Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 25, 483 total comments)


I started this diet, and quit. Started back last Tuesday at 155, and now today Sunday, I weighed in at 147. It gets easier. I am eating slightly more than 500 cal. Maybe 6-8 and I jog or speed wak.

posted Jun 5th, 2011 10:39 am


@Jaclyn Floyd--your comment was
" This is like being a prsioner at Auschwitz.". comparing your weight loss experience to this is EXTREMELY STUPID and a lack of respect. At least your not led into a gas chamber afterwards.

Please use some common sense when expressing yourself.

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 9:37 pm


What works better? The drops or the injections ... I don't want to inject myself if the drops will work ... I understand there are differences in the homeopathic drops. Can anyone suggest a good sourse for the drops instead of the injections?

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 5:37 pm


Can anyone with great results tell me the website they ordered their HCG from?

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 11:40 am


My doctor said I do not need a RX for this? If true why are companies selling at $90.00?? Phar. said the RX is very cheap but comes in tablets only. True??

posted May 31st, 2011 2:13 pm



My sister and I both are on the drops, day 16. We both have had no problems, side effects or hunger. Diet is easy to stay on as we like all the required food to choose from. We have both lost weight and plan to continue. It may not be for every person, but it is working for us and we are pleased so far.

posted May 29th, 2011 3:15 pm



I am a Registered/Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist with a Masters degree in Nutrition. So, as a professional, who actually is an expert on this topic, I can assure you that this diet is not a good idea. Scientific evidence HAS NOT proven hcg to be effective for weight loss, and yes, I do have the literature to back this up.

Furthermore, a 500 calorie/day diet is a starvation diet. This will do very unhealthy things to your metabolism, and any rapid weight loss that you see is likely only water weight. One pound per day is UNHEALTHY weight loss. The recommended amount is 1-2 pounds per week at most! This starvation diet will probably cause a yo-yo effect with your weight, after which you ultimately gain it all back plus some. Your body needs calories. Your brain must have carbs to function. Eating regular, balanced meals with proper serving sizes will have a much more effective, not to mention safer, effect on your body in the long run.

Sad to see that America is so hooked on the quick-fix prescription. Kudos to whoever wrote this article! :)

posted May 26th, 2011 3:33 pm


I've read plenty reviews about buying from the right source. All Day Chemists is said to be a good one. However just to be sure which one are the scam sources? If I'm paying over a hundred dollars for this I do not want to be fooled!

posted May 23rd, 2011 1:30 am


Hcg is such a great diet!! Ive been on it for a week and ive already lost 9 pounds and feel great and i see results already! i recommend this diet to anyone!! cant wait to loose more weight! =)

posted May 23rd, 2011 1:09 am


HCG is the best diet I have ever done. Its not for everyone, but people with willpower to get through the first week and make the commitment to stick with it, it can transform you. Once you lose the weight, you feel great and you actually feel motivated to exercise and keep the weight off for good. My husband and I did HCG last May.after the first week, our craving went away and it didnt bother us to be around food anymore. He lost 50 pounds and I lost 30 pounds and we have kept it off ever since. BUT we were only successful because we educated ourselves for a long time before we started, and read everything we could, and watch videos of successful dieters. There is a risk in any diet or excercise program. EDUCATE yourself on HCG diet and decide if its right for you.

posted May 19th, 2011 10:31 pm



I have used the HCG diet to moderate my weight for almost two years. I have Hashimoto's Thyroid Disease and was at the end of my rope deperate to lose weight. It didn't matter how well I ate and how much I exercised, I could not lose weight. I started this program through a holistic internationally reknown MD. I lost 55 lbs over six months with two separate, 6 week periods on HCG. If I stay away from sugar, alcohol, and grains (which is the way I ate BEFORE HCG), I am able to easily manage my weight. However, when my body starts gaining because I get lazy with my eating, I gain weight very quickly. I just do a three week period with HCG and am able to kick the weight back off (have done this twice since the initial weight loss). I HIGHLY recommend this diet under the care of a good healthcare professional. It is the only thing that works for me BUT you have to be willing to do the work and change your habits long term.

