Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

32%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Review: Does it Work?

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is a weight loss solution that requires users to drink a vinegar solution before meals. No official guide is offered to help explain what is needed to follow this plan, but there are simple suggestions made.

There is no added meal plan and instead it’s advised to eat in moderation while using this diet. Apple cider vinegar has become a popular holistic food as it’s claimed to be able to promote many health benefits. Our review experts have analyzed many unique diets and they’ve concluded the best overall is the 18Shake Diet. It ranks high in customer satisfaction due to its appetite suppressing meal replacement and fat burning diet pill. They help to increase weight loss without the use of stimulants, artificial ingredients, or fillers. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you click on the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The outline for this diet is simple, it has no official recipe, meal plan, or menu offered. It’s only advised to eat in moderation and to avoid snacking.

One has to take 3 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar around 15 minutes before eating a meal. One teaspoon is advised for first time users of apple cider vinegar, as it can be difficult to swallow. For a comprehensive list of the highest rated diets, click on the link here.

The reason why this diet was created was due to a 12 person study which showed that people who ate white vinegar with bread felt fuller than those who only ate the bread by itself. Still, it’s inconclusive since there were only 12 participants.

This diet is also said to increase overall health, though any weight loss benefits are said to be gradual and not all encompassing. It still requires having to control calorie intake, though no suggestions are offered as to what one should eat or how limited one’s food selections should be.Therefore, there’snot much available support given to followers of this diet.

Web MD also cited a study which used vinegar as a weight loss tool:

“175 obese but healthy people tool either vinegar or water daily for 12 weeks. Their diets were similar”

“At the end of the study, those who used vinegar lost slightly more weight on average. The vinegar group lost 1-2 pounds over the 3-month period. They gained it all back after the study was over”

While this study did show someweight loss, there wasn’t much benefit to it. A small 1 to 2 pounds of weight loss is not much at all. People also regained all their weight, so it was not a lasting effect.

 A dietician named Debbie Davis also mentions how vinegar might work:

“may have some benefits in terms of weight loss and weight management, but it is definitely not a quick fix”

It does have an effect on controlling blood sugar, but taking apple cider vinegar in high amounts and on an empty stomach can promote side effects such as:

Increased acid production in the stomach, difficulty swallowing, and nausea.

         • Increased burping, throat damage, and upset stomach.

It can also be difficult to drink straight shots of vinegar since it’s acidic and it has a very sour taste.

Other issues are mentioned by Web MD:

“It’s so acidic that it could harm our tooth enamel and your esophagus”

This is why it’s often advised to take only small amounts and to dilute it with water. It’s unknown if this is allowed while doing the Apple Cider Vinegar Diet.

Our experts have created a list of the very best weight loss diets in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet is simple; it only requires eating sensibly while introducing apple cider vinegar before meals. There’sno much available support, and there’s no recommendations for foods.

While apple cider vinegar can be healthy, it’s not enough to promote well rounded weight loss. Taking it on its own can be potentially harmful especially when drank repeatedly and on an empty stomach. This diet requires it to be taken just before meals which can strain the body.

Due to the potential side effects and lack of quality information about how potent it is for weight loss, it’s an overall poor diet. To see which diets were rated as the best for weight loss, click the link cited here.

The Price and Quality of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple cider vinegar is the only food which is specificallyrecommended to be taken. It’s typically sold in a glass jug for just a few dollars. Since this diet requires 3 tablespoons before meals, it’s likely one will have to buy in bulk.

There’s not much support offered by this diet however, as it’s basically explained in just a few sentences. No information is provided at all on what kinds of foods to use, instead it’s essentially advised to make sure to eat healthy and add apple cider vinegar. While this is a simple request, it’s unknown if this would be enough to promote long lasting or effective weight loss results.

The few studies available have only shown slight weight loss in a few groups. It’s unclear if this is a safe diet to use repeatedly and for a long time. Our experts have created a comprehensive list of the highest ranking weight loss diets available here.

Business of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

There’s no informationavailable to help show who created this diet, and no book or official guide is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to ask the creators any information about how to use this diet, or to learn of any tips.

The basics are outlined in a few websites that do not mention where they found information about this diet. This makes it impossible to determine why they suggest 3 tablespoons every day before each meal. It’s important to verify if this is the optimal amount, as it can be difficult to drink this much.

