Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 197 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 24, 476 total comments)

Amber

I've read plenty reviews about buying from the right source. All Day Chemists is said to be a good one. However just to be sure which one are the scam sources? If I'm paying over a hundred dollars for this I do not want to be fooled!

posted May 23rd, 2011 1:30 am


Angelica

Hcg is such a great diet!! Ive been on it for a week and ive already lost 9 pounds and feel great and i see results already! i recommend this diet to anyone!! cant wait to loose more weight! =)

posted May 23rd, 2011 1:09 am


NAT

HCG is the best diet I have ever done. Its not for everyone, but people with willpower to get through the first week and make the commitment to stick with it, it can transform you. Once you lose the weight, you feel great and you actually feel motivated to exercise and keep the weight off for good. My husband and I did HCG last May.after the first week, our craving went away and it didnt bother us to be around food anymore. He lost 50 pounds and I lost 30 pounds and we have kept it off ever since. BUT we were only successful because we educated ourselves for a long time before we started, and read everything we could, and watch videos of successful dieters. There is a risk in any diet or excercise program. EDUCATE yourself on HCG diet and decide if its right for you.

posted May 19th, 2011 10:31 pm


JAS

I have used the HCG diet to moderate my weight for almost two years. I have Hashimoto's Thyroid Disease and was at the end of my rope deperate to lose weight. It didn't matter how well I ate and how much I exercised, I could not lose weight. I started this program through a holistic internationally reknown MD. I lost 55 lbs over six months with two separate, 6 week periods on HCG. If I stay away from sugar, alcohol, and grains (which is the way I ate BEFORE HCG), I am able to easily manage my weight. However, when my body starts gaining because I get lazy with my eating, I gain weight very quickly. I just do a three week period with HCG and am able to kick the weight back off (have done this twice since the initial weight loss). I HIGHLY recommend this diet under the care of a good healthcare professional. It is the only thing that works for me BUT you have to be willing to do the work and change your habits long term.

posted May 13th, 2011 9:09 pm


Michelle

Started the diet 7 days ago that includes my 2 gorge days lost 4lbs so far. I thought i would have lost more by now or at least the 6 lbs i gained on the gorge days. I was wondering will i be losing more quickly now. Had a bad day yesterday was so hungry but stuck to the diet. Today i am not hungry which is good.

posted May 10th, 2011 2:27 pm


Maria

For Tanya, is there a legitimate website to order "real" HCG from??? Tanya, I would love to know a legitimate website to order "real" HCG. I have found a few, but it is hard to decipher a reliable site from a scam! I done the phentermine diet and it worked. Since then, I have had a baby and can't get the weight off, even going back to the phentermine! Thanks!

posted May 10th, 2011 9:57 am


Tonya

The "Homeopathic Drops" are a total waste of money and they don't work.

You have to us Rx strength HCG mixed to the correct IU dosage for your body and metabolism (I can suggest a GREAT website to learn more and purchase REAL HCG).

I strongly suggest going through a weight loss clinic if you chose to try this diet, so they can monitor your health and reactions to the diet.

But if you're like me and can't afford the $4,000 - my suggestion is EDUCATE YOURSELF - and then make the decision if this is right for you.

I have been doing HCG injections for over six months now (with breaks in between rounds) and have lost over 40 pounds and have kept it off.

It works, but the diet is rough the first week or so. You will be hungry and you will have cravings. But you have to understand, you body is detoxing from all the crap you've been shoveling in it for years. It's gonna be different, feel different and that's not a bad thing. If you stick with it, the weight FALLS off and after the first week or so, it does get easier.

NEVER do this diet without suppliments! Your body still needs other vitamins and nutrients that you're not going to get on this diet. I take a good Women's Mutivitamin and extra potassium.

When you're ready to make the commitment that you are going to find that person underneath all that fat and shame.... check out the HCG diet and decide.

posted May 9th, 2011 1:12 pm


Tonya

I have been using HCG for 6 months now and have lost a total of 46 pounds with NO side effects.

You must be disciplined enough to stick with the very strict diet - the first week is the toughest. But if you can stay the course, you WILL lose weight and lose it quickly. I have NOT regained any of my lost weight in 6 months and feel more alive and energetic than I have in 10 years.

