Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 27, 526 total comments)

Lisa Stancil

I have been taking slim shots for about a week. I haven't lost any weight, though. I feel like I should take a shot with dinner because that's the meal that I always eat way too many calories. Has anyone had any problems taking this with dinner instead of breakfast or lunch?

Oh, and that taste is really sick. If it works, though, i don't care. So far I can't tell if it works. I've only been taking it with breakfast. Oh, and buy it at wal mart. It's only 20 bucks there.

posted Mar 20th, 2009 10:34 am


Pam

Slim shots work for me so far. I don't have the between meal cravings and I eat alot less. I still get hungry but when I eat, I get satisfied quick, eating alot less. I'd say 1/2 the amount I used to (meals). I don't snack like I have before. I'll go hours until my next mealtime and think back and say wow, because I didn't even realize that I didn't eat and wasn't hungry. That's pretty darn good for me. I have been trying to lose these pounds that I gained for 4 years and I think I can finally do it this time.....the right way. I know I have to eat so my body don't start to hord fat, but I love food so much I overeat, so slim shots is just what I need....whew, thanx.

posted Mar 19th, 2009 5:12 pm


Nicole

I just bought this last night and took my first shot this morning. Within a half hour I felt full, it's now 3 hours later and still have the full sensation. I hope this continues to work. I took the shot before my breakfast. I had a small pancake. I felt so full, usually it get munchies a half hour later, but not this time, I'am just now starting to feel a little hungry, but it's not overwhelming. I definitley recommend drinking water, I was thirsty immediatley after.

posted Mar 18th, 2009 1:01 pm


Lia

Absolutely positively works! I have lost 5 pounds in one week that were impossible to lose. Easy to take, no side effects. I highly recommend it for middle aged women like me who only have a few pounds to lose but find it difficult. Great product!

posted Mar 14th, 2009 5:31 pm


Carol

I have been taking slimshots for about 2 weeks (twice a day) and am seeing results in appetite decrease. I have lost 5 Lbs so far without adding any new exercise to my routine. I don't like the taste but drink it down and follow with a bit of diet coke. That helps with the after taste. I did try putting in my coffee but that gave the coffee a burnt taste and I couldn't wait to finsish so I could have a decent tasting cup. It is also available at Costco (online) for $60 for two months supply. I am going to stick with it and hope for the best. I will update in 30 days. I will say that it is working better than any of the Hoodia products that I have tried.

posted Mar 11th, 2009 10:02 pm


Anna G.

Not only did it fail to curb my appitite, it tasted DISGUSTING. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

posted Mar 10th, 2009 2:11 am


Deb

I've only been using Slim Shots for a week but I have already had results. This diet allows me to eat the types of foods I like, but curbs my desire to overeat. In fact, I now evaluate how much I want to eat instead of letting hunger take over. I just take the slim shot straight, followed by some coffee or diet coke. Coffee especially helps cut the taste which is not great, but the aftertaste only lasts a moment or two when followed by coffee or diet coke. I plan on continuing this diet. It is the most effective I have had in a long time.

posted Mar 7th, 2009 9:34 am


Cella

I have been using for about 3 weeks. Before I started I had weighed 159lbs, which is the most I have weighed, that is why I started using slim shots. I now weigh 151lbs. I noticed a difference instantly when I started and found myself eating less but eating whatever I wanted. I am now beginning to eat healther choices because I have noticed I have been eating a little bit more with unhealthy choices; for example instead of eating 1/4 of a taco bell burrito, I am eating half. So all of you out there that are using slim shots, make healthier choices as well as an exercise program, which is very helpful.

posted Mar 7th, 2009 4:26 am


rgilcin

I also slugged it the first time and the test was too strong. I added it to oatmeal with a few raisins and that was better. This morning I put it in my coffee. I am actually getting a taste for it rather than growing to dilike it. Not sure it works yet but for whatever reason, I had more control over my food yesterday.

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 6:04 am


ashley

I bought this 2 1/2 weeks ago, which was about the same time I started counting calories. I just wanted something to help minimize the hunger pangs. The stuff not only tasted horrible, but has not helped in reducing the hunger. I have lost weight, but i imagine it has to do with the fact that I have reduced my caloric intake and I am starving!!

