Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 25, 483 total comments)

blw

I highly recommend anyone interested in learning about the hCG protocol to read 'Weight Loss Apocalypse' by Robin Phillips Woodall. She also has Vlogs on youtube. hCG isn't a diet, it is a hormone rehabilitation protocol, a do-over for your metabolism. If you don't follow the program by the letter then there will be adverse affects to your hormones, metabolism and body.

I used homeopathic pellets last year and lost 20kg (44lbs) in a very short amount of time but I cheated occasionally and didn't finish the protocol properly and put the weight back on.

Now I am using prescription hCG Nasal Spray and have decided (after reading 'Weight Loss Apocalypse') that I will only eat when I am hungry, I will not weigh myself daily (will weigh and measure in 1 month) and I will take emotion out of eating.

Do yourself a favour, before you pass judgment on the hCG protocol, check out Robin's vlogs on youtube or read her book. She was a non-believer who after years of research on the subject changed her mind and is now an advocate.

posted Jul 8th, 2012 12:46 pm


Bart

-

This stuff is just another scam. If you want to lose weight, eat less and get more activity. Save your money and spend it on something nice for yourself. Don't feed these morons cash.

posted Jun 27th, 2012 11:06 pm


Alex

?

Product review? I have just ordered my free trial. Does this actually work.. and in relation to the few below comments.. what is she saying this can make you gain weight. I really want to lose weight quick for summer? Please reply with honest views. Does this work, and can there be side effects? thank you

posted Jun 24th, 2012 9:49 pm


Julia

-

I am 23 years old, 5 ft tall and have struggled with my weight for about 5 years now. I dramatically fluctuate yearly. When Spring comes around, I am always trying to get in shape and can get down to 114 lbs before I plateau and after that I have a really hard time losing weight. Right after summer, I become extremely unmotivated and can gain weight up to 135. It's incredibly unhealthy for my weight to fluctuate this much yearly so I decided to try HCG and lose the weight and keep it off once and for all. I went ahead with the daily HCG injections and when I started, I weighed around 123. Two weeks into the diet, I have lost 7 lbs. The diet restrictions are OUTRAGEOUS! OF COURSE ANYONE will lose weight when they are only consuming 500 calories a day. The thing that sells HCG is that though you are only consuming 500 calories a day, your body does not go into starvation mode because HCG triggers the release of "abnormal fat storage" so really you are supposedly consuming a healthy amount of calories when your body is consuming your body fat. There have been great testimonials by people who have lost 20lbs in the first week etc... But things that need to be considered are people who are tremendously overweight are destined to lose weight more rapidly then people who are trying to lose a few extra lbs. I personally think this "diet" is a bunch of hocus pocus after week two and was skeptical doing it in the first place because I never resort to dieting pills, etc... I prefer the old fashion way. Eat healthy and exercise daily but I thought I would give it a shot. I still have two weeks left on this diet and I am interested to see the outcome as I feel I will be disappointed but I made a $200 investment on these shots so I am just going to finish it. You are not allowed to consume any type of oil (you are even supposed to get all new body, face, make-up and hair products all oil-free) because the oil in the supplements counts toward your 500 calorie diet a day. You cannot have any artificial sweetener except for Truvia in turn you can't chew gum or mints while on this diet. After a week of following the diet to a T and seeing no results, I went back to the weight loss clinic for them to tell me I need artificial salt, not to eat oranges, tomatoes or shrimp (approved HCG foods) because it was stalling my weight loss. I have been practically drowning myself in water because you are to consume at least 2 2 liters a day but they bumped it up to 4. I am physically exhausted and can't get out of bed in the morning because I have zero energy. I was constipated because I wasn't eating anything and of course... they told me to take laxatives. Because I am not consuming enough iron, I am bruising everywhere... take iron pills? When I see a weight gain of .5 lbs... I am supposed to skip breakfast, drink little liquid and eat 6 apples during the day? You are not supposed to start a new exercise program while on the shots. Not everyone has side effects and I am in no way belittling people who have had great results with HCG. But, when I first went to the clinic and saw all the dietary restrictions my jaw almost hit the floor. This is no normal diet. This is a diet that deprives your body of essential nutrients. I feel foolish even trying this diet. HCG doesn't do stuff, its your 500 calorie intake that does it all. It is not FDA approved and there is no scientific research that supports these studies. Save yourself the money. You can consume 500 calories and lose the weight without spending $200

posted Jun 21st, 2012 9:03 pm


Gojira Macintosh

I haven't tried the HCG Ultra product itself, as I had the opposite problem--I was desperately underweight, but because of body dysmorphism combined with eremiphobia, I not only saw myself as fat, but was actually afraid of my own identity. I went on a daily course of JRMGH Vortex from the same company. Within two weeks, I had gone from 84 lbs. to nearly 115 lbs. Encouraged by the results, I plunged ahead with total dedication. Fortunately, the effects of JRMGH Vortex accelerated as I came closer and closer to my goal.

