Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
hCG Diet

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • hCG Diet
  • /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 25, 483 total comments)

awelch77

I am doing the Owl Diet HCG injections prescribed by Dr. Abbott @ Omaha Med spa. It is the easiest diet i have ever been on and believe me..i have tried everything! The first week i lost 8 lbs and continue to lose a pound every two days. It allows 600-700 calories per day. Sounds crazy but the food seems to be satisfying and i have not needed to cheat!

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 2:01 pm


Jule

I am considering this diet. I play a lot of tennis...will I be able to do that while on the 500 calories?

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 11:18 am


Becki11

+

Just starting this diet for the second time.. Fist round I only did it for a week and lost 10 lbs.. Since them I worked at culver and well their ice-cream was to die for.litterly i gained 30 lbs in a short time. I am in this for the long haul and will update after 1 week.. and will be continuing it no matter what

posted Apr 2nd, 2011 10:43 pm


KC

+

LocalHCG dot com is the best place to get the hcg drops or pellets.

posted Apr 1st, 2011 12:01 am


KC

+

Once you do this diet you can't go back and pig out you need to maintain good eating habits or the weight will come right back on. I have lost 38 pounds in 26 days and feel great. Low energy at times but that's ok with me because I had that before I started this diet.

I say give it a try get the wieght off and continue keeping the weight off by not going back to your old bad habits. I would do this program and listen to all of the daily audio's so you can dig around and find out why you were overeating so you don't go back to the same problem.

Good luck

posted Mar 31st, 2011 11:54 pm



Audrey Lynn P

?

Not workingI have the same problem I started it 2 days ago and I'm just starving,And I have been almost dazed feeling. I only have about 10-15 pounds to lose, I'm wondering why everyone has such luck on it,Also I gained 2 pounds the first day of 500 calories and I followed it very strictly i don't really want to quit cause I paid a lot for it, but I can't handle this. Any helpful hints would be great thanks

posted Mar 31st, 2011 9:06 pm


rebokah

I started the diet on Saturday. Today is Wednesday and all along I thought it would trigger my hypothalumus to thinking I'm not hungry, but I have been more hungry then I normally am. I only have about 5-7 pounds to lose. I stopped working out when I started, but has anyone else gotten hungrier with the diet? I don't know if it is just a mental thing with me or I just need to give it some more time. I have always been healthy and watched my weight, just wondering why every one else is having such luck with not eating, and all of a sudden my appetite has increased! Thanks,

posted Mar 30th, 2011 10:43 pm


Martina

+

I bought it 3 months ago from scalar energy wonders.com and I am very satisfied with the results. I call the number Om the website and I had a discount on the bottles so dont order directly but call and ask a out discount and you will get it as 2 friends of mine did it. Follow the diet and you will lose weight but continue to' be healthy even after the diet or else you will be fat again in no time!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 6:36 pm


lisa

?

Help on what to look for in a bottle of hcg. I need some suggestions on what brand to buy or what to look for when I go to purchase hcg. Any help would be great. Thanks!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 8:33 am



Audrey Lynn P

question, i just got the drops yesterday and will be starting tomorrow, i got them from nutrishop and they said that i didnt neccasarily have to follow the 500 calorie diet, I work out a lot and i've hit a huge plateau, i am not very big to begin with but i would like to lose about another 10-15 pounds, in the next month ( my husbands coming back from afghanistan) and i was just wondering, A. if anyone was able to workout on this, and B. has anyone in the smaller range done this and what were your results.. im 5'1 about 137 now

posted Mar 29th, 2011 4:57 pm


kiddos

?

How do you handle being hungry in the afternoons? In between lunch and dinner ? This is day 17 ... P2 ,I've lo

posted Mar 29th, 2011 9:44 am


userfile
Hotbysummer50

+

hape2beeme- you can eat whatever you want, doesn't have to be anything fatty or starchy, you can what fills you up personally, just stay full all the two days.
I myself just snacked on chips and carrots in between meals so i would stay full.
Good luck!

posted Mar 27th, 2011 5:21 pm


Bridgeview007

?

There are so many choices of brands of hCG, from what site are you purchasing the drops from???

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:57 am



hape2beeme

I have a question regarding the "loading days". I'm going to be starting the diet next weekend by way of the injections. I am NOT a big eater and have a hard time eating junk food. What should I expect to be eat on the "loading days" to kick start the weight loss?

posted Mar 26th, 2011 11:19 pm


kathryn

After many years and assorted attempts at not only weight loss, but management, I want to know about long term loss. Obviously, diet and life style remain critical...I would like to hear from those who have lost and maintained.:)

posted Mar 26th, 2011 8:40 pm


Andrea

+

I'm on my third day of this diet.
I am not hungry at all but as I read it is important not to skip meals and to stay on the strict 500 calorie a day diet. So i'm going to have my lunch which will be grilled chicken breast and a dressing-less salad, (so easy by the way) and we'll see where we go from here.
So far so good I think, your mind has to be set on following exactly what the diet entails and so far I am dedicated!

posted Mar 25th, 2011 3:08 pm


Eire83

+

I started the drops on Monday and have lost 4 lbs as of this morning. I was skeptical at first but if this keeps going I will be a firm believer. I'm going out of town this weekend and nervous about eating out...any tips???

posted Mar 25th, 2011 11:32 am


VentureForth

I'm hapily in my 2nd round with a total loss of 37 lbs so far...

posted Mar 24th, 2011 2:08 pm


Ryan

+

My wife and I are currently on the diet. We have about 1 week left of a 45 day regimine then we start the mainetnence phase. Neither one of us was obese and both were quite active. When we heard about the diest we were skeptical, but a friend of mine was on it and lost 60 lbs, he was a male, no larger breasts or female charecteristics : ) ( I luv to kid the opponents) I have lost 25 lbs and have 5 more to lose, my wife has lost the same and would like to lose 10 more. We have had weekends and days where we felt like we had to cheat (dinner invatations usually) we didn't want to be rude. I am very happy with the results. We did get minor headaches on the days I didn't drink enough water but other than that neither of us had any side effects. This diet is fast, sure eating 500 to 800 calories is not always easy but the HCG really helps control the hunger, in fact I was very impressed. Im a food lover but this wasnt so bad. I got to eat a good portion of Steak, fish, seafood or chicken.
I started a light workout with rubber bands this week. I will try to post my results after the maintenence piriod.
I would like to hear from people after a year has gone by.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 5:59 pm


niceness

I forgot, one big concern to the ladies. I don't hear much mention of how the HCG affects your menstrual cycle. After all, it is a hormone.

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:57 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?