Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 18, 341 total comments)

Yazmine

i want to start on the cleanse, i am 15 and i go to school. i was wndering if i can do it during school, and i also play soccer is tht o0kay? im just afriad that i will like fart out of no where, or go to the restroom during class, and i dont want to faint whiloe playing soccer. so can i do it during school?

posted Dec 31st, 2010 1:44 am


cat

i am on day three and so far so good,i avent weighed my self yet but i can feel the changes,my tongue is groslly white,headaches,i felt weak in the morning but am now cool.am looking forward to rid my body off the junc food ave been having the last 12months

posted Dec 14th, 2010 1:15 pm


Lisa

Day 1!!! havent done the salt water flush thinking about it tonight but have a massive gag reflex!! any tips??! also can i have some success tories with a start and after weight? im 136llbs (9st 10) wanting to get down to about 8st 7 so to loose about 17llbs. has anyone of the same size managed to loose much on this diet?!

Thanks :)

posted Dec 7th, 2010 10:43 am


fabio

Am on day 7 on the lemon detox diet.

Now, I don't feel weak and I dont have a strong craving for food yet.

PRO: I feel light ,I can concentrate more clearly and I have good energy balance.

CON: Day 1 was the worse for me with big headaches and vomiting. From day 2 it started to feel better and better.

Now I feel a bit down as I was a foodlover and it started to be all a bit dull.I just think that at the end it'll all worth it. By the way not a big weight loss yet,maybe 2 or 3 kilos.

posted Nov 28th, 2010 12:35 pm


Amy

Hey! I'm on day one and i havent eaten all day. i took one small bite of a protein bar out of weakness but i hope to do better. I did eat 2 hard boiled eggs, is that bad?? ahh someone help me haha.
day one and day 2 are definitly gonna be the hardest! :(

posted Nov 15th, 2010 11:39 pm


MARISOL

I LOST 10 POUNDS IN 5 DAYS..

posted Nov 9th, 2010 9:08 pm


marisol

i been in this diet for 5 days and lost 10 pounds ..i love it....

posted Nov 9th, 2010 9:06 pm


BKM

My husband started the diet today. This is the 4 the time he is doing it. He loves it. He says that he feels great when he does this cleanse. I decided to do it with him. I couldn't go past 4pm =(. I decided to eat at 4 now I wish I didn't. I am going to try starting again tomorrow. I am really praying that I won't give into eating this time and i will go through with this.

posted Oct 11th, 2010 7:14 pm


christina

End of day 5:-] days 2 and 3 were the worse especialy the evening of day 3.i was tempted to give up and eat had a bad headache but im glad i kept going day 4 was much better and today i felt great lots of energy(exercised on minitrampolin).no hunger.got a few spots though on my face and neck but i know this is a sign of the toxins being released through the skin.i lost 5 kilos so far :-0) sweating a lot so have to shower at least 2/3 times a day.half way there! 5 more days to go.good luck to all who are doing it or are thinking of doing this detox.dont give up its tough for a few days but when you get to day 4/5 you will start seeing results and feel great.i will come back in the next few days to report on the progress.

posted Sep 7th, 2010 6:04 pm


christina

I did the lemon detox a year ago for 8 days and lost 8 kilos.the first days are the hardest but by day 4-5 i had a lot of energy.i walked for an hour everyday while doing the detox and felt fine.its so amazing to see the transformation from bloated to toned in such a short period of time.im doing it again, today is day 1.for those who dont like the cayene pepper you can use ginger instead.you can drink as much water as you like as well as the lemonade.and you can drink herbal teas, in the book it recommends taking peppermint and camomile.but you shouldnt take any vitamins or supplements..when i completed the diet last year i started juicing(using recipees from Jason Vale's juice yourself slim) and a healthy dinner and kept the weight off.its a great diet to do if you plan to continue a healthier lifestyle afterwards.it worked for me.i didnt do the swf i take a laxative tea in the morning and one at night.it will work if you do it.read the book if you can and prepare yourself before starting.i use 'madal bal' maple syrup.hope it helps.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 4:51 pm


