Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 18, 341 total comments)

Alaska

I'm on my day 5. So far I've lost 7 lbs. I'm using cayenne pepper caplets ( the lemonade was waaaay to hot for me ) Day 3 and 4 were the worst. Headache, hungry and cold all the time. Today I'm still cold but not so hungry anymore.
I don't do the SWF, I take dulcolax before bed with mint tea. So far so good. I feel great, more energy, lighter in my step and flatter stomach.... what's bad about that?!
If you don't try it, how can you say you can't do it!?

posted Apr 16th, 2010 4:30 pm


truda

Hi everyone,

I tried this diet for 3 days sometime back and starved for food after the 3 days and gave up, i guess i didn't put enough effort into it. This time i am goin to do it for a full 2 weeks and exercise 3 times a week. I know i can do it

posted Apr 10th, 2010 5:22 am


Michael Mandarino

This is my third time doing it! And I love it!

posted Apr 6th, 2010 4:04 am


Lauren

I'm at the end of day three. I had lost a total of 7 lbs at the beginning of the day! I haven't been hungry. As soon as I start to feel hungry I drink the lemonade. I only drank four gasses on day one. On day two I had herbal tea with the maple syrup. I am now drinking the lemonade without syrup and alternating with herbal tea in which I do use the syrup saved from the lemonade. It's fabulous! I have a few types of herbal tea so I dont get bored....I have to tell you day one and half of day two was really tough.As a coffee drinker My head was killing me and I had no energy. All I wanted to do was sleep. By the middle of day two I felt much better had a little more energy and no headache but I have a backache that is really painful. It made it very difficult to sleep last night and it hasn't gone away yet, so I am drinking lots of water and hoping for the best. I really hope it's gone tomorrow! This is really easy to be on other than some sideffects. I can't believe how fast the time is going!

posted Apr 3rd, 2010 11:32 pm


LauraV

the reviews on this diet make me want to do it evn more!!

i've cant help but eat rubbish food.. hopefully this diet will flush all the bad stuff out, make me lose a some wieght as well as turning me against junk foods!

im scared ill give up after a day :( any tips?

posted Apr 1st, 2010 10:40 am


Marleny

I am on day two of my diet and so far so good. I am getting used to the SWF and I have to admit that I love what it does. I love that I see the results of the flush right away. I am not drinking the lemonade as much as I should. Yesterday I only drank 4 cups. Today I will try to drink a lil more. I drink lots of water and water with lemon. I also had an herbal tea last night. I wanted to ask if its ok to susbstitute the lemonade drink with water and tea? For some reason I can not drink 12 cups of this thing. Other then that I am doing great. I really think I can finish this detox diet as planned.

posted Mar 27th, 2010 11:47 am


Alexis

Hey, i have heard that the less you weigh the less weight you will loose on this diet. is this true? if so can you do more exersise to boost the weight loss?

posted Mar 26th, 2010 10:52 am


Marleny

I am starting my detox diet today and I am excited. It will be a challenge but it is one that I am willing to take on. I am 5'4'' and weigh 157 pounds. I have been feeling really bad lately because I hate looking this way. My goal is to get down to 135 pounds. I hope this work. I will keep everyone posted.

posted Mar 24th, 2010 3:53 pm


Christina

Your welcome(: You can drink extra water as you wish.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 12:52 pm


mia

Thank you so much for your response. I am drinking my tea now. Thanks again...

posted Mar 8th, 2010 11:13 pm


Christina

Hi mia
I'm now on my 8th day of this. You don't have to do the salt water flush. But you do have to have a bowel movement at least 2-3 times a day. A cup of seena tea smooth move at night before bed will work just fine.

posted Mar 8th, 2010 5:00 pm


mia

I am starting this today and was wondering if you have to do the salt water flush? I have read you shouldn't. Also, can you drink water throughout the day as well?

posted Mar 8th, 2010 11:14 am


Christina

Hi Everyone
I'm now on my second day of the this lemonade diet. I'm really nerves about not eating anything at all but I'm still going to give it try since there has been some good feeback. Day 1 was hard since my family were eating pizza infront of me. ):
But I'm really going to stick to it for 10 days. I did get hungry ....I found that each time I get hungry I just drink a glass of the lemonade and hunger goes away.
I'm 164 lbs after havings my 2 kids back to back 11 months apart. I hope this will help me to jump start into a healhier lifestyle. I will weigh myself at the end of 10 days.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:59 pm


Britnee

I started the diet less than 24 hours ago and I've already lost 4 pounds. The cayenne pepper makes my throat a little scratchy but the tea makes it feel better, but no complaints here, 4 lbs. in 24 hours is amazing. I'll be doing this for 10 days, I'll check in at halfway and when I'm finished.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 5:14 pm



MandieTooey

Thank you Jewell for that, i'll bear it in mind!

And i started this diet today, much to my mums disapproval slating it 'disgusting' 'inhuman' and 'bad news' but im desperate to lose this weight.
i jog too so hopefully i can keep it off! :) any pointers anyone? x

posted Jan 30th, 2010 7:55 am


Jewell

On this diet now. The fiesrt time I lost 10 pounds but wasn't educated to know how to continue without the juice. I gained 15 pounds back in a snap.

I have since educated myself to include walking or dancing in the mirror for 30 minutes a day, learning the right foods to eat and committing myself to this for life.

So far I have lost 3 pounds in 3 days and I feel great! I want to try the simplified diet drink to include in my daily diet once I'm done and based on my schedule, i will drink it for my last meal of the day instead of breakfast.

I suggest that if you make this drink at home, to use the freezer to turn it into slush form. It tastes so much better. Also remember to stir or shake your pitcher before you pour. Someone asked about not using the cayenne pepper. It's important to inculde it because it helps with the cleansing process and it helps me burn and sweat more during my walks. Do not exercise heavy, just dance, walk or do extra chores to get your heart rate up. When your're done after 10 days, add more.

I learned alot from my first mistake to not let this happen again. Please remember, there are no diet claims to this, but with dicipline, it's the best thing out here and it's cheap to do. Good luck!!

posted Jan 29th, 2010 4:45 pm


missm

I have been on this diet for 8 days. The first 3 days were horrible. I was sooooooo hungry, but I stuck with it. By the 4th day I was feeling great. I have plenty of energy and I haven't felt sluggish at all. Is the seena really necessary.? I don't like the taste. I am gonna do this for 14 days . I love it!

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 5:51 pm


Donna

Simply Slender VS mix yourself? I have tried this fast many years ago and made the mix myself. I lasted about 7 days and felt great. I am going to try it again but now I see there is a product called Simply Slender, a premixed version where you add your own water. Reviews say it tastes horrible but I wonder if they have never tried this fast before and expected a typical lemonade drink? It sounds much more convenient. If you have tried both versions I'd like your opinion on using Simply Slender. Thank you!

posted Jan 11th, 2010 9:53 am


Maria

I just got back from the grocery store with all ingredients and I'm starting "The Detox" tomorrow morning. I'm sipping on the herbal tea now. I'm 5'3 and 158lbs. I've been feeling sluggish and bloated and after reading the positive reviews decided to give this a try. I'll repost in 2 days with my progress, good luck to all trying this.

posted Dec 14th, 2009 11:40 pm


Ramnuts

can you drink coffee with this diet

posted Dec 5th, 2009 4:58 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account