Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 27, 526 total comments)

Millie

I used it last month, it decreased my eating, I stopped for my cruise and now I have started back. Last month I did lose 5 pounds and will check in again next week.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 3:14 pm


andrea

im looking to lose 30 pounds but i take cholesteral pills can i still use this product to lose the pounds alot of my friend recomended

posted Oct 19th, 2009 12:36 pm


Royna

Slimshots is not meant to be something you take more than once (meaning one box) because it actually changes the way you eat. I used the entire box of slimshots and I have lost 7 lbs.(and been losing since last month). It is kind of like a "reset" button. Maybe it won't work for everyone but let me tell you, I have never taken a diet product that has been this effective with pretty much no side effects. Sure, the shots taste nasty but they cut your appetite in half, and after you have retrained yourself to eat less, you shouldn't need Slimshots for awhile (not until the holidays roll around, anyway). I highly recommend SlimShots as a short term diet aid.

posted Oct 17th, 2009 7:29 am


dls

I purchased Slim Shots from WalMart. I used it as directed and it had no effect on me at all. When I tried to return it to WalMart they refused to take it back because it was used and told me to contact the manufacturer. I did and they refused to refund my money because I did not buy it directly from them, they said I would have to return it to WalMart. I would not recommend Slim Shots. It doesn't work, ,I am out $21 and it is now in the trash.

posted Oct 14th, 2009 8:14 pm


wendy

I like the product. The taste was okay not too bad and it helps me not think about food. I also recommend trying this product...

posted Oct 12th, 2009 8:52 pm


Veronica

I ordered the shots and the next day received an e-mail: " Thanks for registering with vacationsavers.ca" I disregarded my e-mail as I thought it was just a junk e-mail. Not untill 10 days later, I check my credit card statement. I was charged 19.95 twice and 1.95 twice from vacationsavers.ca and bargainlink.ca. It is the biggest scam, I have ever seen in my life. They are selling your information including credit card info! Please check your credit cards statements and report freud if you were scammed.

posted Oct 10th, 2009 9:45 pm


Kim

I have to say it did not suppress my appetite, I actually wanted to eat?

posted Oct 9th, 2009 2:15 pm


Leila

So Far so good. I am about 154 and looking to lose 15 pounds. I have a toddler and a husband with a busy schedule so I hardly have time to workout by myself. Today is my first day taking it, I took it around 2:00 with my lunch and my snacking didn't take over my body. I have a late schedule so may take another one, haven't decided yet.

posted Sep 28th, 2009 8:11 pm


sandi

curbs my cravings allowing my diet to do it;s job.

posted Sep 26th, 2009 10:07 am


ja727

i am just starting it, it is ok i just wish the weight would come off faster.i guest i have to keep going to the gym and working at it.

posted Sep 25th, 2009 4:42 pm


Anni

It works. I don't feel as hungry. I'm barely snacking between meals and I don't even have to think about it. I take one in the morning with breakfast. I don't feel the need for the optional lunch dose. I chose these because they don't contain caffeine like a lot of the other ones did. I enjoy drinking coffee and prefer to get my caffeine (if any) that way.

posted Sep 21st, 2009 1:03 pm


chernandez418

Im one of those ppl that never believes ads on tv & i usually disregard the product their trying to sale, but ive read a few reviews on slimshots so i thought why not give it a shot lol & if it doesnt work oh well at least i tried. I bought slimshots today at walmart for $21, came with 20 shots i think & i already took one at 6pm & i usually snack around 9-10pm, well i dont feel hungry at all! Im hoping i start to gradually see some good results with my weight. I will continue to take them until i finish the whole case & will let you all know my experience with slimshots, hope its good!

posted Sep 20th, 2009 11:23 pm


Molly

CVS was having a sale on Slim Shots, buy 1 get 1. So I decided to try it, I bought 2 chocolate, the flavor reminds me of nuts, I took one at 11:30am, and then again at 3:30, by 7:00pm i was hungry, but kept myself from eating. I'm going to continue taking them, and see what happens. And for everyone that is saying the taste is unbareable, i guess it really just depends on how bad you want to lose the weight. But, I do recommend it :)

posted Sep 16th, 2009 8:27 am


sherri

the taste was bad for first few days but I got over it..now it tastes nutty and it works ..My GOD it works..I have lost 6 lbs in one week..I do workout every day and I have control of my cravings with no side effects at all.I will stick with it ..I need to loose 15 more lbs ..

posted Sep 15th, 2009 9:20 pm


kelli

hey everyone i just started today, and so far i havent had any side affects besides being a little gassy, im not as hungry as i used to be, in the afternoon, but like i said i just started today, hopefully it will help, ill keep everyone posted!

posted Sep 15th, 2009 12:16 pm


Chelsea

Ok, i used this and the taste IS bad, but i figured out a way to not taste it. When i have opened one I hold my nose and down it, but I still hold my breath and take a sip of water (you might have a second of taste because you have to take a quick breath for the water) and then I chew on a piece of mint gum, i taste it but only for literally a second or 2. Hope this helps! :)

posted Sep 13th, 2009 5:12 pm


YVONNE

Bought slimshot b/c I had a coupon. Desperate to loss 20 lbs by Christmas. And a total of 40lbs by February. Any suggestions?

posted Sep 7th, 2009 9:28 pm


mary

I just started the chocolate flavored one!!! I head to many complaints about vanilla . please try the chocolate flavor. It's not bad at all!!!! It's my 2nd day using it. So far so good :D I will for sure report back here and maybe post pics if all goes well. I have 80 pounds to lose and hoping to at least lose 50 by January.

Good luck every one.

posted Sep 4th, 2009 10:31 am


Brenda

I have really coarse, kind of frizzy hair. After using slim shots for weight loss for about a week, I noticed my hair is extremely soft and shiny, even softer than my young daughter's hair. I have not changed anything other than taking slim shots. I will continue to use it just for that effect.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 10:02 am


w sans

did not work at all.

posted Aug 27th, 2009 9:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account