Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 18, 341 total comments)

ElmerElm

My Final results.
Well guys I stopped on day 8. I was weighed at work and made it so I went back to regular food. I lost about 18 lbs over 7 days. I only lost 1.5 lbs th elast 2 days. My metabolism finally slowed down and stopped burnign calories. I was also worried about losing too much lean muscle. My tongue was still really gross so maybe there was still toxins in my body. Nothing gross ever came out of my intestines, but I don't eat very much red meat so I don't think I have anygross build up. I gained 9 lbs back after 3 days back on food. I lost 2.5 inches from my waist as well. So there you have it I did 7.5 days lost 18 lbs and 2,5 inches and felt pretty good duing the whole thing.

Good luck to all you other foks just starting out.
Elmer

P.S. Be sure to watch the Steelers beat the Cardinals on Sunday!!!!!!!!

posted Jan 30th, 2009 12:27 am


Bree

Day 3: I am down 6 pounds and counting!! woo hoo. My father inlaw is doing a 5 day cleanse and he's lost 15! freakin crazy. when he excersiced he lost 4 pounds those days. Insain. I think im going to throw some in with mine. I wasn't going to because i figured working out would make you hungery but he says hes not so ill give it a wirl. see if it give me that great of results. Anyways this mornings sea salt wasn't as bad. I think i was prepairing myself for the worst lol. I really can't stand green tea though. it just tastes bitter and ickyyy!! anyways Keep up the good work!!!

posted Jan 29th, 2009 12:07 pm


Bree

Day 2 : i just did the salt water flush. UGGGH! that stuff isn't pleasant to take down! but im already down 2.5 pounds lol I know thats just water weight right now but still im excited. Yesterday was fairly easy till i went to beauty school and ran out of the lemonade.. YIKES.. i was starving by the time i got home. And as my laxitive tea im drinking green tea instead.. its really good for you BUT DANG thats almost as bad as the flush lol. oh well everyone hang in there!! :]

weight:186.2

posted Jan 28th, 2009 12:41 pm



osoblesd

My goal is to lose 44 pounds and reduce my body fat from 40% to 30%. For the past three weeks I have been power-walking on the treadmill. I now walk between 3 and 5 miles every other day.

I have started the Simply Slender lemonade diet today (with two glasses down). I am concerned with the limited caloric intake while on this diet.

Does anyone else exercise during this diet? How does it affect your performance? Do you have to modify your routine in any way?

posted Jan 28th, 2009 11:08 am


Kym

Okay guys,

Today is day 5 (30 minutes from day 6) and I am not really hungry any more, I have lost a total of 10 lbs, and the headaches that I had for the first couple of days are not an issue anymore. I look forward to day 6 tomorrow, and look forward to loosing atleast 10 more pounds.

posted Jan 28th, 2009 12:31 am


Bree

Hey guys This is my First day doing the cleanse. Im really excited. I actually really like it. Well I guess better words are i dont mind it lol. I think that everyone needs to realize its 1/10 of a tea spooon of cayanne not 1/10 of a table spoon. I dont tastes it to much. or maybe i do i dont even know i think i taste the maple more. maybe i should limit it more.. i read the book and it said people who wanna loose weight should drink closer to 6 glasses. Anyways i feel find today. my tummy has grumbled a bit but im so dedicated. I need this. Im 21 years old. I just had a baby 6 month ago im sluggish i just feel ugh. I wanna loose some weight and have energy i think this is a great way to jump start it.

im 5ft. 5inches.



day one: weight 188.8

posted Jan 27th, 2009 4:13 pm


trisha

can anyone tell me how much liquid is in a quart (ltrs or pints )please

posted Jan 26th, 2009 7:01 pm


ScottyB

Day 6 - Going 10 full days. Hunger is not an issue. I look at good foods, and if I smell them - its enough for me. When Im done im going on a vegetarian diet! Note - get grade B - its less refined meaning there is more minerals and vitamins, which you r body will need. As far a caplets for pepper - less effective, but I like hot foods. If you can take it straight - it will be better for the cleanse... I do the swf every morning - takes an hour to get it out. Have seen some very nasty things come out of me day 4 and 5 - convincing me there was build up in my intestine.. Good luck everyone - I know its hard - but stick with it. If you want to lose more weight, drop the amount of syrup - I use 2/3 cup per day (10 8oz glasses) and do ok. Feel alittle tired? Stick your finger in the syrup and have a little taste - but onyl do this if it feels like an emergency. Part of the diet is like atkins - your eating the fat off your body countering the loss of sugars for energy. Take too much sugar, and your body will think you have it as a supply again, and wont east off your body.

posted Jan 24th, 2009 7:06 pm


Kym

Oh Yeah,
I purchased the Grade B Maple Syrup, I will make my 2nd batch of this lemonade (right now) , I drink about 60oz. per day.
But it appears that the Grade A Maple Syrup works just as well.

