Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 24, 475 total comments)

FrN

I was on this weight loss program for 5 yrs on and off.. i developed fibroid cyst depression, anxiety bone loss and weigh gain that is really hard to get rid of.

posted Sep 20th, 2011 8:57 pm


sasha

I am on day 3 of this diet and it is working so far down 2 pounds! My mom just lost 60 pounds on it and looks and feels amazing. She now sells it, if you are looking to buy make sure you dont buy the synthetic stuff but teh real deal. She got ripped off on a couple sites and they sent her water! I am not sure where she gets it now but she sells it for $60 for the bottle and a full binder with menu ideas and the history behind it.

posted Sep 20th, 2011 8:49 pm


Tom Benson

I lost 25 pounds in 40 days on the HCG diet with no sideaffects.

posted Sep 17th, 2011 1:53 pm


Dawanti Motilall

I HAT THIS DIET IT IS A RIP OFF I WAS GETTING HEADACHES THEN I WAS CHARGED 89.95 AND WAS NOT EVEN AWARE. IT WAS AS TRIAL SIZE FOR 4.95

posted Sep 14th, 2011 10:15 am


Britney

Somebody please tell me the official website where I can buy these Drops.I really want to buy the original ones.

posted Sep 11th, 2011 9:39 am


SteVenus

This was the best fast acting diet I've ever been on. I took the injections & lost 35lbs in 30 days. No side affects and maintaining my weight. No more cravings. Makes you aware of your calories when going out to eat. Best place to purchase is at a vetinarians office. Farmers use it widely for animals that are breeding. Go for it. Dont be scared. You'll thank yourself later.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 6:19 am


kim goodwin

I lost 20 pounds in 26 days. I am so excited and you lose in places that you don't nomally lose in too. I went from a 14 to 1 10 a loose 14 to most 10's. I feel so much better about myself i 26 days. I am a dairy carb lover but this made me crave nothing and I wasn't hungry. It had such great success so fast that it kept you motivated to follow it fully. You can't mess up on this diet or you will gain so fast so follow it and you will be amazed.

posted Sep 9th, 2011 12:57 pm


Kent

My sister did this diet, and it put her in the emergency room. It is nothing but dangerous malnutrition wrapped up in a bunch of fake science.

My advice is Don't even THINK about doing HCG!

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 4:53 pm


Jolynn

I am on the first day of the diet after the load. Going good so far, I have had a craving for carbs, but I hear that the first few days are the hardest. I am taking hcg pills that disolve under the tongue in a few seconds and taste like mints. I haven't had any weird side affects like feeling cracked out like I have with other "diet" pills. I'm hoping to have the same results as others who have posted. The diet is strict and cuts a lot of vegetables I eat normally such as peppers and squash. That part will probably be hard not cheat on. I get my pills from a local weight loss center.

posted Aug 24th, 2011 4:42 pm


michelle

where can i get the real hcg drops that actually works and what does the drops taste like?

posted Aug 23rd, 2011 10:39 am


Debbi

Have been on hcg diet for 1 week lost 9.2 lbs. Have no cravings of carbs, sugars or salt. Eating healthy. At 5'11 was not going to submit to just 500 cal a day.so eating about 800 and still doing yoga and surfing.I look at it as a lifestyle change not just a diet.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 3:07 pm


Gina B

I am currently on the HCG diet and it is the best thing I have ever done. I have lost a total of 16lbs in 10 days. It is a very strict diet, but believe me if I can do it anyone can. As far as the above side effects, I can tell you that I have absolutely no side effects whatsoever. I have more energy, happier and can definitely see the results.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 12:04 pm


christinemos314

I would like to try this diet also. Like others, I would like to know if anyone can suggest a reputable site to purchse from.

posted Aug 21st, 2011 2:52 am


cathy k

I have been on the hcg shots and have been consuming between 600-800 calories a day for 8 days and have lost 8 lbs. You are actually eating more calories because when you count your protein calories, you have to times this by 4 then subtract that number from the calories. For example: total calorie 150, total protein 30, 30x4=120........150-120=30 TOTAL CALORIES. I have only 1/2 a thyroid and it has been so hard for me to lose weight so the fact that this has been working is incredible. I highly recommend this.

posted Aug 13th, 2011 10:21 am


ckidner

I have been taking the hcg shots once a week and have been following the diet. I eat between 600-800 calories a day and work out 3x a week. I have been on the diet 8 days and have lost 8lbs. It has been so hard for me to lose weight but this diet has been working for me! I have had no side effects but get tired earlier then usual. The appetite suppresants work well to. I go to a weight loss clinic in bc to get my shots and pills.

posted Aug 12th, 2011 11:57 pm


TiffanyK

Ive gained a good amount of weight and im NOT happy about it. Ive tried many diets and they dont work for me. So why not give this on a try?

So what my question is, whats the 411 on these drops, and WHERE can I get some that arn't a scam! HELPPPP!!!

posted Aug 12th, 2011 9:54 pm


Danielle

This is WILLPOWER IN A BOTTLE. I am 49 and want to get the "baby weight" off before I go through menopause. Tried 1,000 calories a day for a month without drops and lost 6 pounds and couldn't stick to it. I'm now eating about 650 calories and AM NOT HUNGRY. I chose the Dr. that Dr. Oz had on from Miami - Dr. Lipman an endroconologist that's been working with it for 25 years. THIS WORKS. Do you research and don't knock it until you have tried it.

posted Aug 12th, 2011 12:51 pm


Tracy

I lost 6 lbs. on this diet in only 3 days, which was great. That is, until the 4th day when I was feeling so weak my legs were about to give out. I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated, and I was starving despite that you aren't supposed to be hungry on this diet while eating only 500 cals. per day. I felt like I had morning sickness every day just like I had while pregnant twice before. It wasn't worth it to me...plus you get sick of eating the same things everyday. Good for a short term fix for a few days but definitely not long-term success. Feeling sick everyday was not worth being skinny to me.

posted Aug 12th, 2011 12:04 pm


Drew DiNardo

It's working for me. Using the shots, program was prescribed by Doctor. On it for 12 days now and have lost about 14 pounds. Don't feel hungry (still have some cravings) and do feel more alert. Have not exercised. I do have a total of 40 pounds to lose so.....

posted Aug 12th, 2011 9:06 am


Dick Gazinya

Great post. Here's a link to another HCG Diet post which I think your readers will enjoy: http://www.drbillofhealth.com/nutrition/hcg-diet-review-does-it-work-no-evidence-for-safety-and-efficacy/

posted Aug 12th, 2011 8:51 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account