Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

91%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 212 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 36, 711 total comments)

ELIZA

Day 4! I have lost a total of 6lbs. I am so looking for tomorrow STEAK NIGHT!

posted Jul 1st, 2010 9:17 am


Laura

This diet works! I am on day 4 and have lost 5lbs. Started at 165lbs and am hoping to shed at least 3 more lbs! Day 3 was tough and I had a headache by the end of the day but I don't think I drank enough water. So today is Banana day and I am really looking forward to day 5 for some yummy chicken! I believe the weight I have lost is water weight but this has really made me focus on eating more fruits and veggies. I exercise on a regular basis but since I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism I have struggled to lose weight. So this has been a great jump start to my metabolism and I plan on changing my eating habits for the future! Good luck to everyone who tries this and remember exercise and diet are the only way to keep weight off!

posted Jul 1st, 2010 7:51 am


ELIZA

Day 3 on my diet. I lost a total of 4 lbs. I am excited that the diet is actually working! Today will be the hardest for me, I want the bake potatoe again : )

posted Jun 30th, 2010 8:15 am


ELIZA

I am on day 2 of this diet. Not bad I lost 2 lbs since yesterday. Gave me modivation for day 2. I added some lime in my soup and it was very tasty. I will keep everyone updated.

posted Jun 29th, 2010 9:14 am


Amanda Cassel

How is the cabbage soup diet, which promotes fresh fruit and vegetables along with unsweetened soft drinks unhealthy? Meanwhile the site is promoting Diet V8 Splash which has high fructose corn syrup in it, known to cause type 2 diabetes. This site is a joke!

posted Jun 26th, 2010 6:59 pm


RUZGAR

This is my day four but I didn't loose any weight. Why is wrong with me :((

posted Jun 26th, 2010 2:30 pm


sharmeen

I started the diet today....I exercise intensely so I felt a bit tired when on the cross trainer but I do feel great :-). I made the soup using a lot of vegetables and added some garlic granules, pepper, parsley, oregano and thai spices.....tasted yum....Good luck to all.....

posted Jun 26th, 2010 9:29 am


Kim

So I have completed day 1....and I won't lie....I struggled. But I'm a person that never eats soup and doesn't really care for fruit (terrible I know). And I had some really weird cravings like McDonalds cheeseburgers - which I never normally would want at 8am!! I do feel less bloated though :)
So today is day 2....and I am hungry! I am just eating some veg which is helping.....but I am really looking forward to potato tonight!
But I am determined :) I just wish that the office girls would stop trying to share their box of chololates!

posted Jun 8th, 2010 9:20 pm


suni

I am starting it tommorow. Hoping to see positive results.....Good Luck!!! for me :-)

posted Jun 8th, 2010 1:00 pm


Me

If you get tired of eating the soup, I figured out a way of disguising the soup..
Put soup in the blender and add cumin.
Eat hot or cold. Taste's like Salsa!

posted Jun 3rd, 2010 1:40 pm


Savs

I am on Day 5 havent weighed myself yet will do so once i finish the diet i hope i have lost a bit of weight though i feel like i havent lost any ...

Day three was the hardest for me but i pushed through on banana and skimmed milk day i had butternut sqaush soup hope this did not derail my weight loss will update on day 7 when i weigh myself ...fingers crossed

posted May 28th, 2010 9:22 am


kasey

Finished the week!

I lost a total of 9 lb and may have been able to to better.

On the last day I actually had 2 bowls of rice and veggies mixed together and I got a small blizzard from dairy queen and still lost 2lb haha...The blizzard killed my stomach...so not only does this diet work, but it will teach you a lesson when you go to eat something that is unhealthy.

I will be starting again in a week!

posted May 24th, 2010 2:05 pm


Betty

I just finished day 7. It seemed like the week went by fairly slow and I actually lost 11 lbs in the 7 days! I will wait 2 weeks then restart again. Good luck to everyone!

posted May 24th, 2010 12:32 am


kasey

Day 7

LAST DAY

Im almost done with the diet!

I have lost another pound so I am down 7 lb in 6 days

posted May 23rd, 2010 7:09 pm


kasey

Day 6 is today - ALMOST DONE!

I lost 1lb since yesterday which isnt too bad. I am officially down 6lb in 5 days.

I really hope this is helping people out.

I have pretty much stuck to the diet. The last 2 days I have ate 1 slice of pepperjack cheese just because I felt like it haha. Also, I have not stopped drinking coffee. Every morning I have about 2 cups with CoffeeMate French Vanilla creamer and a few times a week i get iced coffee from mcdonalds with the cream and sugar.

Maybe if I would have given that up I would have done better but I dont think it would have made that much of a difference

Only today and tomorrow then I am done. I will update on Monday with my final weight loss after a full 7 days.

I plan on going off of it for the next week since I will be at a business meeting, but I am going to try my best to eat very healthy while I am gone and go back on it for the following week.

posted May 22nd, 2010 11:27 am


kasey

Day 5 today.

Sad to announce I didnt loose anything. But I am going to keep with it. Its just confusing me how I could possibly loose anymore now with adding meat into the mix for the next 2 days but im going to finish the 7 day thing.

posted May 21st, 2010 10:00 am


kasey

Day 4 Starts today!

I hope this is helping some people who aren't sure about doing this....

I only lost 0.5 yesterday, but its better than gaining. That brings my total weight loss down to 5lb in 3 days.

Today is Bananas and Milk day! I bought 8 bananas and a gallon of skim milk, but I hope I dont use all of it haha it kind of grosses me out.

Anyway - ill check in tomorrow

posted May 20th, 2010 9:48 am


kasey

Day 3 starts today!

I am down to 188.5. (Day 1 lost 2.5lb, Day 2 lost 2.0lb) Down 4.5lb in 2 days!!!

Yesterday was def. hard until dinner time...once I had the baked potato i was so full i just wanted to go to sleep haha.

Today shouldnt be too bad with fruit and veggies

Ill update again tomorrow.

posted May 19th, 2010 9:34 am


kasey

Day 2 starts today

Day 1 was pretty hard but I just pushed thru it. I lost 2.5 pounds in one day. SWEET. down to 190.5

ill report back tomorrow. Today is going to suck with just veggies

posted May 18th, 2010 9:43 am


Kasey

So...Im on day 1 and im kind of excited. I made the soup last night. Its ok...doesnt taste like anything but then again I HATE soup in general.
Start Day 1 - 193.0lb

I will check in everyday to compare. I have a wedding coming up and my goal is 175 by July 3. My plan is one week on and one week off with this diet until the wedding. Im not going to work out during the diet weeks, but I will be working out on the off weeks.

Good luck to everyone and you can do anything you set your mind to. Dont look at other food haha and avoid driving by McDonalds at all costs haha

posted May 17th, 2010 2:10 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account