Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 18, 341 total comments)

Mary

I am starting the diet in the morning, i tried it last summer, and only lasted 3 days, but I am determined this time to go at LEAST 5-7 full days. I had a question though, isn't it true your stomach shrinks a lot so when you go off of it, you DON'T want to eat at much? So it is possible to loose the weight and keep it off with calorie watching & exersize?

posted Feb 24th, 2009 3:55 pm


junior

i started the diet like a year ago but i only lasted a couple of days i love the taste and im re doing the diet today is my first day. i plan on stickin to it for about a month since spring break is around the corner im 178 i wanna get down to 160

posted Feb 24th, 2009 10:00 am


Nique

Well, it's day 7 and I've lost 14 lbs. I work out every other day and I try to stick to the diet the best I can. I haven't drank as much lemonade because I'm always on the go. I decided to cut back on exercise because when I did exercise, I felt faint. Well, three more days to go until finished. :)

posted Feb 22nd, 2009 7:16 pm


Nique

Today is my third day.. I weighed myself last night and I had already lost 5 Ibs in just two days! I decided not to work out yesterday to be on the safe side. I'll probably work out today just to push it along more quickly.

Day 1: 3Ibs
Day 2: 2Ibs

posted Feb 18th, 2009 10:10 am


Nickie

Hi Everyone....

I've read most of the postings on here and so far the reviews have been good. Today is my first official day starting the lemon detox. I'm hoping to cleanse my body of toxins, clear my skin, and loose some weight during the process. My boyfriend is totally against this but i'm hoping to prove to him that it's not just another diet fad. Wish me luck!

posted Feb 17th, 2009 3:27 pm


Nique

Today is my first day. So far I've drank 3 cups and I'll be going to the gym probably everyday this week..which kind of concerns me, but I'll try not to over do it. I'm pretty active, so I'll probably lose over 20 pounds in the 10 days. I'm going to do the ten straight days, stop one or two, then do another 10 days straight. So far, I'm not hungry at all, but I know day 2 and 3 are usually the hardest. Wish me luck!

posted Feb 16th, 2009 4:26 pm


moe

hey im on my first day im now 199.8 not good so i really like it .....doesnt taste bad wish me luck

posted Feb 16th, 2009 3:36 pm


Elmerelm

HeyGuys I am just checkign back in 3 weeks after I came off the cleanse. I have kept 10 of the 18 pounds I lost off. the 9 I gained the 2 days after the cleanse have stayed off. I have been eating healthy and exercising and I feel really good. Good Job Bree keep eating healthy and the weight will slowly come off. Remember it took you years to get heavy it will take months to get light.

For those that keep sasking questiond read through the posts all your questions have been asked and answered by others. It you are serious about this cleanse then take some time and READ!!!

posted Feb 13th, 2009 8:09 pm


timieka

I am looking for more information on the product simply slender

posted Feb 9th, 2009 11:39 am


Bree

OFF- in officially off the cleanse. I came off of it last night.. cause thats how i started. but It took a lot! it was hard but i did it and im so thankful!! i hope i can at least keep 15 of the 20 pounds off. IM dieting so i think i can. im aiming to loose about 25 more pounds. not with any cleanse just good ole fashion excercise and dieting. anyways. Good Luck everyone!

posted Feb 6th, 2009 12:09 pm


Bree

Day 10- i didnt drink to much of the lemonade yesterday. I was really busy. I drank maybe 2 water bottles. just the little ones.. ugh. i feel weak and lazy today. but im down to 19lbs :] and its only ten thirty in the morning!! i bet i can loose that other pound by tomorrow!! yahh!! i went out with my friends last night and they kept saying you look so skinny!! blah blah it make me feel so good. i feel like i could keep going. I wonder if i should go five more day. loose ten more pounds.. eh eh? lol i dont think so i can do that by excercise and dieting. hopefully.

posted Feb 5th, 2009 12:32 pm


Bree

Care-
Normal salt is IODIZED, sea salt is UNIODIZED that means no iodite has been added you want uniodized, but sea salt. but either way ive noticed when I do the flush i dont loose as much. i loose one pound a day verse 2 - 2.5lbs.

