Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 24, 475 total comments)

Chuck Bolles

I lost 32 lbs in 6 weeks and have stayed within 3lbs for going on 3 months now.

posted May 17th, 2012 2:54 pm


David

is 500 calories healthy? Do you think the hcg diet is safe? I know my mom tried it because she seen good reviews at http://www.realhcgreview.com. But I think only taking in 500 calories a day can be dangerous. Whats your opinion on it? I will point out that it did work for her.

posted May 5th, 2012 9:33 pm


Benedict

I have to thanks for the work you have made in writing this post. It has been an inspiration to me. I've passed this onto a friend of mine. thankyou

posted May 5th, 2012 1:18 pm


Deb Sherman

The Omni diet w/ drops has helped me loose weight fast-you have to be able to stay on the plan and be dedicated-then it works. I have learned a lot of better ways to eat than all the american processed junk we have available quickly on the shelves and in the drive thru-s. We have so many more options out there to eat - for 1 use stevia instead of sugar or any of the synthetic options. think about how much of those things are linked to cancer and diabetes. Use your common sense when doing any diet and check it out before you start. Weight Watchers is probably one of the very best- takes a bit longer to get the results than the Omni- you also learn much better ways to use food options for your meals than the mainstream norm. The problem is that it is so expensive to the average person.

posted May 4th, 2012 10:35 pm


Lorraine

I discoverd this diet through my tattoo artist. If your a mom or in a health profession, you will understand why it works. Hcg, or pregnancy hormone works by making your brain think you need to fuel another life, but since your not actually pregnant, your body is burning that stored fat instead of transfering it to a fetus. Ive done 4 rounds of this diet already and over the course of a year i've lost 60 lbs. I am healthier, happier, and I feel confident and great with my body. I didnt feel hungy at all, I made sure I drank plenty of fluids and ate the protein I needed, and fruit as snacks during the day and before I know it I was loosing about a pound or two. Its hard for the first couple of days, and its definitely not for people who has no will power. The one thing I found myself a little cheat on this, I have one cheat day a week. That doesnt mean eat like crazy, it just means I can have a slice of cake, or one hamburger, or anything I really want but in a small portion. What I love about this is I can drink my Atkins shake meal in the morning which has 140 cals and eat meat and fruit the rest of the day and I still feel like Ive eaten full meals all throuh out.

posted Apr 20th, 2012 5:17 am


Miscah

I was wondering if anyone could tell me the best brand of drops to purchase for this diet?

posted Apr 17th, 2012 3:34 pm


Danlei

This diet works. I have been on it for 2 wks and lost 13 lbs. I felt great and slept well. The first couple days was tough. I had some minor headache that was likely caused by lack of morning coffee. My BMI was 23. My current BMI is 21.2.

posted Apr 15th, 2012 3:37 am


Calvin

If you think this is a starvation diet then you are half right. You eat very few calories but your not hungry cause in those 500 calories you are eating wholesome foods that are rich in nutrients and fiber that help keep you full. I am in my 5th day and feel great. It's my opinion that if you don't like the diet because it's only 500 calories then look at your life before when it was consuming anything and everything without thinking what it is doing to your body. Maybe fat America needs a little starvation. I like it and will stick with it.

posted Apr 14th, 2012 12:24 am


Tiffany

DO NOT order this product. Not only is it a waste of money, when you try to cancel your subscription they always tell you that the shipment is already at the wearhouse so they can't stop it. They then double charge you for that shipment.

posted Apr 6th, 2012 4:21 pm


userfile
Denise Lee

What do you think about just following the diet with out taking the drops? I have not yet taken these drops but have been researching all reviews in many of the google searches I have checked. I think it would make sense to follow this diet without the drops and see how much weight is lost. it would seem that it is the diet without the drops would give the same result... just makes sense to me.......

posted Apr 1st, 2012 9:58 pm


Cara-Leigh

This is the easiest, no hunger, more energy, feel-good, exciting diet I've ever been on. As for this site's comments on it not being safe, I believe they are prejudiced by the medical community's fear of this diet's effectiveness. Regarding the comment on the weight not staying off, very untrue! This is a way of life eating plan. Once you reach Phase 4, you continue forever. You won't regret it, I haven't. My metabolism is higher along with my general well-being. Give it a try...what have you got to lose? *grin*

posted Mar 31st, 2012 1:32 pm


MR

I will NEVER use this product again or tell anyone to. I was sick the entire time almost, light headed, headaches, passed out twice and my moods were terrible !! The drops are a total SCAM and you can on your own without them eat 500 calories a day and lose weight just as fast. I've seen a doctor and a trainer and both said I did more harm on my body then good because now when I increase my foods slowly with pastas, sugar, etc I'm going to gain back some weight. I was better off just excercsing and eating a good diet of foods. Sure peopoe will say but I've lost weight on this.. DUH !! You starved yourself with 500 calories a day. This product was a waste of my $80 and only good thing I may have gotten was I eat better and now look at my portions differen't. O and don't even think about going to the facebook page they have because soon as you leave any negative if even mixed with positive they delete and ban you from the group. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY !! Go to the gym and see a trainer/doctor who can help you with meal planning.

