Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 27, 526 total comments)

gldj

I started with 2 shots per day last Thursday (4/9). It was great! Not hungry when I'm normally snacking.

BUT - the taste is gag-inducing. Must chase with milk or juice.

And now I'm on day 5 and noticing that I'm getting hungry when before I wouldn't.

posted Apr 13th, 2009 2:46 pm


Desiree

I have used the shots for about a week now and I notice a huge diferance. I love to snack all day but with the shots I dont feel that erge to. I like it and will continue to use them.

posted Apr 13th, 2009 1:11 pm


sura

i meant snacking. LOL

posted Apr 13th, 2009 8:55 am


sura

i started today, took one with yogurt for break fast. my weakness is snaking late night. any suggestions, when i should take my next shot to avoid late night snaking.

posted Apr 13th, 2009 8:54 am


michelle

I just bought the slim shots today, and I was starving...after about 20 minutes I wasn't hungry in the slightest. Go figure. They just might work for me.

posted Apr 4th, 2009 7:18 pm


Cara

I just bought these, this is my second day. It does curb my appetite! But after 3 hrs after taking the shot, I felt a little dizzy, maybe it's because I'm eating less. Also, anyone taking these with hyop-thyrodism?

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 1:39 pm


Cara

How long has everyone been on this? And once you stop, did you gain the weight back?

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 1:37 pm


Cara

I have been using slim shots for 2 days now. I seem to like it, it does curb my appetite. The only thing is about 3 hrs after I take I seem to get a little dizzy, maybe it's because I'm not eating as much.

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 1:34 pm


barbie

I saw the advertisement in a magazine and went directly to the store to purchase. Took my first shot this morning and I did not want anything to eat. I am wondering how long this will last thru today, if it continues to last then I will definetly loose some pounds. The taste was tough but went away quick.

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 9:42 am


Michelle

I just bought it and will be starting tomorrow. I was reading some of these reviews and for the most part they sound good! For the person who put them in the fridge...it says on the box...DO NOT REFRIGERATE. STORE AT ROOM TEMPERATURE. Just wanted to let you know! Will post again in a week or so on results!

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 12:36 am


Gilianne

It's been a week on silm shot, so far i've lost 5 pounds. I eat the same food I use to, I just week LESS. Am also working out for about 45 min a day. So far so good.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 3:49 pm


Lisa

I've finished my first box of slim shots. I keep coming here to post updates for some reason. Anywho, I'm still loving them! This week i popped them in the fridge and they were much more tasty with a chill.
I stopped taking them at breakfast because I don't eat that much at breakfast and since i work out afterwards, i dont have temptations during that time bracket of my day.

I take them at lunch. I can't decide if they work better if you take them before or after food, so i'm still doing both.

Some days i feel like they really work and then dome days there's absolutely nothing I can do to satisfy hunger.

I ate an entire bag of cheetos on monay. Yes, ladies, a whole bag. i couldn't stop!!!

posted Apr 1st, 2009 4:15 pm


Me

It seems to work. I just started it three days ago and I have to say it does decrease hunger. The tast is not great but give me a break it is one little shot. Anyone can put up with one shot of something slightly unpleasant. People are making to much of the tast being bad. I will repost once (if at all ) I start losing. So far so good.

posted Mar 30th, 2009 12:38 pm


norma

I am surprised!!! Slim Shots work!!! I had my two upper wisdom tooth taken out (Surgery) and couldn't eat , I first felt starving and took a shot, It controlled my appetite to not feel hungry otherwise I could hurt my mouth and gums. This week I've lost 4pounds without diet. Only eating less.

posted Mar 28th, 2009 12:28 am


Bonnie Laino

it's a waste of money. taste bad and it doesn't work.

posted Mar 27th, 2009 2:29 pm


lil29

I started this Monday 3-23-09 and have been eating much less. I can't believe it but I am no longer craving for anything and with all the goodies everyone brings to work I am actually ignoring it. I just hope it works until I reach my goal of losing 30 to 35 pounds.

posted Mar 26th, 2009 10:55 am


Lisa

It's me again! I've been taking them for a week and a half now and i decided this: They totally work! I took a shot before i went to work a 6-hour shift, and i'm usually starving and stuffing everything in sight into my face after i get off work, but not this time. I could tell that my blood sugar had dropped, but I didn't feel like i saw starving! Totally helped me control my eating habits after work! Instead of scarfing leftover donuts (i work at a bakery), i was able to eat chicken salad and a sensible dessert (fruity).

Also, taking slim shots right before breakfast has helped fuel me through my morning workouts. Usally my stomach is growling by noon. Not with Slim Shots!

(P.S. the taste isnt all that awful. Just dont try to savor it. They call it a shot for a reason. :)

posted Mar 23rd, 2009 3:59 pm


raflw

I am so surprise that there are so many comments about taste. I have not tried this yet but this is not a smoothie, weight loss pills are taken all the time and I am sure if they are broken open the taste will be nasty. Think about the results people do you want to be slim and healty the things that are good for you never taste good. Most children hate veggie they think the taste is nasty but it is good for them. Grow up.

posted Mar 22nd, 2009 8:19 pm


norma

I just bought it earlier and took my first shot 10 min. ago. Taste is not that bad as other comments.I'll try to keep a routine, eat healthy and keep u posted next week.

posted Mar 21st, 2009 6:52 pm


Betty

I started on Monday. You get use to the taste. I drink a skinny latte, cup of coffee or glass of water after downing the shot, the after taste goes away. IT DOES CURB MY APPETITE. I want to loose 20 lbs. Will keep you updated

posted Mar 20th, 2009 2:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account