Now, it's been two years and three months, and I am back up to my normal fighting weight (and height). My incredible success has also helped me fight my eremiphobia, so that I don't have to hide behind a pseudonym (bless the Greeks for giving us all these cool words--who knew you could learn so much from fraternities!) and can use my real name again: Gojira.

Vortex had an unexpected side benefit. It used to be, before I was afflicted by my eating and identity disorders, that when I ate a city, I had to chomp my way through jagged, disgusting debris of all kinds--everything from ripped vehicle frames to Happy Meal leftovers smeared on the wreckage of fast food restaurant dining tables. Now, with the help of Vortex, I just breathe out really hard, and Vortex's spiral airflow enhancer does the trick. That whole unappetizing array of tree stumps, car parts, building materials, and (yes, let's face it--circle of life) human body parts gets spun into a homogeneous, easily digestible slushee that I can just suck down in one big gulp!

Vortex uses the same physical principle that powers the Dyson vacuum cleaner and the Dyson chip. You know, that's the one that enabled Skynet to become self-aware and nearly annihilate the human race? I just hate competition. Speaking of which, I just saw movie, Lulu and Stitches, or whatever, and I saw that little monster mocking me with his stomping of his puny model city. Wait 'til I get my claws on that little four-armed so-and-so! He'll wish he'd gone to work at a theme park selling churros, you betcha! Okay, gotta run... I'm hungry, and it's rush hour in Tokyo... yum, yum. Remember, HCG Ultra to lose weight, JRMGH Vortex to get yourself back to the big destructive force you know you were meant to be.

-- Gojira
P.S. I almost forgot: HCG = Human Chorionic Gonadotropin (ew.)
HRMGH = Japanese Radioactive Monster Growth Hormone (but, deep down inside, I think you knew that all along.)
Chow, Baby!

posted Jun 13th, 2012 5:39 am


Pooch

I have been on the diet with the HCG drops and several other suppliments to clear the liver of toxins and I have lost 12 lbs. My skinny clothes are starting to fit and I feel GREAT. The 500 calorie diet is sometimes a challenge but I have always been a healthy eater anyway. I have just cut most all my carbs, no glutens and no sweets except fruit.

posted Jun 12th, 2012 2:48 pm


alison

+

Hcg diet definitely works.

posted May 31st, 2012 9:18 pm


oxanacanada

+

It is my 5th day on hCG diet. it works, but it's hard. First 4 days was really hungry, the only help was to drink a lot of water and tea. Today, day 5, not so hungry, but still fill empty, tired, and light-headed. Already lost 9 lbs. So far strictly followed instructions, as for me - if I cheat once, I will do it over and over again. Just really curious to see final result. Overall experience so far - impressive, it works, but it's tough. Who is overweight - I would definitely suggest trying.

posted May 25th, 2012 6:27 pm


Chuck Bolles

+

I lost 32 lbs in 6 weeks and have stayed within 3lbs for going on 3 months now.

posted May 17th, 2012 2:54 pm


David

?

is 500 calories healthy? Do you think the hcg diet is safe? I know my mom tried it because she seen good reviews at http://www.realhcgreview.com. But I think only taking in 500 calories a day can be dangerous. Whats your opinion on it? I will point out that it did work for her.

posted May 5th, 2012 9:33 pm


Benedict

I have to thanks for the work you have made in writing this post. It has been an inspiration to me. I've passed this onto a friend of mine. thankyou

posted May 5th, 2012 1:18 pm


Deb Sherman

+

The Omni diet w/ drops has helped me loose weight fast-you have to be able to stay on the plan and be dedicated-then it works. I have learned a lot of better ways to eat than all the american processed junk we have available quickly on the shelves and in the drive thru-s. We have so many more options out there to eat - for 1 use stevia instead of sugar or any of the synthetic options. think about how much of those things are linked to cancer and diabetes. Use your common sense when doing any diet and check it out before you start. Weight Watchers is probably one of the very best- takes a bit longer to get the results than the Omni- you also learn much better ways to use food options for your meals than the mainstream norm. The problem is that it is so expensive to the average person.

