Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 24, 475 total comments)

Amy

Becky, The real hCG can not be sold in this country without a prescription. ANYTHING that says "hcg" that u can buy here is homeopathic, meaning they've taken it all out. The real stuff is freeze-dried in small vials (never pre-mixed as it goes bad quickly) and you have to order it out of country.

posted Dec 8th, 2011 3:07 pm


Becky

Hi Nikki, I would like to know...how would you know the REAL HCG drops before ordering on line....Could you post a picture please.

Thanks
Becky

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 7:35 pm


lena

I have an underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) I have been struggling with my weight for the past 12yrs and decided to give this drops. I'm on day 4 and have lost 3 pounds so far do i have to stop taking my thyroid pills iron pills
vitamin D?any info
thanks

posted Dec 1st, 2011 2:34 pm


Nikki

I lost 10 lbs in 4 days on it. I am a personal trainer so I was already in shape. I felt I didn't need to lose anymore weight so I stopped the drops but my husband still takes them. He has lost 30 lbs so far since Halloween when he started. Its an amazing product. Just don't be fooled by knock off versions! When purchasing use pregnancy test to validate drops. If test shows up positive when drops hit them, HCG hormone is present. If test comes out negative, don't waste your $.

posted Nov 21st, 2011 9:33 pm


Diane

How are blood sugars affected by the hCG diet? How are blood sugars affecting during Phs I of the HCG diet when I am not allowed to eat breakfast? I am a type II diabetic on metformin/glyburide and about to start Phase I of the HCG diet this week. I have a concern about not eating anything for breakfast other than coffee. How does this affect a diabetic not to eat breakfast and to be taking their meds on an empty stomach for the duration of Phase I?

posted Nov 15th, 2011 3:18 am


Jms

I have an underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) and I'm anemic. I have been struggling with my weight for the past 8yrs and decided to give this a shot. I'm on day 25 and have lost 22pounds so far (that's despite one cheat day, friend's Bday party). I haven't been taking my iron pills or my thyroid pills and yet I feel great! This diet has lifted my spirits and I've never been more motivated! I hope for the best. If the weight comes back after my 30 days, well, atleast I tried! ;)

posted Nov 5th, 2011 12:41 am


Lee

Cathy, Would you share what vitamins and detox supplements you took while doing the diet?

Thank you

posted Nov 2nd, 2011 6:56 pm


Cathy

I am a diabetic. After my A1C came in at 8.4 My physician put me on a low carb, high protein diet and daily injections of HCG. She also prescribed 6 vitamins, a probiotic and a detox tablet. The HCG eliminates hunger. the 4th day of reduced carbs was the only day I was really hungry. My diet contains 900 - 1200 calories a day. I was told to expect 2 to 3 lbs weight loss a week. I am averaging 2.6 lbs a week. I was told it was very important to take the vitamins supplied by my physician. I have taken probiotics and detox tablets for several years. I was told I should continue and did not have to purchase those from my physician I was allowed to use the over the counter brand I usually take. Many of the side effects described on this site is what my physician said would be the consequence if I did not take the vitamins, probiotics and detox tablets.
To date I have lost 18.5 lbs. I feel great. My fasting glucose readings have been consistent 90 for two weeks. My metformin meds have been decreased from 3 to 1 daily. We expect to stop the metformin within the next few
weeks.

My doctor monitors my fat and muscle mass. I am loosing Fat. 16.5 lbs of it and only 2 lbs of muscle. My measurements were taken prior to starting the diet. After 12 lbs at 4 weeks I had lost 5 1/2 inches from my waist, 1inch from my neck, 1 1/2 inches from each arm and 2 3/4 inches from each thigh. I lost more inches than pounds. I understand the High protein low carb diet combined with the HCG targets the fat resulting in firmer skin and quicker weight loss. I pay $100 for 6 weeks of HCG because my Ins does not cover. my doctor requires I come into her office every 7 to 9 days and I pay $10 co-pay and $18.50 for one month supply of vitamins. My physician is an internal medicine specialists.

posted Oct 31st, 2011 12:30 am


Amanda

I just got done with my six weeks of the hcg diet and have lost twenty pounds! i'm 5'2 and was 125 pounds, i am now down to 105! i am so happy with this diet! it might be hard at first but once you start seeing a pound dropped everyday it's amazing! i recommend it to anyone! just really stick to it! =) don't listen to bad reviews or that its not healthy, I've never felt happier and never want to touch fast food like mcdonald's again!

posted Oct 27th, 2011 6:32 pm


Amanda

I just got done with my six weeks of the hcg diet and have lost twenty pounds! i'm 5'2 and was 125 pounds, i am now down to 105! i am so happy with this diet! it might be hard at first but once you start seeing a pound dropped everyday it's amazing! i recommend it to anyone! just really stick to it! =)

posted Oct 27th, 2011 6:31 pm


kjkc

How do you know if the vendor you are buying from is reputable? Any suggested sites?