They also fail to mention whether or not one can dilute the vinegar with water or other liquids.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Very few reviews are available online, as there are other diets which also use apple cider vinegar as a main ingredient. Many users have confused these diets and often comment on different diets without mentioning their official names.

Here are some reviews from those who have introduced apple cider vinegar into their diets:

“its not working with me”

“it is hard to swallow”

“My throat is still burning this morning”

“couldn’t get past the horrible taste heartburn, and being so thirsty. Also made me feel a little strange, kinda spacey”

It was hard for many to swallow this much apple cider vinegar. People oftencomplained about side effects such as heartburn, sore throat, nausea, inability to enjoy foods, and increased acidity.

When taking largeamounts of apple cider vinegar, it’s likely to promote increased stomach acids which can make eating more difficult. However, it can also promote side effects such as the one’s customers have listed above.

There were some that did manage to lose weight, but it’s unclear if this is a healthy approach to weight loss. There’s nothing in apple cider vinegar alone which is known to help promote any long lasting weight loss effects.

Click the link cited here for a comprehensive listing of the top ranked weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Work?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet has a very simple premise; it calls for eating in moderation and taking 3 tablespoons of this vinegar before meals. There is no official guide or website which claims to have created this diet. There are only a few sentences which help explain it. It’s unknown whether or not it would be safe to use repeatedly, or why it specified a specific 3 tablespoons. Without more information, it’s impossible to determine whether or not it was created with legitimatescience in mind. There were also mixed reviews from some people only experiencing side effects and others with modest weight loss. It’s unlikely to produce any long lasting effects however, as there’s no evidence to help support this exact diet.

Our review experts have reviewed many diets and the most effective one for weight loss was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of anappetitesuppressingmealreplacement that relieves hunger for hours, and a fat burning diet pill that helps to increase metabolism. Both have only natural ingredients without any stimulants, fillers, preservatives or fillers. They also have been rate highly by users who have leftpositivetestimonials and reviews on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for a risk free purchase that can be returned with no questions asked. Learn more about the benefits of the 18Shakle Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet
  • 32 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 14, 271 total comments)

Bebe

Hey toffee, just quoting myself: "What I did was NO exercise, just cut down my calorie intake. I cut down a lot (1300 per day), but I didn't starve myself or anything, just had super healthy diet." And super healthy diet as in: no soda, no fast food, less sodium, and small portions of sweets. (because I cannooot stay away from my sweets haha. :P) and of course you know, lots of fruits & veggies, lean meat, nuts, etc. the healthy foods. :) hope this helps!

While I'm here I might as well update (refer to my post below)-- it's been a week and I've dropped 4 pounds. :D Most likely water weight, but still, my tummy is flatter. Will update again in another week or so.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 7:27 pm


@ugusta

+

I just read about the ACV...I am very exited to try it out!!!Starting 2 morrow

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 10:17 am


toffee

bebe - i am taking the pills since yesterday. while u were on it last time, did u change ur diet or how did u do to lose the weight?? thx

posted Mar 1st, 2010 11:53 pm


Bebe

Bebe here. Going to start this diet again, but this time I'll be taking the actual ACV instead of tablet form. Will update in 1-2 weeks regarding progress! Last time around I was able to lose 5-7lbs in 2 weeks (see my comments below), so hopefully I can achieve the same results this time. =)

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 12:17 am


Sujee

Hi. I started ACV yesterday. is there any side effect by taking ACV. please advise. Thanks

posted Feb 16th, 2010 10:01 am


Cole

+

Hey eveyone, just wanted to check back with my update. So far this is great! I did change from using the unsweetend apple juice to just once a day and water the for the second part of the day. So far I have lost 5- lbs and counting. My energy level is so much better and I can see less bloating in my stomach. My husband has not weighed but can tell the difference in how his clothes are fitting. We did not try to eat healty at first but will once the holiday (Valentine's Day) is over. Will give another update later..Thanks

posted Feb 11th, 2010 1:22 pm


crybabi

+

Hey there..I have been on this diet for the past 2 weeks..and it's great...I drink a cup every morning...before breakfast and one before dinner..I also drink lots of water....I eat in moderation...but i don't starve myself..I am "5 "5 I started of with 190 lbs and i know weigh 185 lbs isn't that great...Good luck to you all.........

posted Feb 9th, 2010 11:03 am


nichole

Hello, im just starting this diet today. Im 5'5, 194 pounds. I was just wondering if anyone could give me a few pointers.. Thank you.

