Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews
Lemonade Diet

Lemonade Diet Review: Does it Work?

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Lemonade Diet is a weight loss fad diet that claims it can detoxify and cleanse the body. It’s also known as the Master Cleanse Diet, and it became popularized by the celebrity Beyoncé who also used it.

Only liquids are allowed and it claims it’s able to promote an improved digestive system for more energy, vitality, happiness, and overall health improvement. It was originally mentioned in a book but there have been numerous variations on this diet. Our review experts have researched many different dietsand the most effective for weight loss was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It combines an appetite suppressing meal replacement alongside a fat burning diet pill. Both have natural ingredients with no cheap fillers, stimulants, colors, preservatives, or artificial additives. Read more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Lemonade Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

For 10 days the goal is to only drink the following:

• Salt water mixture: 2 full tablespoons of non-iodized salt and a one quart of slightly warm water. First thing in the morning one has to drink this on a completely empty stomach.

• Lemonade drink: 10 ounces of spring or purified water are mixed alongside 2 tablespoons of either lemon or lime juice, a tenth of a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 2 tablespoons of maple syrup.  A minimum of 6 to 12 glasses need to be drank each day.

• A laxative or peppermint tea: The herbal laxative is needed for those who can’t have a normal bowel movement. It’s preferably drunk before bedtime in order for it to process fully by the body. Peppermint tea is also recommended as it can help reduce any bloating, stomach cramps, and nausea.

Under no circumstancesare there any other kinds of food allowed. This is to properly detoxify the body so it can flush out toxins and rejuvenate itself. After the full 10 days are done and weight loss results are achieved, it’s then advised to slowly introduce light foods such as soup, juice, raw fruits, and raw vegetables.

Our experts have compiled a best of list for the highest rated weight loss diets, read which make the list via this link.

It’s mentioned that side effects are possible, and that’s why they allow for peppermint tea and the laxatives. Possible side effects revealed by the official diet are:

• Nausea, food cravings, headaches boredom, nausea, and lack of a normal bowel movement.

It’s claimed that these kinds of side effects are normal, as it’s the body flushing out harmful toxins. This is not proven however. These same kinds of symptoms are possible from eating a diet that is rich in sugary maple syrup, acidic lemon or lime juice, and a diet high in sodium. It may also be due to the lack of sufficientvitamins and minerals.

A Dr. Hansa Bhargava adds:

“If weight loss is your goal, it may work temporarily. Anytime you limit your food intake, especially this drastically, you will lose some weight”

Other issues mentioned by the doctor are:

“problem is, you will losemuscle mass. This diet puts you at risk for nutritional deficiencies, too”

As far as sustained weight loss the doctor saw no benefit:

“you will likely gain the weight back really quickly once you start eating normally”

These are serious issues which show that this diet has not enough nutrition, calories, and an unlikelihood of promoting positive weight loss results.  This is why this fad diet has not been proven to be safe and effective. The doctor finally recommends:

“it is better to lose weight gradually with a balanced diet that makes sure you get the nutrients you need. Cross this one off your list”

For a comprehensive list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

Exercise is not mentioned by this diet, but it's unlikely with a 650 calorie limit that it would be advised.  Health US News.com adds:

“it may even be dangerous to exercise when you’re consuming so few calories. Ask your doctor before exercising while (on this diet)”

This can also potentially make it difficult to perform regular tasks as the caloric demands for both men and women are around 2,000.  The Lemonade Diet offers less than half of the advised daily amount for maintenance and proper physical functions. This can potentially lead to issues such as fatigue and brain fog.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Lemonade Diet Quality of Ingredients

While lemon or lime juice, cayenne pepper, and maple syrup can be healthy in moderation, relying on theingredients for weight loss is not a good way to lose weight. There are far too many potential issues with this mixture, as it does not have enough vitamins and minerals.

There’s also a need for laxatives in order to promote a bowel movement, as no solid foods are allowed on this diet. The fact that one cannot rely on their own body for a natural process shows how potentially unsafe this diet is.

There’s also a salt flush which can contain a large amount of sodium which can promote water weight gain. The extreme limit by eating only 650 calories is also another issue which can cause many side effects.

