Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 27, 526 total comments)

Chastity

I have been taking SLIM Shots for 3 days and each time it has cause me to have a major headaches. The first day it just made me eat all day and the other 2 days I ate a little less. I am going to discontinue use due to headaches.

posted Jan 11th, 2010 8:45 pm


Anna

I ate more and gained from this

posted Jan 9th, 2010 11:38 am


rorysmom

Read some of the reviews and thought I would try as I had a coupon and BYGO at CVS. Tried the chocolate which didn't taste too bad and then ate so taste didn't last long. I have gained weight from medication I was on and now have to lose around 30 pounds. I have started eating healthier and less so thought this may be a good supplement. It's worth a try right?

posted Jan 5th, 2010 2:42 pm


robyn

I read some of the reviews and since I had a coupon and they were on sale BYGO Free at CVS I figured why not try it? I have gained weight from a medication I was on and now should lose around 30 pounds. I have started eating less and healthier but need some what of a boost. So it is worth a try.

posted Jan 5th, 2010 2:38 pm


Joseph

These work short term simply due to the placebo effect: you think it will restrain your appetite and so it does. But like any placebo effect, it wears off over time and does not work at all for some.

posted Jan 5th, 2010 2:33 pm


Nida

its rubbish feel more hungry no lose any weight but i lose my money by purchasing this brand

posted Dec 29th, 2009 6:36 pm


Nida

not work for me too i feel more hungry ater using this product plz dont buy its useless

posted Dec 29th, 2009 6:31 pm


AthleteKitty

I've lost 1.2 pounds!

posted Dec 26th, 2009 11:42 am


AthleteKitty

I just bought it because the majority of the reviews look good. I just took one shot with lunch after working out. Did not overindulge out which I sometimes do after a hard workout b/c I feel I "deserve" a reward. Will write back with further results.

posted Dec 24th, 2009 2:13 pm


Keele

I just started it today. I need to lose the 35 pounds I put on a few years ago. I exercise 30 minutes a day at least 5-6 times a week.....so we'll see! :-)

posted Dec 13th, 2009 5:00 pm


Dorothy

it really works, lost 10 pounds right away
i put it in my tea and it works like a creamer
and no side effects either
dorothy

posted Dec 11th, 2009 4:48 pm


megan

So what I have gathered from reading all of these reviews is that it does in fact help suppress hunger, and that everyones body is reacting differently. I don't give a about the taste, because I am going to try it for the weight loss aspect of it all. I mean, for such an amazing product, I'd say it's a small price to pay so who cares! I want the opinion of you guys though. I am 5'7 and weigh 160. I am not clinically overweight, and my BMI puts me in the "average range" but of course being a female, I want to look better. I used to weigh close to 200 pounds, and over the course of a year and a half I have dieted, and exercised my way to where I am now. My goal weight is 150 (I'd like to shoot for 140 if I can find something to help) but of course, I am stuck with those pesky last ten pounds. I hit the gym about 5 to 6 times a week, cramming all the cardio I can into my time. DO you think slimshots will give me that boost to lose the last ten pounds if I continue my work out regime?

posted Dec 10th, 2009 2:05 am


Stephanie

I took it as instructed, and for about a week I noted suppressed appetite and was psyched. But after that week the effects of the suppressed appetite wore off and I'm back where I started.

posted Nov 23rd, 2009 9:36 pm


Kimberly

I was looking for something to help me with my diet. I'm 40 years old and 40 pounds over weight. I had read about Slimshots online and dispite the reviews on the bad taste, I decided to try it.

IT WORKS! It's been 1 week and I'm already down 10 pounds. It definetly suppresses the appetite. I find myself barely able to finish meals. I'm always full and in control to make the right choices.

Reviews were correct about the taste. It doesn't taste that great but tolerable and well worth the 2 seconds of dissatisfaction.

I can already tell the difference in my stomach and hip area.

It's a product worth trying.

posted Nov 20th, 2009 2:17 pm


Wendy

I have gained 30 pounds since my marriage and birth of 2 young sons. I have tried many weight loss aids, and this is the only one that works with no side effects! I have used it for about 2 1/2 weeks now and I have gradually lost 7 pounds using Slim Shots, light exercise and a higher protein/veggie diet. My cravings and appetite are suppressed. Instead, I crave liquids, such as water and tea. I am very pleased with the results. However, after reading the postings, I think every person reacts differently. I think this is definitely worth a try! I'll post again later with further results.

posted Nov 9th, 2009 11:34 am


sarah

simone, the chocolate flavor is not any better. i am sold on these. i wasn't sure at first, i am now. i don't snack anymore. my husband said he can tell a difference in my face. i will get more. at dinner i am hungry, not starving... i also run and have lost an inch of my belly! i can't wait to see how much they help in the next couple of months!

posted Nov 8th, 2009 1:19 pm


Simone

I started vanilla Slim Shots 4 days ago. The first 3 days, I didn't notice much difference in the amount of food I ate, but I didn't seem to crave as much in between meals. However, today when I woke up, I had no appetite at all, and had to literally force myself to eat a small muffin so I could take my medicine. Four hours later, I have just eaten one small slice of pizza, and I am FULL! If this continues, I am sold, despite the horrible taste. (I just shoot it to the back of my tongue, swallow, and follow with a drink of something... Next time I will try the choclate flavor) .

Also, I would suggest that if you are not eating much while you are on Slim Sorts that you eat a variety of nutritionaly dense foods and/or take a multi-vitamin to be insure you are getting the nutrition your body needs to stay healthy. I plan to do this also, as well as getting back on my exercise program. Good luck everyone!

posted Nov 6th, 2009 5:44 pm


sarah

i am not sure about these. i started using them yesterday, and didn't see any change. i'll keep using the rest of the box to see if it takes some time. also, why are you supposed to take it with food when it takes 2-3 hours to work? how does that help?

posted Nov 4th, 2009 8:15 am


tammie

I agree that the taste is not as good as a piece of chocolate cake, but who the hell cares. It does drastically curb appetite,Yesterday I ate no breakfast, a lein cuisine meal for lunch and one pice of fried chicken for supper and I had to make myself do that because of the growling in my stomach. I really didnt want anything at all to eat . I love this stuff

posted Oct 31st, 2009 12:57 pm


geri crawford

this is my 5th day and i have lost 8 lbs. wow....i can't believe it , this just might be the anwswer i have been looking for

posted Oct 22nd, 2009 3:23 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account