| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.


Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.


The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots,

Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 27, 529 total comments)


I started on Feb25 and I posted here about it. No more headaches after second day. I have to weight myself because I did not have the chance yet but i feel I might have lost a little, like 5 or 6 pounds. The good thing for me is I DO NOT FEEL HUNGRY like I used to. I have my slim shot with milk in the morning and then I only eat at lunch. I have a little snack around 4 because I always like having dinner with my husband, so i "save" my calories for dinner. Before using the product, I was hungry all the time and I needed bread and chocolate. Now I am fine. I do still have a little chocolate every other day, but that was dramatically reduced.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 1:50 pm


I tried them for the first time yesterday. I only took one in the morning when I ate. It worked through the day, But in the late afternoon I was starving. Today so far so good I have had 2. Hopefully it works I really need to lose weight. I did notice that I was really thirsty during the day so I did increase in water drinking

posted Mar 10th, 2010 7:05 pm


I have tried these too, I am not sure I like them I wish I had cought them on sale BOGO. I don't like the taste, also I am will try them again the correct way (for a week) then leave a real comment. But I see more yeahs...than I think it is a decent product.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:04 pm


I purchased these yesterday and followed the directions for taking it. Not only did it NOT control my appetite, but it gave me terrible abdominal cramps and diarrhea. I'm returning the product to the store today.

posted Mar 4th, 2010 12:03 pm


Just started using today. Do not have a problem with the taste (vanilla). Have headaches, even after aspirins. Had a shot with breakfast, kinda felt full a little faster than usual. Second shot at lunch. Felt hungry like usual until 3:30pm. Usuaalu feel hungry every 2 hours, but looks like I am gradually feeling less hungry. But it is just the 1st day. Hear that it could take a week to start seeing a big difference. Hope it works, will make the effort, want to lose 30 pounds with moderate exercise and hopefully, no dramatic dieting, just a little balance and healthy foods.

posted Feb 25th, 2010 5:09 pm


Ok..So I'm over it!! I've gained 55 lbs from 4 babies....Love my babies to death but hate the fact I've gained what I feel is so much weight especailly since I know I was 130 and 5'6 before I had them...I bought Alli and not sure if I wanted to use it...I like the fact that it is FDA approved but that is not going to help my over/stress related eating habbits, Alli is only going to keep me from absorbing fat from the foods..I need something that is going to supress my appetite I already have the workout thing down pack I work out 5 days a week for 45 min to and hr. Just that it doesn't do me any good when I snack on white sugars, white starches and just junk food period inbetween my healthy meals...seems like everyone response differently..I'm just hoping to God I'm like one of the ones that dropped the weight because I just don't have the will power ...will check back in 1 week for status update...wish me luck!!

posted Feb 24th, 2010 9:50 am


i just bought it today..took my first shot before lunch & i did eat a little less than normal, but not sure if it is me being aware that i need to eat less? not sure. going to give it a week and see how it goes. CVS has it on sale, buy one get one free..saved 40 bucks so if it doesn't work, then i am not out that much :) but I HOPE IT WORKS

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 3:24 pm


I used slim shots to help curb my appetite, in conjunction with increased exercise. I went from 148 lbs to 131 lbs within 3 months. It helped me eat noticibly less. After using the shots for a month and a half, I found I continued to eat less even without the shots.

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 11:32 am


i have been taking one shot a day for three days and i have lost 9lbs. i think the product is great. i take one in the morning and i don't feel hungry until about 3 or 4 in the afternoon. it has been weird though i have IBS and it is kind of curing it. i don't have to go nearly as often.

posted Feb 21st, 2010 3:02 pm

denise chavous

i love this product, i could feel it right away

posted Feb 20th, 2010 4:19 pm


I was just wondering if anyone knew of any drug interaction.I take heart medication and have other medical issues.i would like to know before i invest..thanks

posted Feb 19th, 2010 1:02 am


I just submitted a review and forgot to use my name. I think this product is great. I used it last year and dropped 40lbs. This year, after several months of not using it, I slowing gained about 10lbs. back. I started it again yesterday, taking it an hour before lunch and dinner. It works just as well as it did last year. I don't take it in the morning because I don't eat a large breakfast and have no great appetite in the morning. Love your product and I am glad there is finally something out there that one can fall back on easily and get back on track. Other diet aides get you to your desired weight, but if you stop them, the weight comes back on and more so.

posted Feb 18th, 2010 11:29 am


I've been using it for a week. Taste horrible, but easier to take straight while holding your nose than mixing it in a drink. I've noticed a decrease in my appetite and my hunger pangs are not nearly as strong as they used to be. For me, it's a keeper.

posted Feb 15th, 2010 9:47 pm

Ana Paula

Não gostei do produto.
Falsa propaganda, não funciona.

posted Feb 15th, 2010 7:06 am

Mary F

What are the negative side effects mentioned above in regards to ADD/ADHD? Does this pertain to those who take medication for it, or regardless due to the brain chemistry & an alleged interaction with aspartame??

posted Feb 8th, 2010 8:27 pm


Ok so I know I just posted, but I have to say that this product is like too good to be true! I have only been taking the one shot a day, I take it at lunch time so I will be satisfied at dinner. Breakfast isn't a problem for me and I like to wake up hungry and have a good starter meal. Anyway, the one a day is totally enough for me. I even feel less hungry in the morning. I hope that after a few months of this my normal eating pattern will be changed enough to where I don't need to use them, except on especially tempting days. I think I will always keep them on hand because for me they work in like 30minutes. Hope everyone else does well with them too.

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 10:13 am


Ok so honestly, it really helps! It makes you feel full really quickly. You can still eat, but you just want less. I love it! It tastes gross, but it's only one swallow. My advice, just swig it and then follow it with a chaser of some kind. It's like when I give medicine to my pediatric patients. Don't drag it out, just take it and get on with it! lol It's worth a little unpleasant taste for a few seconds. It kills your appetite all day - seriously!

posted Feb 2nd, 2010 1:01 pm


I am Going to buy it and drink it for the rest of my lifeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

posted Jan 29th, 2010 5:29 pm


First day using and I notice that I am still craving snacks throughout the day, but when I do eat I get full after eating about half as much as I usually do. If I try to eat like I usually eat then I get a really bad stomach ache, as if I ate way too much food.

posted Jan 27th, 2010 1:20 am


Still STARVING and therefore, eating as much as usual. Has NOT helped with my appetite. Also, it smells like Play-Do! And it tastes pretty bland; not bad, not good, just odd. I really wish they were using Stevia or even Splenda as a sweetener instead. If it is supposed to be helping people nutritionally, I don't understand why they would make such an unhealthy choice of sweeteners.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 2:31 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account