Better options for weight loss are available via the list of the top ranked weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Lemonade Diet

The price will likely be cheap since the bulk of the diet is limited and relies on the same basic foods. Howeverthere’s no evidence that sustaining oneself on these kinds of foods would be safe and effective for weight loss. Health experts have also agreed that this is simply another fad diet lacking in sufficient nutrition and calories.

Due to the many potentially side effects which can damage the body, there’s far too much risk involved with this diet.

Business of Lemonade Diet

The diet was first mentioned in a book called the “The Master Cleanse” which was published in 1976 by Stanley Burroughs. The creator has not provided any proof showing whether or not this is a safe and effective diet.

He has also been charged in many lawsuits for proving false and ineffective nutrition and health advice. He was a specialist in natural medicine, which is a field of medicine which his not accepted in the medical community.

Our experts have rated many weight loss diets, the best are featured in the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Lemonade Diet

Featured below are some reviews from users of the Lemonade Diet:

“This diet is very restrictive”

“I was miserable. I had no energy… felt like I wassuffering from a rare disorder”

“It’s mostly nonsense from those who don’t understand physiology or any aspect of medicine”

“The cleanse is not the best way to lose weight”

People often had extreme hunger pains from a lack of solid foods. There were major complaints as well from those who lose some weight but managed to pile it back on as soon as they ate normally.

The majority of users had trouble not thinking about food, and once they resumed eating they felt like they had to binge. Some failed to lose any weight at all.

Common symptoms were listed by users including nausea, headaches, fatigue, low blood sugar, mood swings, irritability, difficulty sleeping, and low mental performance. Some also experienced serious issues such as extremely low blood sugar and depression.

Click on the link provided here for a comprehensive listing of the best diets for weight loss.

Conclusion - Does Lemonade Diet Work?

The Lemonade Diet is similar to other fad diets which suggest limiting oneself to just a few foods. Only liquids are allowed, and the diet suggests only using it for 10 day periods. Since the caloric limit is 650 a day, this will likely result in weight loss. Any extreme caloric deprivation like this is known to promote weight loss. The issue is that it’s not sustainable. Many people have experiencedseriousside effects, and they also mentioned how all the lost weight returned as soon as normal eating continued. The diet has also not been proven to be safe and effective. There are health professionals who have concluded that this diet is not safe or effective. It enforces a strict lack of calories with very little to no nutrients.

Our experts have rated many kinds of diets and the most effective one for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. In it is a meal replacement for hours of appetite suppression as well as a fat burning diet pill. No added stimulants, binders, colors, preservatives, fillers, or any unwanted additives are included. They combine to help suppress appetite, burn fat, increase metabolism, and provide well-rounded weight loss support.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows customers to keep their money with no questions asked for an entire 30 days. To learn more about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link cited here.

How Does Lemonade Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Lemonade Diet
  • 36 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 18, 343 total comments)


Day 5 9.5 pounds lost.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 10:09 pm


Day 4: Ive lost seven pounds. And I can tell im really cleansing now. i want to eat everything lol i read that when the toxins start to come out you crave. and boy every thing i look at i want its ridiculous. and only seven pounds.. ugh. i want to be down 15 pounds by the time this is over. I woke up this morning though and id gained a pound and a half over n ight wierddd. But I lost it during the day. thank goodness :] My husband is being so sweet. hes very understanding thank goodness cause all ive been doing is b**ching about food lol. I love him to death. anyways Hope everyone is doing good.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 12:04 am



My Final results.
Well guys I stopped on day 8. I was weighed at work and made it so I went back to regular food. I lost about 18 lbs over 7 days. I only lost 1.5 lbs th elast 2 days. My metabolism finally slowed down and stopped burnign calories. I was also worried about losing too much lean muscle. My tongue was still really gross so maybe there was still toxins in my body. Nothing gross ever came out of my intestines, but I don't eat very much red meat so I don't think I have anygross build up. I gained 9 lbs back after 3 days back on food. I lost 2.5 inches from my waist as well. So there you have it I did 7.5 days lost 18 lbs and 2,5 inches and felt pretty good duing the whole thing.

Good luck to all you other foks just starting out.