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 2:58 pm


Stwef

no i tried it for solid mnths and i dint loose a pound

posted Mar 1st, 2009 4:19 pm


Stef

it doesnt work, ive tried it for 3 solid months.

posted Mar 1st, 2009 4:17 pm


Leene

I've only taken this 3 times. It does seem to blunt the hunger pangs, but ugh. . .it tastes SO bad! I am not someone who is sensitive or picky taste-wise (I wouldn't find the need for a product like this if this were the case!) so I thought maybe the comments about the taste and smell were somewhat overstated. Not the case! I don't have a problem with the smell, but the strong, plastic-y aftertaste is truly gaggable. I tried it in a smoothie, but it ruined it, so I won't do that anymore. I then chugged it and drank some water quickly and that was somewhat better. This time I used Coke. It's not like the bad taste lingers too long afterwards, so I think that's the way to do it rather than trying to mix it into a beverage that you enjoy. Next time I'm going to try a mouthwash chaser or maybe I'll just go straight for the hard liquor!

posted Mar 1st, 2009 3:05 pm


Tiffany

people, please dont review unless you have actually used/experienced the product. It is really annoying that so many people review and say "ok I just started this today"...no no no, do not do that. Give the product a few weeks, and then leave a helpful review.

posted Mar 1st, 2009 12:42 pm


Jeannette

I started yesterday and weighed myself this morning at same time and was 2.3lbs. lighter :) Know it's probable water weight but as long as it goes down....I am NOT hungry on it. I take it at 8am and 4pm and it lasts. Tastes AWFUL :)

posted Feb 27th, 2009 9:08 am


Jeannette

I just bought this yesterday and started it this a:m. It HAS curbed my appetite. Took it at 8 a:m then again at about 4:00. Only ate Tuna for lunch. Just testing the waters on how hungry It lets me get...Am excited to see if it really works continuously. will keep u posted... :)

posted Feb 26th, 2009 5:34 pm


Char

I weigh 155 pnds. I want to go back to my regular weight of 129-130 pnds. I just started the shot todayabout an hour ago. I leave on a cruise soon and hope to shed off the pounds quickly. I will keep all posted

posted Feb 25th, 2009 2:23 pm


Mallory

It did suppress my appetite because it grossed me out.

posted Feb 25th, 2009 1:36 pm


Mary

I have been ysing Skim Shots for a couple of months. A first they tasted good. In the 2nd month the taste is different with each shot. some are nice tasting, but at least 1/2 the box is weird tasting like it's not mixed well. Today I opens a shot and founs a thick cram substance that didn't move when turned upside down. What's going on? I'd like to keep using this product, but am leary now of the quality and if it is regulated on the prossesing side. The dates have all been good and not expired on the several boxes I have found the bad shots in. thanks for you help , Mary

posted Feb 25th, 2009 1:18 pm


Tricia Lewis

I started using Slim Shots approximately 2 months now; however, I came across a problem I seriously felt that your company should have taken care of. The second box I purchase was through Walgreens and so far five of the slim shorts were less than 1/2 full with a crusty, falky dried substance which seemed to be the product in a dry form. Due to the cost of your product I went back to Walgreens to either exchange or refund and they state since it is not a Walgreens product they are not responsible for the products condition it comes in and stated I should call the company for customer satisfaction. This morning I called your customer service and your representative tells me your company is not liable for the products condition or state. She stated that Walgreens should be responsible; however, I had explained to her Walgreens position --- she did not want to hear my side and rudely stated for me to go back to Walgreens for exchange or refund and hung up before I could say anything else. Is this how you take care of your customers? Walgreens position seems valid to me, they don't produce the product only sell it, so if any thing is wrong with the product the company should make it right. All I am asking for is my monies worth, yes your product is one that I would like to continue to use, but I also feel I should get what I paid for. Seems like I am in a "catch 22" -- please advise.

posted Feb 25th, 2009 10:35 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account