| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.


Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.


The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots,

Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 27, 529 total comments)


I bought it today and took it, and I am not joking, I went to the market an hour later, and I walked through the cookie and pastry aisle without any temptation to buy, and thats huge for me, cause I always always get chips or candy or some sort of junk food, and today I didnt want it. As for the taste, well, they are called slimSHOTS cause your supposed to drink it like a and quick...dont sip it. Wash it down with a quick drink of something, its not bad at all when you do it that way. I'll update in a week!

posted Nov 9th, 2010 11:09 pm


I've been taking it for abbot a week and a half and I think it works! I no I haven't taken it that long but I do notice it work. I notice I don't eat as much as I usually do and I only take one shot at lunch and it last all day, even at dinner i don't get hungry. And I did forget to take a shot for one day and i was still not that hungry and was eating less. So I do think it works. And I don't no if I lost any weight yet cuz I haven't weight myself and also i haven't do any kind of work out, but the slim shot itself is really helping out a lot. The taste isn't that
bad as some people say. It does have a bitter taste but not very strong. When I take it I just chase down with water or juice so The taste wont stay in my mouth. But overall I think slim shot works, I have had tried so many ways to loss weight all my life and this like the first product I think really works. But it does depend on some people too. But it works for me, and I had always been a big gal, and this product actually works.

posted Oct 20th, 2010 4:42 pm

tj clark

i have lost 6 pds. in one really has cut my appetite back alot. i dont even eat as much as i used 2...i hope this continues to work!!!!

posted Oct 11th, 2010 6:30 am


first shot i took i thought i was going to puke!! So like all things in life I improvised and I leave my shots in the refrigerator a half hour before i take them, even though it says refrigeration not needed on pacakge, it makes it taste much better. I've been on it for a week and a half and it has helped curb my appetite alot!! I don't go back for seconds at dinner because I'm full before I even finish my dinner to begin with. Yeah it affects different people and some of us can handle it,others cant it's life. I know what my weight was before I started, and I have 8 shots to go, so once I finish these, weigh in I will be sure to post again to see if the weight loss results have been affective.

posted Sep 26th, 2010 9:57 am


Hello, A few months ago I hit 220lbs. I finally decided to get with a progam and by keeping calories low I've lost down to 187lbs. I still have 40lbs to go and I've reached a slowdown. I was happy to read about your product and started taking it today. I'M NOT HUNGRY! I believe I will be able to continue getting healthy foods and low calories if I'm just not hunger driven--my spirits are lifted, I know I can make this work! I so appreciate being able to include your product in my diet process and ultimately success! No it doesn't taste good and I would appreciate your leaving the aspertame out. This is so bad for the body! However, I had my de-caf tea ready and then downed your product quickly. So far so good! I'll keep you posted.

posted Sep 17th, 2010 6:06 pm

23 old mom

i am a new mom and gain alot of wieght. I just tried the slim shots today, no side effects so far hope this works.

posted Sep 16th, 2010 11:22 pm


I recently started taking these slim shots and not only was the taste HORRIBLE!, but I got a very painful stomach ache that followed only an hour later. Now, I've never had diet pills before so maybe this is my bodies reaction to formula's like this. But, seriously ladies, it's not that hard eating smarter choices and trying to get some physical activity 3 times a week. I wish I could get my money back after buying these shots because They're not the answer to weight loss. I do NOT recomend these to anyone!

posted Sep 13th, 2010 2:20 pm


I am taking Alli and using slim shots. I take Alli with each meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and drink a slim shot with my morning and afternoon snack. I have lost 6 pounds in 2 weeks. I noticed that it takes about a week for the slim shots to kick in and about 3 days for the Alli.
I used to take phentermine (prescribed through my doctor) and lost 40 pounds. I could have taken another medication with it but it was really expensive so I opted not too. I tell you this because my doctor told me that Alli is the same medication as the expensive medication he offered me but half the dose. Alli is just packaged uner another name at half the amount of the other medication and sold over the counter. The other has to be prescribed. So I am working on my weight now...on my own...and having success.

