Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 36, 702 total comments)

shy

tried the diet before and almost died, wont lie i lost 4 lbs and quit on the 4th day. I have a new take to the diet. instead of making the broth i used 4 cans of french onion soup with 4 cans of water with the cabbage, mushrooms, and carrots. i eat all fruit instead of vegetables. and in 4 days i lost 6 lbs...best thing ever to think of that french onion soup.....dont give up everyone.. the fruit i eat are fresh cherries, clementine oranges, and green apples. always take a tylonal when you wake to avoid headaches or drink a protien shake...you will still lose the weight you wanted(1 protien shake a day prefer muscle milk)

posted Jul 17th, 2009 5:28 pm


sarahghee

Stephanie, I'm on day three now and I ate some raw carrots sticks and celery for breakfast yesterday. Also, since juices are allowed I had some orange juice. Day three is easier since you can do fruit in the morning. I did this diet 6 months ago and lost 7 lbs so im trying it again. good luck!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 1:27 pm


sarahghee

lost 7 pounds in 7 days!! thats a lot for me since im 5ft tall and was 110lbs. i looked and felt great after the diet. its tough but worth it. on the downside, i started eating junk again eventually and 3 months after the diet i was back to 110.

posted Jul 17th, 2009 1:17 pm


stephaniepaige

Okay. Im on my second day and I really don't know if i can eat veggies for breakfast? Any suggestions people?!? ahh. i really wanna stick to this diet, but i need some help. =) thanks a bunch!!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 10:49 am


Lila

Started off today, its pretty easy!! But how much is everyone eating? I know what were supposed to eat but how much of it is everyone having?

posted Jul 16th, 2009 2:09 pm


stephaniepaige

I just started this diet today! I tried a bite of soup this morning before class and it actually tasted decent! (and i havent even added any seasoning yet!) I'm 5'7 and weigh around 140. Hoping to lose 10 lbs in the diet! I used to do competitive taekwondo, which had weigh ins and such, so im used to crazy diets. Im pretty excited to see how this one goes! Wish me luck! And ill be checking in everyday or two to keep everyone posted! =)

posted Jul 16th, 2009 12:41 pm


Jessi

I LOVE THIS DIET. i feel fantastic.... i have more energy than ever and i already feel skinnier (im in the middle of day 4). I could really care less about the scale but ill weigh myself on day 7 just to see. ( and ill let you all know) I'm 5'8" and 168 lbs so im hoping to get down to about 155 by the end of the month!



i truly do recommend this as a jump start to any diet. i feel wonderful.



i can say you should drink A LOT and make sure to take a daily vitamin, im taking womens on-a-days.



but honestly this diet is amazing.

good luck everyone!

posted Jul 14th, 2009 8:19 pm


MElcat

I did this diet a few years back, I lost 21lbs in 7 days!!!!! However, with such success i tried it again shortly after and my legs started to go numb, and my blood sugar dropped to like 30. Be careful not to be too active when on this diet. You will feel like crap. Just be careful and if you really start to feel bad, eat some food, not everyone's body can take it.

posted Jul 1st, 2009 8:13 am


Teresa

Im starting tomorrow. I need to shed some pounds for my 28 birthday which is July 13 and my boyfriend will back in town that weekend. Im trying to get that wow factor from him. Wish me luck. I will keep you all posted

posted Jun 27th, 2009 8:20 pm


Shayray

I am on day 4 of my diet I hate bananas so this should be fun. I feel a ok I guess. I have been working out doing Kim K work outs I need to lose 10 IIb's by my 31st b-day and that's on the 4th of july I'll report back tomarrow!!!!!!!!!

posted Jun 25th, 2009 2:49 pm


Sarah

Hey everyone,

I am going to be starting the diet tomorrow, I am wanting to drop anywhere from 10-15 pounds on this diet over 14 days. . .

I weighed myself thismorning and I am at : 144 pounds. . . So my goal after I am finished that I am hoping to get to would be: 130-135 pounds. . .

I will keep you guys posted ! ! ! Wish me luck =)

posted Jun 24th, 2009 2:42 pm


Freckles

Ok, i was going to do the liquid diet, but this one seems to be more popular and have better reviews. I will let you guys know in a week!

posted Jun 18th, 2009 11:07 pm


Ashley

I'm on day day 11 I'm going to fo the diet for s month. So far I ahve lost 18 pounds I was at 157 now im at 139. I still need to loose another 19 pounds =)

posted Jun 12th, 2009 10:58 pm


klue

my o my... i started this diet on saturday and today is my third day and i am already dieing... it the contents of day 2 that did it... i just couldn't take it... my stomach flipped and i kept feeling super nauseated! and then i cheated! :( but i am still going to finish it and then start again hopefully without cheating... i have a horrible horrible headache ever since i started... and i never have headaches! check out my blog for updates!

posted Jun 8th, 2009 8:06 pm


Anna

I love this diet. It always work for me when I get a litle out of hand.
I am not really overweight but I like to be
rather skinny. I always loose 5pounds
a week when I am on it. And I love all
foods which are on the diet. Fruits, vegetables, beef etc..For me it is the greatest diet if you want to see results fast.

posted Jun 6th, 2009 5:13 am


The TigerGal19

So, I am 5'9 and i WAS 268lbs! Over the time span of about a good 9 months I was able to drop down to 220....now I think im at my peek for losing weight, so I have been on this cabbage soup diet for about 4 days now...I am now 216 and still counting :p goal is to get to 200 before Julyyyy...
WISH ME LUCK!! Its a hard diet...but it really is worth it, just make sure when your off of it, you incorporate enough exercise and a healthy eating habit and you will be just fine :p

good luck to you all..

posted Jun 4th, 2009 3:46 pm


Cookie

Some of you that think they are not losing weight, are you exercising, too? If so, muscle weighs more than fat, so you are more than likely gaining muscle. Check with a tape measure not a weight scale, it keeps you from being disappointed.

posted Jun 4th, 2009 1:59 pm


Isabella

Female, 25 years old, 5'7 and startung weight 152lbs.
On day 4 and I have lost 4 pounds already!
I find this diet easy to stick to and like the fat that I can eat until i'm full!
Any suggestions on alternatives for breafast tomorrow (day5 ) as I hate the idea of eating tomatoes and meat...any suggestions from someone who has succesfully completed the diet would be great!
Good Luck everyone!

posted Jun 1st, 2009 2:04 pm


Hanna10

hello =)
I've gained 15-18pounds since october2008 & im going on a trip in the end of june(4 weeks)..none of my clothes from lastsummer fits me..im going to start to workout at least 4-5days a week and go on this diet in 2days(which is monday)...

ALSO, can i drink a shake for breakfast? or do i have to strickly follow the plan?????????

i hope this works!
good luck ya'll!

posted May 31st, 2009 2:41 am


cath31

Well i was gonna start this diet yesterday but oh well the soup is simmering away on the hob this minute. I am 145.5lbs and am wanting to lose about 9 pounds. But just exercise isn't helping, I'll report in a few days after my next weigh in. Hope i lose something

posted May 30th, 2009 5:17 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account