posted Jan 24th, 2009 6:54 pm


Kym

Okay, I OFICALLY started this dies on Friday 1/23/09 ( drank 17oz. of the Lemonade on 1/22/09 late in the evening just to see if i could stomach it. Today is Saturday 1/24/09 and I have lost (according to my scale 5lbs.)
The first 48 hours of this fast has been ok. Of course I was hungry (especially yesterda) but today whenever I have a craving for food, I simply drink my lemonade and my stomach appears to be satisfied. I am very optimistic about this dextox process. I believe that I can do it.
As for the taste of the Lemonade, It's really not that bad, this could be because of my love of spicy foods. To me, the drink is Spicy / Sweet and is quite enjoyable. :o)
Hmmmn, Let's discuss side effects.
The first 48 hours I have had headaches, and I sort of feel like I am hung over. With the two symptoms combined, I have simply taken several naps. On day one, I used the bathroom several times, and my urine was clear, I have taken the Move Smooth tea at night, and because I am constipated most of the time, it tooka about 20 hours to work on me. but It did work. I will take my second cup early this evening (6pm) in hopes that I have opportunity to do #2 at home before we go to church in the morning.

I will keep you posted

posted Jan 24th, 2009 6:51 pm


elmerelm

OK folks I am Home drove 2243 miles, and had nothing to eat except The Lemopnade. Iafter 96+ hours of no food My neck and waist are still the same. I did lose 11.5 lbs. I started at 270lbs and I am down to 258.5 lbs. That is while sitting in a car and doing nothing, but driving. I am home now and plan on going to the gym now. I have not been hungeryvery much. I am actually only drinking about 6-8 cups of the lemonade each day. I sip it because if I take a big swig it comes right out. My wife says my breath stinks and my tongue is grossly white. Nothing gross has come out of my rear.....yet. I am sleeping less. I usually sleep eat hours or more but I have been waking up earlier then I usually do. Energy is definitely not an issue for me. I'm actually almost done with day 5 so I'll give you a halfway report tomorrow.
Elmer

posted Jan 23rd, 2009 10:37 pm


Kym

I am beginning this diet tonite with Grade A syrup, I will pick up some Grade B tomorrow, and plan on staying on this diet for 10 days.. I had surgry on my ankle last year and have gained 20 lbs because of my inactivity. I will post my results.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 11:32 pm


Melissa

I am half way done with day 4 yippy. i'm pretty happy with myself for making it this far i'd like to make it ten days but well see. day three was deffinitly the hardest. it was hard to see my cousins come over and eat there 12 inch subs. LOL but today seems to be going pretty fast.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 1:06 pm


elmerelm

Well day three is done and I feel pretty good. Target only had Grade A maple syrup. I used grade A for 3 days I got some Grade B today from Trader Joe's. Everything I have read states that Grade B just has a stronger Maple flavor. I comepared the labels the was no difference between the Grade A and Grade B. Anyway I have driven 1800 miles in 3 days and I will be home tomorrow. I have had ample energy everyday and I have discovered you should sip the lemonade If I gulp it, it comes straight out my rear end. Anyway I started this Cleanse at 270lbs and my neck was 18.5" and my waist was 43.5" I will measure again tomorrow after 72 hours on the cleanse. I'll keep you updated.
Elmer

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 1:17 am


melissa

Well I found the tea at gnc but I didn't find the grade B at target or wegmans so i got grade A I hope it works just the same. I also found the cayenne pills and thats making my life way easyer. hope i make it on day 3 just about any food is sounding pretty good to me at the moment LOL

posted Jan 21st, 2009 10:28 am


melissa

I'm on day two i survived day one and i'm heading right into town to get the cayenne pills thank you guys for all your help I'll check at target for some grade B maple syrup too.

posted Jan 20th, 2009 9:25 am


elmerelm

Well day one is done I did pretty good no hunger and feeling ok I am going to sleep now I drove 530 miles today and I think the driving kept my mind off of the hunger. The salt goes down fine no issues it tastes a bit gross but what are you going to do. I have a feeling day 2 and 3 will be the worse. I let you know how it's going when I can.

Elmer

posted Jan 19th, 2009 10:48 pm


merc

I would not put the cyane pepper in the glass it tates horrible and is VERY HOT, I just take 4 caps. per day its much easier.....the lax tea you can get at any organic food store. Also the grad eB maple syrup can be found at Target in the syrup section

posted Jan 19th, 2009 10:18 pm


Janie

For those of you who can't find the grade B maple syrup, try getting the premixed version called Simply Slender. You can get it at GNC stores. You can also check the simplyslenderdiet website and find a store near you that sells it. It really worked great for me and I didn't have to track anything down or mess with sqeezing lemons.

posted Jan 19th, 2009 5:13 pm


Melissa

I'm on day one and just starting the sea salt wasn't the greatest but i did try putting some lemon in it and that helped alot I was wondering if anyone knew where i could get the lax. tea I tryed giant eagle and didn't find it would it be at gnc or wegmans? I was also wondering if you could not put the caynne in the lemon aid and just take the capsils 4 times a day?

posted Jan 19th, 2009 9:55 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account