Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 197 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 24, 476 total comments)

Martina

I bought it 3 months ago from scalar energy wonders.com and I am very satisfied with the results. I call the number Om the website and I had a discount on the bottles so dont order directly but call and ask a out discount and you will get it as 2 friends of mine did it. Follow the diet and you will lose weight but continue to' be healthy even after the diet or else you will be fat again in no time!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 6:36 pm


lisa

Help on what to look for in a bottle of hcg. I need some suggestions on what brand to buy or what to look for when I go to purchase hcg. Any help would be great. Thanks!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 8:33 am



Audrey Lynn P

question, i just got the drops yesterday and will be starting tomorrow, i got them from nutrishop and they said that i didnt neccasarily have to follow the 500 calorie diet, I work out a lot and i've hit a huge plateau, i am not very big to begin with but i would like to lose about another 10-15 pounds, in the next month ( my husbands coming back from afghanistan) and i was just wondering, A. if anyone was able to workout on this, and B. has anyone in the smaller range done this and what were your results.. im 5'1 about 137 now

posted Mar 29th, 2011 4:57 pm


kiddos

How do you handle being hungry in the afternoons? In between lunch and dinner ? This is day 17 ... P2 ,I've lo

posted Mar 29th, 2011 9:44 am


userfile
Hotbysummer50

hape2beeme- you can eat whatever you want, doesn't have to be anything fatty or starchy, you can what fills you up personally, just stay full all the two days.
I myself just snacked on chips and carrots in between meals so i would stay full.
Good luck!

posted Mar 27th, 2011 5:21 pm


Bridgeview007

There are so many choices of brands of hCG, from what site are you purchasing the drops from???

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:57 am



hape2beeme

I have a question regarding the "loading days". I'm going to be starting the diet next weekend by way of the injections. I am NOT a big eater and have a hard time eating junk food. What should I expect to be eat on the "loading days" to kick start the weight loss?

posted Mar 26th, 2011 11:19 pm


kathryn

After many years and assorted attempts at not only weight loss, but management, I want to know about long term loss. Obviously, diet and life style remain critical...I would like to hear from those who have lost and maintained.:)

posted Mar 26th, 2011 8:40 pm


Andrea

I'm on my third day of this diet.
I am not hungry at all but as I read it is important not to skip meals and to stay on the strict 500 calorie a day diet. So i'm going to have my lunch which will be grilled chicken breast and a dressing-less salad, (so easy by the way) and we'll see where we go from here.
So far so good I think, your mind has to be set on following exactly what the diet entails and so far I am dedicated!

posted Mar 25th, 2011 3:08 pm


Eire83

I started the drops on Monday and have lost 4 lbs as of this morning. I was skeptical at first but if this keeps going I will be a firm believer. I'm going out of town this weekend and nervous about eating out...any tips???

posted Mar 25th, 2011 11:32 am


VentureForth

I'm hapily in my 2nd round with a total loss of 37 lbs so far...

posted Mar 24th, 2011 2:08 pm


Ryan

My wife and I are currently on the diet. We have about 1 week left of a 45 day regimine then we start the mainetnence phase. Neither one of us was obese and both were quite active. When we heard about the diest we were skeptical, but a friend of mine was on it and lost 60 lbs, he was a male, no larger breasts or female charecteristics : ) ( I luv to kid the opponents) I have lost 25 lbs and have 5 more to lose, my wife has lost the same and would like to lose 10 more. We have had weekends and days where we felt like we had to cheat (dinner invatations usually) we didn't want to be rude. I am very happy with the results. We did get minor headaches on the days I didn't drink enough water but other than that neither of us had any side effects. This diet is fast, sure eating 500 to 800 calories is not always easy but the HCG really helps control the hunger, in fact I was very impressed. Im a food lover but this wasnt so bad. I got to eat a good portion of Steak, fish, seafood or chicken.
I started a light workout with rubber bands this week. I will try to post my results after the maintenence piriod.
I would like to hear from people after a year has gone by.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 5:59 pm


niceness

I forgot, one big concern to the ladies. I don't hear much mention of how the HCG affects your menstrual cycle. After all, it is a hormone.

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:57 pm


niceness

I've always been a skeptic about fad diets, pills, medications etc. However, I'm seriously considering the HCG as as option to quick start my goal of 20 Lbs. I use to have no problem with exercise because I was always active ad pretty athletic. As I got older, 40, time and energy wasn't the same. Weight just started to increase no mater what. You have to literally eat much less and exercise much more. I've been reading and getting a lot of mixed reviews. I know the shots are more successful, however, I'm going to start with the drops. Any REAL advice would be appreciated and the best source to purchase the drops. Thank you and good luck!!!

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:46 pm


ladyfee

Unbelievable..i asked 2 questions and you said yes so im not sure which the yes was for....but since i do have loads of time and loads of money i guess it means i continue based on your response. Thanks.

It is another day so, i took my drops and i havent eaten all day yet....maybe today will be a better day.....life is great isnt it:)

posted Mar 16th, 2011 2:35 am


unbelievable

ladyfee...the answer to your question is yes! because you are NOT ready. this is not a diet you can mess up on. It simply will not work when you do. Unless you can afford to waste money and your time also.

posted Mar 15th, 2011 3:09 pm


ladyfee

I waste my money because i have it to waste:)

And i dont think im ready either, but i want to do it so my question was if i try and i mess up do i give up and say im not ready??

posted Mar 15th, 2011 10:39 am


Karen

the first round of Hcg I lost 130 lbs....yes...that is right 130lbs! I gained back 30 lbs....so I did it again....lost 40....now have gained back 40....am going to do it one more time with help on the maintenence part which is where I fail.....it is a god send for the obese! a pound a month just doesn't cut it when you have so much to lose...you get discouraged and give up.....handsto heaven is where I get mine,

posted Mar 15th, 2011 9:21 am


userfile
maggiedav

Ladyfee -

I'm not trying to be rude by any means, but it doesn't sound like you're really ready for this diet. If you keep cheating why are you wasting your money? It's a strict diet and mistakes are bound to happen, but you've just started and have already had 2 pretty big cheats. If you do think you're finally ready, no I wouldn't do the gorge days again. Just keep taking your drops and eat right. That's the only way it's going to work.

posted Mar 15th, 2011 8:57 am


ladyfee

My day one and 2 was Sat and Sun where i gorged. Then came day 3 (yesterday) i did good until that nite at 1030 i broke down and had 2 slices of pizza. I am glad i found you guys today, i will be reading daily......

I will read the book today by Dr Simmeons, if anyone wants the pdf version email me ladyfee@gmail.com and ill email it to ya......

Today i broke my diet completely, i ate rice, steak, pork chops and had a diet coke....i figured i need to have one more day of getting food out my system.

So do i continue or start over...from day one gorge gorge gorge,,,,

Also if i mess up a day do i stop taking the drops for that day?

sigh

lol

posted Mar 15th, 2011 7:27 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account