Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews
Lemonade Diet

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit

How Does Lemonade Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Lemonade Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 18, 343 total comments)

Promise

I started the diet today..and i thought.. Ya this is a great diet i can do this. Untill i had my first swip of horrir. Ah..the salt water is a killer. I have done cleansin diet before and they really work.
___I feel better knowing im not doing this alone___

posted Jul 2nd, 2011 1:27 pm


Kristine

+

I am 5'4" and currently weigh 145 lbs. I have tried every diet this past year to lose the weight and have been unsucessful. If anything, I have gained weight and am at a plateau,

I have read all about the Lemonade diet and read alot of reviews. The reviews have been helpful. I bought all of the ingredients today. I drank the herbal laxative tea tonight, and it was not bad at all. I dread the salt water mix in the am. Yuck! I plan to follow this diet strictly for the next 10 days. My goal is to lose 10 lbs and lose the muffin top! I hope I can stick to this. Sounds like the first few days are the hardest. I stocked up on Tylenol just in case I get headaches. I will re-post my progress in a couple of days. Wish me luck!!

posted Jun 27th, 2011 11:14 pm


lisa

+

it was hard for me the first day. After 3 days I lost 5 pounds!!

posted Jun 16th, 2011 8:15 am


Sue

I went on this detox simply to rid my body of all the sugar. I lost 12 lbs in 9 days. The first 7 I kept very strict with the tonic, on day 4 I got lightheaded while driving scary, on day 6 I came walking down my hallway going to go shopping I got so OFF balanced I couldnt even focus on the TV I was so scared. My husband ask if I wanted to go to the ER, I said NO but I really meant yes, scary!! Be prepared. I think it was from doing a heavy workout 1/2 hr. before. I say DO NOT do any heavy workout you don't have enough in you to handle it, Really I was terrified, but feel a little better knowing others have experienced this as well. So dummie me started again today, a little nervous about feeling weird again but will shoot for 3-4 days MAX. I gained back what I lost being a dummie, its easy to keep it off cause you do not want to pollute your body with bad things anymore. It changes your thought on food, believe me, My problem is CANDY! Another thing I do know someone "personally" who is 76 years old he was a diabetic, after this he no longer takes insulin when he was insulin dependant 4 X's a day. Since Diabetes runs in my family I thought this cleanse would give me hope of NEVER becoming a diabetic!
Good luck to all just be cautious!

posted Jun 15th, 2011 3:30 pm


Cococolie

+

I might as well stick a straw in the ocean & sip away. This Salt Flush is horrid, but hey, no one ever said dieting was easy. The Lemonade part of the equation was cake, its this salty mixture that I'll have to force down 2 times a day for the next twelve days. Just recently I gained 30 or so lbs, one day it was just BAM. I'm starting at a whopping *COUGH* 176. My goal is to eventually get down to 120, I have a wedding in 12 days so I'm trying to lose as much as possible for that, then continue on with my weight loss, so I'll keep you guys updated. :) Happy fasting everyone!

posted Jun 13th, 2011 8:41 pm


Andrea

I am 21 yrs old and weigh 197..last month i weighed 208 lbs..i lost some weight with Zumba..this is my first day on this diet and when im feeling hungry i just drink and it goes away...hopefully i can manage to do all 10 days :-)

posted Jun 11th, 2011 8:30 pm


pretania

i love this diet cause it really does work.

posted Jun 7th, 2011 1:56 pm


Rose

?

im planning on starting the diet next week but do you think its safe for a 13 year old??

posted Jun 4th, 2011 5:21 pm


sue

I am starting the cleanse again. Did it in December and I went from 144 to 119 lbs. I've gained a few am now at 128. So I still kept off 16lbs in total. I would like to get down to 110 this time and level it off at 115 after the cleanse. Anyone who says this cleanse causes you to loose mere water weight is completely wrong! I'd recommend this to anyone. Yes it takes dicipline and naysayers usually don't have that ability to see through it! But yes I cheated a little. Couldn't keep going to the store to buy lemons so I used concentrate. And I used a different grade of organic maple syrup cos that was the only one they had in walmart. (small Southern town). And I did eat an apple or two in those 2 weeks when I lacked support and felt weak. Overall, this is certainly the best 'diet' I have had. Quick results but not for the faint hearted!