posted Oct 27th, 2011 2:25 pm



Bri

My name is Sabrina Lee and I lost v95 pounds on the HCG Protocol. My daughter lost 119 pounds so far. We have both done 4 rounds. I am registered nurse and I served 14 years in the Army as a field nurse and have been nursing for over 24 years. I currently reside in Stockbridge, Georgia. Atlanta HCG Weight Loss Group was created by me, after accidentally being introduced to HCG through a local physician. After 2-3 months of research and over 80 pounds I wanted to loose, I realized that it would cost me a lot of money to do several rounds of Pharmaceutical grade HCG.

I completed my first round without the level of personal support that a friend or family member can provide and I was afraid to tell my family what I was doing.

After doing it alone and realizing how big of an impact the weight loss had on my life, I decided to find a way to offer lower cost and better support to my family and friends. I decided to offer the type of support and love that I wanted, but didn't have. My daughter (LaDawna) and I ended up starting a weight loss business after our client/family numbered over 600 with a few celebrities in tow. We have a physician and consultant pharmacist on staff and education and support is our number one priority.
You can view our before and after photos on our web page at:

posted Oct 22nd, 2011 2:29 am


Jay

I'm waiting to try out these HCG diet drops, I found them at http://sexyurl.co/HGCdietDrops

posted Oct 21st, 2011 9:56 pm


sarah

I want to share the wonderful experience I had with the HCG diet. It has completely changed my life. I have always been a heavier set girl and I always struggled to ditch the poundage. Recently, I had the lucky privilege of meeting Dr. Stacey Kupperman at a dinner party. As the night went on she made mention that she had helped lots of people lose weight and maintain it. I made an appointment right away. It was the first day of the rest of my life.
Dr. Kupperman is a Naturopath and has two office locations in Los Angeles. She was so amazing to me throughout the entire process. She walked me through the diet step by step and made something that stands as an enormous challenge become easy and doable.
I am blessed in that I was given a beautiful figure. I have great curves and all the perfect definitions a woman could want. When I began the diet I weighed 171 pounds. My curves were rolls and my body was just puffy and round. When I finished my 21 days I weighed 154 pounds and my body was slamming. It has been 5 months since then and I still look amazing.
I feel so comfortable in my body! I wasnâ??t sure I even knew what that meant before I met Dr. Kupperman. I know I look good and its amazing to get great feed back from people. My curves are defined and my belly is flat. I owe a life time of thanks to Dr. Kupperman. If only she knew what a difference she has made in my life.

Here is Dr. Kuppermans info... if you live in the Los Angeles area or somewhat near.. look her up.
DrKupperman@gmail.com

posted Oct 15th, 2011 6:24 pm


Natalie

I have done it three timnes and all three times had a great success. I'm planning to do my 4th round again.

posted Oct 14th, 2011 11:13 am


Stefanie

I have been on the diet 5 days and lost 6 lbs. Im not really hungry during the day and I actually feel like I have more energy during the day. I found alot of good information on youtube actually. There is a women who helped me her youtube user name is Blondeambition. Her story is amazing and she tells you where to get your HCG from and how to mix what you need. Look her up. If you have the hemopathic drops test on a pregnancy test to see if they are real!! Good luck!

posted Oct 1st, 2011 8:23 am


sky

Can rapid weight loss cause loose skin? I'm 23 years old and was curious about this. I would like to loose 20 lbs. I'm 5'1 and 147lb I have been eating 1200 a day but the weight loss has been slow... My main question is will you gain the weight back after being done?!?! Can anyone point me in the right direction of more information. And have anyone had any problems with loose skin. I heard that's how people usually get loose skin by rapid weight loss.

posted Sep 30th, 2011 12:09 am


michele

I have been on this "diet" since June and have lost 52 pounds. I just recently had my yearly checkup and my doctor says I am the healthiest he has seen me in 20 years. What they say in this article is a load of crap! If you do the drops and CONSULT YOUR PHYSICIAN FIRST you will have great success. It is not really a diet, but a change in lifestyle

posted Sep 29th, 2011 1:02 pm


Dennis

Anytime you limit yourself to 500 calories a day you will lose weight as long as you burn off more than you intake. For 500 Calories that is a breeze. People look for an easy way to lose weight without putting in any effort. This is still on trial, nobody knows the long term side effects this may have, but just like most Americans you don't mind putting more poison into your bodies.

posted Sep 29th, 2011 12:58 pm


nanalatina27

i just want to know, im on sytroid med cant i take the HCG drops? does any body know? About HCG drops and diet

posted Sep 23rd, 2011 9:26 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account