Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 27, 526 total comments)

MaryB

Does anyone have light colored urine when using Slim Shots? I do, Is this a problem?

posted May 22nd, 2009 11:12 am


taraaaa

i only weigh about 135 but i want to get down to 115, i'm only 19. would you suggest thissss :/ i'm really debating going out and buying it.

posted May 21st, 2009 1:50 am


eeb

didn't make an effect of weight

posted May 20th, 2009 5:39 am


Lisa

This product does not control my appetite, instead I am eating MORE than I normally do. It must be an effect that it has on some people--but it tastes horrible and I'm eating like a pig the more shots I take.

posted May 19th, 2009 3:44 pm


fatty

I bought these shots after reading all the reviews. I took my first shot this morning at 8am and it was like I had never taken it. It did nothing for me. We‚??ll see what happens when I take my next one at around 3pm. The taste is not as bad as people describe it...it has a vanilla/nutty taste to it and it's not bad at all...I'd swallow anything as long as it'd give me the results I wanted. :) But so far, my first shot didn't do that.
I started eating healthy again this past Monday and have been walking/jogging 2.5 miles so if the shot don't work for me, I'll still try my hardest to lose the 50lbs I need to get rid of. Good luck to everyone and I'll definitely keep everyone posted on how the next few shots work for me. :)

posted May 13th, 2009 3:38 pm


keyshia marie

the taste is not so bad i have to hold my breath while i drink it.. i only been taking slim shots for a day but i still wanna eat like i always do.. but im gonna keep takin it and see wht happens i thought it would work rite away..

posted May 11th, 2009 4:35 pm


elaine

These make me hungrier. One hour after taking a shot I am starving.

posted May 10th, 2009 8:04 pm


jennifer

Hi, I have a question for Janette82, how does the metamucil work with the slim shots? Does it make you have to use the restroom? Just wondering. I think me somewhat, but I more to be on them for a few weeks to really give a true opinion.

posted May 10th, 2009 4:11 pm


Ruthie

slimshots works for me. It's been 1 week and I have lost 3 1/2 lbs. The taste is not bad at all. I take my slim shot everyday at 2:00 pm. I eat breakfast have a snack lunch have a snack exercise 30min after work have dinner run for 30 min after and my day is done. I use to snack after dinner but taking slim shot after 2 pm I don't even think of food at night. I only have 10lbs to loose and slim shots will help me do it. congrats to those who love the product and it's working for them. For those who disagree I say try it for 1 mth and if it still doesn't work then this is not the product for you. I say use this product but keep active and drink plenty of water and eat smaller healthier meals as they recommend you do and you will see results.

posted May 9th, 2009 11:31 pm


garyp41

HEAL ALERT:Slimshots does have stimulants. I called the slimshots number and the rep acknowledged there are stimulants. I also know because when I take it, after a day or two, i get nervouse-beware if you have high blood pressure.

posted May 9th, 2009 4:49 pm


Janette82

I love this product. I have been using it for a week and it works amazing. I am really focused on losing weight before my birthday so I take my first slimshot in the morning with a glass of metamucil. Its amazing how much that combination stops hunger throughout the day. Then I take my second one around 2 pm and it works for the rest of the night!

posted May 6th, 2009 2:27 pm


JENNIFER

i JUST STARTED TAKING THE SHOTS, I AM GOING TO TAKE THEM 2 HOURS BEFORE I EAT, WITH A PIECE OF FRUIT. BECAUSE THEY SAY IT TAKES 2 HOURS TO TAKE EFFECT, AND IT SHOULD LAST 8 HOURS. SO THAT WAY HOPEFULLY I WILL EAT LESS A MEALTIMES AND LESS SNACKS! WILL POST AFTER THE WEEKEND (THATS MY WORST TIME FOR EATING!!!)

posted May 6th, 2009 1:32 pm


nikkidiva

i've been using it for about a week, and to be perfectly honest, i haven't even been consistent. i feel like my appetite is really affected. i THINK i want to eat my regular emotionally satisfying foods and by the time i grab something, i just dont have the desire to consume it.
i regularly eat healthy meals, hardly any fast foods etc. but, my biggest issue is portion control. with slim shots i eat much smaller portions and feel full. i feel like it just helps me eat what i need to eat and cut out all the snacking and over-eating.

posted May 3rd, 2009 11:35 pm


CBA

I bought the product today, after reading many of your posts. Thanks Lisa for the updates. I plan to update as well.

About a year ago I was determined to lose weight. I went from 195 to 135 in about a years time, with the help of my Dr. I am starting to slip up. I noticed my clothes getting tighter ...I got on the scales a few days ago and was shocked...I had gained almost 20 lbs back. I can't let this happen. I know who to have portion control, exercise, and eat healthy foods. But right now, I know I am eating emotionally. I am consumed in my career and family....

Lisa, I am going to keep updating at least weekly....I don't care if it tastes nasty. It has to work!!!

posted May 3rd, 2009 8:01 pm


Baby

The products very good but your site sucks...you ask to many questions and expect us to put up with your junk mail ?

posted May 3rd, 2009 5:35 am


Angel

Been on slim shots for about two weeks now I have lost 15 lbs

Im not that much over weight... 30 more pounds to go.... so for me thats alot of weight loss in a short period of time, they have really slowed down my cravings for over eating.... I have regulated my bad eating habits, cutting my portions in half, eating only fresh fruits, nuts, vegetables lean brolled meats and high fiber cereal's. I even cheated with having a chocolate candy bar and still lost the weight

I feel fantastic with so much more energy

posted May 3rd, 2009 5:31 am


Angel

Been on slim shots for about two weeks now I have lost 15 lbs
Im not that much over weight... 30 more pounds to go.... so for me thats alot of weight loss in a short period of time, they have really slowed down my cravings for over eating.... I have regulated my bad eating habits, cutting my portions in half, eating only fresh fruits, nuts, vegetables lean brolled meats and high fiber cereal's. I even cheated with having a chocolate candy bar and still lost the weight
I feel fantastic with so much more energy

posted May 3rd, 2009 5:19 am


Sharon

I do agree it has a bad after taste but I have been using for 5 days now and I am eating less at mealtime everyday. I do exercise every morning now and then take one with a cup of yogurt with fresh fruit and I'm full. The minute I put someting into my mouth that taste comes back and takes my appetite away. Lunch is a big meal for me but not this week. I like it even though it tastes yukky. They do have a chocolate flavor have not tried it yet though. I would have to say the taste is like play dough

posted May 1st, 2009 2:34 pm


Buffy

OMG, that tastes terrible. Will return to store to see if I can get my 27.99 back.

posted Apr 30th, 2009 2:15 pm


Jeff

I've been on Slim Shots now for 30 days. I have to say that it's not the magic pill so to speak to weight loss but most days it does seem to be effective. For me it does not take the hunger away when dieting but it does seem to reduce that gnawing hunger that makes you want to run for the refrigerator. I'm a 53 yo male. 10 years ago I lost 52 lbs by shear determination and will power. A couple years ago the weight started coming back on so I decided to diet again to get those 30 lbs I put back on to go away. This time around seems easier with Slim Shots. 11 lbs in the first 30 days. I take it about 9:00 AM using it as a creamer in a cup of coffee. Seems to stay effective until dinner. Still have to power through the evening snack urges but life on a diet is not all roses either.

posted Apr 27th, 2009 3:09 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account