Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 18, 341 total comments)

Neetse

lemonade diet question i want to start the diet and have been reading a lot of reviews. To start with its difficult to find the organic marple syrup around and i have looked around the west rand area and midrand. i have the urge to loose, am totaly overweight. where can i get the marple syrup and when do i use the supplements.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 9:17 am


David

I am on day 2 of this diet and I feel fuzzy. My mind feels slow to react to things but so far so good. This diet is not meant to make a person lose weight but rather clean out there system. This is a good way to start a healthy life style .

posted Aug 30th, 2011 4:04 pm


Anna

To anyone reading, I strongly advise you to NOT try this diet for the following reasons: You will most definitely lose weight (I lost 15 lbs during the 10 day period.) And your bowels will be cleansed of any residual waste that may have built up in them over the years. However, the weight will promptly come back within a month or two, and you will be much flabbier than you were before and it will find it much, much harder to lose it than it was to lose the leaner muscle that you had before the diet. The most harmful effect of this diet is that your digestive system will have become dependent on laxatives and you will suffer from bouts of constipation for years to come. My daughter and I have been working on restoring our good health for two years now after ruining it with this cleanse. DON't TRY IT -PLEASE!!

posted Aug 25th, 2011 9:32 pm


Tim

I'm on day 5 of the diet. I'm using a Senna Stimulant Laxative Tea at night that does the trick. No way I'm doing the salt water flush. First 3 days were good. Yesterday I felt a little anxious so I'm going to cut out the morning work outs. Hope I can make it the 10 days without any more anxiety spells (came in the evening/night). I'm down 13 pounds already in 4 days.

posted Aug 21st, 2011 8:40 am



Val Bradley

When you finish the lemonade fast...be prepare to start a eating regime. lose the bad habits or you would did it for none. It will come immediately back...make sure you prepare for the aftermath. vegetables/fruits/water/drink protein shakes.

posted Aug 18th, 2011 5:28 pm


Tiff

Does the weight stay off once completed? or does it come right back?

posted Aug 17th, 2011 11:07 am


emabully

Eeep! Just started my first day on this diet today. Think the drink taste just fine, but I haven't done the salt water yet. Mostly because I just don't have the time in the morning to wait around for a bathroom trip. Is it possible to take it at night?
Going to my step-class tonight and is a bit worried about preforming badly. We'll see. Altho I have not been hungry at all. I assume tomorrow will be worse.Good luck everyone.

posted Aug 16th, 2011 11:06 am


Chelsie

Excited to start the lemonade diet? I'm starting this detox diet tomorrow. I'm super excited seeing how I just had two babies in a row and am 45lbs over weight. Im hoping to knock out 20lbs with this diet. Going to get the ingredients tonight. Will check in through out my time. Planning on 10 days!!

posted Aug 14th, 2011 4:07 pm


This is rubbish

Basically... let me put this to you the right way... There is no way to lose fat on a diet as such as this. You don't lose fat, you lose muscle and as soon as you're off this diet, you will put that weight back on really fast because your body rebuilds the muscle that had been lost.

My suggestion is cardio and if you do wish to go on any diet... reduce your fats and carbs and up the protein intake.. you want to keep your muscles while reducing the total fat. Keep in mind that before you start any diet, always remember to consult your GP. I'm not saying dieting won't reduce your fat... it will, depending on the diet itself...

The main piece of information you need to know is as so: Fat loss will only occur when: Energy used> energy consumed... simply means burn more calories than you consume and do not ignore your daily intake of recommended micro and macronutrients. Good luck all

Source: I have lost around 30-40lbs of fat and it definitly was not bloody easy...

posted Aug 10th, 2011 6:02 pm


ligia

I started this detox on the 11th of July and lost 20.43lbs I have another 20 days which am hoping to loose another 20lbs.
its getting difficult now, as am tired of drinking the lemonade

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 9:32 am


donna

Can you tell me, is it a nessesity to part take in the salt flush, not sure I could do that.

