| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 209 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.


An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.


Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.


The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 25, 481 total comments)


I am 35 yrs old. I have been on the HCG drops for 13 days. I have lost 11 lbs! I am not overweight. I started the diet at 144 I am 5'5". I am down to 133 as of this morning. I have not been exercising either. I have not been "starving" myself. I think the reason I am doing fine with the 500 calorie diet part is that I have always eaten pretty well. I dont eat beef or pork. ever. So this diet isn't that hard. I will tell you exactly what I have been eating. Breakfast - HCG drops then wait 15 mins, I have a 20 oz coffee,french vanilla creamer (probably 2 tbsp) and two stevia packets. and an apple. Lunch - I have HCG drops wait 15 mins, and entire bag of shredded lettuce, chopped apple, 4-5 oz of cut up deli honey turkey in a huge bowl with sugar free rasberry vinagrette dressing. this fills me up completely. sometimes I cant finish it. 4pm snack (I always have a snack at this time) Drops wait 15 mins. I have steamed edemame with sea salt. Dinner - Chicken breast or talapia with a great rub or seasoning (I love basil, garlic and lemon mixed together, so yummy) baked. with 2 cups of some veggie. I don't feel deprived at all. I even give myself a bite of some cookie everyday. Girl scout thin mints. they are my weakness. but I have a bite and I feel fine about it. It doesnt seem to be stopping me from losing wieght. I honestly didn't believe I would lose anything. I am shocked beyond belief, that is why I am writing this. Even if you aren't overweight, it still works. I just want to get back into the clothes in my closet and I am just about there. I couldn't be happier with the results. If you are looking to try something, I really would recommend trying this. It's only two weeks, I bought the drops at walmart for like 25.00 HCG Platinum. Good luck on your journey!

posted Mar 18th, 2012 12:58 pm


I am on Day 6 - Phase 2 - and have lost 4" off of my waist and 7lbs :) No hunger, headaches, or any side effects. This is the easiest "lifestyle" adjustment that I have ever made. I am down to one clothing size already. You can do it!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2012 2:20 am


It works I have lost 37 lbs in 33 days and there is no hunger and I have not lost any muscle mass 500 cal diets are dangerous but with these drops your body gets 3000-4000 calories for fuel hence no muscle loss And fat loss. I feel awesome I have not groWn big boobs and my energy levels are through the roof. No hair loss or headaches or cramps. Its all about following the. InstructionS and no cheating on the diet. You owe it to yourself to change. Bought my drops from

posted Mar 10th, 2012 12:19 pm


Trust your instincts I know a lot of you who swear by this are not going to like what I have to say, but I don't care. This "diet", is classic STARVATION. I've read many different boards that spew all this talk about the hormone keeping them full while the body burns fat. But what is really happening, is that your body has gone into starvation mode, THAT'S why you're not hungry after the first 3-4 days. It's no wonder that so many people reported hair loss. I know losing weight is difficult, I'm in the midst of it myself, but all of you are only setting yourselves up for a rude awakening.God only know what this is doing to your organs and muscles. Please be careful and have regular physical exams.

posted Mar 7th, 2012 6:13 am


Worked fabulous, ate very healthy vegetables, salads, fruits, beef, chicken,fish and feel great.

posted Mar 6th, 2012 8:08 pm


This was the hardest diet i've ever been on. I tried it with the homeopathic drops, the pellets and then i went to a clinic and got the real injections. i was starving all the time! I was tired, dizzy, weak, had major headaches, and i fainted! I've never fainted on a diet before! It was so scary, I had to be taken to the hospital. PLEASE be careful with this diet! I forced myself to keep doing it cause i heard it worked, but this diet is NOT for everyone.

posted Mar 5th, 2012 3:46 am


is simplepurenutrition HCG drops good? I got my HCG drops from simplepurenutrition hcg back in nov. 2011 and now is march and i still didn't open the bottle or try it. I want to but i'm scared that what if my hair will fall even more, or if i do lose weight , i'll gain it back:(. I REALLY need to lose like 30 lbs., mostely from my waist area and back. Has anyone ever tried the hcg drops from that company?

posted Mar 5th, 2012 1:11 am

Amy Burgess

How do I buy the real deal HCG? hi, im hoping to start the HCG diet but i live in the UK and i know that it can not be bought over here. i want the real deal not crap that doesnt have HCG init. please can you help and advise me of the best sights to but from as there are hundreds claiming to have the real deal. i have tried every diet under the sun and ever diet pill that claims fat loss but i am finding my self getting depressed that nothing has helped. im 22 and 5ft but weigh 200lps, im not far off turning 23 and i want to be sexy like every other woman. please help

