Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 25, 483 total comments)

Melissa

?

Where are you buying your hcg from? Specific websites please. Along with success stories can you please site from what website you guys have purchased from? I'm trying to buy some but don't want to be ripped off and end up with a fake version.

posted Jan 11th, 2012 12:49 am


kathleen

My partner, his wife and I each loss in excess of 20 pounds on 26 days of hcg diet. They used a different brand of drops than I. This diet taught all of us SO MUCH about food and weight. I had no cravings, broke a 30 year diet soda addiction and,after a three week break, will do one last stint. This DIET is the REAL Thing, and anyone who is serious about losing weight should do it and forget all of the other diets out htere.

posted Jan 7th, 2012 11:08 pm


cheryl

never stop taking your thyroid pills"EVER!!!!!!! you will get doble the side effects of taking the hcg. just vecause somethings working fr you doesntt mean its gonna work forever.not taking your thyroid meds can cause you to sip into a coma and maybe even die.do you wnat that after youve lost all that weight.yeah didnt think so

posted Dec 29th, 2011 2:49 pm


Skyla

+

Love this diet! I have seen so many wrong comments and reviews about this diet on the web. In my first round (40days) I lost 20 pounds and my Hubby lost 30. We are now 20 days into round 2 and I have lost 15 and him 20. We are not huge people. Him at 210 and over 6 foot and me at 145 and 5'4. This diet if done correctly works quickly and is fail proof. We take the drops, and have never been hungry. I would recommend this diet to anyone that has will power that last 40 days and has 20+ pounds to loss.
Also after the first round we went back to eating how we had before and did not gain any weight back. I stayed at 152 and he stayed at 225. 7 months later!
I have before and after pictures, recipes and HCG info on my blog.

posted Dec 20th, 2011 9:10 pm


Monica

+

i love this diet could never lose a pound after having my son, i'm on day 4 and i have lost 7 pounds!! its amazing i seriously love it! Just have to stick to it and not tempt yourself also you dont get hungry!

posted Dec 9th, 2011 2:38 am


maks

Who ever bashes this diet is.f****** stupid i dont give a s*** if ur the president of medical diet universe and dont like the diet its a fact u loose unwanted fat i lost 30 pounds on it in 30 days injections but drops work too if u get right ones my old man lost 20 pounds on hcg 1234 drops his friend lost 15 in like 2 weeks hmm sounds like a coincidence not haha to all the people that want to try it do it ull love it but u need willpower and 2 those that say eat less and exercise is a good thing but ur not guranteed weight loss so when someone puts seeds of doubt follow ur gut its not for everyone this diet and by the way dietitians will loose thierjobs if everyone is healthy and thin same with fitness trainers and doctors. Peace

posted Dec 8th, 2011 4:48 pm



Amy Gurley

+

Dennis, Poison? Seriously? It's a hormone naturally made by our bodies. (Well, the female ones anyway). But the point is, and I can tell you know nothing about which you're speaking, is that if you restrict yourself to 500 calories w/o the diet, not only will you be starving and your body will find it hard to function, but your body will automatically start eating your MUSCLE to compensate for the loss. Take the real hCG and use ketone sticks to prove that you're burning abnormal fat. You're not hungry, which means your body isn't craving nutrients. Because it's getting it from SOMEWHERE and it's your fat! Geezus, don't diss something you know nothing about.

posted Dec 8th, 2011 3:15 pm



Amy Gurley

+

Becky, The real hCG can not be sold in this country without a prescription. ANYTHING that says "hcg" that u can buy here is homeopathic, meaning they've taken it all out. The real stuff is freeze-dried in small vials (never pre-mixed as it goes bad quickly) and you have to order it out of country.

posted Dec 8th, 2011 3:08 pm


Amy

+

Becky, The real hCG can not be sold in this country without a prescription. ANYTHING that says "hcg" that u can buy here is homeopathic, meaning they've taken it all out. The real stuff is freeze-dried in small vials (never pre-mixed as it goes bad quickly) and you have to order it out of country.

posted Dec 8th, 2011 3:07 pm


Becky

Hi Nikki, I would like to know...how would you know the REAL HCG drops before ordering on line....Could you post a picture please.

Thanks
Becky

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 7:35 pm


lena

I have an underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) I have been struggling with my weight for the past 12yrs and decided to give this drops. I'm on day 4 and have lost 3 pounds so far do i have to stop taking my thyroid pills iron pills
vitamin D?any info
thanks

posted Dec 1st, 2011 2:34 pm


Nikki

+

I lost 10 lbs in 4 days on it. I am a personal trainer so I was already in shape. I felt I didn't need to lose anymore weight so I stopped the drops but my husband still takes them. He has lost 30 lbs so far since Halloween when he started. Its an amazing product. Just don't be fooled by knock off versions! When purchasing use pregnancy test to validate drops. If test shows up positive when drops hit them, HCG hormone is present. If test comes out negative, don't waste your $.

posted Nov 21st, 2011 9:33 pm


Diane

?