posted Jul 30th, 2011 11:59 am


Assert

I am doing this for 40 days or until I lose 35 lbs. Have done this in the past and starting tomorowm

posted Jul 28th, 2011 7:59 pm


Jasmine

so today is July 25th and im starting the lemonade diet. i havent done the flush today im going to do it tommorrow morning. its so hard when you're trying to diet but have ppl around you eating and saying that you cant do it. i have no motivation at all ffrom anyone. but when i rfead these posts i start to kinda get motivated. im going for 7-10 days. but i cheated today and ate a bagel smh. idk why i did that i feel so bad just bad. but im gong to work it off tomorrow and keep telling myself over and over that I CAN DO IT!!!. the only thing im a little afraid of is the SWF but im going to do it anyways ughhhh.MOTIVATION MOTIVATION MOTIVATION..I CAN DO IT!!!!!!!

posted Jul 25th, 2011 8:03 pm


aisha

I'm on 230 in 5'7 in trying to lose weight and also clean my body and I want started the lemonade diet what all do I need in what to expect

posted Jul 14th, 2011 2:40 pm


Ashley D

My husband and I started the Master Cleanse today. The salt flush was pretty yucky to drink (it just doesn't taste right to drink salt water) but I did it- drank 320z in 30min as directed. I was amazed at the "flushing" affect that soon happened. I have drank the lemonade all day and to my surprise it taste good. Every time I felt hunger I would drink a glass it made the hunger pains go away. I do have a headache tonight... I am assuming my body is already detoxing (coffee and wine which I consume often) Will keep you posted on Day 2 tomorrow!

posted Jul 13th, 2011 10:12 pm


Tammy

Just started this morning. I did the salt water flush and even though it didn't taste good, it was better than I thought it would be. So far whenever I feel hunger, I drink the lemonade mix and I'm fine.

posted Jul 12th, 2011 2:22 pm


phmintz

I did this last year and it was fantastic. I had more energy than I knew what to do with. I am 51 years old and weigh 300 lbs. I figure it is time to start my diet right. I will do this diet for 21 days then I will gradually add fruits and vegetables, I think I am going to stay off of meat for a while. I think I will get my protein through eating beans. I figure with this diet I should lose weight and feel better. I did this diet last year and I felt wonderful. I remember going to a church social and playing softball, even being overweight and not exercising much I decided to play ball. I hit the ball and ran all 4 bases and to my surprise I wasn't gasping for breathe like the younger folks were, that made me a firm believer about this diet. So that is why I chose it now, to kick start a permenent diet. Well good luck everyone. I am in this diet for 21 days I will keep you posted on my progress.

posted Jul 11th, 2011 2:04 pm


Ashley

I liked the diet. I lost 14 pounds in 10 days back in october. However, I didnt stick to just the diet. On day 2 I was at my friends apartment going insane by her chinese food smells so i slipped up and ate an egg roll. I also worked out so I drank protein shakes and ate apples before and after my work out. My body felt so refreshed after this diet. I'm starting it again today

posted Jul 6th, 2011 1:21 pm


Promise

I started the diet today..and i thought.. Ya this is a great diet i can do this. Untill i had my first swip of horrir. Ah..the salt water is a killer. I have done cleansin diet before and they really work.
___I feel better knowing im not doing this alone___

posted Jul 2nd, 2011 1:27 pm


Kristine

I am 5'4" and currently weigh 145 lbs. I have tried every diet this past year to lose the weight and have been unsucessful. If anything, I have gained weight and am at a plateau,

I have read all about the Lemonade diet and read alot of reviews. The reviews have been helpful. I bought all of the ingredients today. I drank the herbal laxative tea tonight, and it was not bad at all. I dread the salt water mix in the am. Yuck! I plan to follow this diet strictly for the next 10 days. My goal is to lose 10 lbs and lose the muffin top! I hope I can stick to this. Sounds like the first few days are the hardest. I stocked up on Tylenol just in case I get headaches. I will re-post my progress in a couple of days. Wish me luck!!

posted Jun 27th, 2011 11:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account