Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 204 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 36, 708 total comments)

kirnose

hello andrea.no its my second time.last time i lost total 6 pounds in 6 days.i quit on actaully 6th day so u can say 6 pounds in 5 days.yes i do feel diffrence in my clothes.they r loose on me.today after completing 4 days i am down to 4 lbs.i have no idea how people lose 4lbs in one day.how r u doing how much u lost dear do let me know.

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 8:25 am


andrea

so my DAY 3 is coming to a close. ate 2 oranges, soup and spinach, salad, apple, soup and spinach and another apple. dont want fruit, dont want spinach, dont want salad and definately dont want anymore soup!

so i just blended my soup for milk and banana day tomorrow. hope i can get excited about it again!!!

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 2:10 am


andrea

kirnose do you feel any difference in your clothes? is this your first time doing the csd?

i am about sick of eating the soup. cant wait to rush thru banana day and get to the steak!

hang in there!!

posted Feb 1st, 2012 8:08 pm


kirnose

i am soooooooooooooooo hungry and bored no suppote no more weight loss but still trying to stick with it

posted Feb 1st, 2012 6:43 pm


andrea

ok so DAY 3 here. this morning weighed 134.5. so a loss of 4.5lbs.

feeling a bit headachy. i only managed the soup twice yesterday had a small potato and no butter. craving carbs today now!!

so far i have eaten 2 oranges. will have soup at 10:30 and add spinach for my grean leafy veg then an apple, then salad for lunch and another orange then soup again and an orange.

posted Feb 1st, 2012 3:09 pm


andrea

not seeing any of my posts from yesterday

posted Feb 1st, 2012 12:48 pm


kirnose

hi there.andrea u dont know how much happy i am to c yr feedback as i was kind of g etting bored while on this diet as there was no support.plz leave feedback so i can stick to it till the end.end of first day i lost 2lbs
second day no loss
will tell u about 3rd tommarrow i wish i wish i am down another 2 atleast .i feel real hungry .so wish me goodluck and plz keep me update about yrself.

posted Jan 31st, 2012 6:01 pm


andrea

made a mistake. i'm 5ft. not sure where 5'2 came from. maybe wishful thinking?

hi kirnose. this is the start of my DAY 2 and i am down 2lbs. how are you doing?

posted Jan 31st, 2012 11:56 am


kirnose

hello everyone.done with second day no more weight loss.so 2 ibs in 2 days.will continue will keep u guys updated.hopefully tommarrow will be able to shed some more.wish me good luck started 126.today 124

posted Jan 31st, 2012 8:23 am


andrea

day one on this diet is coming to a close. started at 5"2 139lbs. hope to get back to my smoking weight of 127.5 - 132 (jan 28th, 2011 was a year since i quit)

posted Jan 31st, 2012 3:29 am


Charity

Any suggestion on a support group to help with ideas and questions about the cabbage soup diet? First time CSD plan... Need some advice on pros and cons and snacks...Just Started the CSD yesterday... I'm gettimg married March 17th... I look like a pumpkin head and of course being 36 I would love to be down a few pounds... Any suggestion on a support group to help with ideas and questions?

posted Jan 30th, 2012 7:09 pm


kirnose

awwwwwwwwwwwww was looking for some ones feedback for support but any way i started csd again after completion of first day my weight was 126 and its down to 124 i lost 2lbs in one day .good for now will let u know everyday.i am hungry but i guess 5 more days not a big deal.wish me goodluck plz

posted Jan 30th, 2012 4:57 pm


kirnose

hey i have started the diet again but i dont c any reviews any more .why is that plz any one on this diet plz if its working for u wrtie a supporting review so i can stick to it.

