| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

  • You will lose weight
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.


No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.


For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup,, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet


The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 36, 711 total comments)


today is my second day.i lost 2lbs in one day wow.i am is a bit rough day becuase of vegies but still its worth it.i have no craving for any junk and sweets and in just one day i am feeling very energatic and fresh.i am drinking lot of water,green tea as well.let weight and watch and i think i will be able to finish this plan as losing 2lbs in a day has motivated me to stick to it till i reach my goal which is weight on 14th jan was 130
15th jan morning 128 .....will keep u updated ...

posted Jan 15th, 2012 1:16 pm


Today is day 6 and I cheated a bit - I had a glass of orange juice this morning (100% pure orange juice) and a grapefriut - so I don't think it's too much of a CSD sin since they are both healthy.

Other than that things are still going good. I haven't seen any weight come off in the last few days, but in the first 3 days I dropped 8lbs. I can also see a difference in my body, and my clothes fit a bit looser. I also enjoy drinking water a lot more, and I find that my appetite is a lot better and I'm not as hungry as often.

All in all, this is a good diet. I think I will still continue to eat the soup once a day, and I will still eat the brown rice tomorrow, but I might mix some fruit in with my day - which I don't think should affect anything.

posted Jan 14th, 2012 10:57 pm


i hope i can acheive my goal soon.wish me good luck:)

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:39 pm


can i eat pomegrante on fruits day?

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:28 pm


well i am very excited .was going through the reviews and wishing that it works for me too.just started today ate two bowls of soup and fruits including oranges,apple ,pomegranate ,water 130lbs wana go down to 1241bs wish me good look.tomarrow is going to b a hard day but looking farward to potatoe with butter lets c

posted Jan 14th, 2012 2:18 pm


I am now on day 5! And I am very happy to almost be done! I feel great and can see a big difference in my appearance, especially in my tummy and hips. I didn't weight myself today because I had a big bowl of soup first thing and didn't want to weight myself after that cause it may have discouraged me, so i will weight in tomorrow morning.

I am also very use to the soup now, and rather like it. I eat about 4 bowls a day, and I have no problem with it. I also add only pepper - nothing else, not even the seasoning cubes or spice only soup mix.
And last night when I was craving something sweet I blended together some bananas and skim milk - it was like a milkshake! Very good!

Anyways I have only a few more days left! Keep it up everyone!

posted Jan 13th, 2012 2:31 pm


i am on 3rd day of CSD today and done it earlier also.. i have lost 2 kg in just 5 days as i couldn't complete the diet for 7 days but 2 kgs loss is very satisfing in just 5 days.. i had tried almost everything to loss wait but all the way out are almost disappointing. it is the wayout which gives result instantly and you feel encoured to loss more weight.

I really like it a lot and recommand to everyone who wants to shen pound fast..

on the end of 1st day of CSD, i was 79 kg and wish that i could turn to 75 kg by the end of 7th day..

Oh god please bless me...

posted Jan 13th, 2012 9:33 am


I have started day 3 and now it just feels like easy sailing from now on. Yesterday was a little harder than day 1 because I don't like veggies as much but I had 4 bowls of soup and some carrots, cellery, and cuccumber and I felt very full.

The best part of yesterday was the baked potato with butter (I used margarine on mine). I normally don't even like baked potatoes but I ate the whole thing in about a minute and I was stuffed!

Morning of day 1 : 168 lbs
Morning of day 2 : 163 lbs
Morning of day 3 : 160 lbs
Total loss so far is 8 lbs! AND my pants are baggy! Looks like my goal of 150lbs might not be so far out of reach after all!

Keep it up everyone! You can do it!

posted Jan 11th, 2012 2:37 pm


Just wanted everyone to know this diet works just finished day 7. I started at 202 now at 188 what a difference a week makes. I am starting the gym today and look forward to a lifestyle change.

posted Jan 11th, 2012 1:04 pm

Kathryn Williams

So I'm on day 2 of the CSD and I actually didn't mind having the soup for breakfast today - much easier to eat.

Yesterday morning before the diet I stepped on the scale and was 168 lbs, this morning I am 163 lbs - no lie.

Seeing the weight drop off like that is a big boost to get me to stay on the diet. I would LOVE to get down to 150 lbs but we will see.

Today will be tough cause I don't like veggies as much as fruit, but I'm looking forward to the baked potato.

Keep it up everyone! Good luck!

posted Jan 10th, 2012 6:14 pm


Day 5 has ened and my jeans are big! Wohoooo!!! Today was easy because I did enjoy my chicken and tomatoes (which I did put very little salt and olive oil on). I would say the first two days of the diet are hard but after that you get used to it:) I can't wait to weigh myself on day 7, 2 more days to go

posted Jan 10th, 2012 9:43 am


Starting the csd tomorrow! I'm really excited, i just finished making the soup... it's in the crockpot right now. My goal is to lose about 10 lbs this week and then continue eating VERY healthy afterwards and working out. Hopefully this turns out to be a good jumpstart to my weightloss :) wish me luckk

posted Jan 10th, 2012 4:07 am


today, its my first day :) i made my soup last night and it dosnt taste too good iv just been wating the cabbage out of it :) but its my first day and its very hard for me to stick to diets but its only for 7 days so im motivated :) ill keep it posted :)

posted Jan 10th, 2012 1:02 am


I'm on day's probaly the worst day since I don't like vegetables too much and I'm surprised I'm not too hungry..I am eating the soup at work, came out really delicious I also did weigh myself in the morning and I lost 2 pounds already:) I'm looking forward to my baked potato later. Can't wait to weigh myself on day 7!

