Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 204 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 36, 708 total comments)

callie

In all honesty, ive done this diet various times over the last 5 years.
I've lost almost 200 pounds.

posted Mar 18th, 2010 7:06 pm


Laura

I roasted my tomatoes, peppers and onions before I blended them with boiled carrot, stir fried cabbage and raw celery. I used red peppers too because they're much better for you and it's pretty tasty to be honest.

posted Mar 16th, 2010 6:38 am


belaynesh

I did the 7 day/cabbage soup diet and it was physically uncomfortable. I had headaches off and on, it was hard to concentrate and I didn't have a lot of energy. By day 3 i felt kinda nauseus and light headed by the end of the day. I used more olive oil in cooking then recommended and some days I was so weak, I'd eat stir fry veggies or fruit even if the day didn't call for it.

I lost a couple of pounds, lost my sugar craving and started doing a new nutritional plan with way more calories and way more food options. Also, totally stopped eating the soup after day 3. the thought of smelling or eatingit made me wanna hurl. wouldn't do this diet again or recommend it.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 10:36 pm


Vanessa

I love the soup! I feel great and know that it works because I have already lost 8lbs in just 5 days. Keep with it and the reward will be seen at the end of your weight loss journey! Be sure to have your healthy eating plan already in place after you lose all of the weight that you want to lose. That is key; to making this a permanent solution!

posted Mar 12th, 2010 1:09 pm


nadz

doesnt work i passed out and had a consion... beacuse i was sooo tired. It lacks nutrition. STOP the crazyness just eat healthy meaning...stop eating meat, suger, and salt, DUHHH. AAND EXCERSIE

posted Mar 12th, 2010 9:05 am


Maya

I started on Monday and today was my 3rd day; I lost only 1 lb. I was wondering to know if I am doing something wrong or I have to wait until the last day to see how much I lose? any comment?

posted Mar 11th, 2010 2:25 am


nicole

I started this diet on Monday today is day two and i have lost 3.1 lbs. It is very hard and yesterday I was so grummy and I was so hungry I had to bring myself to eat a very light salad because I was getting a headache from not eating much of anything. It is a great way to lose weight just have to have teh will power.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 1:49 pm


Lee

I did the CSD late 2008 for 4 weeks and lost 36 pounds. I am 5'6" and went from 148 pounds to 112 pounds. Afterwards I stuck to a low fat, low sugar eating plan.

It's now Mar 2010 and I've only gained 4 pounds back but will do the CSD again for 1-2 weeks. I add more cabbage than recommended, puree the soup and add some chilli. We don't have Lipton in Australia so I just add a lentil soup mix. It's very thick and very filling.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 9:46 am


Stephanie

Very effective soup. Should see results immediately. However not healthy to continue for a long period of time. Should consider what to eat after you finish the plan, or else you will regain weight. I am in day 4 :) almost finished.



Good luck ;)



posted Mar 9th, 2010 5:07 am


lisa

My friend that lost the 25lbs in 1 week didnt do any exercise or anything. He just ate whatever the diet required. But he did drink a ton of water.

As for myself, I weighed myself on day 5, and I had lost 11lbs already!!! I'm on my last day today. But I think I'll weigh myself in the morning. But I do plan on continuing the program. I'm just sure if I'm gonna take 1 day off in between weeks. I have a cruise to go on in April, so i must get this weigh off as much as possible.

posted Mar 6th, 2010 8:43 pm


brandi

I tried this diet 3 years ago when i was thin but didnt have the will power...I had my daughter a yr ago and gained a god bit of weight and I need to lose alot of weight I know i can do this i went out and bought 60$ worth or fruits and veggies and soup ingredients....I hope to lose a good 10 lbs ....as of right now and start back up and keep at it till im down to 150.... SO TOMORROW IS DAY 1.....we will see also i plan on A HR of EXERSIZE A DAY..>>ILL KEEP YOU UPDATED

posted Mar 5th, 2010 7:20 pm


darkstar13

I started this diet yesterday and so far i have lost 1 pound in a day so that is great. i feel awesome and have had no bad side effects to speak of. the one thing that is hard is that i am craving bread and cheese sooooo bad. I also am a avid wine drinker, i had 2 glasses of red wine last night with my soup dinner. i will continue to do so for the rest of this diet, i love red wine and think that it has good health benifits.



for breakfast on the vegetable day i had butternut squash, it is so yummy like a big yam, i cut it in half and baked it at 400°F for 50 mins. when it comes out of the oven just put pumpkin pie spices on top and it is delish!!



day 2 has been eaiser just because i can think of more things to do with veges than fruit, and the soup is still good to me. for my luch today i made a gigantic salad loaded with chick peas for the protien, i used the "wishbone salad spritzer" on it because there is hardly any calories in it and it just was not a salad with out the dressing. I am excited for my baked potato tonight!! i think i might actually get full from it!

for a lo-cal tasty snack try some edamame.



i will post other tips i find. thanks and good luck to you fellow dieters!

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:58 pm


tyann

I am reading some comments and see some ppl saying they lost like 20 to 25 ponds in one week. I am wondering what else did y'all do besides eat the soup

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:34 pm


tyann

I just started today and omg I need some snacks it is even harder because I have kids. I mean I am cooking chiken nuggets 4 lunch as we speak but imma get thru this so wish me luck. I will be back in 6 days.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:26 pm


Lisa

My friend lost 25lbs the first week. He went from 350lbs to 325lbs. I'm on day 2. I'm 274lbs. I think I will stay on it for 6 months. I've never weighed this much before.

posted Mar 1st, 2010 8:41 pm


Lisa

I'm on day 2

posted Mar 1st, 2010 8:31 pm


HelloYa

I am doing research on this diet and do have some question in mind. I am looking to start it this coming Saturday because my friend's anniversary on Friday and I don't want to break it too soon.



Question is when you eat your vegetables, can you add season? Can it be chicken bouillon, fish sauce or soy sauce something like that?



I am hoping to loose my 15lbs postpartum plus 10 additional if possible.



Thanks in advance.

posted Feb 9th, 2010 4:33 pm


Steve

25 years ago when I did this it was called the "Dolly Parton Diet". Leave it to Oprah to stick her name on a re-born fad.
Maybe if I re-did it now she would give me a Pontiac.

posted Feb 5th, 2010 5:39 pm


Karin

I stuck to it like a mad woman, in fact, ate only 1 bowl of soup each day because I couldn't stand it, And didn't eat the steak, But only lost less than 3 lbs. Not worth the suffering you go through for a week. Vegan diet is the way to go!

posted Feb 4th, 2010 10:57 am


Jen

why do ppl talk bad about it saying you DEF cant stay on it for long periods of time..well OB VS. the book even says it. 7 days max..then take 2 weeks off if you want to start again..so that you DO get your other nutrients. (and thats not mcds or tb)... i had SO much energy on this diet... i loved the structure..i felt amazing knowing i could do something i thought I couldnt and it jumpstarted my healthy eating plan. This is the best diet ever!! I lost about 7 lbs..but on day 5 had a party at my place so quit on day 5..im excited to start back up again thou!

posted Jan 26th, 2010 2:16 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account