posted Jan 29th, 2012 3:17 pm


kirnose

hey key i am sorry dont know will u get me feedback as i am trying to leave messages but i dont c them on reviews.any way now that i knew that u r she i will be careful sorry if i offended u somehow unintentionally sweety.okay so whats up everyone who is happy and give us feedback as its v supporting.i will start from sun and will keep u guys updated.key will keep the walking factor in my mind too thanks a bunch for that tip.all the best

posted Jan 27th, 2012 1:23 pm


key

You are so welcome Kirnose and I'm sorry that it took so long but I am not a he I am a 29 year old female, a woman, a girl, a lady, a she. I am so not a dude.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 4:40 pm


kirnose

hi everyone.me again.key was just wondering there r different recepies for this csd.i use only tommatoes.cabbage head,carrots,celery.green onions.and bell pepper.somewhere some kind of mushrrom r also in the recepie.what r yr ingredients.and also u have to eat in this diet even if u r not hugry or onll when u r hungry.it says eat soup because more u will loose if more u will eat this soup but u tell me what u did.as till now i can c that u r the only person who has lost so much in just 3 days.sorry for botheration but i feel i can loose a lot if i follow what u exactly did .yr help will be appriated sweety. regards

posted Jan 26th, 2012 3:48 pm


kirnose

thanx key for the long awaited reply and promise of helping me with whatever i will ask,grt.shakil u r welcome.now we both should follow key as he seems to b a key to this achievement.guys i will start this diet from sunday as am invited for dinner .this sat.so cheers everyone and plz keep us posted about yr experience.ressults.it will keep us going on this diet without cheating as then we dont have to feel sorry for ourself to b on this diet olne.so gr8 wooooooooooooow.all the best.and anyone plz tell me if thay gain all the weight back on his diet after few days.so lets start

posted Jan 26th, 2012 1:18 pm


blkhwx10

To some of the people I have been reading about below that are not losing weight - - you cannot add anything that is not specifically listed in the diet. I saw eggs, dates, grapefruit juice .... every bit of that has sugars and none of it is on the diet. If you add anything that is not in the diet, then you are just basically causing unnecessary misery to yourself by depriving yourself of food because it will not work. Just something I have learned.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 3:12 am


key

Hi Kirnose I am a 29 year old female the first day was the hardest for me but once I got through the first day the second day was a little easier and when I got through the second day the third day was even easier but then i did something very foolish and switched diets big mistake I gained 2.lbs back so I am restarting the diet today and I am doing very well so far I used the regular recipe I didnt add or take away anything from the soup on day 1 I just ate a bowl of the soup and a bowl of fresh mixed fruit of cantaloupe,grapes and strawberries then for lunch I ate a bowl of the soup and a bowl of the same fresh fruit and when i got hungry I just snacked on fruit and for day 2 I ate soup for breakfast and had a small salad and for lunch i ate the same as I did for breakfast i did not eat dinner simply because I just wasnt hungry and i did walk 1 1/2 hours both days and to shakil you just have to stick to the diet you shouldn't be eating all that other stuff. Hope I have been of help to some or all of you and I will weigh in and post my results in the morning. Goodluck everyone!

posted Jan 25th, 2012 5:29 pm


key

Goodmorning everyone. I did something very foolish i was doing so great on this diet i never should have stopped but unfortunately i did to try this mayo clinic diet that my family was bragging was so good BIG MISTAKE I gained 2. something lbs back however im still down 4lbs but i've decided that the cabbage soup diet is best for me so sorry I let everyone down but im back at it this day 1 for me so please wish me goodluck.

Kirnose I will help you the best I can sweetie and to answer your questions I am 29 years old and I just use the regular recipe i didn't add or take away anything in the soup and I also did not cheat at all I ate the soup for breakfast then again for lunch. I also walked for 1 1/2 hours each day I am starting again today and this time I wont stop for anyone I will gladly keep you posted and if you have anymore questions please ask I will answer them for you the best way that I can and please note the exercise I think really helps alot and remember don't cheat I will keep everyone posted and thanks everyone the support really helps.

posted Jan 25th, 2012 1:24 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account