posted May 4th, 2012 10:35 pm


Lorraine

+

I discoverd this diet through my tattoo artist. If your a mom or in a health profession, you will understand why it works. Hcg, or pregnancy hormone works by making your brain think you need to fuel another life, but since your not actually pregnant, your body is burning that stored fat instead of transfering it to a fetus. Ive done 4 rounds of this diet already and over the course of a year i've lost 60 lbs. I am healthier, happier, and I feel confident and great with my body. I didnt feel hungy at all, I made sure I drank plenty of fluids and ate the protein I needed, and fruit as snacks during the day and before I know it I was loosing about a pound or two. Its hard for the first couple of days, and its definitely not for people who has no will power. The one thing I found myself a little cheat on this, I have one cheat day a week. That doesnt mean eat like crazy, it just means I can have a slice of cake, or one hamburger, or anything I really want but in a small portion. What I love about this is I can drink my Atkins shake meal in the morning which has 140 cals and eat meat and fruit the rest of the day and I still feel like Ive eaten full meals all throuh out.

posted Apr 20th, 2012 5:17 am


Miscah

+

I was wondering if anyone could tell me the best brand of drops to purchase for this diet?

posted Apr 17th, 2012 3:34 pm


Danlei

+

This diet works. I have been on it for 2 wks and lost 13 lbs. I felt great and slept well. The first couple days was tough. I had some minor headache that was likely caused by lack of morning coffee. My BMI was 23. My current BMI is 21.2.

posted Apr 15th, 2012 3:37 am


Calvin

+

If you think this is a starvation diet then you are half right. You eat very few calories but your not hungry cause in those 500 calories you are eating wholesome foods that are rich in nutrients and fiber that help keep you full. I am in my 5th day and feel great. It's my opinion that if you don't like the diet because it's only 500 calories then look at your life before when it was consuming anything and everything without thinking what it is doing to your body. Maybe fat America needs a little starvation. I like it and will stick with it.

posted Apr 14th, 2012 12:24 am


Tiffany

DO NOT order this product. Not only is it a waste of money, when you try to cancel your subscription they always tell you that the shipment is already at the wearhouse so they can't stop it. They then double charge you for that shipment.

posted Apr 6th, 2012 4:21 pm


userfile
Denise Lee

?

What do you think about just following the diet with out taking the drops? I have not yet taken these drops but have been researching all reviews in many of the google searches I have checked. I think it would make sense to follow this diet without the drops and see how much weight is lost. it would seem that it is the diet without the drops would give the same result... just makes sense to me.......

posted Apr 1st, 2012 9:58 pm


Cara-Leigh

+

This is the easiest, no hunger, more energy, feel-good, exciting diet I've ever been on. As for this site's comments on it not being safe, I believe they are prejudiced by the medical community's fear of this diet's effectiveness. Regarding the comment on the weight not staying off, very untrue! This is a way of life eating plan. Once you reach Phase 4, you continue forever. You won't regret it, I haven't. My metabolism is higher along with my general well-being. Give it a try...what have you got to lose? *grin*

posted Mar 31st, 2012 1:32 pm


MR

-

I will NEVER use this product again or tell anyone to. I was sick the entire time almost, light headed, headaches, passed out twice and my moods were terrible !! The drops are a total SCAM and you can on your own without them eat 500 calories a day and lose weight just as fast. I've seen a doctor and a trainer and both said I did more harm on my body then good because now when I increase my foods slowly with pastas, sugar, etc I'm going to gain back some weight. I was better off just excercsing and eating a good diet of foods. Sure peopoe will say but I've lost weight on this.. DUH !! You starved yourself with 500 calories a day. This product was a waste of my $80 and only good thing I may have gotten was I eat better and now look at my portions differen't. O and don't even think about going to the facebook page they have because soon as you leave any negative if even mixed with positive they delete and ban you from the group. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY !! Go to the gym and see a trainer/doctor who can help you with meal planning.

posted Mar 30th, 2012 7:20 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?