Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 35, 700 total comments)

kasey

Finished the week!

I lost a total of 9 lb and may have been able to to better.

On the last day I actually had 2 bowls of rice and veggies mixed together and I got a small blizzard from dairy queen and still lost 2lb haha...The blizzard killed my stomach...so not only does this diet work, but it will teach you a lesson when you go to eat something that is unhealthy.

I will be starting again in a week!

posted May 24th, 2010 2:05 pm


Betty

I just finished day 7. It seemed like the week went by fairly slow and I actually lost 11 lbs in the 7 days! I will wait 2 weeks then restart again. Good luck to everyone!

posted May 24th, 2010 12:32 am


kasey

Day 7

LAST DAY

Im almost done with the diet!

I have lost another pound so I am down 7 lb in 6 days

posted May 23rd, 2010 7:09 pm


kasey

Day 6 is today - ALMOST DONE!

I lost 1lb since yesterday which isnt too bad. I am officially down 6lb in 5 days.

I really hope this is helping people out.

I have pretty much stuck to the diet. The last 2 days I have ate 1 slice of pepperjack cheese just because I felt like it haha. Also, I have not stopped drinking coffee. Every morning I have about 2 cups with CoffeeMate French Vanilla creamer and a few times a week i get iced coffee from mcdonalds with the cream and sugar.

Maybe if I would have given that up I would have done better but I dont think it would have made that much of a difference

Only today and tomorrow then I am done. I will update on Monday with my final weight loss after a full 7 days.

I plan on going off of it for the next week since I will be at a business meeting, but I am going to try my best to eat very healthy while I am gone and go back on it for the following week.

posted May 22nd, 2010 11:27 am


kasey

Day 5 today.

Sad to announce I didnt loose anything. But I am going to keep with it. Its just confusing me how I could possibly loose anymore now with adding meat into the mix for the next 2 days but im going to finish the 7 day thing.

posted May 21st, 2010 10:00 am


kasey

Day 4 Starts today!

I hope this is helping some people who aren't sure about doing this....

I only lost 0.5 yesterday, but its better than gaining. That brings my total weight loss down to 5lb in 3 days.

Today is Bananas and Milk day! I bought 8 bananas and a gallon of skim milk, but I hope I dont use all of it haha it kind of grosses me out.

Anyway - ill check in tomorrow

posted May 20th, 2010 9:48 am


kasey

Day 3 starts today!

I am down to 188.5. (Day 1 lost 2.5lb, Day 2 lost 2.0lb) Down 4.5lb in 2 days!!!

Yesterday was def. hard until dinner time...once I had the baked potato i was so full i just wanted to go to sleep haha.

Today shouldnt be too bad with fruit and veggies

Ill update again tomorrow.

posted May 19th, 2010 9:34 am


kasey

Day 2 starts today

Day 1 was pretty hard but I just pushed thru it. I lost 2.5 pounds in one day. SWEET. down to 190.5

ill report back tomorrow. Today is going to suck with just veggies

posted May 18th, 2010 9:43 am


Kasey

So...Im on day 1 and im kind of excited. I made the soup last night. Its ok...doesnt taste like anything but then again I HATE soup in general.
Start Day 1 - 193.0lb

I will check in everyday to compare. I have a wedding coming up and my goal is 175 by July 3. My plan is one week on and one week off with this diet until the wedding. Im not going to work out during the diet weeks, but I will be working out on the off weeks.

Good luck to everyone and you can do anything you set your mind to. Dont look at other food haha and avoid driving by McDonalds at all costs haha

posted May 17th, 2010 2:10 pm


rachel

i am on day one of the cabbage soup diet and i am enjoying it i have 51 pounds to lose i am now at 189 pounds and ii am 5.3 in hieght.

posted May 12th, 2010 10:16 am


Blakeley

Definitely not the easiest diet in the world ... but whay diet IS easy?! It definitely beats counting calories or drinking meal replacement drinks. I messed up on Day 1 because it just wasn't doing it for me, but got mad at myself for doing that and started over again today. Definitely can feel the lack of energy and concentration, but it's refreshing to know that I am only eating fruits and veggies (in the soup). I am so excited for banana/milk day and meat day! If it's only for 7 days, I know I can do it. May be tough, but I think it will get easier in the next day or so. My mom did this diet and was VERY successful - I think the end results will make one week worth it!! Good luck everyone!

posted May 4th, 2010 1:33 pm



Celia

I am now on day 6.... I have had lots of energy until today. I kinda pushed to hard yesterday. Almost finished though:) I am down 6 lbs so far. I will be happy to lose just 1 more to meet my 1st goal.

posted May 2nd, 2010 8:08 am


toti

i just started today hope i can make it .
i really need to lose the weight for prom =)))

posted May 1st, 2010 12:53 am



Celia

I am on day 4... mmm banana's.... so good. I have lost 4.5 lbs so far. I have been running 2 miles a day so far on the diet and have had more energy while dieting than I did before. I do have a slight headache today but its not unbarable. I started at 176.5 and am down to 172. Monday will be my last day. After that I plan to break for a couple of days and then start the grapefruit diet for the rest of the month. I have had alot of sucess with that diet, but its a little more gradual. Good Luck:)

posted Apr 30th, 2010 7:39 am


Linda Renee

I did this diet 11 yrs. ago. I was 212 lb. within 10 months I went down to 134 lb. I was not that same person at all. At that time my waist was the size of my right leg from when I was 212 lb. I was very active though. I gave myself 1 cheat day with moderation. The first week I lost 17 lbs. But I did suffer from head aches and drastic mood swings. With any diet I advise that a well balanced diet is the best way to loose weight. I kept my weight off for 4 yrs but as they years passed and had children all my weight came back. I??m going to try the diet again on Sunday. I hope I have the same willpower now as I had back then.

posted Apr 29th, 2010 1:55 am


jessica

Im starting this cabbage soup diet tomorrow but does it really work? Can u eat any kind of nuts like almonds or anything else or just stick to da 7-day plan..can anyone help

posted Apr 24th, 2010 9:33 pm


sharon

I started today, the only thing long time I had a written Cabbage Soup diet recipte and it included some fruits that should not be eaten

posted Apr 20th, 2010 9:16 am


emma-ray

i started today !! i'm sooo excited !!!

posted Apr 17th, 2010 10:15 am


Jennifer

Morning of day 3 and I've lost 5 lbs!! I know it's hard guys...but you can do it. Just remember...summer is coming and this will all be worth it!

posted Apr 14th, 2010 2:29 pm



suppaszhny

WELLL I JUST GOT ALL MY INGREDIENTS FOR THE CABBAGE SOUP AND ALL OF MY FRUIT FOR THE FIRST DAY. I AM VERY EXCITED AND MOTIVATED. IM NOT BASING MY WEIGHT LOSE ON POUNDS MORE SO ON COMFORT. I CANT AFFORD TO BUY ALL NEW CLOTHES SO I HV TO LOSE SOME WEIGHT TO GET BACC IN THE ONES I HV. I WILL CONSIDER MY WEIGHT LOSE A SUCCESS WHEN I DONT HAVE MUFFIN TOP OVER MY JEANS AND HAVE TO UNBUTTON THEM TO EAT LOL WISH ME LUCK

posted Apr 12th, 2010 8:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account