Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 18, 341 total comments)

Christy

Hi

To start on the lemonade diet you need:

Sea Salt
Maple B Syrup
Organic lemons

Since this diet is mainly for cleansing its best to go on with organic than with processed lemon juice. You can get the maple b syrup anywhere online. Sea salt is iodised salt that will not make you gain any water retention.

posted Apr 9th, 2009 1:58 pm


Arence

I will start doing it tomorrow but I will probably mix it up a bit of fresh fruit maybe a cup if I get hungry, my goal is to lose 10-15lbs in 7 days. I will let you all know how it goes.

posted Apr 9th, 2009 12:10 am


ashley

So I just started this yesterday. I expected to wake up starved this morning, however I woke up feeling great! It also might help that I have lost 5lbs already! However I haven't been doing the salt water wash. I am terrified at the though of it! Any input on how the cleanse works without the salt water?

posted Apr 7th, 2009 1:45 pm



crickett

does anyone know how long you can stay on this diet?

posted Apr 6th, 2009 11:10 pm



crickett

how much should i expect to loose in the 10 days and if i workout will i see a bigger difference? Does any one on here live in Indianapolis that would like to try the diet together?

posted Apr 6th, 2009 11:08 pm



crickett

I want to do this diet can anyone tell me where to find the grade b maple syrup in indiana?

posted Apr 6th, 2009 11:06 pm


Desiree

Congrats to everyone who lost weight!
I have a few questions...
1- what sort of salt needs to be used?
2-I have a busy schedule so can I make the lemonade a night in advance and if anyone has suggestions I would be grateful if you shared them :)
3-can I drink coffee or is the diet strictly the lemonade, salt water and tea?
4-I sometimes have trouble falling asleep, can I take niquil?
5-Any quick tips are welcome.

Thanks in advance!

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 2:38 pm


bella

Hi, i'm 15 years old. Do you think I am to young to do this? I'm mostly looking for the cleanse so should I limit the amount of days I do it? I am 15 and 5'10" 138 lbs

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 12:18 pm


Jason

The Lemonade Diet is so far been going well for me. I have lost 7 pounds in the past two days and I know a lot of this is water weight. However, I am doing this for the cleanse. I am on day 3 and I feel great! Its weird but yesterday I felt like crap.

posted Apr 1st, 2009 11:19 am


jess

im starting this diet in 4 days
and i just want to say congratulations to everyone
who did this diet and lost weight,
im going to try and do it for 2 weeks
and i want to loose 20 lbs
wish me luck :)

posted Apr 1st, 2009 2:04 am


jay

What is the salt flush and do you have to do it?

posted Mar 24th, 2009 4:21 pm


Patti

Day 1 and like the taste. Wish me luck. I will check back with feedback in a couple of weeks.

posted Mar 22nd, 2009 10:04 pm


Sunshine

Tomorrow is gona be 'The Day' Of My Lemonade Diet.



Wish me luck everyone !!

posted Mar 4th, 2009 4:29 pm


Miss Thomas

This is my 1st day on the infamous "Lemonade Diet" and everything is going pretty smooth. Started my morning off with the "Internal Salt Water Bathing" and it truly helps eliminate old waste in the body. I used my juicer to get more juice out of my lemons and it made more juice than I could squeeze from the lemon. To everyone keep going and stay strong... We can do this!!!!

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 6:48 pm


Allie

today is my first day and I can't stand the taste of it but everyone else is talking about how they like the taste, am i doing something wrong?

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 10:08 pm


Brittany

ok so I bought all of the ingredients for the lemonade. Im starting tomorrow with my coworker and I really hope this works! does anyone have the recipe if i want to make like 6 cups at once to take with me to work?

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 12:22 am


mickey

to melissa u not suppose to but im doing fruits and veggies because something about you body mass u can loose but i will do cardio everyday

posted Feb 26th, 2009 7:32 pm


melissa

I have a question. Am i suppost to eat while on the diet? I need your help.

posted Feb 26th, 2009 3:14 am


mickey

well im 20 from new orleans home of soul food and Cajun food well i started out as 198 down to 182 just diet and exercise along but now its gettin harder to loose weight i brought the simply slender from gnc ima start my diet tomorrow in the next three days ima get back on and let eveyone knoe how im doin i cant talk to my famly and friends about it they dont understand and they think im crazy for doing it well wish me luck from reading reviews it seems pretty rough ima stick it out

posted Feb 25th, 2009 9:05 pm


Nique

Mary

My roommate just came off this diet. He decided to do it for four days (since he isn't trying to lose much weight). He's been off for about a week and has gained 2 of the 12lbs he's lost. However, he works out a lot. You will gain some or all of this weight back if you don't watch calories or exercise regularly. I've tried similar diets and gained all the weight back within days, but I wasn't exercising regularly.

It's day 8 and I've almost lost 16lbs, I should lose the four onces by morning. Two days left, but I think I'm going to keep going. So far very good. I'm hardly ever hungry. it's crazy, I hardly miss food at all. I work at a coffee shop, so I'm always around cakes, cookies, mufffins, etc, but it doesn't bother me at all!

posted Feb 25th, 2009 2:28 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account