Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 25, 483 total comments)

shannon

+

the only way I've been able to lose weight after trying just about everything for 24 yrs!

posted Jan 25th, 2016 11:24 pm


Julie

+

I did the HCG drops with B12 in them, also added liquid vitamins, and magnesium. I didn't follow the diet to the letter, but just ate protein and no starchy veggies and fruit, eliminated sugar and starches. I feel and felt better then ever, lost about 20 lbs total, drastically curbed my appetite when on the drops, and lost belly fat and under my ass cheeks fat, and my skin got smoother and tighter. I had a headache 1 day out of the whole 45 days. Definitely sped up weight loss without cravings, I felt good and in control! Signed up so I could get discounts at Omninutrition, is where I got all supplements, didn't take anything with caffeine except my black coffee. Julie@julieeshelman.com

posted Jan 5th, 2016 7:59 pm


Tiffany

I have put my hcg experience in my blog at www.hcgweightloss.blogspot.com Hcg works I started this blog because i myself scoured the internet looking for real people reviews and my options were slim to none.

posted Oct 29th, 2015 11:03 pm


Cassia

+

I did the Hcg injections and lost .5 per day, which is textbook for women. In 36 days, I lost 18.4 pounds of fat only. I lost 48 pounds being vegan for 2 years back in 2012. Due to stress and overeating, I gained most of the pounds back, started back eating meat about 6 months ago. Could never satisfy my hunger being vegan, so that's why I began eating meat.

Anyway, in the last 2 years I slowly gained back all but 5 pounds of the 48 I'd lost. Heard about Hcg. Went online and did tons of research. Ordered the product from overseas at FastEscrowRefills.com. In my haste, I accidentally ordered just the Hcg Kit, not realizing until 3 weeks later when I received it that "kit' meant materials only, not the HCG itself. I contacted the company. They agreed to send me 2 vials of Hcg 5000 iu for FREE and forego the $25 shipping charges!!! The only downside to purchasing products overseas is how long it takes (aprox 3 weeks). The cost is about half of US pharmacies. This particular company is very reputable. I heard about it from HcgChica.com, whom I trust implicitly.

posted Aug 26th, 2015 6:25 pm


Don

-

I took a low dose of .30 unit injection. This lower dose was taken as a method to restart testosterone production. 15 min later, my heart started to race and I began to black out. My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin...very scary. I can only imagine what a higher dose would do.

This was yesterday and, after a day passed by, I still don't feel right. Beware.

posted Jul 25th, 2015 7:57 pm


Laura

This article lists the side effects under "CON" and call them "very serious" -fatigue, irritability, and headache. Then in your conclusion you claim that the side effects are "dangerous" Give me a break! Being FAT and getting heart disease is dangerous, not HCG.

posted Jun 17th, 2015 4:27 pm


Craig

+

Very good results w/HCG at DietDoc.com!

posted Dec 10th, 2014 11:22 pm


Samantha

+

Can we take the drops during menstrual cycle?

Please respond

posted May 12th, 2014 10:47 am



Brad Smith

+

I lost 35lbs on the hcg diet. Buy the best hcg diet weight loss diet products with free usps shipping at: https://www.officialhcgstore.com

posted Nov 15th, 2013 3:29 am


Kim Anderson

+

I lost 45lbs on the hcg diet. Buy the best hcg diet weight loss diet products with free usps shipping at: https://www.officialhcgstore.com

posted Nov 15th, 2013 3:12 am


Kathy

Very good results with no side effects.

posted Nov 1st, 2013 1:10 pm


VBMom

Dr. Emma's HCG diet plan is better than the Simeons HCG diet. It is less restrictive in caloric intake and is tailored to the individual's activity level and is therefore safer. In Virginia, Universal Weight Loss and Wellness Center is now offering Dr. Emma's HCG diet and injectable HCG, which is the only form of HCG scientifically proven to be absorbed into the bloodstream. The results are amazing and long-lasting, because you lose fat, not muscle, due to the HCG.

