Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 18, 341 total comments)

Jaa

I had a date while on the diet, does that ruin the cleanising for me ?? please answer ASAP

posted Apr 1st, 2011 4:43 pm


Briana

Hey everyone I started the Lemonade diet today and so far I'm feeling a little lightheaded. Just 9days to go and I'll weigh myself!

posted Mar 28th, 2011 1:28 pm


Sue

Day 3, started at 130 am now 125. I still feel very hungry at times and keep drinking, and that feeling goes away. My main issue is my beer gut from excessive drinking and for the first time I am seeing it go down. 7 more days I can do this! Just looking at the physical results is giving me all the strength I need. This is amazing.

posted Mar 28th, 2011 10:25 am


JAY

Day 2 of the diet. So far so good I guess. Hunger pains (physical or mental) are not as bad as the 1st day, but when it hits, it hits hard. I get my will power by reading these posts. Down 5 pounds, so it's working!!!!

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:52 pm


Gina

Im starting this diet in four days! :) cant wiat but also nervous at the same time since i dont know what to expect in this diet... wooop!!

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:10 pm


Sue

I am on day 2 of the diet. The initial salt water cleanse was rough! Thankfuly I was on a day off. Had a headahe last night and drank another glass before going to bed much earlier than I usually do. Got up this morning feeling fresh! It feels amazing not to be controlled by my cups of coffee. So far I have lost 3 lbs. From 130 to 127. Fingers crossed I will reach the teens by day 10. This cleanse is an amazing experience, everyone should try it once in their lifetime, it makes you think twice about all the junk we've been feeding ourselves.

posted Mar 27th, 2011 1:18 pm


AFEYA

Day 2 of my diet. I've gone from 161 to 157. So thats 4 lbs. I only need to lose 11 more and I'll be set. I do feel light headed but I just drink some of the juice..and when i get bored of that I drink some Hot tea with the slim tea and maple. Reading this page is giving me motivation to keep going!!

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 9:19 am


Baba

I have done this diet 3 times for 10 days once a year for 3 years. It has worked miracles with my body and I feel funky fresh every time! and never once did I see those pounds I lost ever appear. I admit in winter i get carried away with my hot chocolates but I do the lemon detox in spring and I already have my summer body back which lasts till that cocoa starts singing my name again. I started off weighing 100 kgs and on my 5'1 frame that wasn't very healthy. So i tried all these different diets but nothing seemed to really work for me. I soon just rationalised my calories and ate what i felt like and exercised 30 mins a day I was dropping weight at a steady pace but i felt sluggish, bloated and i looked up detox one night and found the lemon detox diet. I decided I would give it a go, I couldn't do a salt water flush and never want to attempt to try it ever again but instead I had green tea which worked like a charm ;). I felt terrible for the first 3 days but started to get happy and energised by day 4 i stayed on the plan for 10 days and lost 10 kgs. I returned to my diet and the weight just kept dropping faster then before. So I decided to give my body a clean once every spring and i'm glad I do because now i am 55 kgs and proud

posted Mar 16th, 2011 9:11 pm


Sarah

Hey guys,

I'm now on day two and I'm feeling weak, light headed, nauseous and a bit disorientated. Apparently all this symptoms will go away in few more days. Will weigh myself on day 7 :)
Good luck peepz!

posted Mar 16th, 2011 5:37 pm


Luis

I know most won't believe me because I haven't read any reviews with my type of results... So I started the diet mainly to cleans, three days ago. My weight before the cleanse was 178! Anyways, I weighed myself this morning and lost 9 pounds!!! I really want to do the 10 days but don't want to look sickly after the cleanse. Keep in mind I'm a 5'10" male and am pretty happy with my weight. I did expect to lose up to 10lbs, but not on day 4!!! Ive read through the process over and over and don't see myself doing anything wrong. No headaches and only 2 to 3 bowel movements a day. Anybody have any similar results? Should I stop the diet or continue? I don't want to put my body thru any dangers risks so any info helps.

