Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 25, 483 total comments)

awelch77

I am doing the Owl Diet HCG injections prescribed by Dr. Abbott @ Omaha Med spa. It is the easiest diet i have ever been on and believe me..i have tried everything! The first week i lost 8 lbs and continue to lose a pound every two days. It allows 600-700 calories per day. Sounds crazy but the food seems to be satisfying and i have not needed to cheat!

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 2:01 pm


Jule

I am considering this diet. I play a lot of tennis...will I be able to do that while on the 500 calories?

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 11:18 am


Becki11

+

Just starting this diet for the second time.. Fist round I only did it for a week and lost 10 lbs.. Since them I worked at culver and well their ice-cream was to die for.litterly i gained 30 lbs in a short time. I am in this for the long haul and will update after 1 week.. and will be continuing it no matter what

posted Apr 2nd, 2011 10:43 pm


KC

+

LocalHCG dot com is the best place to get the hcg drops or pellets.

posted Apr 1st, 2011 12:01 am


KC

+

Once you do this diet you can't go back and pig out you need to maintain good eating habits or the weight will come right back on. I have lost 38 pounds in 26 days and feel great. Low energy at times but that's ok with me because I had that before I started this diet.

I say give it a try get the wieght off and continue keeping the weight off by not going back to your old bad habits. I would do this program and listen to all of the daily audio's so you can dig around and find out why you were overeating so you don't go back to the same problem.

Good luck

posted Mar 31st, 2011 11:54 pm



Audrey Lynn P

?

Not workingI have the same problem I started it 2 days ago and I'm just starving,And I have been almost dazed feeling. I only have about 10-15 pounds to lose, I'm wondering why everyone has such luck on it,Also I gained 2 pounds the first day of 500 calories and I followed it very strictly i don't really want to quit cause I paid a lot for it, but I can't handle this. Any helpful hints would be great thanks

posted Mar 31st, 2011 9:06 pm


rebokah

I started the diet on Saturday. Today is Wednesday and all along I thought it would trigger my hypothalumus to thinking I'm not hungry, but I have been more hungry then I normally am. I only have about 5-7 pounds to lose. I stopped working out when I started, but has anyone else gotten hungrier with the diet? I don't know if it is just a mental thing with me or I just need to give it some more time. I have always been healthy and watched my weight, just wondering why every one else is having such luck with not eating, and all of a sudden my appetite has increased! Thanks,

posted Mar 30th, 2011 10:43 pm


Martina

+

I bought it 3 months ago from scalar energy wonders.com and I am very satisfied with the results. I call the number Om the website and I had a discount on the bottles so dont order directly but call and ask a out discount and you will get it as 2 friends of mine did it. Follow the diet and you will lose weight but continue to' be healthy even after the diet or else you will be fat again in no time!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 6:36 pm


lisa

?

Help on what to look for in a bottle of hcg. I need some suggestions on what brand to buy or what to look for when I go to purchase hcg. Any help would be great. Thanks!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 8:33 am



Audrey Lynn P

question, i just got the drops yesterday and will be starting tomorrow, i got them from nutrishop and they said that i didnt neccasarily have to follow the 500 calorie diet, I work out a lot and i've hit a huge plateau, i am not very big to begin with but i would like to lose about another 10-15 pounds, in the next month ( my husbands coming back from afghanistan) and i was just wondering, A. if anyone was able to workout on this, and B. has anyone in the smaller range done this and what were your results.. im 5'1 about 137 now

posted Mar 29th, 2011 4:57 pm


kiddos

?

How do you handle being hungry in the afternoons? In between lunch and dinner ? This is day 17 ... P2 ,I've lo

posted Mar 29th, 2011 9:44 am


userfile
Hotbysummer50

+

hape2beeme- you can eat whatever you want, doesn't have to be anything fatty or starchy, you can what fills you up personally, just stay full all the two days.
I myself just snacked on chips and carrots in between meals so i would stay full.
Good luck!

posted Mar 27th, 2011 5:21 pm


Bridgeview007

?

There are so many choices of brands of hCG, from what site are you purchasing the drops from???

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:57 am



hape2beeme

I have a question regarding the "loading days". I'm going to be starting the diet next weekend by way of the injections. I am NOT a big eater and have a hard time eating junk food. What should I expect to be eat on the "loading days" to kick start the weight loss?

posted Mar 26th, 2011 11:19 pm


kathryn

After many years and assorted attempts at not only weight loss, but management, I want to know about long term loss. Obviously, diet and life style remain critical...I would like to hear from those who have lost and maintained.:)

posted Mar 26th, 2011 8:40 pm


Andrea

+

I'm on my third day of this diet.
I am not hungry at all but as I read it is important not to skip meals and to stay on the strict 500 calorie a day diet. So i'm going to have my lunch which will be grilled chicken breast and a dressing-less salad, (so easy by the way) and we'll see where we go from here.
So far so good I think, your mind has to be set on following exactly what the diet entails and so far I am dedicated!

posted Mar 25th, 2011 3:08 pm


Eire83

+

I started the drops on Monday and have lost 4 lbs as of this morning. I was skeptical at first but if this keeps going I will be a firm believer. I'm going out of town this weekend and nervous about eating out...any tips???

posted Mar 25th, 2011 11:32 am


VentureForth

I'm hapily in my 2nd round with a total loss of 37 lbs so far...

posted Mar 24th, 2011 2:08 pm


Ryan

+

My wife and I are currently on the diet. We have about 1 week left of a 45 day regimine then we start the mainetnence phase. Neither one of us was obese and both were quite active. When we heard about the diest we were skeptical, but a friend of mine was on it and lost 60 lbs, he was a male, no larger breasts or female charecteristics : ) ( I luv to kid the opponents) I have lost 25 lbs and have 5 more to lose, my wife has lost the same and would like to lose 10 more. We have had weekends and days where we felt like we had to cheat (dinner invatations usually) we didn't want to be rude. I am very happy with the results. We did get minor headaches on the days I didn't drink enough water but other than that neither of us had any side effects. This diet is fast, sure eating 500 to 800 calories is not always easy but the HCG really helps control the hunger, in fact I was very impressed. Im a food lover but this wasnt so bad. I got to eat a good portion of Steak, fish, seafood or chicken.
I started a light workout with rubber bands this week. I will try to post my results after the maintenence piriod.
I would like to hear from people after a year has gone by.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 5:59 pm


niceness

I forgot, one big concern to the ladies. I don't hear much mention of how the HCG affects your menstrual cycle. After all, it is a hormone.

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:57 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?