Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 183 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 35, 699 total comments)

Amber

today, its my first day :) i made my soup last night and it dosnt taste too good iv just been wating the cabbage out of it :) but its my first day and its very hard for me to stick to diets but its only for 7 days so im motivated :) ill keep it posted :)

posted Jan 10th, 2012 1:02 am


Nicole

I'm on day two...it's probaly the worst day since I don't like vegetables too much and I'm surprised I'm not too hungry..I am eating the soup at work, came out really delicious I also did weigh myself in the morning and I lost 2 pounds already:) I'm looking forward to my baked potato later. Can't wait to weigh myself on day 7!

posted Jan 9th, 2012 9:12 pm


stellzbellz

Okay...::drumroll:: My final weight loss was 7 pounds! And it feels like real weight loss...not just water weight. I did cheat on day 7. I ended my night with a cheesburger and sweetpotato fries and a night of drinking mostly beer. I guess it was just a lack of patience and I had some unplanned celebrating come up that night but still, all in all...it worked out for me because in reality i lost 7 pounds in about 6 days and i now drink alot more water than i used to before the csd and eat less to keep me full. If you have the willpower and dont have a physically demanding job (you do feel lightheaded and sluggish alot of the time) this could work out for you. it's a great kickstart to a low calorie diet or if you just want to detox/cleanse. I think I'll do it again in a few months but won't cheat as i really barely ate the cabbage soup. i would definitely reccoment this for quick, safe weightloss once a year or once a season.

posted Jan 9th, 2012 4:38 pm


Kat

Today is day 1 and it's almost lunch time. So far the hardest part is eating soup for breakfast, other than that I feel a bit tired compared to usual and lacking some energy, but I just had an apple so that helped.



I made the soup last night and I actually found that it smelt good. It's a hardy soup that is full of veggies and it was also fun to make. My boyfriend who is not trying the diet even said he will probably add some chicken to it or pasta and have some as well.



I'm just trying to keep in mind that it is only 7 days, and I do enjoy fruit so I think today will be fine, however I don't like veggies so tomorrow might be rough.



I will keep you all posted - stay strong everyone you can make it through 7 days!



posted Jan 9th, 2012 4:36 pm


Kat

Today is day 1 and it's almost lunch time. So far the hardest part is eating soup for breakfast, other than that I feel a bit tired compared to usual and lacking some energy, but I just had an apple so that helped.

I made the soup last night and I actually found that it smelt good. It's a hardy soup that is full of veggies and it was also fun to make. My boyfriend who is not trying the diet even said he will probably add some chicken to it or pasta and have some as well.

I'm just trying to keep in mind that it is only 7 days, and I do enjoy fruit so I think today will be fine, however I don't like veggies so tomorrow might be rough.

I will keep you all posted - stay strong everyone you can make it through 7 days!

posted Jan 9th, 2012 4:28 pm


Sheryl

Okay it's day 3 and it's almost 9am. I'm excited for today because I can eat fruits again!
Yesterday I was out running errands so I ordered a small of carrot juice from jamba juice but they gave me a medium size. I was satisfied until 3pm had my soup and sautéed veges.
For dinner I had baked potato with little butter at 6pm. Had a terrible migraine at 8pm so went to sleep.

Staring weight: 129.4
Day 3: 126.4
Goal weight: 120

3 pounds down but I won't believe it until I pass the 125 mark

posted Jan 7th, 2012 4:57 pm


Gillian

Oh Lord where to start with the feedback. I am currently on Day 5 and it has been the most Hellish 5 days of my adult life. However, I see getting to Day 7 as a challenge so will complete it!

I have followed the recommendations of the plan to the letter in order to 'detox' after the festive period, and to reset my body following too many refined carbohydrates and alcohol in the last 2 weeks. Generally, my diet consists of clean unprocessed foods, lean protein, little fat (particularly of the saturated variety) and good complex carbs alongside plenty of water. I therefore believed this plan to be a breeze and an ideal way of getting back into my normal daily diet.

On a positive note, the soup is pleasant enough and reasonably filling and is easily washed down 3 x a day with a few glasses of water. My kidneys are working well as I spend most of my day urinating - that could also have something to do with the fact I am drinking approx 4 litres of water a day.

On a somewhat more negative note, I am sufferng from a constant and quite severe headache, dizziness, mental 'fog', constant coldness and numbness in my hands and feet, bouts of heart palpitations, bad breath, nausea and abdominal pain (no bloating/gas/constipation though!). I have zero energy and have not been capable of following my usual gym and running routine. In all honesty I can barely walk the length of myself just now. I have a terrible thirst constantly, am not sleeping because I get up to (a) drink more water or (b) urinate. Worse still, I have not lost a single pound in mass OR feel in any way cleansed and de-toxed.

