx key for the long awaited reply and promise of helping me with whatever i will ask,grt.shakil u r welcome.now we both should follow key as he seems to b a key to this achievement.guys i will start this diet from sunday as am invited for dinner .this sat.so cheers everyone and plz keep us posted about yr experience.ressults.it will keep us going on this diet without cheating as then we dont have to feel sorry for ourself to b on this diet olne.so gr8 wooooooooooooow.all the best.and anyone plz tell me if thay gain all the weight back on his diet after few days.so lets start

posted Jan 26th, 2012 1:18 pm


blkhwx10

To some of the people I have been reading about below that are not losing weight - - you cannot add anything that is not specifically listed in the diet. I saw eggs, dates, grapefruit juice .... every bit of that has sugars and none of it is on the diet. If you add anything that is not in the diet, then you are just basically causing unnecessary misery to yourself by depriving yourself of food because it will not work. Just something I have learned.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 3:12 am


key

Hi Kirnose I am a 29 year old female the first day was the hardest for me but once I got through the first day the second day was a little easier and when I got through the second day the third day was even easier but then i did something very foolish and switched diets big mistake I gained 2.lbs back so I am restarting the diet today and I am doing very well so far I used the regular recipe I didnt add or take away anything from the soup on day 1 I just ate a bowl of the soup and a bowl of fresh mixed fruit of cantaloupe,grapes and strawberries then for lunch I ate a bowl of the soup and a bowl of the same fresh fruit and when i got hungry I just snacked on fruit and for day 2 I ate soup for breakfast and had a small salad and for lunch i ate the same as I did for breakfast i did not eat dinner simply because I just wasnt hungry and i did walk 1 1/2 hours both days and to shakil you just have to stick to the diet you shouldn't be eating all that other stuff. Hope I have been of help to some or all of you and I will weigh in and post my results in the morning. Goodluck everyone!

posted Jan 25th, 2012 5:29 pm


key

Goodmorning everyone. I did something very foolish i was doing so great on this diet i never should have stopped but unfortunately i did to try this mayo clinic diet that my family was bragging was so good BIG MISTAKE I gained 2. something lbs back however im still down 4lbs but i've decided that the cabbage soup diet is best for me so sorry I let everyone down but im back at it this day 1 for me so please wish me goodluck.

Kirnose I will help you the best I can sweetie and to answer your questions I am 29 years old and I just use the regular recipe i didn't add or take away anything in the soup and I also did not cheat at all I ate the soup for breakfast then again for lunch. I also walked for 1 1/2 hours each day I am starting again today and this time I wont stop for anyone I will gladly keep you posted and if you have anymore questions please ask I will answer them for you the best way that I can and please note the exercise I think really helps alot and remember don't cheat I will keep everyone posted and thanks everyone the support really helps.

posted Jan 25th, 2012 1:24 pm


shakil

kirnose thank you dear for hope and advise

posted Jan 25th, 2012 11:18 am


kirnose

dear shakil .well i did this diet last week but was not able to finish it so in 5 days i lost 4 lbs.but my clothes really got loose on me.i dont think u r doing it right.please stick to the plan .do not add anything u ate boiled eggs,dates and fruit chat .eat soup as much as u can as more u go to washroom more u will loose.but this diet is good for only short term.like not more then 2 weeks .i hope i was of any help to u.i was reading review of key .i guess he is a male i was just wondering how he lost so much in 3 days asked for his comments but did not heard from him.so let wait for his or her reply.may b that is of anyhelp too.

posted Jan 24th, 2012 5:45 pm


shakil

Hi EveryOne, I have started CGS for last 4 days first day i ate onlly fruit chat (i add dates in it also) and second day i ate onlly 100 grams spinach and thirday i ate fruit chat and 1boil egg and 4th day i ate 2 eggs omlette and 1 boil egg in the evening and today is my 5th day till now i just drink grapefruit juice but i dont lose even 1lb till now i dont know whats wrong with it please let me know someone who has lost much weight i want to know the schdule and quantity and types of food please let me know someone help me please my weight is 80 Kg i am tooooooo worry i will be very thankfull who will help me about eating schdule thanks and regards

posted Jan 24th, 2012 2:33 pm


kirnose

key would u plz reply to my message ,i will be grateful

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 4:55 pm


key

Goodmorning everyone i weighed in again this morning and i have gone from 236.4lbs down to 233.8lbs so i am down another 2.6lbs and that was only the 2nd day on the csd so that is a total of 6.8lbs in 2 days how great is that goodluck to everyone else and i will continue to keep you all posted

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 1:11 pm


kirnose

hi key i m happy for u.i was on this diet last week but was not able to complete so will start again tommarrow lost 4 pounds in 5 days but really surprised to c yr result how old r u ?and what u used for soup may b i can have the same results if i follow yr diet i mean what u ate plz help me

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 11:51 am


key

i started the csd yesterday i weighed in yesterday morning my starting weight was 240.6 i weighed in then i weighed in again this morning and i now weigh 236.4 so i lost 4.2lbs in just 1 ay that just great and i am very motivated to lose lots more so wish me luck everyone

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 2:15 am


Taylor

On day 4 of the cabbage soup diet, can I make a banana milk shake? for day 4 can i make a banana and milk shake? just bannana and milk in it? also after the diet is done can you eat healthy food but eat bread and rice? like carbs but not junk food. like grains, etc?

posted Jan 19th, 2012 5:27 am


4everdiamond

TODAY IS MY THIRD DAY, I HAVE LOST 2# AS OF THIS MORNING. I AM FOLLOWING THE DIET TO A T BESIDES SEASONINGS. I AM AVOIDING CRANBERRY JUICE AS WELL. WALMART DOES HAVE A 100 PERCENT NO SUGAR BUT I CANT REMEMBER THE BRAND I DO KNOW THAT IT IS NOT YOUR TYPICAL BRANDS.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 11:04 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account