Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 197 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 24, 476 total comments)

Carrie

For all those doubters and haters out there, I have news for you, this diet works, period! I have been on WW, Jenny Craig, LA weight Loss, the cookie diets, optifast, etc. Some of these diets were less calories than the HCG and it did not work. I am on day 11 and I have lost 10 pounds, it's truly amazing and I am not hungry.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 11:14 am


Dee

Hello Everyone! My name is Dee and I'm 28 years old, I have 2 young children (2 and 4). After having my last son I gained 50 pounds, bringing my total weight to 280. I desperately tried everything to get rid of it. Dieting, Exercise, Medical Weight Loss, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig. I always found myself being hungry or exhausted and ended up cheating.

Nothing has proven to be more effective than this product. I been on the HCG Diet Drops for 35 Days and I have to say this product is truly amazing! I have lost a total of 28 pounds, now I am down to 252 and counting!!! (I‚??m doing the 45 Day Program) I couldn‚??t believe it when I stepped on the scale! I feel so much better (health wise), I have more energy, I‚??m eating healthier, and I don‚??t have many cravings. Here is a good site to purchase the HCG Diet Drops, and they are cheap:


posted Jun 22nd, 2011 5:04 pm


Kris

been doing the injectons for 2 days, and tomorrow is my 1st day on the 500 calories...i've shopped and pre-cooked (even weighed the meat). The last 2 days have been my 'loading' days and i'm concerned because I feel absolutely disgusting and bloated and probably 3-5 pounds heavier just from the past 2 days! and I haven't even been gorging myself, just allowing myself to 'eat whatever' and a lil' extra at mealtime. guess i'm just looking for some reassurance that it will work (and quickly) i hope! it's just not natural to start a 'new diet' by stuffing yourself for 2 days! i'm afraid at my 1 week weigh in i will be where I started, just having lost the few pounds i gained yesterday and today! did anyone else start this off feeling bloated, full, and icky and still have success at the end of the 1st 500 cal week?

posted Jun 21st, 2011 3:55 am


2smart4fads

Loading days? Look people. This diet is just like every other diet out there, Let me sell you some beach front property in Kansas too while we are at it. I have been able to successfully lose over 100 lbs three times in my life. I suffer from depression and binge eating disorders so unfortunately, I need to keep doing this. I can tell you for a fact that YES, if you binge eat for two to three days then drastically cut your calories, the pounds will melt off. Hit a plateau? Do it again. Oh, and I know-"oh she doesnt know what she is talking about" or "She hasnt tried a diet like this one" or "but i'm not having any problems, maybe she is retarded, lazy, not disciplined like me, etc" Seriously people??? Oh that's right! God created this diet just for you and knew it would work because you have tried everything out there and it just wont work. haha, I love it. If people REALLY tried everything, the number of those diagnosed as obese in this country would not be so prevalent. The number would be quite minimal. And now, lets talk about that property I have for sale.............

posted Jun 17th, 2011 7:47 pm


Ms. Rogers

Hi All, I'm on day 14 of the diet, (12th day on the VLCD as the first 2 days were my loading days), and I feel great. I've been faithful down to the health care products. No Challenge if you prepare your meals in advance and don't temp yourself by being around foods that you shouldn't eat. I've cheated once....Stopped by McDonalds with my Fiancé and ate a chicken sandwich on 10Jun. No gain, but no loss that day. Lost 11lbs so far. No headaches, irritability. Just minor cravings on day 8 & 9. (Sublingual)

posted Jun 13th, 2011 5:53 pm


Van

I am on the tail end of phase 3. I weighed 208 when I first started and now I weigh in at 188. I lost 20 lbs in 3 weeks. also I had sleep apnea nd that seems to have subsided. The first week was a little rough but I found some recipes on the website where I purchased the drops and it made a world of difference. If you have a George Forman grill it will make things a lot easier. I am happy with the results!