posted Jun 20th, 2013 2:24 am


JB1999

+

The HCG diet is a low calorie but that's not the only reason why you lose the weight. Some people should do more research before stating incorrect information. You are not starving because the body is using up the fat that is already within in. I never felt hungry on the diet but then again, I never ate junk food 24/7. If you do this, guess what? Nothing will help you!

posted Jun 15th, 2013 1:19 am


Me

500 calories a day is starvation, plain and simple. The weight loss on this program is not from the HCG, but from the caloric deprivation. HCG supposedly "masks" your body telling you, "HEY! I'm STARVING here! You are going to DIE if you keep this up!"....it doesn't, really. You can achieve the "same results" by only eating the "HCG" diet- with the difference being you're not injecting a human hormone into your body. Watched my whole extended family buy into this "craze", drop the weight, and slap it right back on when they were done. I can lose 25 pounds in a day by cutting off my arm, too- but that doesn't make it either smart or healthy!

posted Apr 24th, 2013 9:46 pm


Cheryl

+

My husband and I tried hCG through a clinic and we were consuming probably around 1000-1200 calories a day. We were on it for about 4 months (yes, we did 16 weeks straight, skipping every 7th day of the week). We were told to use protein shakes as supplements (ones without sugar or synthetic chemical sweeteners.. ours had Stevia for the sweetener.. bought it through Vitacost) in order to NOT lose muscle. We had a shake for breakfast, snack was an apple or strawberries, lunch was salad with chicken (or whatever else was on the acceptable list.. which was a lot more foods than the original diet allowed), a shake for snack, dinner, and if we wanted an apple or another shake later we'd have that. WE DRANK OUR WATER!! So important! We drank at least four 32 ounce bottles of water a day. The more we drank, the more weight loss we saw (and faster... if we slacked on water, it showed in less weight loss for that day). Keeping plenty of water in your system is so vital on this diet. I'm not selling hCG, I just know it works if you use it right. It helps you NOT be hungry, along with the water. It helps you drop the weight. I lost 45 pounds and my husband lost 75 pounds. We used the shots that the clinic provided.. mixed the powdered hCG with sterile water and did the shots ourselves. It works if you follow the diet, keep your protein up (so you're not losing muscle) and drink your water. I'd say use a clinic the first "round" and see for yourself. Choose a reputable one, though.

posted Feb 15th, 2013 1:24 am


Jan

+

I have been on diet several times spread out over two years. I used the drops and have had good success of 50 lbs lost.
I've had nothing but a good experience!

posted Jan 17th, 2013 7:45 pm


CMW

+

I gained 25 pounds after I quit smoking (in three years time). I heard about the HCG diet from my daughter, and decided to give it a try. I lost 22 of the 25 pounds and have stayed within the up or down 2 for a month. It is a hard diet, but short. It also teaches you how to eat better. I never was tired or weak, nor did I have horrible side effects.

posted Jan 17th, 2013 3:44 pm


aateresa

I am finishing phase 2 of hCG now. Did I lose weight? Yes. Was it worth it? ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!! This diet lasts forever, makes you tired, weak, and feeling so deprived (from having the same foods every meal for three weeks that you are bound to gain back weight when you get off. It kind of like the child whose parents restricted them so much that when they went to college, they went wild.

posted Jul 14th, 2012 9:02 pm


blw

+

Correction: the authors name of 'Weight Loss Apocalypse' is Robin Phipps Woodall.



If you are going to do the protocol, then do yourself a favour and read the book. Free downloadable pdf's are available online.

posted Jul 9th, 2012 8:28 am


aboyt hcg

+

There was absolutely no explanation When i must be overweight nowadays. When i will have a fantastic groundwork involving information on what to live an incredibly healthy and also pleased life style regardless of every one of the vacationing I truly do and also how stressful my workload can be. When i discovered an important lesson: of which wellbeing occurs first due to the fact with out a sound body, all the other regions of the lifestyles are affected.

posted Jul 8th, 2012 3:29 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?