Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • hCG Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 25, 483 total comments)

shannon

+

the only way I've been able to lose weight after trying just about everything for 24 yrs!

posted Jan 25th, 2016 11:24 pm


Julie

+

I did the HCG drops with B12 in them, also added liquid vitamins, and magnesium. I didn't follow the diet to the letter, but just ate protein and no starchy veggies and fruit, eliminated sugar and starches. I feel and felt better then ever, lost about 20 lbs total, drastically curbed my appetite when on the drops, and lost belly fat and under my ass cheeks fat, and my skin got smoother and tighter. I had a headache 1 day out of the whole 45 days. Definitely sped up weight loss without cravings, I felt good and in control! Signed up so I could get discounts at Omninutrition, is where I got all supplements, didn't take anything with caffeine except my black coffee. Julie@julieeshelman.com

posted Jan 5th, 2016 7:59 pm


Tiffany

I have put my hcg experience in my blog at www.hcgweightloss.blogspot.com Hcg works I started this blog because i myself scoured the internet looking for real people reviews and my options were slim to none.

posted Oct 29th, 2015 11:03 pm


Cassia

+

I did the Hcg injections and lost .5 per day, which is textbook for women. In 36 days, I lost 18.4 pounds of fat only. I lost 48 pounds being vegan for 2 years back in 2012. Due to stress and overeating, I gained most of the pounds back, started back eating meat about 6 months ago. Could never satisfy my hunger being vegan, so that's why I began eating meat.

Anyway, in the last 2 years I slowly gained back all but 5 pounds of the 48 I'd lost. Heard about Hcg. Went online and did tons of research. Ordered the product from overseas at FastEscrowRefills.com. In my haste, I accidentally ordered just the Hcg Kit, not realizing until 3 weeks later when I received it that "kit' meant materials only, not the HCG itself. I contacted the company. They agreed to send me 2 vials of Hcg 5000 iu for FREE and forego the $25 shipping charges!!! The only downside to purchasing products overseas is how long it takes (aprox 3 weeks). The cost is about half of US pharmacies. This particular company is very reputable. I heard about it from HcgChica.com, whom I trust implicitly.

posted Aug 26th, 2015 6:25 pm


Don

-

I took a low dose of .30 unit injection. This lower dose was taken as a method to restart testosterone production. 15 min later, my heart started to race and I began to black out. My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin...very scary. I can only imagine what a higher dose would do.

This was yesterday and, after a day passed by, I still don't feel right. Beware.

posted Jul 25th, 2015 7:57 pm


Laura

This article lists the side effects under "CON" and call them "very serious" -fatigue, irritability, and headache. Then in your conclusion you claim that the side effects are "dangerous" Give me a break! Being FAT and getting heart disease is dangerous, not HCG.

posted Jun 17th, 2015 4:27 pm


Craig

+

Very good results w/HCG at DietDoc.com!

posted Dec 10th, 2014 11:22 pm


Samantha

+

Can we take the drops during menstrual cycle?

Please respond

posted May 12th, 2014 10:47 am



Brad Smith

+

I lost 35lbs on the hcg diet. Buy the best hcg diet weight loss diet products with free usps shipping at: https://www.officialhcgstore.com

posted Nov 15th, 2013 3:29 am


Kim Anderson

+

I lost 45lbs on the hcg diet. Buy the best hcg diet weight loss diet products with free usps shipping at: https://www.officialhcgstore.com

posted Nov 15th, 2013 3:12 am


Kathy

Very good results with no side effects.

posted Nov 1st, 2013 1:10 pm


VBMom

Dr. Emma's HCG diet plan is better than the Simeons HCG diet. It is less restrictive in caloric intake and is tailored to the individual's activity level and is therefore safer. In Virginia, Universal Weight Loss and Wellness Center is now offering Dr. Emma's HCG diet and injectable HCG, which is the only form of HCG scientifically proven to be absorbed into the bloodstream. The results are amazing and long-lasting, because you lose fat, not muscle, due to the HCG.

