Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 25, 483 total comments)

tammy skye

HCG lately shows a lot of effect to dieters and for some reasons it goes very well with a good menu of hcg recipes!

posted Mar 19th, 2012 8:20 am


BB

-

What is the matter with you people! Even if you take the HCB and have success as soon as you stop taking it you will revert back to you old ways. You cannot maintain a 500 cal diet in real life and you certainly can't take HCB for ever. Stop dieting!!! Learn to eat nutritious meals and exercise. Read the Scwarzbein Principle which will give you direction to a well rounded healthy lifestyle. My husband and I both lost over 40lbs each and got rid of gastric reflux and many allergies!

posted Mar 18th, 2012 2:06 pm


Dani

+

I am 35 yrs old. I have been on the HCG drops for 13 days. I have lost 11 lbs! I am not overweight. I started the diet at 144 I am 5'5". I am down to 133 as of this morning. I have not been exercising either. I have not been "starving" myself. I think the reason I am doing fine with the 500 calorie diet part is that I have always eaten pretty well. I dont eat beef or pork. ever. So this diet isn't that hard. I will tell you exactly what I have been eating. Breakfast - HCG drops then wait 15 mins, I have a 20 oz coffee,french vanilla creamer (probably 2 tbsp) and two stevia packets. and an apple. Lunch - I have HCG drops wait 15 mins, and entire bag of shredded lettuce, chopped apple, 4-5 oz of cut up deli honey turkey in a huge bowl with sugar free rasberry vinagrette dressing. this fills me up completely. sometimes I cant finish it. 4pm snack (I always have a snack at this time) Drops wait 15 mins. I have steamed edemame with sea salt. Dinner - Chicken breast or talapia with a great rub or seasoning (I love basil, garlic and lemon mixed together, so yummy) baked. with 2 cups of some veggie. I don't feel deprived at all. I even give myself a bite of some cookie everyday. Girl scout thin mints. they are my weakness. but I have a bite and I feel fine about it. It doesnt seem to be stopping me from losing wieght. I honestly didn't believe I would lose anything. I am shocked beyond belief, that is why I am writing this. Even if you aren't overweight, it still works. I just want to get back into the clothes in my closet and I am just about there. I couldn't be happier with the results. If you are looking to try something, I really would recommend trying this. It's only two weeks, I bought the drops at walmart for like 25.00 HCG Platinum. Good luck on your journey!

posted Mar 18th, 2012 12:58 pm


Kim

+

I am on Day 6 - Phase 2 - and have lost 4" off of my waist and 7lbs :) No hunger, headaches, or any side effects. This is the easiest "lifestyle" adjustment that I have ever made. I am down to one clothing size already. You can do it!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2012 3:20 am


caveman

+

It works I have lost 37 lbs in 33 days and there is no hunger and I have not lost any muscle mass 500 cal diets are dangerous but with these drops your body gets 3000-4000 calories for fuel hence no muscle loss And fat loss. I feel awesome I have not groWn big boobs and my energy levels are through the roof. No hair loss or headaches or cramps. Its all about following the. InstructionS and no cheating on the diet. You owe it to yourself to change. Bought my drops from www.greenhcg.com.

posted Mar 10th, 2012 12:19 pm


lau123

?

Trust your instincts I know a lot of you who swear by this are not going to like what I have to say, but I don't care. This "diet", is classic STARVATION. I've read many different boards that spew all this talk about the hormone keeping them full while the body burns fat. But what is really happening, is that your body has gone into starvation mode, THAT'S why you're not hungry after the first 3-4 days. It's no wonder that so many people reported hair loss. I know losing weight is difficult, I'm in the midst of it myself, but all of you are only setting yourselves up for a rude awakening.God only know what this is doing to your organs and muscles. Please be careful and have regular physical exams.

posted Mar 7th, 2012 6:13 am


gail

Worked fabulous, ate very healthy vegetables, salads, fruits, beef, chicken,fish and feel great.

posted Mar 6th, 2012 8:08 pm


Chrissy

-

This was the hardest diet i've ever been on. I tried it with the homeopathic drops, the pellets and then i went to a clinic and got the real injections. i was starving all the time! I was tired, dizzy, weak, had major headaches, and i fainted! I've never fainted on a diet before! It was so scary, I had to be taken to the hospital. PLEASE be careful with this diet! I forced myself to keep doing it cause i heard it worked, but this diet is NOT for everyone.

posted Mar 5th, 2012 3:46 am


rose

?

is simplepurenutrition HCG drops good? I got my HCG drops from simplepurenutrition hcg back in nov. 2011 and now is march and i still didn't open the bottle or try it. I want to but i'm scared that what if my hair will fall even more, or if i do lose weight , i'll gain it back:(. I REALLY need to lose like 30 lbs., mostely from my waist area and back. Has anyone ever tried the hcg drops from that company?

posted Mar 5th, 2012 1:11 am


Amy Burgess

?

