| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.


Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.


The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots,

Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 27, 529 total comments)


Why is Slim Shots losing efficacy on the 3rd week? I hope this is not a trend, everything was going fine but I have been taking 2 cups per day, because I am feeling is not as effective anymore.I hope is just something brief. I was really happy with the products. This is the 3 week and I do not feel it as strong as it was in the beginning.

posted Apr 14th, 2011 4:17 pm


I have not had any diarrhea. i lost 2 pounds in a week. Considering I had a cold and I did not exercise as much as I usually do, is awesome. I hope to lose 2 more this week. I have not felt any side effects so far. I have recommended this to everybody in my work.

posted Apr 12th, 2011 12:36 pm


With all the oil in it, does it cause diarrhea??

posted Apr 7th, 2011 7:43 pm


So far is working,is really controlling my hunger and snacking habits, no palpitations and no jitterness. I tried the slimshot without the coffee and at room temperature it was not as bad as people said it tasted like a watery walnut flavor or a water down vanilla creamer and I felt the effect immediately.

posted Apr 6th, 2011 2:04 pm

Christine D

I have just started using this, and it seems to be doing a good job. Day 3, and I can tell it's working to keep me from my evening snackathons.

NOTE: It does not contain stimulants. You won't 'feel' immensely different. You won't feel famished either.

The taste? Well, imagine eating ice cream with nasty lipstick on. That's about it. I've had lip balm that tasted worse. Also, it is a mixture of water and oil, so it will have a light 'curdle like' residue on the inside of the container. The better you shake it the better it blends/tastes anyway.

It doesn't make me feel fuller, per se, it just doesn't make me feel hungry. I eat slower, and even with foods that I love, I find myself eating less... not needing them as much.

With a sale at Walgreens and a printable coupon, I was able to get 30 packs for $15, so it's a small investment.

Someone else described it as taking the edge of your hunger, and I think that is what it feels like. I hope to have half the success as some of the stories I have read.

From what I gather, it is still the responsibility of the dietor to eat the right foods (balanced nutrition, fiber, lots of water) and get appropriate excercise.

I like the idea of this stuff, it seems to be working so far, and we'll see how it goes. I'll get through this box and let you know:-)

posted Apr 6th, 2011 1:37 pm


so far is working

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 11:40 am


I read the reviews about the tatste so I put it in my coffee, it really supressed my appetitte,I just ate 5 crackers and a pice of cheese and I was not hungry from 9:00 all the way to 2:00 pm. and at that time I just ate half of what I usually eat. I think it might work.

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 11:39 am


i started out at 154 and now 2 weeks into my process im down to 145. yay me i love this. when i saw my pants falling off me and my shirts looking extra big i came into tears. THANK YOU SLIMSHOTS.

posted Mar 28th, 2011 7:34 pm


This is the worst stuff on the planet. It is like drinking oily toxic sludge. Do not try it. It gave me terrible, stabbing headaches. And it Does Not Work. Be warned you will regret this purchase. Awful. Awful. Awful.

posted Mar 20th, 2011 12:23 am

Lady Baltimore

I jus bought it 2day and I believe that it works. I took it at 3 pm and wasnt hungry or even thinking about eating til about 9 pm; which is not normal for me because Im a constant snacker. I had no side effects and I woild recommend it.

posted Mar 14th, 2011 12:49 am


I'm 150.4 right now and I'm 17. It's always been hard for me to eat right. A few months ago I wanted to make a change so I started eating right and exercising everyday. I included slim shots in my diet plan and in about 4 months I went from 179 to 150. I got down to 143.2 but gained it back. :/ so I'm going back on a plan and buying more shots. I'll let you know how it goes.