posted Jun 4th, 2011 12:53 pm


lori

+

Started today. Weigh 136 lbs. Will try it for 10 days.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 3:36 am


Jesskayy

+

Started the diet Sunday weighing in at 173 and it's Tuesday afternoon weighed myself and I've lost 5.6 lbs (167.4 now) i wanna get down to 155. I honestly didn't think this would work so I only bought a little bit of the stuff I needed but now I'm going back to buy more so I can continue. I have been working out and eating right for the past few months and it was like my body would just not go under 170 so when stepped on the scale and saw 167.4 I was shocked (: this diet is kinda easy I still think about food and get a little dizzy and headaches but I haven't cheated at all. The salt water flush is disgusting! This morning was the first time I did it and omg it was gross and thank god I didn't have work or school cause they do not lie when they say make sure you stay by the bathroom. I can't wait till it's over so I can see how much weight I've lost. To anyone who wants to try this just try it and give it a chance, I love it! (:

posted May 31st, 2011 3:18 pm


Tammy

I am 52 nd MUST LOOSE 25 LBS.so Doc says and I want to. I have a small body type and have always weighed 105 to 107 and healthy. I also for more then 10 years lifted weights,aerobics,treadmill,chuck norris and stair stepper. hurt my leg and haven't done this in a year. Is there anything I can do to make this easy on me??????

posted May 31st, 2011 6:33 am


Taz

its my first day of fast......... hv a severe headache n dont know until wen i will be able to continue.......... u guys out thr who carried it for long....... donno how u ppl managed?

posted May 30th, 2011 5:12 am


Adrianna

+

Does this help for a women who had a c section???

posted May 29th, 2011 4:25 pm


Natasha

+

Great diet works great

posted May 23rd, 2011 1:19 pm


lexie

I am on day 5 of the diet. Have lost 7 lbs !!! Not as hard as I thought it would be. The lemonade actually tastes pretty good and it does stop the hunger pangs. The salt water in the morning is really hard. Have not felt light headed at all and when I don't eat I usually get headaches...have not had any!! Going to do this for 10 days. Just wondering how often you can do this. Would like to do 5 to 7 days once a month.

posted May 13th, 2011 5:36 pm


Jessica

+

So, I just started yesterday, mid day around 1pm Its been 24 hours now, and i have to say I think Im doing pretty well... I dont mind the lemonade mix, its not something i would crave by any means... BUT.. its not that bad... the worse part so far is the Sea Salt that you drink in the morning, I had to do everything to keep it down... HORRIBLE... I have already lost 2lbs... I cant believe it... Im going for just the 10 days and see how I feel and whether or not I will proceed... Food cravings arent that bad... I mean... Im not really hungry... but when I open the fridge I think MMMMMMM that looks good ... but I just try to stay busy and keep my mind off of it... Hardest part I think wil be when I cook dinner for my family tonight... Tacos ... my favorite :(

posted May 12th, 2011 1:36 pm


brandy

I am about to start this diet. My current weight is 149 1/2. I'm 5'4 and wear size eight jeans. Want to loose at least ten pounds. Will let you know how my progress is.

posted May 10th, 2011 6:15 pm


Cherry

?

What is the "salt-water flush"? Hi, I want to start the diet on monday, but I keep seeing talk about a salt-water flush? What exactly is that and when do I have to do it? Thank you in advance :)

posted May 7th, 2011 10:47 am


amy

+

There is scientific evidence.
The salt, from the salt-water flush, is a proven bacteria killer. ( washing out your toxins)
Lemon, when in your stomach, turns from acid to alkaline because of chemical change in your stomach. Alkaline will, like a kid of soap, wash out your stomach.
Cayenne pepper has many natural benefits, you can fined these online.
REMEMBER: USE GRADE B ORGANIC MAPLE SYRUP. This has proven benefits - Google it! :D

posted May 4th, 2011 2:06 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




text

Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Lemonade Diet?