Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 36, 711 total comments)

Mimilv

Day one of diet and so far so good! I made the soup last night and it turned out pretty tasty.

What I used was

2 tbsp of olive oil

1 leek

4 green onions

2 red bell peppers

4 carrots

1/2 head of cabbage

1 vegetable bouillon

low sodium V8 juice

2 cans of diced tomatoes

And Vegetta for seasoning

Had one bowl of soup

4 tangerines and one small apple so far.

posted Jan 6th, 2012 12:43 am


Sheryl

Day 1.... Wish me luck! It already made me use the bathroom less than an hour.

posted Jan 5th, 2012 6:37 pm


stellzbellz

day 2...down 1 pound (not too impressed) but not giving up yet...feel pretty hungry but the baked potato today really helped...cabbage soup tastes gross...i think i might have made it way too spicy...going to try a new batch tomorrow without the crushed tomatoes or tomato paste...i'm actually looking forward to bananas and milk day and i'm not a big fan of either...hopefully i'll lose 10 but for the relatively short period of time, i'll take 5-7 gladly :) good luck to all! will keep posting...

posted Jan 2nd, 2012 11:32 pm


Melissa

On day 4... doing good, actually feeling pretty great. Today is Milk and Bananas day, glad I like both... Already starting to see and feel results! But I won't weigh myself until day 7... fill you guys in then! Anyone starting...stick to it, it's worth it.

posted Dec 9th, 2011 3:16 pm


Tara

First day of the csd, I've only eaten fruit today (apples, grapes and strawberries)
And am going to be eating my soup in a couple hours

Weight: 143

I hope to be at 133 in 7 days :D
I'll keep you posted

posted Dec 8th, 2011 10:33 pm


Melissa

On day 2... so far so good. I add different Mrs. Dash's spices to each soup to keep it interesting. Hope to see results!

posted Dec 7th, 2011 6:12 pm


whitea

I started at 177.4lbs
today is my 3rd day on the CSD, i weigh myself each morning but records on monday only. As of this morning, my weight is 167.2 (down 10.2), i'm sure this is all water but i'll take it, it motivates me to go on. Loving 'my' soup.

let me know how u guys are doing.
STAY MOTIVATED :)

posted Dec 7th, 2011 4:10 pm


Mike

Lots of negativity about this diet. I supplement with two low carb protein shakes each day (1st in the morning, 2nd mid afternoon. This adds protein to the diet and helps curb cravings. I also add a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to the soup when being prepared. I add other vegetables to the soup that I like, not just what's listed. And I also take a multi-vit/min each night before bed. I just started day three and I'm down 6.5 pounds. While "ill-advised", I suspect that of properly supplemented this diet is relatively safe for the short term, though I'm no diet "guru". I feel good, no killer cravings. Experiment with the soup, I think that's your secret to staying on this - not eating the same flavor all the time. In fact, I'm thinking of extending a few days if all continues to go well. Good luck!!

posted Dec 7th, 2011 4:06 pm


sweetsnp

day one of the csd, i tired this before and it has worked! I am back doing it again.

posted Dec 6th, 2011 3:49 pm


fathi

end of the diet- i have lost 11.4 lb =)
My weight in the beginning was 210.9 lb and now i weighted 199.5 lb..
this is the best diet i have ever done =)

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 5:21 am


fathi

im on the forthday.. already lost 6.6 lb.. soooooooo happy... finally its working ;)

posted Nov 29th, 2011 4:52 am


stephanie

this is to Natalie how long did u do the diet for to lose all that weight wb x

posted Nov 26th, 2011 1:12 pm


fathi

im on the second day.. so far so gud

posted Nov 26th, 2011 8:32 am


Vanessa

Am on day 4 and I have diharrea! I do not feel well. It was going great until today. It was a very yummy soup, but I think I need to stop.

posted Oct 13th, 2011 6:00 pm


Bethany

First day starting smells good , though iv never liked Cabbage, or onions or bell peppers , or cooked carrots ooooor celery lol , but smells good cooking it up right now.

posted Oct 10th, 2011 2:14 pm


Leigh

I started this diet 6 days ago because I am in a wedding this Saturday and my dress was a bit tight. I weighed in at 172 and lost 4 pounds the first day. I lost 1 lb. the second day so I was really excited. I did not wait until today on the beginning of day 6 and I weighed in at 162 for a total of 10 POUNDS! I didn't work out, but played golf and walked the dogs a few longer walks. I made the soup basic and then I would do different spices each time. I wanted to share these. Add (basil,oregano & garlic) for a pasta taste. Soy and Ginger for Chinese taste. My favorite: cumin, cilantro and hot sauce for mexican. Also, heat up the bananas and sprinkle with cinnamon. SO DELICIOUS! Be very careful of the unsweetened juices: the juice is 7 bucks for the real stuff you need. Also, watch your pre-made seasonings and frozen veggies too. They put sugar in these items. Best of luck!

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 9:03 pm


acebrit

hello. my last and final check in. managed one bowl of soup on day 7. 3 servings of brown rice and veggies (which i stir fried and was quite lovely btw!) did water and herb tea thoughout the day.

now ......i did cheat a bit and had 2 glasses of merlot in the eve. i figgered that was my cranberry juice! lol.

so now for the weight. it's a bit iffy. 129, 128.5 and 127.5. (yeah i got on the scale at three different times this am) so i'll say 128lbs making that a loss of 7.5lbs. i feel great. now the really hard work begins........keeping the weight off.

good luck to those on the diet. i f eel great!!

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 11:02 am


acebrit

oh. two thumbs up!

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 10:57 am


acebrit

good morning day 7 - ok so maybe not eating the soup yesterday messed me up. yesterday am the scale read 128 this morning however it read 129.5. my goal will be 2 bowls today along with my brown rice and veggies. will do a final check in monday am

posted Oct 2nd, 2011 7:44 am


acebrit

day 6 coming to a close. ate salmon, talapia and steak. for veggies sauteed cabbage, mushrooms, onions, scallions and tons of garlic. haven't been able to face the cabbage soup at all today. may force myself before bed.

posted Oct 1st, 2011 8:03 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account