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 10:34 pm


gordita30

Can I drink Tea?

posted Feb 17th, 2011 6:09 pm


BL

Hey, I'm starting this diet this upcoming weekend, I'm a bit scared because last year i lost 20 pound just exercising and eating right and this year i started college and I gained 5 back , I'm not doing this paticularly to lose weight but to get rid off all the toxins and back foods that have been retained in my body, losing weight is an awesome benefit, but how do I keep the wreight off? I'm also scared of vomiting throughout this diet. Hope all goes well with this. If anyone could just let me have some tips on how to keep the weight off, that would be great!

posted Feb 16th, 2011 12:46 am


Karl

Ive done the diet several times over the last few years. Sometimes it works great sometimes not, but thats up to you. For me...I had to do the full 10 days, no partial meals or snacks at all, most weight loss and energy came in days 6-9. By ten I was ready to quit. Ive done it up to 13 days but started to feel tired and week by then. Best if you can get rid of all the food, snacks, ect from your house during the diet so you wont be tempted. Its hard with family members who arent doing the diet but if you live alone or family or roomates are doing it with you its much easier to stay focused. After the diet you must be careful what you eat and need to start exercising or you gain it all back quickly.

posted Feb 13th, 2011 10:46 am


Smiley

How often are u suposed to use the bathroom? I'm on day four and i don't feel like much waste is comming out? Thinking about having a colonic cleansing.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 10:32 pm


Katiuska

im a big soda and coffee drinker. i started this diet and by the 3rd day, i had massive headaches. i couldnt concentrate in class with such headaches so i quit it . my friend who was doing it around the same time said she would take some tylenol or something. but im not sure if we could .

for the past few weeks ive tried to stay off caffeine so ive started the detox again. im on day one. hopefully the headaches arent that bad.

i attend college. i cant afford not to be able to concentrate in class.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 4:23 am


Katiuska

im a big soda and coffee drinker. i started this diet and by the 3rd day, i had massive headaches. i couldnt concentrate in class with such headaches so i quit it . my friend who was doing it around the same time said she would take some tylenol or something. but im not sure if we could .
for the past few weeks ive tried to stay off caffeine so ive started the detox again. im on day one. hopefully the headaches arent that bad.
i attend college. i cant afford not to be able to concentrate in class.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 4:21 am


Nelly

Ok So I never did any diets in my life. I never feel the need too. We went to Mexico for 2 weeks and well u can guessā?¦.. came home with extra 10lb. I was looking for something thatā??s all natural and thatā??s not expensive to cleanse my body. My friend adviced to try the ā??liver/gallbladder cleans. So I tried it and I tell you it was difficult for me. I didnā??t feel eating for the next 3 days which encurreged me to start this Lemon cleanse. Because I had just come out of the liver cleans this was easy to start.
P.S: Liver cleans is done with Epsom salt/olive oil/grapefruit. My friend did this diet to and she couldnā??t wait to eat so be carful what you do to your body and not everyone reacts the same.
This is my 4th day on this diet, I donā??t feel hungry. I am worried because I can still see my fat stomach ļ? I lost 5lb this is workingā?¦ So exited for my selfā?¦.
P.S donā??t forget the morning salt very important and wake up early if you work so u can be all finished with the toilet by the time u have to go to work ļ?

posted Jan 26th, 2011 7:55 pm


penni

It's a fab idea for a detox..or if you are in a serious rush to shift some weight. have done it a couple of times over the past 2 years and on both occasions noticed the difference in my energy levels and my skin was so much fresher looking but the downside is when you eat anything and i really do mean anything, the weight just piles back on. so for a detox-cool but that it.

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 8:54 pm


miki

Cleaned out my system, hand rash that I have been living with for 4 years and a couple of warts have gone away, and have lost 10 lbs but my husband who was 45 lbs overweight lost 17 lbs.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 10:12 pm


Randy

I did this cleansing for 10 days a coupl eof yeas ago to cleanse my body of aspatame. My high blood pressure was immediately returned to normal and my hyperthyroidism was gone with surgery averted. This fast completely changed the way I think about food so the lifestyle change listed under "con" is a "pro" for me. good side benefit is that I also went from 242 lbs to 225 lbs. It works.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 10:50 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account