How are blood sugars affected by the hCG diet? How are blood sugars affecting during Phs I of the HCG diet when I am not allowed to eat breakfast? I am a type II diabetic on metformin/glyburide and about to start Phase I of the HCG diet this week. I have a concern about not eating anything for breakfast other than coffee. How does this affect a diabetic not to eat breakfast and to be taking their meds on an empty stomach for the duration of Phase I?

posted Nov 15th, 2011 3:18 am


Jms

+

I have an underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) and I'm anemic. I have been struggling with my weight for the past 8yrs and decided to give this a shot. I'm on day 25 and have lost 22pounds so far (that's despite one cheat day, friend's Bday party). I haven't been taking my iron pills or my thyroid pills and yet I feel great! This diet has lifted my spirits and I've never been more motivated! I hope for the best. If the weight comes back after my 30 days, well, atleast I tried! ;)

posted Nov 5th, 2011 12:41 am


Lee

Cathy, Would you share what vitamins and detox supplements you took while doing the diet?

Thank you

posted Nov 2nd, 2011 6:56 pm


Cathy

+

I am a diabetic. After my A1C came in at 8.4 My physician put me on a low carb, high protein diet and daily injections of HCG. She also prescribed 6 vitamins, a probiotic and a detox tablet. The HCG eliminates hunger. the 4th day of reduced carbs was the only day I was really hungry. My diet contains 900 - 1200 calories a day. I was told to expect 2 to 3 lbs weight loss a week. I am averaging 2.6 lbs a week. I was told it was very important to take the vitamins supplied by my physician. I have taken probiotics and detox tablets for several years. I was told I should continue and did not have to purchase those from my physician I was allowed to use the over the counter brand I usually take. Many of the side effects described on this site is what my physician said would be the consequence if I did not take the vitamins, probiotics and detox tablets.
To date I have lost 18.5 lbs. I feel great. My fasting glucose readings have been consistent 90 for two weeks. My metformin meds have been decreased from 3 to 1 daily. We expect to stop the metformin within the next few
weeks.

My doctor monitors my fat and muscle mass. I am loosing Fat. 16.5 lbs of it and only 2 lbs of muscle. My measurements were taken prior to starting the diet. After 12 lbs at 4 weeks I had lost 5 1/2 inches from my waist, 1inch from my neck, 1 1/2 inches from each arm and 2 3/4 inches from each thigh. I lost more inches than pounds. I understand the High protein low carb diet combined with the HCG targets the fat resulting in firmer skin and quicker weight loss. I pay $100 for 6 weeks of HCG because my Ins does not cover. my doctor requires I come into her office every 7 to 9 days and I pay $10 co-pay and $18.50 for one month supply of vitamins. My physician is an internal medicine specialists.

posted Oct 31st, 2011 12:30 am


Amanda

I just got done with my six weeks of the hcg diet and have lost twenty pounds! i'm 5'2 and was 125 pounds, i am now down to 105! i am so happy with this diet! it might be hard at first but once you start seeing a pound dropped everyday it's amazing! i recommend it to anyone! just really stick to it! =) don't listen to bad reviews or that its not healthy, I've never felt happier and never want to touch fast food like mcdonald's again!

posted Oct 27th, 2011 6:32 pm


Amanda

+

I just got done with my six weeks of the hcg diet and have lost twenty pounds! i'm 5'2 and was 125 pounds, i am now down to 105! i am so happy with this diet! it might be hard at first but once you start seeing a pound dropped everyday it's amazing! i recommend it to anyone! just really stick to it! =)

posted Oct 27th, 2011 6:31 pm


kjkc

How do you know if the vendor you are buying from is reputable? Any suggested sites?

posted Oct 27th, 2011 2:25 pm



Bri

+

My name is Sabrina Lee and I lost v95 pounds on the HCG Protocol. My daughter lost 119 pounds so far. We have both done 4 rounds. I am registered nurse and I served 14 years in the Army as a field nurse and have been nursing for over 24 years. I currently reside in Stockbridge, Georgia. Atlanta HCG Weight Loss Group was created by me, after accidentally being introduced to HCG through a local physician. After 2-3 months of research and over 80 pounds I wanted to loose, I realized that it would cost me a lot of money to do several rounds of Pharmaceutical grade HCG.

I completed my first round without the level of personal support that a friend or family member can provide and I was afraid to tell my family what I was doing.

After doing it alone and realizing how big of an impact the weight loss had on my life, I decided to find a way to offer lower cost and better support to my family and friends. I decided to offer the type of support and love that I wanted, but didn't have. My daughter (LaDawna) and I ended up starting a weight loss business after our client/family numbered over 600 with a few celebrities in tow. We have a physician and consultant pharmacist on staff and education and support is our number one priority.
You can view our before and after photos on our web page at:

posted Oct 22nd, 2011 2:29 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?