posted Jun 20th, 2013 2:24 am


JB1999

+

The HCG diet is a low calorie but that's not the only reason why you lose the weight. Some people should do more research before stating incorrect information. You are not starving because the body is using up the fat that is already within in. I never felt hungry on the diet but then again, I never ate junk food 24/7. If you do this, guess what? Nothing will help you!

posted Jun 15th, 2013 1:19 am


Me

500 calories a day is starvation, plain and simple. The weight loss on this program is not from the HCG, but from the caloric deprivation. HCG supposedly "masks" your body telling you, "HEY! I'm STARVING here! You are going to DIE if you keep this up!"....it doesn't, really. You can achieve the "same results" by only eating the "HCG" diet- with the difference being you're not injecting a human hormone into your body. Watched my whole extended family buy into this "craze", drop the weight, and slap it right back on when they were done. I can lose 25 pounds in a day by cutting off my arm, too- but that doesn't make it either smart or healthy!

posted Apr 24th, 2013 9:46 pm


Cheryl

+

My husband and I tried hCG through a clinic and we were consuming probably around 1000-1200 calories a day. We were on it for about 4 months (yes, we did 16 weeks straight, skipping every 7th day of the week). We were told to use protein shakes as supplements (ones without sugar or synthetic chemical sweeteners.. ours had Stevia for the sweetener.. bought it through Vitacost) in order to NOT lose muscle. We had a shake for breakfast, snack was an apple or strawberries, lunch was salad with chicken (or whatever else was on the acceptable list.. which was a lot more foods than the original diet allowed), a shake for snack, dinner, and if we wanted an apple or another shake later we'd have that. WE DRANK OUR WATER!! So important! We drank at least four 32 ounce bottles of water a day. The more we drank, the more weight loss we saw (and faster... if we slacked on water, it showed in less weight loss for that day). Keeping plenty of water in your system is so vital on this diet. I'm not selling hCG, I just know it works if you use it right. It helps you NOT be hungry, along with the water. It helps you drop the weight. I lost 45 pounds and my husband lost 75 pounds. We used the shots that the clinic provided.. mixed the powdered hCG with sterile water and did the shots ourselves. It works if you follow the diet, keep your protein up (so you're not losing muscle) and drink your water. I'd say use a clinic the first "round" and see for yourself. Choose a reputable one, though.

posted Feb 15th, 2013 1:24 am


Jan

+

I have been on diet several times spread out over two years. I used the drops and have had good success of 50 lbs lost.
I've had nothing but a good experience!

posted Jan 17th, 2013 7:45 pm


CMW

+

I gained 25 pounds after I quit smoking (in three years time). I heard about the HCG diet from my daughter, and decided to give it a try. I lost 22 of the 25 pounds and have stayed within the up or down 2 for a month. It is a hard diet, but short. It also teaches you how to eat better. I never was tired or weak, nor did I have horrible side effects.

posted Jan 17th, 2013 3:44 pm


aateresa

I am finishing phase 2 of hCG now. Did I lose weight? Yes. Was it worth it? ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!! This diet lasts forever, makes you tired, weak, and feeling so deprived (from having the same foods every meal for three weeks that you are bound to gain back weight when you get off. It kind of like the child whose parents restricted them so much that when they went to college, they went wild.

posted Jul 14th, 2012 9:02 pm


blw

+

Correction: the authors name of 'Weight Loss Apocalypse' is Robin Phipps Woodall.



If you are going to do the protocol, then do yourself a favour and read the book. Free downloadable pdf's are available online.

posted Jul 9th, 2012 8:28 am


aboyt hcg

+

There was absolutely no explanation When i must be overweight nowadays. When i will have a fantastic groundwork involving information on what to live an incredibly healthy and also pleased life style regardless of every one of the vacationing I truly do and also how stressful my workload can be. When i discovered an important lesson: of which wellbeing occurs first due to the fact with out a sound body, all the other regions of the lifestyles are affected.

posted Jul 8th, 2012 3:29 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




text

Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?