Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 36, 702 total comments)

fathi

end of the diet- i have lost 11.4 lb =)
My weight in the beginning was 210.9 lb and now i weighted 199.5 lb..
this is the best diet i have ever done =)

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 5:21 am


fathi

im on the forthday.. already lost 6.6 lb.. soooooooo happy... finally its working ;)

posted Nov 29th, 2011 4:52 am


stephanie

this is to Natalie how long did u do the diet for to lose all that weight wb x

posted Nov 26th, 2011 1:12 pm


fathi

im on the second day.. so far so gud

posted Nov 26th, 2011 8:32 am


Vanessa

Am on day 4 and I have diharrea! I do not feel well. It was going great until today. It was a very yummy soup, but I think I need to stop.

posted Oct 13th, 2011 6:00 pm


Bethany

First day starting smells good , though iv never liked Cabbage, or onions or bell peppers , or cooked carrots ooooor celery lol , but smells good cooking it up right now.

posted Oct 10th, 2011 2:14 pm


Leigh

I started this diet 6 days ago because I am in a wedding this Saturday and my dress was a bit tight. I weighed in at 172 and lost 4 pounds the first day. I lost 1 lb. the second day so I was really excited. I did not wait until today on the beginning of day 6 and I weighed in at 162 for a total of 10 POUNDS! I didn't work out, but played golf and walked the dogs a few longer walks. I made the soup basic and then I would do different spices each time. I wanted to share these. Add (basil,oregano & garlic) for a pasta taste. Soy and Ginger for Chinese taste. My favorite: cumin, cilantro and hot sauce for mexican. Also, heat up the bananas and sprinkle with cinnamon. SO DELICIOUS! Be very careful of the unsweetened juices: the juice is 7 bucks for the real stuff you need. Also, watch your pre-made seasonings and frozen veggies too. They put sugar in these items. Best of luck!

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 9:03 pm


acebrit

hello. my last and final check in. managed one bowl of soup on day 7. 3 servings of brown rice and veggies (which i stir fried and was quite lovely btw!) did water and herb tea thoughout the day.

now ......i did cheat a bit and had 2 glasses of merlot in the eve. i figgered that was my cranberry juice! lol.

so now for the weight. it's a bit iffy. 129, 128.5 and 127.5. (yeah i got on the scale at three different times this am) so i'll say 128lbs making that a loss of 7.5lbs. i feel great. now the really hard work begins........keeping the weight off.

good luck to those on the diet. i f eel great!!

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 11:02 am


acebrit

oh. two thumbs up!

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 10:57 am


acebrit

good morning day 7 - ok so maybe not eating the soup yesterday messed me up. yesterday am the scale read 128 this morning however it read 129.5. my goal will be 2 bowls today along with my brown rice and veggies. will do a final check in monday am

posted Oct 2nd, 2011 7:44 am


acebrit

day 6 coming to a close. ate salmon, talapia and steak. for veggies sauteed cabbage, mushrooms, onions, scallions and tons of garlic. haven't been able to face the cabbage soup at all today. may force myself before bed.

posted Oct 1st, 2011 8:03 pm


acebrit

day 5 went well, i spose. steak and tomatoes. even went out and had grilled steak and chicken skewers with lettuce. this morning was another 2lbs down for a total of 7.5lbs. i have a confession to make...........cheated last nite when i was out at the resturant/bar and drank gin and tonics. now i have a splitting headache!!

posted Oct 1st, 2011 10:25 am


acebrit

oh and i only managed one serving of soup yesterday. not sure i can face it at all today. having fish with my veggies

posted Oct 1st, 2011 10:20 am


acebrit

DAY 4 ended with 3 glasses of skimmed milk and 4 bananas. as of this morning another .5lbs down bringing the total to 5.5lbs. today is steak and tomatoes. about to go put it in the oven. not as exited about it as i was!

posted Sep 30th, 2011 6:45 am


acebrit

day 4 - so far had a glas of skimmed milk and a banana. not looking forward to the soup pureed or not!

another loss though 2.5lbs for a total of 5lbs in 3 days!!! YAY!!

posted Sep 29th, 2011 11:47 am


acebrit

have a fresh pot of soup bubbling now. this time will add low sodium v8 juice and blend as i am barely choking it down.

only had two servings of oups today will try another one before bed. also had 2 oranges, kiwi, sauted spinach with beansprouts.

looking forward to day 4!

posted Sep 28th, 2011 7:58 pm


acebrit

quick update. this morning weighed in at 133lbs. just dranks some orange herb tea, then will have water and watermelon, then my soup and add sauted spinach with lots of garlic and bean sprouts

posted Sep 28th, 2011 9:54 am


acebrit

started the diet on monday hoping to curb some bad eating habits and drop 5lbs. starting weight at 5ft 1 was 135.5. tues weighed 134.5.

i used the wrong soup stock as the sodium contents was 1,200+mg. gonna bin that and make a fresh batch after work today.

starting day 3 and have not weighed yet. do not feel particularly smaller but do feel more energetic.

had a headache on monday and feel one coming on today but that could be casue i've been up since 3:30am!

posted Sep 28th, 2011 5:32 am


ashley41

I started this diet today for my best friend's wedding that I'm in next week. I am just under 5'7" and weight about 133-135 (depending on the scale) I'm hoping to lose at least 5 lbs on this- even if it is just water weight- I tend to swell really easily and hold on to water.

So far so good- but I'm only 4 hours into it haha I just hope that I can stick to it, especially during my 9 hour work days. Wish me luck!!

posted Sep 25th, 2011 12:34 pm


Andrea

I forgot to continue posting my progess, work and life got crazy so I didnt really have the time. BUT I made it through the entire diet without too much difficulty, yes it gets boring around day 4-5 but then the meat comes and its exciting! Who knew beef was such an exciting thing.

As you can tell by my post I did cheat a bit, had a low calorie fudgicle on veggie day and banana day. Drank 100% orange juice the mornings of the fruit days. oh and I used low calorie dressing on salad.

But even with that cheating... I lost 6lbs. I have managed to keep it off as since the diet ended I have stuck with healthy choices and few splurges here and there but rarely(eg. I went to a friend birthday party last week and had the smallest slice of cheesecake and man oh man did it taste good). But with moderation things like that to me at least are ok.

Anyway gonna try the diet again this week to odropo a few more pounds. I also have incorperated a good work out routine. So I feel great. lost weight and quit smoking all in a month!

posted Sep 18th, 2011 6:56 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account