P.S. Be sure to watch the Steelers beat the Cardinals on Sunday!!!!!!!!

posted Jan 30th, 2009 12:27 am


Day 3: I am down 6 pounds and counting!! woo hoo. My father inlaw is doing a 5 day cleanse and he's lost 15! freakin crazy. when he excersiced he lost 4 pounds those days. Insain. I think im going to throw some in with mine. I wasn't going to because i figured working out would make you hungery but he says hes not so ill give it a wirl. see if it give me that great of results. Anyways this mornings sea salt wasn't as bad. I think i was prepairing myself for the worst lol. I really can't stand green tea though. it just tastes bitter and ickyyy!! anyways Keep up the good work!!!

posted Jan 29th, 2009 12:07 pm


Day 2 : i just did the salt water flush. UGGGH! that stuff isn't pleasant to take down! but im already down 2.5 pounds lol I know thats just water weight right now but still im excited. Yesterday was fairly easy till i went to beauty school and ran out of the lemonade.. YIKES.. i was starving by the time i got home. And as my laxitive tea im drinking green tea instead.. its really good for you BUT DANG thats almost as bad as the flush lol. oh well everyone hang in there!! :]


posted Jan 28th, 2009 12:41 pm


My goal is to lose 44 pounds and reduce my body fat from 40% to 30%. For the past three weeks I have been power-walking on the treadmill. I now walk between 3 and 5 miles every other day.

I have started the Simply Slender lemonade diet today (with two glasses down). I am concerned with the limited caloric intake while on this diet.

Does anyone else exercise during this diet? How does it affect your performance? Do you have to modify your routine in any way?

posted Jan 28th, 2009 11:08 am


Okay guys,

Today is day 5 (30 minutes from day 6) and I am not really hungry any more, I have lost a total of 10 lbs, and the headaches that I had for the first couple of days are not an issue anymore. I look forward to day 6 tomorrow, and look forward to loosing atleast 10 more pounds.

posted Jan 28th, 2009 12:31 am


Hey guys This is my First day doing the cleanse. Im really excited. I actually really like it. Well I guess better words are i dont mind it lol. I think that everyone needs to realize its 1/10 of a tea spooon of cayanne not 1/10 of a table spoon. I dont tastes it to much. or maybe i do i dont even know i think i taste the maple more. maybe i should limit it more.. i read the book and it said people who wanna loose weight should drink closer to 6 glasses. Anyways i feel find today. my tummy has grumbled a bit but im so dedicated. I need this. Im 21 years old. I just had a baby 6 month ago im sluggish i just feel ugh. I wanna loose some weight and have energy i think this is a great way to jump start it.

im 5ft. 5inches.

day one: weight 188.8

posted Jan 27th, 2009 4:13 pm


can anyone tell me how much liquid is in a quart (ltrs or pints )please

posted Jan 26th, 2009 7:01 pm



Day 6 - Going 10 full days. Hunger is not an issue. I look at good foods, and if I smell them - its enough for me. When Im done im going on a vegetarian diet! Note - get grade B - its less refined meaning there is more minerals and vitamins, which you r body will need. As far a caplets for pepper - less effective, but I like hot foods. If you can take it straight - it will be better for the cleanse... I do the swf every morning - takes an hour to get it out. Have seen some very nasty things come out of me day 4 and 5 - convincing me there was build up in my intestine.. Good luck everyone - I know its hard - but stick with it. If you want to lose more weight, drop the amount of syrup - I use 2/3 cup per day (10 8oz glasses) and do ok. Feel alittle tired? Stick your finger in the syrup and have a little taste - but onyl do this if it feels like an emergency. Part of the diet is like atkins - your eating the fat off your body countering the loss of sugars for energy. Take too much sugar, and your body will think you have it as a supply again, and wont east off your body.

posted Jan 24th, 2009 7:06 pm


Oh Yeah,
I purchased the Grade B Maple Syrup, I will make my 2nd batch of this lemonade (right now) , I drink about 60oz. per day.
But it appears that the Grade A Maple Syrup works just as well.