How do I buy the real deal HCG? hi, im hoping to start the HCG diet but i live in the UK and i know that it can not be bought over here. i want the real deal not crap that doesnt have HCG init. please can you help and advise me of the best sights to but from as there are hundreds claiming to have the real deal. i have tried every diet under the sun and ever diet pill that claims fat loss but i am finding my self getting depressed that nothing has helped. im 22 and 5ft but weigh 200lps, im not far off turning 23 and i want to be sexy like every other woman. please help

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 9:44 pm


lex

i have been wanting to do this diet for awhile i just had a son 8 months ago an i have been trying diffrent diets an even been working out like crazy an cant seem to lose wight or gain it.i got the drops called HCG soultion at walmart but everything i read on said it dont work.so i guess my question is does it?an if not where can i get the real HCG drop's off line.i cant do injections because i hate needls.any suggestions would really help

posted Feb 17th, 2012 3:30 am


jhymers

?

SERIOUS ANSWERS PLEASE... I'm in New Zealand and haven't really found much info on what I should be looking for when looking to purchase. ie: the actual specifics of what is in a non prescription form of the drops. I workout sensibly and eat properly however weight loss has been very slow and I am worried about excess skin. In January 2011 I began my weight loss of exercise and eating healthy, I have an L-Carnitine tablet which has some chromium in it to kill sugar cravings post exercise. Since January 2011 (when I was 141kgs = 310 pounds) I have lost 40kgs and am now 101kgs (222 pounds) great accomplishment however I would love some extra help to get rid of the hard to get of flab. So any info as asked at the start of my long winded post would be appreciated, if you have websites which are reputable from anywhere in the world that can offer me the info i seek that would be great as would be email addresses of reputable people who are well versed in the contents i should be seeking within the product. please dont give me any non legit email addresses like gmail, hotmail, yahoo or anything like that.anyone reputable will have a legit business email.

posted Feb 15th, 2012 4:22 am


Beverly

I get my drops from hcg-drops-direct.com, in Canada. They come from the States. I'm on day 29 of my first round and have lost 22 lbs. I've never had an issues with feeling ill or hungry. By far the best diet I've even been on.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 10:48 pm


Debrah

Where can I get the drops from? Reputable companies only!!!!

posted Feb 10th, 2012 8:46 am


photogirl5

I purchased HCG drops through reset the body.com and I was on it for a few days. I first noticed bleeding in the toilet like I'd never seen before and frankly, it really scared me. A few days later, I felt a stinging on my calf and developed a huge bruise. I didn't pay much attention and a few days after that, I was riding my bike for like 10 seconds and felt a horrible stinging in both lower legs. I got off and noticed the veins in my lower leg bulging and filling with blood. It was monstrous. I called the doctor and he sent me to the ER. I had scans done and they discovered it was superficial thrombosis and i was to go follow up with my doctor. I saw my doctor a few days later and she was horrified. She said in no way was this varicose veins. She was baffled. I admitted I had been taking this drops and she told me to stop immediately. She said that they are homeopathic which may contain lead and cause bleeding. She said it could have been fatal. She said it was extremely dangerous. I contacted the company and got a refund but they would not settle on my medical bills nor would they tell me what ingredients are in their product. Why not? Beware of this company and product. Not worth risking your life over.

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 6:57 am


Lorna Howe

Hiya
I'm in the UK and am looking to buy the diet drops - we cannot get these in the UK at all and need some guidance as to which of the hundreds of sites are proper suppliers.... Or its going to get expensive.
You can inbox me on Facebook - Lorna Howe - or email me and my name in one word at hotmail .co.uk

posted Jan 31st, 2012 2:11 pm


Jennifer

?

HCG Drops- Were do you get them? Were did you get your HCG drops from? I am on my fourth day of HCG drops from Fresh Health Nutrition (FHN) and I'm waiting to see if I'm going to loose weight. FHN stated that as of December 6, 2011 FDA prohibitted the sale of the actual HCG, so the HCG drops no longer have the actual hormone. They said it is now lab created to be just like the hormone. I'm wondering if it still works. @ VLE- Were did you get yours?

posted Jan 28th, 2012 1:32 pm


VLE

+

Ph 1 day 17 of vlcd and hcg prescription injections. Doing GREAT...-16pds w/no side effects! I am hypthyroid and finally loosng weight! No hunger despite my avg of 500-650 Cal per day and feeling good. Prescription and medical supervised is the way to go.

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 4:05 am


albert

+

I have just completed 7 days on this diet, no side effects, and have lost 6 kilos ( just under a stone), bought from the states. Highly recommended .

posted Jan 16th, 2012 8:56 am


melaine rose

i on the deit for 8 days and i have lost 9lb

i did not like myself for the longest time because of my wight so far i am back in love with me try it what do u have to lose but the weight how i see it the days will come and go and u will still have the weight atleast with this the day will carry with it at least a pound or two with it .

posted Jan 15th, 2012 2:46 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?