It works if you can stick with it.

posted May 9th, 2011 12:48 pm


sonya

I gained 10 lbs instead of losing...bottle to the garbage.

posted May 4th, 2011 1:51 pm


Jam

I am having intense food cravings. I weighed myself. 148 lbs. today.

posted May 3rd, 2011 10:39 pm


Joe

These drops are fake. You're basically starving the pounds off. Eat 500 calories a day and you'll lose it without theses drops. If they worked you wouldn't need to just limit your cal intake to that ridiculously low amount. AMYONE that eats only 500 calories a day will shed pounds off drops or no drops.

posted May 3rd, 2011 10:28 pm


Jam

Day two. Down two pounds. I am going to post a few days a week. Hopefullly this works for me. 5'6", 150 lbs. Would like to be 130.

posted May 3rd, 2011 10:00 am


Katie592

I am so happy with the results of the HCG diet. I tried everything! From eating healthy and going to the gym, and the Quick Trim diet. Eating healthy just helped me maintain my weight and Quick Trim had me using the bathroom all day long. I couldnt find a diet program that worked for me. Until my friend, introduced me too the HCG diet! At first I was scared to only take in 500 calories a day but it got easier as the days passed. The only time i got hungry pains was when i worked because I worked in a cafe around food all day! Other than that, I was satisfied with only 500 calories. Overall, I am 18 years old and wanted to lose 20 lbs. I started this program at 137lbs and with five days to go i weighed my self in today at 125.2 :) I never been so happy with my body. I feel great and look great!! I highly suggest you try this diet if you have the will power

posted May 2nd, 2011 12:34 pm


Katie

I am so happy with the results of the HCG diet. I tried everything! From eating healthy and going to the gym, and the Quick Trim diet. Eating healthy just helped me maintain my weight and Quick Trim had me using the bathroom all day long. I couldnt find a diet program that worked for me. Until my friend, introduced me too the HCG diet! At first I was scared to only take in 500 calories a day but it got easier as the days passed. The only time i got hungry pains was when i worked because I worked in a cafe around food all day! Other than that, I was satisfied with only 500 calories. Overall, I am 18 years old and wanted to lose 20 lbs. I started this program at 137lbs and with five days to go i weighed my self in today at 125.2 :) I never been so happy with my body. I feel great and look great!! I highly suggest you try this diet if you have the will power

posted May 2nd, 2011 12:31 pm


dee44

Be careful using this diet. It is not a healthy way to eat. I had talked to my Doctor about this diet when I learned of it. She told me not to do it. She said there has been many women who have ended up with cancer after doing the HCG diet, two of her female patients had went on the HCG diet, then went back to see my Doctor and found out they both had breast cancer, both ladies had done the HCG. There are other stories like this. Be aware people! Check things out before you decide on something that may hurt you in the long run. Eating (healthy) less calories based on your wieght now and exercising for 45-60 minutes a day with help you do it a healthy way. That's what I'm aiming for! There are many sites on-line that are free and will calculate the right amount calories for you, and also exercise suggestions. Be careful and do what's best for your body.

posted May 1st, 2011 10:32 pm


Pinks

I have heard so many people say that this diet isn't a permanent solution to weight loss, but really what diet is?! You have to bust your butt with any diet to keep the lb's off. I did weight watchers, loss 25 lb's and gained it all back. I tried nutrisystem and couldn't even get through a month of the program because the food was so disgusting! My advice to everyone out there is to follow something you can stick to. It's going to take a lot of dedication and it's going to be hard, but do whatever works for you! Not everyone will respond the same but it's worth a try!

posted Apr 28th, 2011 8:35 pm


ERICA

I have been miss lead. I have read so many comment on how awesome this diet is and for the first couple of days it was ok..now 7 days later I have horrible leg cramps and I'm hungry all the time! it doesn't teach me how to eat well I think about food more than I ever have. This was just not as good as people made it out to be.

posted Apr 26th, 2011 4:25 pm


Olya

And what about striae? I have some after pregnancy and don't want to get more!

posted Apr 26th, 2011 3:22 am


Nicole

Can anyone recommend a legitimate place to get the HCG drops? I am having a hard time with the overwhelming number of sites!! Thank you very much!!

posted Apr 25th, 2011 2:14 pm


Krisna

I'm
Miserable, hungry all
The time... No energy lost 10 PDs the first week, I have two more weeks to go but I miss cheese and eggs and considering just stopping my injections and doing low carb while dh finished the cycle.
We joined a gym and I would rather workout and not fill so deprived!

posted Apr 24th, 2011 6:02 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account