posted Mar 30th, 2012 7:20 pm


tammy skye

HCG lately shows a lot of effect to dieters and for some reasons it goes very well with a good menu of hcg recipes!

posted Mar 19th, 2012 8:20 am


BB

What is the matter with you people! Even if you take the HCB and have success as soon as you stop taking it you will revert back to you old ways. You cannot maintain a 500 cal diet in real life and you certainly can't take HCB for ever. Stop dieting!!! Learn to eat nutritious meals and exercise. Read the Scwarzbein Principle which will give you direction to a well rounded healthy lifestyle. My husband and I both lost over 40lbs each and got rid of gastric reflux and many allergies!

posted Mar 18th, 2012 2:06 pm


Dani

I am 35 yrs old. I have been on the HCG drops for 13 days. I have lost 11 lbs! I am not overweight. I started the diet at 144 I am 5'5". I am down to 133 as of this morning. I have not been exercising either. I have not been "starving" myself. I think the reason I am doing fine with the 500 calorie diet part is that I have always eaten pretty well. I dont eat beef or pork. ever. So this diet isn't that hard. I will tell you exactly what I have been eating. Breakfast - HCG drops then wait 15 mins, I have a 20 oz coffee,french vanilla creamer (probably 2 tbsp) and two stevia packets. and an apple. Lunch - I have HCG drops wait 15 mins, and entire bag of shredded lettuce, chopped apple, 4-5 oz of cut up deli honey turkey in a huge bowl with sugar free rasberry vinagrette dressing. this fills me up completely. sometimes I cant finish it. 4pm snack (I always have a snack at this time) Drops wait 15 mins. I have steamed edemame with sea salt. Dinner - Chicken breast or talapia with a great rub or seasoning (I love basil, garlic and lemon mixed together, so yummy) baked. with 2 cups of some veggie. I don't feel deprived at all. I even give myself a bite of some cookie everyday. Girl scout thin mints. they are my weakness. but I have a bite and I feel fine about it. It doesnt seem to be stopping me from losing wieght. I honestly didn't believe I would lose anything. I am shocked beyond belief, that is why I am writing this. Even if you aren't overweight, it still works. I just want to get back into the clothes in my closet and I am just about there. I couldn't be happier with the results. If you are looking to try something, I really would recommend trying this. It's only two weeks, I bought the drops at walmart for like 25.00 HCG Platinum. Good luck on your journey!

posted Mar 18th, 2012 12:58 pm


Kim

I am on Day 6 - Phase 2 - and have lost 4" off of my waist and 7lbs :) No hunger, headaches, or any side effects. This is the easiest "lifestyle" adjustment that I have ever made. I am down to one clothing size already. You can do it!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2012 2:20 am


caveman

It works I have lost 37 lbs in 33 days and there is no hunger and I have not lost any muscle mass 500 cal diets are dangerous but with these drops your body gets 3000-4000 calories for fuel hence no muscle loss And fat loss. I feel awesome I have not groWn big boobs and my energy levels are through the roof. No hair loss or headaches or cramps. Its all about following the. InstructionS and no cheating on the diet. You owe it to yourself to change. Bought my drops from www.greenhcg.com.

posted Mar 10th, 2012 12:19 pm


lau123

Trust your instincts I know a lot of you who swear by this are not going to like what I have to say, but I don't care. This "diet", is classic STARVATION. I've read many different boards that spew all this talk about the hormone keeping them full while the body burns fat. But what is really happening, is that your body has gone into starvation mode, THAT'S why you're not hungry after the first 3-4 days. It's no wonder that so many people reported hair loss. I know losing weight is difficult, I'm in the midst of it myself, but all of you are only setting yourselves up for a rude awakening.God only know what this is doing to your organs and muscles. Please be careful and have regular physical exams.

posted Mar 7th, 2012 6:13 am


gail

Worked fabulous, ate very healthy vegetables, salads, fruits, beef, chicken,fish and feel great.

posted Mar 6th, 2012 8:08 pm


Chrissy

This was the hardest diet i've ever been on. I tried it with the homeopathic drops, the pellets and then i went to a clinic and got the real injections. i was starving all the time! I was tired, dizzy, weak, had major headaches, and i fainted! I've never fainted on a diet before! It was so scary, I had to be taken to the hospital. PLEASE be careful with this diet! I forced myself to keep doing it cause i heard it worked, but this diet is NOT for everyone.

posted Mar 5th, 2012 3:46 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account