My body is clearly in ketosis; and in the absence of a decent quantity of complex carbs has utilised available glucose and glycogen stores and is now using fat as a respiratory substrate. Effectively it means I am metabolising my own body fat. Great! It would explain why I am so lethagic, sluggish and irritable.

These symptoms should pass in a couple of days when my diet returns to something closer to nomal. In researching ketogenic 'diets' it seems they do actually work for a lot of people but having experienced the above symptoms for the last 5 days, it's not something that I would put my body through for the sake of a detox/cleanse.

So in short, the cabbage soup 7 day detox/cleanse is really only for those who can stomach it and perhaps those who have diets largely based on processed/ convenience foods.

Not recommeded, at all.

posted Jan 7th, 2012 1:41 am


stellzbellz

okay...so im on day 6 and can't believe i've made it this far. to be fair, i haven't followed the diet to a T and have snuck a few crackers and spoonfuls of peanut butter in here and there. The lack of carbs and protein takes a toll right around day 3. I've lost 6 pounds so far and hope by Sunday to lose a total of 8 but really can't complain so far. My weight has not budged in 3 days but I feel alot thinner and more energetic than before I started the CSD. I feel so good (especially after steak and tomatoes yesterday) that I might attempt to do a one day master cleanse on Sunday to try and lose at least 1 more pound. Good luck to all :) I will keep updating!!

posted Jan 6th, 2012 6:57 pm


Mimilv

Day one of diet and so far so good! I made the soup last night and it turned out pretty tasty.

What I used was

2 tbsp of olive oil

1 leek

4 green onions

2 red bell peppers

4 carrots

1/2 head of cabbage

1 vegetable bouillon

low sodium V8 juice

2 cans of diced tomatoes

And Vegetta for seasoning

Had one bowl of soup

4 tangerines and one small apple so far.

posted Jan 6th, 2012 12:43 am


Sheryl

Day 1.... Wish me luck! It already made me use the bathroom less than an hour.

posted Jan 5th, 2012 6:37 pm


stellzbellz

day 2...down 1 pound (not too impressed) but not giving up yet...feel pretty hungry but the baked potato today really helped...cabbage soup tastes gross...i think i might have made it way too spicy...going to try a new batch tomorrow without the crushed tomatoes or tomato paste...i'm actually looking forward to bananas and milk day and i'm not a big fan of either...hopefully i'll lose 10 but for the relatively short period of time, i'll take 5-7 gladly :) good luck to all! will keep posting...

posted Jan 2nd, 2012 11:32 pm


Melissa

On day 4... doing good, actually feeling pretty great. Today is Milk and Bananas day, glad I like both... Already starting to see and feel results! But I won't weigh myself until day 7... fill you guys in then! Anyone starting...stick to it, it's worth it.

posted Dec 9th, 2011 3:16 pm


Tara

First day of the csd, I've only eaten fruit today (apples, grapes and strawberries)
And am going to be eating my soup in a couple hours

Weight: 143

I hope to be at 133 in 7 days :D
I'll keep you posted

posted Dec 8th, 2011 10:33 pm


Melissa

On day 2... so far so good. I add different Mrs. Dash's spices to each soup to keep it interesting. Hope to see results!

posted Dec 7th, 2011 6:12 pm


whitea

I started at 177.4lbs
today is my 3rd day on the CSD, i weigh myself each morning but records on monday only. As of this morning, my weight is 167.2 (down 10.2), i'm sure this is all water but i'll take it, it motivates me to go on. Loving 'my' soup.

let me know how u guys are doing.
STAY MOTIVATED :)

posted Dec 7th, 2011 4:10 pm


Mike

Lots of negativity about this diet. I supplement with two low carb protein shakes each day (1st in the morning, 2nd mid afternoon. This adds protein to the diet and helps curb cravings. I also add a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to the soup when being prepared. I add other vegetables to the soup that I like, not just what's listed. And I also take a multi-vit/min each night before bed. I just started day three and I'm down 6.5 pounds. While "ill-advised", I suspect that of properly supplemented this diet is relatively safe for the short term, though I'm no diet "guru". I feel good, no killer cravings. Experiment with the soup, I think that's your secret to staying on this - not eating the same flavor all the time. In fact, I'm thinking of extending a few days if all continues to go well. Good luck!!

posted Dec 7th, 2011 4:06 pm


sweetsnp

day one of the csd, i tired this before and it has worked! I am back doing it again.

posted Dec 6th, 2011 3:49 pm


fathi

end of the diet- i have lost 11.4 lb =)
My weight in the beginning was 210.9 lb and now i weighted 199.5 lb..
this is the best diet i have ever done =)

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 5:21 am


fathi

im on the forthday.. already lost 6.6 lb.. soooooooo happy... finally its working ;)

posted Nov 29th, 2011 4:52 am


stephanie

this is to Natalie how long did u do the diet for to lose all that weight wb x

posted Nov 26th, 2011 1:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account