posted May 13th, 2011 9:09 pm


Started the diet 7 days ago that includes my 2 gorge days lost 4lbs so far. I thought i would have lost more by now or at least the 6 lbs i gained on the gorge days. I was wondering will i be losing more quickly now. Had a bad day yesterday was so hungry but stuck to the diet. Today i am not hungry which is good.

posted May 10th, 2011 2:27 pm



For Tanya, is there a legitimate website to order "real" HCG from??? Tanya, I would love to know a legitimate website to order "real" HCG. I have found a few, but it is hard to decipher a reliable site from a scam! I done the phentermine diet and it worked. Since then, I have had a baby and can't get the weight off, even going back to the phentermine! Thanks!

posted May 10th, 2011 9:57 am


The "Homeopathic Drops" are a total waste of money and they don't work.

You have to us Rx strength HCG mixed to the correct IU dosage for your body and metabolism (I can suggest a GREAT website to learn more and purchase REAL HCG).

I strongly suggest going through a weight loss clinic if you chose to try this diet, so they can monitor your health and reactions to the diet.

But if you're like me and can't afford the $4,000 - my suggestion is EDUCATE YOURSELF - and then make the decision if this is right for you.

I have been doing HCG injections for over six months now (with breaks in between rounds) and have lost over 40 pounds and have kept it off.

It works, but the diet is rough the first week or so. You will be hungry and you will have cravings. But you have to understand, you body is detoxing from all the crap you've been shoveling in it for years. It's gonna be different, feel different and that's not a bad thing. If you stick with it, the weight FALLS off and after the first week or so, it does get easier.

NEVER do this diet without suppliments! Your body still needs other vitamins and nutrients that you're not going to get on this diet. I take a good Women's Mutivitamin and extra potassium.

When you're ready to make the commitment that you are going to find that person underneath all that fat and shame.... check out the HCG diet and decide.

posted May 9th, 2011 1:12 pm



I have been using HCG for 6 months now and have lost a total of 46 pounds with NO side effects.

You must be disciplined enough to stick with the very strict diet - the first week is the toughest. But if you can stay the course, you WILL lose weight and lose it quickly. I have NOT regained any of my lost weight in 6 months and feel more alive and energetic than I have in 10 years.

It works if you can stick with it.

posted May 9th, 2011 12:48 pm


I gained 10 lbs instead of losing...bottle to the garbage.

posted May 4th, 2011 1:51 pm


I am having intense food cravings. I weighed myself. 148 lbs. today.

posted May 3rd, 2011 10:39 pm


These drops are fake. You're basically starving the pounds off. Eat 500 calories a day and you'll lose it without theses drops. If they worked you wouldn't need to just limit your cal intake to that ridiculously low amount. AMYONE that eats only 500 calories a day will shed pounds off drops or no drops.

posted May 3rd, 2011 10:28 pm


Day two. Down two pounds. I am going to post a few days a week. Hopefullly this works for me. 5'6", 150 lbs. Would like to be 130.

posted May 3rd, 2011 10:00 am


I am so happy with the results of the HCG diet. I tried everything! From eating healthy and going to the gym, and the Quick Trim diet. Eating healthy just helped me maintain my weight and Quick Trim had me using the bathroom all day long. I couldnt find a diet program that worked for me. Until my friend, introduced me too the HCG diet! At first I was scared to only take in 500 calories a day but it got easier as the days passed. The only time i got hungry pains was when i worked because I worked in a cafe around food all day! Other than that, I was satisfied with only 500 calories. Overall, I am 18 years old and wanted to lose 20 lbs. I started this program at 137lbs and with five days to go i weighed my self in today at 125.2 :) I never been so happy with my body. I feel great and look great!! I highly suggest you try this diet if you have the will power

posted May 2nd, 2011 12:34 pm


Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


Already a member?

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?


See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.


An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.


Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.


The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?