Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 183 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 35, 699 total comments)

bibi

this is my 1st day and i have to say that i really like the soup:)I never tried this diet b4 and I just wanna give my body a jump start to get to a healthier healthplan later on.I

posted Sep 26th, 2009 12:06 am


NatTheCat

well Today is day 1 for me i weigh 125. lets see how this diet works out for me..i did it before and lost 4 pounds in 4 days but yeah im actually gonna do it this time!

posted Sep 20th, 2009 4:42 pm


krd

If the truth be told, most people that are skinny or at a healthy weight are on extreme diets. The people you see on t.v. take extreme measures to stay thin. And regular people do to. You can take in 2500 calories, which is normal calorie count for a person, and be a size zero. Thats bull and everyone knows it. And since when have fruits and veggies and lean meat become unhealthy.

posted Sep 16th, 2009 10:00 am


Mrs. M

Not worth the trouble of cooking

Not HEALTHY and definately NOT FOR long term use.

posted Sep 5th, 2009 3:24 am


Kana

It's day 4 on this diet. Im wondering if
I can drink soymilk instead of skim milk....cos I love soy latte and Its so hard


to stop having it!

posted Sep 4th, 2009 1:37 am


Brandy

My Mom and I are going to be starting this diet tomm, I am 5ft and weight is 145, I just had a baby a year ago and never lost any weight from being pregnant so hopefully this diet will work like it has for so many, NOTHING else has.

posted Aug 27th, 2009 9:06 pm


lisa

This diet is what worked best for me because I saw a huge differience in weight loss. This gave me the ability to feel great how I looked and reasons to continue a safe low calorie eating plan. It was tough but I did it!!!

posted Aug 27th, 2009 10:34 am


LC

Hi everyone,

I started this diet yesterday, I woke up with so much enegry today. I am 5'6 and weighing 156lbs want to loose 25lbs wish me luck.

posted Aug 18th, 2009 1:01 pm


Bird

I started this diet today, done it in the past and lost a pound/day. Im at 146lb currently and need to get to 130lb! Hope I can last on this diet this time.

posted Aug 14th, 2009 10:21 am


sam hogg

This Soup diet is excellent I lost 7 Kilos in one week . It does really work . But if you get on this diet too much , it somehow doesnt work. I think u have to shift and get on it again.

posted Aug 14th, 2009 7:42 am


Sarah

All you people read the DANGEROUS TO YOUR HEALTH disclaimer and then do it anyways? What the hell? My mom used to do this diet and it made her cranky and irritable. The soup's pretty tasty though, I'll give you that. i have loads of childhood memories of that soup...

posted Aug 6th, 2009 10:21 pm


klstern

My daughter and I are on day 2 of the diet and having a hard time with it. Definitely having the headaches and feeling hungry a lot. Looking forward to our potato tonight, REAL FOOD! Wish us luck!

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 3:36 pm


Kristi

My daughter and I are on day 2 on this diet. We are having a hard time with it. Definitely getting the headaches and feeling hungry a lot. Excited about the potato tonight, real FOOD! Wish us luck :)

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 3:23 pm


Anusha

I am trying this today .....im hearing a lot of good things from this diet......good luck to everyone!

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 8:41 pm


chris

works great, but its very hard to do!

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 5:18 pm


Jessi

so im on the final day of my diet and I just weighed myself.. I lost in total 14 lbs... in 7 days.... which is ridiculous and awesome.

dont give up... it totally lessons your cravings for anything else at all... and i have tons of energy.... plus 14 lbs is totally wort it.
ps; i wont look at the soup again for at least a month....now onto the south beath diet! =]

posted Jul 18th, 2009 6:04 pm


betty

i have been on this diet for 1 and a half days now and im having a lot of cravings. and i am 5'2 and 112-113 pounds and im trying to get to 108 so wish me luck and does it matter i workout moderatly for the 5 dyas while taking a multi vitamin ??
please help thnx so much in advance

posted Jul 18th, 2009 2:11 pm


shy

tried the diet before and almost died, wont lie i lost 4 lbs and quit on the 4th day. I have a new take to the diet. instead of making the broth i used 4 cans of french onion soup with 4 cans of water with the cabbage, mushrooms, and carrots. i eat all fruit instead of vegetables. and in 4 days i lost 6 lbs...best thing ever to think of that french onion soup.....dont give up everyone.. the fruit i eat are fresh cherries, clementine oranges, and green apples. always take a tylonal when you wake to avoid headaches or drink a protien shake...you will still lose the weight you wanted(1 protien shake a day prefer muscle milk)

posted Jul 17th, 2009 5:28 pm


sarahghee

Stephanie, I'm on day three now and I ate some raw carrots sticks and celery for breakfast yesterday. Also, since juices are allowed I had some orange juice. Day three is easier since you can do fruit in the morning. I did this diet 6 months ago and lost 7 lbs so im trying it again. good luck!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 1:27 pm


sarahghee

lost 7 pounds in 7 days!! thats a lot for me since im 5ft tall and was 110lbs. i looked and felt great after the diet. its tough but worth it. on the downside, i started eating junk again eventually and 3 months after the diet i was back to 110.

posted Jul 17th, 2009 1:17 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account