Haron

Hi everyone!!! Im 15 years old, I know yall are all prob thinking im kinda young to be doing this but I dont care! I really want to loose weight before school starts : ] Im on day 3 now and already lost about 6lbs! And the crazy thing is im not hungry at all,I just have cravings when i see or smell food. And i also work at McDonalds so its really hard for me.The first 2 days of the cleanse I did have a migrane but alot of enegry, but today on day 3 It is gone. I plan on doing this diet untill September 9th,which is the first day of school! My start weight was 226, And I wll be back with me results September 9th! And good luck everyone, you all can do!!! LOSE THAT WEIHT!!! : D

posted Aug 9th, 2010 5:03 pm


Lina

Yes. This cleanse works. I have just completed day 10 of this detox. And have gone from 172lbs to 160 lbs. But now the hard part is coming off the cleanse. But first let me explain how I came about this cleanse.
Ok, so I have struggled with my weight for awhile. And one day I saw this "master cleanse" diet on the television show "The View" and they mentioned that many celebrities have gone on this cleanse and experiences tremendous amounts of weight loss. I couldn't help but think, "duh, of course they did, there not consuming any food". Later on after doing some research on this cleanse. I realized this is a detox cleanse, not a 'diet'. This diet should not be done for fast weight loss. As you can't just follow the cleanse for 10 days and then jump right back to eating food. After 10 days of the cleanse you can only consume fruits and vegetable juices for the first couple days, then raw vegetables. And after 4 days you start to consume small of amounts of meat. If you rush into eating large amounts of food, you can interrupt your digestive track and may cause it problems. It is very important that everyone is aware of that.

posted Aug 1st, 2010 8:00 am


Cherylina

I purchased the book and planning on giving this diet a try. I have a bad feeling out being able to follow through. I tried Atkins and couldn't make it past the 4th day b/c of the migranes I was getting. Is it ok to take OTC products during the cleanse? Just some advil or something to help get through it. I imagine that OTC stuff would be toxic as well and not allowed.

posted Jul 23rd, 2010 5:18 pm


falki

i want to start this diet, but i cant find cayenne pepper anywhere. does anyone know a substitute for it.

posted Jul 13th, 2010 3:09 pm


Emile

I was wondering, If you take the cayenne caplets instead of the pepper in the drink How many a day do you take?

posted Jul 10th, 2010 9:04 am


sidhu

hey guys ! i know a lot of you prb wont care BUT im going on my diet tmrw ! and im so excited cause im going to vegas in 10 days ! so i hope i can do ATLEAST 7 days, and im planning on starting the gym right after ! thaaanks - nav :)

posted Jul 7th, 2010 12:11 am


mj

i did the lemonade diet for 15 days and i went from 63kg to 55kg. which is 8kg, which is about 16pounds. But i had my moums cooking 2 days after the diet, then i gained 5pounds in three days, but now im maintaing my weight at 57.5kg. will start gym too. My skin is looking fantastic.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 10:38 am


meghan

Hi Im thinking about doing this diet and I was wondering if I had to read the book before starting it, just so i know what to do and what not to do!?

posted Jun 2nd, 2010 1:53 pm


shannon

i just am starting the diet so do you just drink the lemonade drink mix and NO food ? and also kinda gross but do you end up running to the bathroom every five minutes ? its the beginning of summer and ive been under a lot of stress and need to shed some pounds right now!! need that boost of confidince .help

posted May 19th, 2010 10:59 pm


Alaska

I'm on my day 5. So far I've lost 7 lbs. I'm using cayenne pepper caplets ( the lemonade was waaaay to hot for me ) Day 3 and 4 were the worst. Headache, hungry and cold all the time. Today I'm still cold but not so hungry anymore.

I don't do the SWF, I take dulcolax before bed with mint tea. So far so good. I feel great, more energy, lighter in my step and flatter stomach.... what's bad about that?!

If you don't try it, how can you say you can't do it!?

posted Apr 16th, 2010 4:31 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account