Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 25, 483 total comments)

Amy

Thanks to everyone who shared their stories about this diet. About 3 months ago I read this article and was persuaded to try it, not by the article of course, but by the success stories here from all the real people that tried. It is truly life-changing and I've lost more than 30 lbs now since I started.

posted Jul 11th, 2011 11:58 am


Amy

+

I am on my 2nd round of hcg & I love it! I'm using the drops and it is a little miracle in a bottle. I lost 22 lbs on my first round, then between rounds when I had gotten back to eating whatever I wanted, I lost 2 more lbs! I've been a little hungry, but nothing unmanageable. I feel great & I see results in the mirror every day. I fully believe that I will be at my goal and looking and feeling better than I have in years by January. This diet does everything it claims if you follow the directions.

posted Jul 11th, 2011 11:49 am


Kate

I tried the HCG diet by injection and lost about 16-17lbs in 23 days. That's b/c I only consumed 500 calories a day. I was hungry as hell and felt weak. My doctor told me that I was experiencing cravings and not hunger and I had to laugh - I know the difference. Jedi mind tricks don't work on me. The placebo effect can be powerful - we've all heard the stories of cancer patients going into remission after some kind of herbal or spiritual treatment, so I don't want to knock it completely - do whatever works. In fact, one might say that the diet worked for me b/c I was damned if I was going to throw $600 away, so I stuck w/ it. But my advice would be to buy a gorgeous $600 dress 2 sizes too small and hang it by your fridge for 23 days. Just to give you an idea of what this diet is: concentration camp victims were given between 300-600 calories per day and a HEALTHY person (don't try this at home b/c you don't know if you truly are healthy) can survive 4-6 weeks w/out food (warning: may resort to cannibalism by week 3.) So you can do 500 calories a day but w/out the placebo effect it is BRUTAL. If you succeed, or even if you don't, follow it up w/ a healthier diet like Dukan or Weight Watchers & by comparison it will seem easy.

posted Jul 7th, 2011 1:12 pm


Clueless

?

What is the dosage for hCG drops? I have a question. I read a lot of reviews that u guys love Hcg diet. Do all bottles (drops) say 10 drops 3 times per day? I want to make sure I got the right ones. And it says strict on foods. What are the types of food can I eat?..... HelP

posted Jun 30th, 2011 6:37 pm


Nichole

Yaz...what kind of Dr did you seek to get a RX for HCG?

posted Jun 29th, 2011 1:42 pm


Michaela

+

I did my first round in April 2011, and lost 20 pounds in 23 days. I used hcg injections from Trim Nutrition , made in USA. They worked good for me and my sister. I managed to keep my weight off in the meanwhile. I was supposed to start again, but it's so hard to do it with so many yummy fruits all around you.

posted Jun 27th, 2011 6:40 pm


April

+

After gaining 60 lbs from pregnancy, I still had 40 to lose and felt horrible. I have been thin my whole life and wanted to get back to normal. I started the homeopathic HCG program by Body Reset after it was on the Dr. Oz show and have lost 10lbs in 6 days so far. My goal is 30lbs on the 45day program. I have been following it exactly and have not slipped up. Surprisingly I have more energy and feel great! Obviously in order to maintain results you have to use this as a jump start to a lifestyle change. You can't go back to eating everything you want! Its hard, don't get me wrong, but after the first 2-3 days it gets easier and seeing the scale each morning and feeling energized is worth it!

posted Jun 27th, 2011 1:42 pm


Carrie

For all those doubters and haters out there, I have news for you, this diet works, period! I have been on WW, Jenny Craig, LA weight Loss, the cookie diets, optifast, etc. Some of these diets were less calories than the HCG and it did not work. I am on day 11 and I have lost 10 pounds, it's truly amazing and I am not hungry.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 11:14 am


Dee

+

Hello Everyone! My name is Dee and I'm 28 years old, I have 2 young children (2 and 4). After having my last son I gained 50 pounds, bringing my total weight to 280. I desperately tried everything to get rid of it. Dieting, Exercise, Medical Weight Loss, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig. I always found myself being hungry or exhausted and ended up cheating.

Nothing has proven to be more effective than this product. I been on the HCG Diet Drops for 35 Days and I have to say this product is truly amazing! I have lost a total of 28 pounds, now I am down to 252 and counting!!! (Iā??m doing the 45 Day Program) I couldnā??t believe it when I stepped on the scale! I feel so much better (health wise), I have more energy, Iā??m eating healthier, and I donā??t have many cravings. Here is a good site to purchase the HCG Diet Drops, and they are cheap:


posted Jun 22nd, 2011 5:04 pm


Kris

been doing the injectons for 2 days, and tomorrow is my 1st day on the 500 calories...i've shopped and pre-cooked (even weighed the meat). The last 2 days have been my 'loading' days and i'm concerned because I feel absolutely disgusting and bloated and probably 3-5 pounds heavier just from the past 2 days! and I haven't even been gorging myself, just allowing myself to 'eat whatever' and a lil' extra at mealtime. guess i'm just looking for some reassurance that it will work (and quickly) i hope! it's just not natural to start a 'new diet' by stuffing yourself for 2 days! i'm afraid at my 1 week weigh in i will be where I started, just having lost the few pounds i gained yesterday and today! did anyone else start this off feeling bloated, full, and icky and still have success at the end of the 1st 500 cal week?