Rachel-
1.- your suppose to drink roughly 60-100ounces a day close to 60 if its a weight loss your looking for. higher if its just the cleansing you want.
2. get the salt water down quickly as possibly. chugg is the best cause its washing out your intestines and rectom
3. Do it in the morning before you drink any of the lemonade. your suppose to be empty.

Day 9- I've lost almost 17 pounds.. im like .3 or something away :] and its still morning. So if i can loose 1.5 today and 1.5 tomorrow ill have lost 20lbs!! woohoo its so easy this last few day. Im thinking i should go longer. but i have a sushi date with my husband this weekend lol. I dont know. I just feel like i could easily keep going. The first 6 days were so hard for me but now i feel great. im a little sore cause the past 2 days ive been running on the olyptical. which i normally dont do.. im very unactive lol. but im glad this has worked for me. :] im going to keep it off! im going to stay under 1200 calories a day. because even though ive lost nearly 20 lbs. i still have about 25- 30 more i wanna loose. which i know i can. I just gotta stick to it. good luck everyone!

posted Feb 4th, 2009 11:04 am


Vanalynn

Day 2 - I have already lost 3 pounds.
The simply slender does suppress your appetite. So far so good. I am only doing this for 4 days.

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 10:43 am


care

So Am i suppose to use sea salt for the salt water flush? bc I am on day 2 and gained two pounds and i think it's because i used normal uniodized salt.

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 5:13 am


Rachel

i just started today.
I just have 3 questions.
How many times a day do i drink the mix of 2 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tbsp maple syrup and 1/10 cayenne pepper?
and do i chug or sip on the salt water flush?
and when is the best time to use it?

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 7:31 pm


Bree

Day 7: so its 2:30 here. Ive lost 13.5 pounds. I did the salt water cleanse.. i noticed when i do that.. i dont loose as much? i think im not going to do it till day 9 or 10. just clean everythine out. but I ran last night for 30 minutes.. didnt make a differnce on my weight loss. or maybe it did cause i took the salt water. I dont know im going to run again tonight. But it really wooped me lol. Good luck everyone!! stay strong.. Oh i had tomake some cookies today for my moms birthday HOLY CRAP, I thought itd be pure torture.. It is getting to the point where its really not that bad! Im glad :] Thursday will be my last day.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 4:36 pm


Vanalynn

I am starting the diet in the morning. I bought the stuff from GNC, simply slender - like the lemonade diet. A little nervous. I will definitely be writing on here.

posted Feb 1st, 2009 9:35 pm


Bree

Day 6: its only 10 o clock, but ive lost 12 pounds.. thats averaging two pounds a day so far. But its only the begining of today so i might loose a little more. I dont know I feel really weak today though. ughhh but i'll stick to it. my goal from this cleanse was to loose 15 pounds and that will be probably in one to two days... I think im going to start running. my father in law did for thirty minutes every other day during his five day cleanse and lost 4 pounds the days he ran. Amamzing huh? Anyways even if i get to my goal before the ten days is up i think im going to keep going till ten days. unless i keep feeling weak like this. But i didnt drink some of my drink after 5 last night i just came home and showeered read watched some tv then was ready for bed. Thats probably why. I havent done the salt water flush in two days. I just did it this morning. hopefully it works :] anyways Good luck everyone. ill write later tonight hopefully.

posted Feb 1st, 2009 11:54 am


Bree

Day 5 9.5 pounds lost.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 10:09 pm


Bree

Day 4: Ive lost seven pounds. And I can tell im really cleansing now. i want to eat everything lol i read that when the toxins start to come out you crave. and boy every thing i look at i want its ridiculous. and only seven pounds.. ugh. i want to be down 15 pounds by the time this is over. I woke up this morning though and id gained a pound and a half over n ight wierddd. But I lost it during the day. thank goodness :] My husband is being so sweet. hes very understanding thank goodness cause all ive been doing is b**ching about food lol. I love him to death. anyways Hope everyone is doing good.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 12:04 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account