Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 27, 526 total comments)

Kristy

The natural oat is the key ingredient for weigh loss. The full feeling is from ingesting the oat fiber which absorbs water and swells in your stomach. That's also why some people feel a little "gassy" when they went with three. That will eventually go away as your body develops the gut flora to effectively digest the roughage. You can get the same effect from drinking a glass of fiber-sure or metamucil an hour before your meal and it's a lot cheaper. Walmart carries a store brand of metamucil that is sugar free and works well for controlling hunger.

posted Aug 19th, 2009 7:20 pm


lia

I HAVENT TRIED IT IS IT GOOD

posted Aug 18th, 2009 4:03 pm


BA

I have to agree with people when they tell everyone to get over the taste. Holy cow, quit whining! Take a bite of breakfast, slam the shot down and take another bite of breakfast. This stuff works. I was amazed that I wasn't hungry after only one shot. I'm a big fan.

posted Aug 15th, 2009 8:52 am


Kathy

I haven't been on it long but am very satisfied so far. Maybe I wouldn't want to drink a full glass of it, but I am very willing to suffer a brief couple of ounces of a blah taste for some weight loss.

posted Aug 13th, 2009 1:06 pm


smprsfan

Just started this today... weighed in at 231 this morning. I didn't think the taste was terrible (as has been reported). I took it as a shot and then chased it with some water. Yeah, there was a bit of an aftertaste, but nothing horrible, and definitely not enough to make me not use the product. I noticed it working this morning - I only had a pack of instant grits & some coffee for breakfast and I was absolutely fine until lunch. I didn't take the 2nd shot at lunch, and around 3:30-4:00 I started to get hungry and wanted to snack. (And I did snack). Tomorrow I will definitely take the second shot with my lunch.

posted Aug 12th, 2009 4:50 pm


carol

I love Slim Shots! I am an evening muncher as well as some of the other users. My appetite has totally changed. I have very little appetite in the morning until around 7 or 8 at night. I drink lots of water and then exercise. I'll follow up with a yogurt and some grapes. I've lost 8 lbs. in one week .I am very pleased and will continue to use it. It works but you must be consistent with your daily routine.

posted Aug 9th, 2009 11:14 pm


lia

They're a little funky at first but you totally get used to the taste. Especially when you experience the results. In 2 weeks I've lost 4 lbs because I'm finally in control of my appetite. FYI-I tried 3 a day and got a little gassy:)

posted Aug 6th, 2009 6:02 pm


Kristi

I just started taking the SlimShots. I agree with the comment of "get over the taste" no it's not the most pleasant flavor but is not my any means so nasty that you feel you will vomit. It's just a small coffee creamer size. I do think that my appetite is affected. I actually feel full as though I ate but I haven't. I really hope this will work for me as I have tried so many other types of appetite supressants. Will write a review in 2 weeks to see where I am at. Fingers Crossed!!

posted Aug 5th, 2009 1:54 pm


spiff

SO far it curbs my cravings!!! Don't listen to these complainers about the taste. Geez it's a little shot! Your taking it to lose weight not for the taste.

posted Aug 3rd, 2009 8:34 am


Heather

Regarding the taste... Knock off the melodrama, people. It tastes similar to unsweetened coconut. For crying out loud, I was scared to try this product for fear it would taste like turpentine (based on all the drama queen opinions I've read). I've yet to see if it works, since I am a new user, but wanted to dispel all the "OMG it tasted so bad I vomited" comments. If you want to try it and do not have a negative opinion of nutty flavors, go for it. Sheesh.

posted Jul 31st, 2009 12:40 pm


nicole

started it 1 week ago. lost nothing yet. the taste isnt as bad as i thoght it would be. is is safe to take three shots a day? also how long before you start to lose weight?

posted Jul 31st, 2009 12:16 pm


Dianna

I am for the most part a healthy eater but I have a problem in the evening with snacking so I thought I would try Slim Shots because it says that there isn't any caffiene or stimulants or any side effects. Aspartame is in most diet drinks and I don't have a problem with them so I didn't think I would have a problem with this product. I took one in the afternoon and it tasted like watered down vanilla chalk. It's really not as awful as people say it is. About 20 minutes later, my heart started racing(came and went) and I had palpitations that would come and go as well. I was also feeling tired later in the day. It also made me constipated. I looked up the side effects of high doses of asparatame and sure enough, thats what they were plus plenty more. I took it again the next day to make sure it wasn't all in my head. It wasn't. All of the same effects came back. I must admit, it did curb my appetite. After 2 days on this, I weighed myself and I put on 2.5 pounds. How can that be? I looked up the side effects again and bloating and water retention are on the list too. Today is day number 2 w/o taking it and I feel so much better. I was feeling so run down that I didn't want to excersize on the second day of taking it. I have been eating the same as I was and excersizing and the 2.5 pounds of water are gone. I would recommend this product to people that aren't sensitive to asparatame. I didn't think I was. Each shot is the size of a coffee creamer and contains 50% asparatame. I would still like to find something that will take away the munchies in the evening. Any suggestions would be great!

posted Jul 30th, 2009 2:48 pm


toyia

The nastiest tasting stuff ever! I actually say a prayer before down it. it's so nasty BUT I noticed that it does kill the cravings. i can go a whole day with out eating anything. and if i get the slightest hunger pain it takes it away....but im still kind of skeptical of it...i just started using it. but so far so good

posted Jul 30th, 2009 1:56 pm


Karen

It's my first day trying slim shots and I can't stand how they taste! I tried it in coffee and in yogurt and i just want to puke!Can i mix it with anything else that makes it taste better???

posted Jul 29th, 2009 10:15 pm


Gaby

I have started taking the shots 2 days ago and i love them. I dont feel any side effects wich is great and it has controlled my appitite. I'm an evening snacker and with the slim shot my cravings have subsided completly. I love this product havent lost any weight yet but im sure i will.

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 7:32 pm


yoanne

only took like 4 of them one in the morning and one at lunch time and it work, I usually in the morning I'm starved but I didn't realize I hadn't eaten til hours later. I have some faith because these actually work. I am really impressed that my apettite decrease. You never know until you try them! day by day it been 3 days and I control my self more eat less and not hungry. Try the new chocolate flavor.

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 11:47 am


Tabitha

I was leery of trying this product at first, but I liked the fact that there are only three ingredients in it, inlcuding the aspartame. I don't mind the taste so much. It has an almond-y or oat flavor in my opinion. I have only been using it for a week-and-a-half,and I've lost three pounds, so I will continue to use it. I do need both shots per day, and I was actually wondering if it would be safe to use three shots/day. It doesn't say anything on the box about taking more than two/day.

I don't think diet supplements such as this will work for emotional eaters though. I find that I will eat through anything, regardless of how full I feel if I'm not having a good day.

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 9:34 am


Jody

It works like a water pill for me. Can't stay our of the bathroom. Anyone else?

posted Jul 21st, 2009 5:14 pm


willie

I take it with beer ,light beer and I have lost wight

posted Jul 20th, 2009 7:38 pm


diane

just bought mine yesterday, I don't know if it will work or not, but it doesn't taste very good, so if you mix a couple of drops of chocolate syrup with it, it taste much better. I only have about 10 pounds to loose.

posted Jul 14th, 2009 6:02 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account