posted Jun 21st, 2011 3:55 am


2smart4fads

-

Loading days? Look people. This diet is just like every other diet out there, Let me sell you some beach front property in Kansas too while we are at it. I have been able to successfully lose over 100 lbs three times in my life. I suffer from depression and binge eating disorders so unfortunately, I need to keep doing this. I can tell you for a fact that YES, if you binge eat for two to three days then drastically cut your calories, the pounds will melt off. Hit a plateau? Do it again. Oh, and I know-"oh she doesnt know what she is talking about" or "She hasnt tried a diet like this one" or "but i'm not having any problems, maybe she is retarded, lazy, not disciplined like me, etc" Seriously people??? Oh that's right! God created this diet just for you and knew it would work because you have tried everything out there and it just wont work. haha, I love it. If people REALLY tried everything, the number of those diagnosed as obese in this country would not be so prevalent. The number would be quite minimal. And now, lets talk about that property I have for sale.............

posted Jun 17th, 2011 7:47 pm


Ms. Rogers

Hi All, I'm on day 14 of the diet, (12th day on the VLCD as the first 2 days were my loading days), and I feel great. I've been faithful down to the health care products. No Challenge if you prepare your meals in advance and don't temp yourself by being around foods that you shouldn't eat. I've cheated once....Stopped by McDonalds with my FiancƩ and ate a chicken sandwich on 10Jun. No gain, but no loss that day. Lost 11lbs so far. No headaches, irritability. Just minor cravings on day 8 & 9. (Sublingual)

posted Jun 13th, 2011 5:53 pm


Van

+

I am on the tail end of phase 3. I weighed 208 when I first started and now I weigh in at 188. I lost 20 lbs in 3 weeks. also I had sleep apnea nd that seems to have subsided. The first week was a little rough but I found some recipes on the website where I purchased the drops and it made a world of difference. If you have a George Forman grill it will make things a lot easier. I am happy with the results!

posted Jun 12th, 2011 10:54 pm


Yaz

+

I was skeptical,and did not want to do an injection daily. Also was not interested in over the counter drops or pills. Only way was thru a dr and prescription. Dr here in Atlanta manage the program. I was at 274, always thought I was in ok shape, but finally realized I was on my way to 300 and early death. Forget willpower, exercise etc, I have it and exercise, but also believe in eating disorders, and have one. I have learned how to eat, love fish and chicken, and asparagus again. Eight weeks after starting, now weight 218.8! The six weeks on hcg droped me 40 lbs. Original goal was 200. I will make it and finish it on my
own. This works, but for those saying it does not, quit lying to yourself. You must stick with the program,24/7, for 6 weeks. New George foreman grill with removable grills for easy cleaning, etc. I would not do it without a dr and the nasal spray injections. It was perfect, it was easy. The concern isn't if it is safe, I was going to die anyway doling up on 300! The scary part is do I have what it takes to continue to live a life that includes rock solid eating habits. I will eat the things that got me to 274, but need to focus on less of those things. If you need to lose 20, quit looking for an easy way and start exercising and eating better. If you need to lose 50 plus, see a dr that does this and commit. It works if you commit - 42 days. Hitting the weights again at 200, wore a suit at my sons graduation Iast wore in 2001, and have no holes left in my belt! Good luck and if you have questions, ask away. I am not a paid spokesman for hcg, just a user of it!

posted Jun 9th, 2011 10:37 pm


Jam

+

146 LBS. 21 MORE TO GO.

posted Jun 9th, 2011 10:33 pm


Jam

like

posted Jun 7th, 2011 2:29 pm


Angelica Brewart

Ive been on this diet now for 3 weeks and have lost 17 pounds!!! im sooo happyy i have already lost one pant size!! this is such a great diet because you loose the weight quickly and it gets you motivated to want to loose more!! =)

posted Jun 6th, 2011 2:14 pm


Olga

-

People, I've tried only diet WITHOUT DROPS and should say IT WORKS, you should just eat less and avoid fat, sugar etc. it wasn't even 500 kalories but 1000.

posted Jun 6th, 2011 3:05 am


Jam

I use hcg homeopathic drops from
www.greenwebinc.net

posted Jun 5th, 2011 11:25 pm


Jam

I started again Tuesday. Tried back in early May and was not dedicated nor disciplined enough. Starting weight Tuesday 155, now down to 147. Hoping to reach 125-130. If you can get past first three days, it does get easier. Avoid starting during any major holidays!!

posted Jun 5th, 2011 10:41 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?