Also...I don't work out. I walk MAYBE twice a week and that's it. I know I should exercise more but I HATE working out and I honestly don't have the time. Hope this information helps...

posted Jul 29th, 2010 4:39 pm


I like the drink but would like to add that I have been having this drink for a week and have noticed no change in my weight (which is a shame). Must say that I feel fuller most of the day and do not have snacks in between. can someone tell me what is the longest period when you can start noticing the changes.

posted Jul 28th, 2010 8:44 am


I just started Slim Shots yesterday morning. I am 24, 5'1, and weigh 135. I want to get down to 120. I took two of the vanilla flavor yesterday. The taste leaves an awful aftertaste, but not too bad. I think the taste had something to do with me immediately losing my appetite. I don't think that I will take two a day because it really upset my stomach. I'm still not hungry about 18 hours later, which can't be good, because if you don't eat anything, that can screw up your metabolism. I definitely won't be taking 2 a day, and I doubt I'll need to take one today. Truthfully, Slim Shots have made me nauseous. I threw up after eating an after dinner snack and am still not hungry. I realize that Slim Shots affects everyone differently, but I wonder if it takes your body a period of time to adjust to it. I don't want to feel nauseous all the time.

The cost is a little steep, but if you keep in mind that you eat 30% less, your food bill should be less. Especially if you are a constant snacker or fast food junkie.

posted Jul 23rd, 2010 9:08 am


Ok- today I bought the stuff. Was allergic to asparatime 25 years ago, but that was when I was living on it. I LOVE beer- I'm very active, in my peri-menopausal funk, and fat. I have about 25 pounds to lose (no, don't care about shooting for a size five-more like from a 16 back to a 12). I actually don't eat that much, but love a few beers a day. What does that mean? None of your business! This is an experiment, I guess. I'll keep you posted. Note: two weeks of slimshots for 20 bucks? That's some expensive asparatime!!!!

posted Jul 19th, 2010 4:23 pm


I've been on slim shot for two weeks now, and i haven't notice any significant weight lose (I only weight 130) but I have noticed that I am not eating as much. THATS the point isn't it.

I'll give it a couple more weeks to see how it goes, I guess that I'm not loosing as much as I like because I'm not huge to begin with. But the taste is not bad at all... Hopefully these bring me down to 120.

posted Jul 19th, 2010 1:44 pm


day two of slim shots ,i took my first one with my lunch at 11:00 and my second one in the evening 4:30ish the taste to me was nutty kinda like a strong walnut flavor. i did eat less and it didnt effect my sleep at all. i will report back in a week.

posted Jun 30th, 2010 12:37 pm


i just bought slim shots chocolate after reading a lot of positive reviews i will keep you updated on my results. i plan on using it in combination with a low carb eating style.

posted Jun 29th, 2010 10:32 am


Waste of money. I do not see any difference.

posted Jun 27th, 2010 9:33 am


I am 'boarderline' diabetic and wanted a little extra help to cut my appetite. After taking a shot I became hungry even so close to having had a good breakfast. At noon taking a second shot I became ravenous again soon after a god lunch. Thinking it was just a fluke I followed directions and took a couple more shots the next day. Same results! And adding insult to injury was weight gain. This diet aid just did not work for me and I will research ingredients a lot more closely for anything I try in the future!

posted Jun 23rd, 2010 1:07 pm



posted Jun 9th, 2010 9:17 am


Is this stuff supposed to be thin and oily? the package says it is creamy but the shot I opened was oily with residue around the rim. Not sure if this is good or spoiled.

posted Jun 3rd, 2010 5:53 pm

jst me

I think this product was not worth the price, i just recently tried them for about 39.99 for a box of 30. i tried to refrigerate them and thought they might not be so bad. well first shot in the morning, a horrible taste. i felt like i had drank lotion and oil. discusting. i honestly had to get sick litteraly. never took it again i returned it, it made me feel aweful. to top it off the date on the box was from feb of 2010 i bought in may 1 2010..... thats probably a reason why it was so aweful. but wouldnt try again. one time is good enough. i do have to say however from the way it made me feel and upset my stomach i have had to eat light and easy meals so i guess ill loose weight that way :)

posted May 28th, 2010 3:33 pm


I bought this product because my biggest problem with keeping my weight down is EATING! I exercise regularly and have good tone for my size, but I never seem to lose weight. I am hoping the Slim Shots will help curb my appetite at least a little!

posted May 18th, 2010 1:56 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account