posted Jan 24th, 2009 6:54 pm


Okay, I OFICALLY started this dies on Friday 1/23/09 ( drank 17oz. of the Lemonade on 1/22/09 late in the evening just to see if i could stomach it. Today is Saturday 1/24/09 and I have lost (according to my scale 5lbs.)
The first 48 hours of this fast has been ok. Of course I was hungry (especially yesterda) but today whenever I have a craving for food, I simply drink my lemonade and my stomach appears to be satisfied. I am very optimistic about this dextox process. I believe that I can do it.
As for the taste of the Lemonade, It's really not that bad, this could be because of my love of spicy foods. To me, the drink is Spicy / Sweet and is quite enjoyable. :o)
Hmmmn, Let's discuss side effects.
The first 48 hours I have had headaches, and I sort of feel like I am hung over. With the two symptoms combined, I have simply taken several naps. On day one, I used the bathroom several times, and my urine was clear, I have taken the Move Smooth tea at night, and because I am constipated most of the time, it tooka about 20 hours to work on me. but It did work. I will take my second cup early this evening (6pm) in hopes that I have opportunity to do #2 at home before we go to church in the morning.

I will keep you posted

posted Jan 24th, 2009 6:51 pm


OK folks I am Home drove 2243 miles, and had nothing to eat except The Lemopnade. Iafter 96+ hours of no food My neck and waist are still the same. I did lose 11.5 lbs. I started at 270lbs and I am down to 258.5 lbs. That is while sitting in a car and doing nothing, but driving. I am home now and plan on going to the gym now. I have not been hungeryvery much. I am actually only drinking about 6-8 cups of the lemonade each day. I sip it because if I take a big swig it comes right out. My wife says my breath stinks and my tongue is grossly white. Nothing gross has come out of my rear.....yet. I am sleeping less. I usually sleep eat hours or more but I have been waking up earlier then I usually do. Energy is definitely not an issue for me. I'm actually almost done with day 5 so I'll give you a halfway report tomorrow.

posted Jan 23rd, 2009 10:37 pm


I am beginning this diet tonite with Grade A syrup, I will pick up some Grade B tomorrow, and plan on staying on this diet for 10 days.. I had surgry on my ankle last year and have gained 20 lbs because of my inactivity. I will post my results.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 11:32 pm


I am half way done with day 4 yippy. i'm pretty happy with myself for making it this far i'd like to make it ten days but well see. day three was deffinitly the hardest. it was hard to see my cousins come over and eat there 12 inch subs. LOL but today seems to be going pretty fast.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 1:06 pm


Well day three is done and I feel pretty good. Target only had Grade A maple syrup. I used grade A for 3 days I got some Grade B today from Trader Joe's. Everything I have read states that Grade B just has a stronger Maple flavor. I comepared the labels the was no difference between the Grade A and Grade B. Anyway I have driven 1800 miles in 3 days and I will be home tomorrow. I have had ample energy everyday and I have discovered you should sip the lemonade If I gulp it, it comes straight out my rear end. Anyway I started this Cleanse at 270lbs and my neck was 18.5" and my waist was 43.5" I will measure again tomorrow after 72 hours on the cleanse. I'll keep you updated.

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 1:17 am


Well I found the tea at gnc but I didn't find the grade B at target or wegmans so i got grade A I hope it works just the same. I also found the cayenne pills and thats making my life way easyer. hope i make it on day 3 just about any food is sounding pretty good to me at the moment LOL

posted Jan 21st, 2009 10:28 am


I'm on day two i survived day one and i'm heading right into town to get the cayenne pills thank you guys for all your help I'll check at target for some grade B maple syrup too.

posted Jan 20th, 2009 9:25 am


Well day one is done I did pretty good no hunger and feeling ok I am going to sleep now I drove 530 miles today and I think the driving kept my mind off of the hunger. The salt goes down fine no issues it tastes a bit gross but what are you going to do. I have a feeling day 2 and 3 will be the worse. I let you know how it's going when I can.


posted Jan 19th, 2009 10:48 pm


I would not put the cyane pepper in the glass it tates horrible and is VERY HOT, I just take 4 caps. per day its much easier.....the lax tea you can get at any organic food store. Also the grad eB maple syrup can be found at Target in the syrup section

posted Jan 19th, 2009 10:18 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?


Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit

Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Lemonade Diet?