posted Jun 12th, 2011 10:54 pm


Yaz

I was skeptical,and did not want to do an injection daily. Also was not interested in over the counter drops or pills. Only way was thru a dr and prescription. Dr here in Atlanta manage the program. I was at 274, always thought I was in ok shape, but finally realized I was on my way to 300 and early death. Forget willpower, exercise etc, I have it and exercise, but also believe in eating disorders, and have one. I have learned how to eat, love fish and chicken, and asparagus again. Eight weeks after starting, now weight 218.8! The six weeks on hcg droped me 40 lbs. Original goal was 200. I will make it and finish it on my
own. This works, but for those saying it does not, quit lying to yourself. You must stick with the program,24/7, for 6 weeks. New George foreman grill with removable grills for easy cleaning, etc. I would not do it without a dr and the nasal spray injections. It was perfect, it was easy. The concern isn't if it is safe, I was going to die anyway doling up on 300! The scary part is do I have what it takes to continue to live a life that includes rock solid eating habits. I will eat the things that got me to 274, but need to focus on less of those things. If you need to lose 20, quit looking for an easy way and start exercising and eating better. If you need to lose 50 plus, see a dr that does this and commit. It works if you commit - 42 days. Hitting the weights again at 200, wore a suit at my sons graduation Iast wore in 2001, and have no holes left in my belt! Good luck and if you have questions, ask away. I am not a paid spokesman for hcg, just a user of it!

posted Jun 9th, 2011 10:37 pm


Jam

146 LBS. 21 MORE TO GO.

posted Jun 9th, 2011 10:33 pm


Jam

like

posted Jun 7th, 2011 2:29 pm


Angelica Brewart

Ive been on this diet now for 3 weeks and have lost 17 pounds!!! im sooo happyy i have already lost one pant size!! this is such a great diet because you loose the weight quickly and it gets you motivated to want to loose more!! =)

posted Jun 6th, 2011 2:14 pm


Olga

People, I've tried only diet WITHOUT DROPS and should say IT WORKS, you should just eat less and avoid fat, sugar etc. it wasn't even 500 kalories but 1000.

posted Jun 6th, 2011 3:05 am


Jam

I use hcg homeopathic drops from
www.greenwebinc.net

posted Jun 5th, 2011 11:25 pm


Jam

I started again Tuesday. Tried back in early May and was not dedicated nor disciplined enough. Starting weight Tuesday 155, now down to 147. Hoping to reach 125-130. If you can get past first three days, it does get easier. Avoid starting during any major holidays!!

posted Jun 5th, 2011 10:41 am


jam

I started this diet, and quit. Started back last Tuesday at 155, and now today Sunday, I weighed in at 147. It gets easier. I am eating slightly more than 500 cal. Maybe 6-8 and I jog or speed wak.

posted Jun 5th, 2011 10:39 am


Jenn

@Jaclyn Floyd--your comment was
" This is like being a prsioner at Auschwitz.". comparing your weight loss experience to this is EXTREMELY STUPID and a lack of respect. At least your not led into a gas chamber afterwards.

Please use some common sense when expressing yourself.

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 9:37 pm


Mike

What works better? The drops or the injections ... I don't want to inject myself if the drops will work ... I understand there are differences in the homeopathic drops. Can anyone suggest a good sourse for the drops instead of the injections?

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 5:37 pm


Naomi

Can anyone with great results tell me the website they ordered their HCG from?

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 11:40 am


Rene

My doctor said I do not need a RX for this? If true why are companies selling at $90.00?? Phar. said the RX is very cheap but comes in tablets only. True??

posted May 31st, 2011 2:13 pm


Patty

My sister and I both are on the drops, day 16. We both have had no problems, side effects or hunger. Diet is easy to stay on as we like all the required food to choose from. We have both lost weight and plan to continue. It may not be for every person, but it is working for us and we are pleased so far.

posted May 29th, 2011 3:15 pm


Qberry

I am a Registered/Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist with a Masters degree in Nutrition. So, as a professional, who actually is an expert on this topic, I can assure you that this diet is not a good idea. Scientific evidence HAS NOT proven hcg to be effective for weight loss, and yes, I do have the literature to back this up.

Furthermore, a 500 calorie/day diet is a starvation diet. This will do very unhealthy things to your metabolism, and any rapid weight loss that you see is likely only water weight. One pound per day is UNHEALTHY weight loss. The recommended amount is 1-2 pounds per week at most! This starvation diet will probably cause a yo-yo effect with your weight, after which you ultimately gain it all back plus some. Your body needs calories. Your brain must have carbs to function. Eating regular, balanced meals with proper serving sizes will have a much more effective, not to mention safer, effect on your body in the long run.

Sad to see that America is so hooked on the quick-fix prescription. Kudos to whoever wrote this article! :)

posted May 26th, 2011 3:33 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account