Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 18, 341 total comments)

40 Fresh

Januarary of 2009 I weighed in at 255 lbs, I worked out and lost about 24 lbs by April, In May I did this liquid diet for a week and a half and I lost 16 more pounds. I felt so small and healthy and Ive gotten so many complaints. Now Im going to do it next monday 12/07/09 for a week and a half and do then start working on my abs. It worked for me

posted Dec 2nd, 2009 7:56 pm


shawn

I will be strarting this diet on 10/26/2009 I am 6feet tall 275 pounds my goal weight is 225 i wiil be back in 14 days with the results.

posted Oct 23rd, 2009 10:53 am


Bonnie

Decided to start th detox today since I bought all the ingredients last night.

So far so good. The drinks taste grows on you.

Finger crossed it goes smoothly, at least I have the long weekend to stay in bed if I feel like crap.

posted Oct 9th, 2009 10:05 am


Bonnie

My friend and I will be starting the lemonade detox soon.

FYI using an item such as Simply Slender from GNC is a complete contradiction to detoxing - I looked at the ingredients and Fructose is at the top of the list. If you seriously want to detox you need to remove any fillers and toxins from your diet.

I would recommend after detoxing for the 10 days trying The Diet Solution Program and/or reading The Fat Burning Kitchen.

These programs are all about eating nutritionally dense and organic, grass fed meats, eggs, products that are as close to natural as you can get. The also explain the harm of eating Soy, using sugar substitutes, using margarine and pasteurized dairy. It is amazing to learn what these things do to our bodies.

Without making some real changes to your eating plan, the detox won't last very long.

posted Oct 8th, 2009 3:35 pm


lindalove

I like the concept. However the diet lacks the nutrients that are needed to keep from feeling dizzy or weak. They are alternatives on the market now that provide these nutrients. One I like is Simplifast. Its an All natural Fasting Beverage. Not only does it contain high levels of vitamins, it also has electrolytes and 11g of fiber. Nothing quite like it. It taste really good too. Another thing i like about simplifast is, it is ready to drink. I have a busy schedule and dont always have time to mix stuff, nor want to. It comes out cheaper to buy it made than to buy everything separate too. I lost weight and feel better and sleep better. I have made it part of my regular daily diet now, with no regrets.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 4:45 pm


tammy

I tried a beverage called Simplifast. It is the lemonade diet already pre-mixed, and ready to drink, comes in 3 flavors, and 100% all natural with 11g fiber and all the vitamins and electrolytes in it so you dont get dizzy or weak like Sophie did. I lost a lot of weight, and feel the best is so long. I drink one for breakfast every morning now, as suggested and eat what ever I want the rest of the day. I still feel great and have not gained any weight back. This stuff is really addictive, delicious, and I can't live without Simplifast. Its cheaper than the others too.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 3:13 pm


???

i dont get how it works... but to each own..

posted Sep 1st, 2009 1:13 pm


Ru

I did the Lemonade Diet for 10 days in October 2008 and lost 10 kilos. I am still trim and I recommend it 100%. My doctor couldn't believe my heart rate 115/70 and overall health is now excellent.

posted Aug 25th, 2009 1:40 am


Jane

Its not a DIET its a cleanse. Its not meant to make you lose weight so much as it is meant to get the toxins out of your diet.

Maple syrup is put there so you can survive so stop worrying about the calories. If you want to lose weight make a lifetime change because the minute you come off this thing you will more then likely start EATING again and therefore bloat and gain ten pounds when you were trying to lose five.

I'm on the fast as we speak and I'm doing it to cleanse my body not to lose weight.

posted Aug 21st, 2009 4:29 pm


Janine

just started the detox today so far so good hope i can last the 7days

posted Aug 16th, 2009 7:48 pm


Janine

Just started the detox today so far so good hope i can last the 7days atleast

posted Aug 16th, 2009 7:47 pm


Amy

Hey, I am 18 and I am 5foot and weight 134 and meant to weight about 115 or something.
Does this diet taste okay?
And where can i find the exact measurements and stuff?

posted Aug 5th, 2009 5:09 pm


Bec

I got medium maple surup and its 220 calories per 1/4 ! is that the same as the grade b im worried about drinking so much calories or is this how the diet works?

posted Aug 5th, 2009 2:30 pm


beccy

I couldnt find grade b so i just used another kind medium its 220 calories per 1/4 ! , is that the same with the grade b

posted Aug 5th, 2009 2:28 pm


Cat

I'm at the end of my 4th day and have stuck to it perfectly. I've added some freshly squeezed orange juice to the salt water so I don't gag!! I'm not hungry but I do crave food... strange! I'm going to try to obstain from food until 7 days.

Congrats to all of those that are doing so well!! Hopefully the results will pay off for everyone!! :)

posted Jul 18th, 2009 7:19 am


holly23

Okay I am on day 6 and so far so good, I haven't weighed myself since I've been on the diet but I don't feel like im lossing any weight most people say they loose weight right away but I feel like I haven't lost any...I have a few questions for those of you who have success on the diet. But first I would like to say I started at weighing 147 and im normally 120(before the babies) so I would like to loose 20pounds, I haven't ate any food I drink about 6glasses of the lemonade which is all organic a qt of salt water in the morning and a organic laxative tea @ nite but I just want to know

1. Do you need to drink more water to max your results.

2. Do you have solid bowel movements(poop)

3. If so do you have them 2-3times a day?

4. Do you exercise regulary?

Someone please help me!!!!!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 12:02 pm


originalamy

You can do the lemonade diet in 2 days with David Kirsch's new LemonAid Detox. I've done it twice and had great results. Physically, I've trimmed my tummy and cleaned out my system. I've been able to jumpstart healthy eating habits and my skin has improved.

I don't think I could do 7 days of this and with this product I don't need to!!

posted Jun 24th, 2009 4:44 pm


Sabrinee

hey guys,

i want to start this in a couple of days. im just really worried about putting the weight back on. for those whove done it, did you find you could keep the weight off when you went back to healthy eating?

posted Jun 14th, 2009 10:14 am


lm

I love this Detox. I had a trip coming up to the beach last month so i decided to do this detox before starting my diet. Well i started it in March weighing 195 by the time i finished in April i was 168. And no i didn't do it constantly trought the two month. I did it the first time for only 4 days and i lost 8lb then i rested for 1 week just eating right. then i started it again and this time i did it for 8 days (will power is a most) and lost another 8lb(i did cheat this time i had fruits and row foods when i felt i was going to die lol) and then i took another week. Started it again and this time i actually keep it up for the 10 days and lost 11lb. So there you have it i lost 27lb in a period of 2month. I know it was not healthy doing this but hey! desspred times call for desspred measures lol. Now it's been a month sense i return from my trip and i only gain 5lb and have been eating what i want but i don't eat as much any more. Going to do it again, hoping to lose 30lb

posted Jun 7th, 2009 11:42 am


tntp09

Your article sucks! You won't starve yourself on the master cleanse. It's not a diet, it's a detox program and the weightloss is the benefit of the toxins leaving. When you starve yourself you're hungry but you're not starving on the master cleanse. It's also jumpstart to help you change your eating habits.

posted Jun 6th, 2009 8:42 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account