posted Jan 9th, 2012 9:12 pm


Okay...::drumroll:: My final weight loss was 7 pounds! And it feels like real weight loss...not just water weight. I did cheat on day 7. I ended my night with a cheesburger and sweetpotato fries and a night of drinking mostly beer. I guess it was just a lack of patience and I had some unplanned celebrating come up that night but still, all in worked out for me because in reality i lost 7 pounds in about 6 days and i now drink alot more water than i used to before the csd and eat less to keep me full. If you have the willpower and dont have a physically demanding job (you do feel lightheaded and sluggish alot of the time) this could work out for you. it's a great kickstart to a low calorie diet or if you just want to detox/cleanse. I think I'll do it again in a few months but won't cheat as i really barely ate the cabbage soup. i would definitely reccoment this for quick, safe weightloss once a year or once a season.

posted Jan 9th, 2012 4:38 pm


Today is day 1 and it's almost lunch time. So far the hardest part is eating soup for breakfast, other than that I feel a bit tired compared to usual and lacking some energy, but I just had an apple so that helped.

I made the soup last night and I actually found that it smelt good. It's a hardy soup that is full of veggies and it was also fun to make. My boyfriend who is not trying the diet even said he will probably add some chicken to it or pasta and have some as well.

I'm just trying to keep in mind that it is only 7 days, and I do enjoy fruit so I think today will be fine, however I don't like veggies so tomorrow might be rough.

I will keep you all posted - stay strong everyone you can make it through 7 days!

posted Jan 9th, 2012 4:36 pm


Today is day 1 and it's almost lunch time. So far the hardest part is eating soup for breakfast, other than that I feel a bit tired compared to usual and lacking some energy, but I just had an apple so that helped.

I made the soup last night and I actually found that it smelt good. It's a hardy soup that is full of veggies and it was also fun to make. My boyfriend who is not trying the diet even said he will probably add some chicken to it or pasta and have some as well.

I'm just trying to keep in mind that it is only 7 days, and I do enjoy fruit so I think today will be fine, however I don't like veggies so tomorrow might be rough.

I will keep you all posted - stay strong everyone you can make it through 7 days!

posted Jan 9th, 2012 4:28 pm


Okay it's day 3 and it's almost 9am. I'm excited for today because I can eat fruits again!
Yesterday I was out running errands so I ordered a small of carrot juice from jamba juice but they gave me a medium size. I was satisfied until 3pm had my soup and sautéed veges.
For dinner I had baked potato with little butter at 6pm. Had a terrible migraine at 8pm so went to sleep.

Staring weight: 129.4
Day 3: 126.4
Goal weight: 120

3 pounds down but I won't believe it until I pass the 125 mark

posted Jan 7th, 2012 4:57 pm


Oh Lord where to start with the feedback. I am currently on Day 5 and it has been the most Hellish 5 days of my adult life. However, I see getting to Day 7 as a challenge so will complete it!

I have followed the recommendations of the plan to the letter in order to 'detox' after the festive period, and to reset my body following too many refined carbohydrates and alcohol in the last 2 weeks. Generally, my diet consists of clean unprocessed foods, lean protein, little fat (particularly of the saturated variety) and good complex carbs alongside plenty of water. I therefore believed this plan to be a breeze and an ideal way of getting back into my normal daily diet.

On a positive note, the soup is pleasant enough and reasonably filling and is easily washed down 3 x a day with a few glasses of water. My kidneys are working well as I spend most of my day urinating - that could also have something to do with the fact I am drinking approx 4 litres of water a day.

On a somewhat more negative note, I am sufferng from a constant and quite severe headache, dizziness, mental 'fog', constant coldness and numbness in my hands and feet, bouts of heart palpitations, bad breath, nausea and abdominal pain (no bloating/gas/constipation though!). I have zero energy and have not been capable of following my usual gym and running routine. In all honesty I can barely walk the length of myself just now. I have a terrible thirst constantly, am not sleeping because I get up to (a) drink more water or (b) urinate. Worse still, I have not lost a single pound in mass OR feel in any way cleansed and de-toxed.

My body is clearly in ketosis; and in the absence of a decent quantity of complex carbs has utilised available glucose and glycogen stores and is now using fat as a respiratory substrate. Effectively it means I am metabolising my own body fat. Great! It would explain why I am so lethagic, sluggish and irritable.

These symptoms should pass in a couple of days when my diet returns to something closer to nomal. In researching ketogenic 'diets' it seems they do actually work for a lot of people but having experienced the above symptoms for the last 5 days, it's not something that I would put my body through for the sake of a detox/cleanse.

So in short, the cabbage soup 7 day detox/cleanse is really only for those who can stomach it and perhaps those who have diets largely based on processed/ convenience foods.

Not recommeded, at all.

posted Jan 7th, 2012 1:41 am

stellzbellz im on day 6 and can't believe i've made it this far. to be fair, i haven't followed the diet to a T and have snuck a few crackers and spoonfuls of peanut butter in here and there. The lack of carbs and protein takes a toll right around day 3. I've lost 6 pounds so far and hope by Sunday to lose a total of 8 but really can't complain so far. My weight has not budged in 3 days but I feel alot thinner and more energetic than before I started the CSD. I feel so good (especially after steak and tomatoes yesterday) that I might attempt to do a one day master cleanse on Sunday to try and lose at least 1 more pound. Good luck to all :) I will keep updating!!

posted Jan 6th, 2012 6:57 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account