Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 27, 526 total comments)

LKG

I am on week two of slim shots and week 8 of weight watchers and I have lost a total of 17 pounds. The slim shots have worked for me because they have taken the edge off of my hunger. Usually around 10:30 every morning and 4:00 every afternoon I become really hungry and am tempted to snack. Normally I would eat some fruit or yogurt to get me by until the next meal but since taking the slim shots I have not had one snack. I still get hungry but not stomach rumbling all I can think about is food hungry. The slim shots have made the diet process easier.

posted Feb 24th, 2009 1:58 pm


Kathy

I started this product on Sunday, I had a terrible headache, Sunday and Monday, today I had the shot in the morning and the headache is gone, so will keep taking the shots to see what happens. However, I was hungry yesterday before noon, I guess it take a while for my body and brain to get acquainted. I need to lose 6 pounds so I will keep you posted if that happens.....

posted Feb 24th, 2009 11:54 am


Sarah

If you are like me and cannot lose weight because you are always hungry then this product is great. It takes away that hunger so that you can eat healthy and feel full. This is not just a weight loss pill that will cause you to lose weight without any lifestyle changes.

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 4:04 pm


Anna

This was perfect for dropping a few extra pounds I gained over the winter. Another unexpected benefit is that it seems to be improving my IBS. Some one should research this. The ingredients in Slim Shots might be the key to treating IBS.

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 9:38 am


Cella

This product is really helping control my portions as well as consuming increased amounts of sweets. I am very happy with this product and will continue to use until I reach my desired weight. No side effects at all for me so far.

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 2:26 am


Malia

I started taking the shot about 3 days ago...the taste is aweful!!! I've noticed a slight decline in my appetite...I notice more I have more control with how much I eat...which is what I was hoping for. I'm working out 5 to 6 day a week and wanted to something to help take the egde off my hunger. It's still too early to say how successful I'll be But I'm happy for now with the exception of the taste...

posted Feb 22nd, 2009 6:00 pm


rachel

I just purchased this product last night. I didn't think it tasted that bad. I will see if this product really works and after a few wks I will update on my weight loss. I hope this works because I have found nothing that will help will with my constant hunger.

posted Feb 21st, 2009 11:44 am


Patricia

Well guys, this is day two. I finally got my supply....
YES it does smell and YES taste a lil gross..... almost like the after taste in a protien bar or thoes shakes you drink to curb your eating. Anywho.... I am exciteid and going to keep it up. KEEP THEM AS COLD AS YOU CAN HOLD YOU NOSE and follow up with a hit of water.... then you can let your nose go. hahahahah Its like taking medicine and nothing is easy guys... this shot is to help us not make all our fat go away with out diet and exercise... when you loose sight of what you yourself really need to do to loose weight, there is nothing that can help.
Ill post again soon... all of you keep up the good work. And for thoes of you that is didnt work, sporry to hear that... good luck with finding what does for you!

posted Feb 20th, 2009 11:56 am


Madame O

..this is day three for me,and I feel like it makes me hungrier. As such, I am combining it with Weight Watchers and will add exercise next week and see what happens

posted Feb 18th, 2009 10:06 pm


carolynanne

I am on week three - still LOVING Them (not the taste - ick...) I have LOST eight pounds and almost NEVER feel hungry and am without the late night "munchies" which has always been a major issue for me - I will continue for another few weeks and post again - It seems that this product DOES work for most however there seems to be a few body types (?) that it has no affect on... I am sorry for them because I can honestly say it is a great product with NO weird side effects...

posted Feb 18th, 2009 5:27 pm


Jennifer

Ok I just bought this yesterday and took my first on this morning. I will keep everyone posted on the outcome. Gezzz I sure do hope it works.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 2:21 pm


Sandra

Don't waste your money! It did not curb my appetite a bit or make me fell full and sooner. If anything it made me eat more.

posted Feb 15th, 2009 9:43 pm


Terri

It really does make you feel full....

posted Feb 15th, 2009 4:43 pm


Kim

It's awesome! I just got it today and I forgot I took one in the morning and I wasn't hungry until 2:30. i took one then with a lite lunch - it is now nearly 6 and I am FINE! AND it's so weird but I have been feeling, well, ummm..."amorous" all day. Coincidence?! I think not. I'm going out tonight to a singles dance on V-day and I think (I know it sounds crazy) but I THINK Slim Shots enhanced my mood!

If it keeps up like this, I'll be a lifer. I have gained and lost the same 30 pounds for 30 years. I have done every diet and I know more about food than a doctor... the only thing that EVER stopped me from staying slim was HUNGER. The Phen-Fen and other suppresenants had too many aweful side effects.

This has NONE!

Well, except maybe one... hee hee

posted Feb 14th, 2009 8:50 pm


Jamie

It definitely curbs my appetite. I only use it when I have cravings and it's not a normal meal time. For instance, today I had a healthy turkey wrap for lunch at 11:30 and by 12:30 I was hungry - so I took a slim shot with a water chaser and my appetite is curbed!

posted Feb 12th, 2009 12:35 pm


Sara ?

This is my 4th review.Ive lost 19 & a half pounds in 6 weeks taking one shot a day!I lost 8 & a half pounds just in the past 3 days!IT DOES WORK!The taste isnt all that bad & my cravings ae gone!

posted Feb 12th, 2009 10:11 am


Patricia

I just ordered them today. Online yes it is buy one get one for free but if you chooes the s&h for the $8 you are not on a montlhy commitment. I am afraid of getting caught in that too but I called as a follow up and they assured me that I am not on a mothly plan. I can always call when I recieve them to make sure & if I am xo right then and there.
Its important that a good eating habbit is established and some walking or activity three times a week. Your bodys metab goes into over drive for like 72hrs, so that is wht every other day should be good for most. We are in control of our weight loss, not a pill or a shot... its just there to help but ultimitally we decide too losed weight as we do to quit smoking or stop drinking or even giving something up for lent... its about the mind and inner soul. I wish everyone the best of luck, and note that all products are not made for all of us. Find your happiness and you will achieve anything you want!! Good luck everyone! I will post after I have tried them and have given it a week. Good luck!!!!!!

posted Feb 12th, 2009 9:53 am


Kate

I bought this today and I'm ecstatic!! This is the answer!! Who would have guessed! Two simple little creamers and my appetite is much reduced, no jitters, I ate less, and the taste is not as bad as eveyone says. Just swallow it and have something handy as a chaser.

I can't tell you how excited I am. I'm going to look great this summer!!! Wow!! At last!!

posted Feb 11th, 2009 9:12 pm


Kate

I bought this today and I'm ecstatic!! This is the answer!! Who would have guessed! Two simple little creamers and my appetite is much reduced, no jitters, I ate less, and the taste is not as bad as eveyone says. Just swallow it and have something handy as a chaser.
I can't tell you how excited I am. I'm going to look great this summer!!! Wow!! At last!!

posted Feb 11th, 2009 9:06 pm


jane

so i'm thinking about buying slim shots. i'm just wondering though after i hopefully loose the weight, and stop taking it will my cravings go back to normal?? any thoughts?

posted Feb 11th, 2009 2:14 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account