posted Mar 4th, 2011 12:56 pm


how does it help u

posted Feb 28th, 2011 8:51 pm


People-People-People!!! You are really unbelievable. As I'm reading through these post I've noticed with all the negative comments who dislike the product has a problem with the fact that they cannot get over the tast, or they dont give up after one day, or a combination of the two! Everyone keeps wanting a magic pill or for them to wake up the next morning 20-40 or 80lbs thinner, well I'm hear to say: SORRY PEOPLE IT DOES NOT WORK THAT WAY!! You know you did this to yourselves, so you cannot expect one product to make it all go away for you without any efforts from you. The truth of the matter is you have to really WANT IT for yourself, and when you are fed up enough with the way you look and you are REALLY ready to do something about it, then you can get past a little "bad" taste in your mouth or whatever else you're using for an excuse as to why you're trying to justify your laziness. Look, I'm not trying to be mean or rude, but I'm just saying no one or nothing is going to do it for your alone, you're going to have to make some efforts too. And by the way really keep an open mind and realistic goals. Dont get disappointed if the scale isnt saying what you want right now. Just dont weigh yourself everyday for multiple times a day, and give yourself some time. A little patience can definitely go a long way. I've been on it for one week now, and have lost 9lbs. so yes it does work, but you have to work with it too!! Keep your head up and dont give up!! :0)

posted Feb 18th, 2011 10:15 am


11 days and 24 lbs! You don't even need two cups.

posted Feb 13th, 2011 10:07 pm


Yes, Slim Shots tastes horrible! BUT I'm having good results. I've stuck to a reasonable diet with exercise for two days and feel the Slim Shots are helping me feel full. I have a pretty big appetite, especially if I don't eat on time. A person on here actually said it's easy to eat reasonably and exercise without Slim Shots and I'm wondering why that person is on here, or on the product. I think the product will be the boost I need to shrink my stomach, lower my appetite, and kick-start a sucessful diet.

posted Feb 9th, 2011 12:03 am


just started using it today taste grosse lets see how it works

posted Jan 26th, 2011 3:53 pm


I am taking tamoxifen for breast cancer. I have gained so much weight its ridiculous. Does anyone know if I can take the slim shots while taking tamoxifen?

posted Jan 20th, 2011 1:15 am


It works people!! However,,remember, its a diet aid. You gotta exercise and cut your calories, The slimshots will help you do that. I've used it for 5 months and I've lost 42 pounds, I started at 280. Now I'm 238. My goal is 220 .Look, You don't have to knock yourself out with exercise. I walk 4 to 5 days a week for 50m to an hr. And I ride my stationary bike for 20 to 30 min 3 to 5 days a week. Use light weights, You don't need that 50 to 100 pds crap!! 2 to 10 pd weights will do the trick. Be sensible. You don't need to groan and sweat yourself to death..unless YOU want to!!! I eat fruits. salads, protein and vegees . Slimshots will make you feel fuller without all those jitters and fast heartbeats. i would recommend it to anyone who wants to lose weight sensibly.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 8:00 pm


OMG! I started the vanilla flavor (thats a joke!) yesterday & just choked down my 3rd one w/lunch. In a nutshell: costs too much, contains aspartame & tastes like you just ate a B-A-A-A-D peanut!!! The taste stays w/you even when you try to chase it with something... ANYTHING! Even dirt would taste better! And it seems to make me belch, which just brings up the nasty taste again. In truth, I should stop being lazy & return to my regular exercise program & healthy, small portioned meals, but I had hoped it would help me get a kick-start (had back surgery, which caused me to gain weight). Boy was I wrong! Not sure I can continue cause the taste is so bad & I seem to feel bad (even had some nausea) after taking it. Also, as someone mentioned above, even when shaken, it has "residue" around the edges of the container when you pull off the top. Because of that & the taste I also wondered if it was past the expiration date. My fiance said he'd rather pull out his fingernails than drink this @#$% because it tastes like A$$ & wondered aloud if the concoction was obtained at a local sewage pond! 8b

posted Jan 4th, 2011 6:09 pm

wanda diaz

ive beeen taking 2 shots a day and it helps me control my appetite but i dont see any weight loss changes.maybe is becouse i need to take it for a longer time i take it for 2 weeks now i am going to start my new package today i am hoping for it to work.

posted Dec 20th, 2010 2:20 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account