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 9:44 pm


i have been wanting to do this diet for awhile i just had a son 8 months ago an i have been trying diffrent diets an even been working out like crazy an cant seem to lose wight or gain it.i got the drops called HCG soultion at walmart but everything i read on said it dont i guess my question is does it?an if not where can i get the real HCG drop's off line.i cant do injections because i hate needls.any suggestions would really help

posted Feb 17th, 2012 3:30 am


SERIOUS ANSWERS PLEASE... I'm in New Zealand and haven't really found much info on what I should be looking for when looking to purchase. ie: the actual specifics of what is in a non prescription form of the drops. I workout sensibly and eat properly however weight loss has been very slow and I am worried about excess skin. In January 2011 I began my weight loss of exercise and eating healthy, I have an L-Carnitine tablet which has some chromium in it to kill sugar cravings post exercise. Since January 2011 (when I was 141kgs = 310 pounds) I have lost 40kgs and am now 101kgs (222 pounds) great accomplishment however I would love some extra help to get rid of the hard to get of flab. So any info as asked at the start of my long winded post would be appreciated, if you have websites which are reputable from anywhere in the world that can offer me the info i seek that would be great as would be email addresses of reputable people who are well versed in the contents i should be seeking within the product. please dont give me any non legit email addresses like gmail, hotmail, yahoo or anything like that.anyone reputable will have a legit business email.

posted Feb 15th, 2012 4:22 am


I get my drops from, in Canada. They come from the States. I'm on day 29 of my first round and have lost 22 lbs. I've never had an issues with feeling ill or hungry. By far the best diet I've even been on.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 10:48 pm


Where can I get the drops from? Reputable companies only!!!!

posted Feb 10th, 2012 8:46 am


I purchased HCG drops through reset the and I was on it for a few days. I first noticed bleeding in the toilet like I'd never seen before and frankly, it really scared me. A few days later, I felt a stinging on my calf and developed a huge bruise. I didn't pay much attention and a few days after that, I was riding my bike for like 10 seconds and felt a horrible stinging in both lower legs. I got off and noticed the veins in my lower leg bulging and filling with blood. It was monstrous. I called the doctor and he sent me to the ER. I had scans done and they discovered it was superficial thrombosis and i was to go follow up with my doctor. I saw my doctor a few days later and she was horrified. She said in no way was this varicose veins. She was baffled. I admitted I had been taking this drops and she told me to stop immediately. She said that they are homeopathic which may contain lead and cause bleeding. She said it could have been fatal. She said it was extremely dangerous. I contacted the company and got a refund but they would not settle on my medical bills nor would they tell me what ingredients are in their product. Why not? Beware of this company and product. Not worth risking your life over.

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 6:57 am

Lorna Howe

I'm in the UK and am looking to buy the diet drops - we cannot get these in the UK at all and need some guidance as to which of the hundreds of sites are proper suppliers.... Or its going to get expensive.
You can inbox me on Facebook - Lorna Howe - or email me and my name in one word at hotmail

posted Jan 31st, 2012 2:11 pm


HCG Drops- Were do you get them? Were did you get your HCG drops from? I am on my fourth day of HCG drops from Fresh Health Nutrition (FHN) and I'm waiting to see if I'm going to loose weight. FHN stated that as of December 6, 2011 FDA prohibitted the sale of the actual HCG, so the HCG drops no longer have the actual hormone. They said it is now lab created to be just like the hormone. I'm wondering if it still works. @ VLE- Were did you get yours?

posted Jan 28th, 2012 1:32 pm


Ph 1 day 17 of vlcd and hcg prescription injections. Doing GREAT...-16pds w/no side effects! I am hypthyroid and finally loosng weight! No hunger despite my avg of 500-650 Cal per day and feeling good. Prescription and medical supervised is the way to go.

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 4:05 am


I have just completed 7 days on this diet, no side effects, and have lost 6 kilos ( just under a stone), bought from the states. Highly recommended .

posted Jan 16th, 2012 8:56 am

melaine rose

i on the deit for 8 days and i have lost 9lb

i did not like myself for the longest time because of my wight so far i am back in love with me try it what do u have to lose but the weight how i see it the days will come and go and u will still have the weight atleast with this the day will carry with it at least a pound or two with it .

posted Jan 15th, 2012 2:46 pm


Where are you buying your hcg from? Specific websites please. Along with success stories can you please site from what website you guys have purchased from? I'm trying to buy some but don't want to be ripped off and end up with a fake version.

posted Jan 11th, 2012 12:49 am


My partner, his wife and I each loss in excess of 20 pounds on 26 days of hcg diet. They used a different brand of drops than I. This diet taught all of us SO MUCH about food and weight. I had no cravings, broke a 30 year diet soda addiction and,after a three week break, will do one last stint. This DIET is the REAL Thing, and anyone who is serious about losing weight should do it and forget all of the other diets out htere.

posted Jan 7th, 2012 11:08 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account