posted Feb 7th, 2010 5:32 pm


Cole

i am just starting this tonight. I used unsweetend apple juice and 1 tbsp of ACV to start me out...just can't do it with water alone. I am going to try the 2 tbsp before each meal starting tomorrow. I have stated making healthy home cooked meals as well. I will just see how it goes and hope it works. I am 175 lbs and my husband is 212. I will keep a weekly update (or as often as I can) of the results.

posted Feb 1st, 2010 12:20 am


ashley

hi bebe, i've not been eating fast food ...i've added alot of fish, veggie,and fruit to my diet and no fried foods either. Oh also i've cut back on sodas... ALOT

posted Jan 31st, 2010 2:41 pm


Bebe

Bebe here again. I've stopped taking the ACV tablets and have only gained like two pounds back.. because I've been pigging out lately. XD

Hey Ashley, what changes have you made to your diet? :)

posted Jan 31st, 2010 1:20 am


Louann

I just started this yesterday, but every website I go to says different ways to take it.

Can someone tell me their version?

posted Jan 30th, 2010 7:26 am


ashley

i've been taking acv for 2 weeks now and i've lost 8 lbs....i've changed my diet though. The first pounds that you shed will be water weight. i've done nothing but research acv for the 2 week period, i even bought a book on this stuff. if you have any questions, ask me i'll let you know what i've found out on it.


-everyone keep updating your status....we're all doing this together, it'll give us motivation!

posted Jan 28th, 2010 12:50 am


bre

+

so far ive lost 16 pounds in the first 2 weeks,its working for me

posted Jan 27th, 2010 11:45 am


Donna

Just started the ACV diet on 1/25/10 and have already lost 4 lbs. Two of my friends have lost over 50 lbs on this diet, so I know it works. I'm also on low-fat diet and drinking lots of water. I'm taking 4 capfuls in 8 oz of water 3 times per day before each meal. Hope to lose 100 lbs. Wish me luck.

posted Jan 27th, 2010 4:38 am


kar

+

I just started this last week after my sister-in-law raved about the benefits she seen using it. I was really skeptical about the weight loss portion, but I have lost 4 lbs in the last 10 days. In the last month I have been working out a few times a week and trying to eat better, but I wasn't seeing a difference. Not until the vinegar was introduced. Even on the days that I splurged - pizza/cookies/etc - I have been shocked to see that the scale is still going down. I take the vinegar straight - just a tsp before each meal. It's definitely strong and sour, but I like vinegar so it's not too bad. Definitely going to stick with this to see what other benefits I might see. Best of luck!

posted Jan 25th, 2010 12:13 pm


lllz

I am also starting this diet today. My plan is to go back to my raw diet and not cut back a lot of calories as I like nuts a lot. Adding acv (twice a day, 2 tsp per half a glass of water) and reducing sugar (milk chocolate mainly) is the plan to reach the goal

posted Jan 20th, 2010 11:24 pm


Danny SD

I am going to start this diet today with the liquid and moderrate jogging. I am at 212 lbs. to start and I will post again in a week. 11Jan2010

posted Jan 11th, 2010 3:10 pm


Steve Parker, M.D.

Japanese researchers recently documented that daily vinegar reduces body weight, fat mass, and triglycerides in overweight Japanese adults.

Beverages containing vinegar are commonly consumed in Japan. The main component??4 to 8%?? of vinegar is acetic acid. Vinegar can lower cholesterol levels, lower blood pressure, and limit increases in blood sugar after meals.

Japanese researchers studied the effects of vinegar on 175 overweight??body mass index between 25 and 30??subjects aged 25 to 60. Men totaled 111; women 64. Average weight 74.4 kg (164 pounds). They were divided into three groups that received either a placebo drink, 15 ml apple vinegar (750 mg of acetic acid), or 30 ml apple vinegar (1,500 mg acetic acid). Placebo and vinegar were mixed into 500 ml of a beverage, half of which was drunk twice daily after breakfast and supper for 12 weeks. Changes in body fat were measured with CT technology. Subjects were told to eat and exercise as usual.

Results

By the end of the 12 weeks, weight had decreased by 1-2 kg (2.2 to 4.4 pounds) in the vinegar drinkers, with 30 ml of vinegar a bit more effective. CT scanning showed that the lost weight was fat mass rather than muscle or water. Triglyceride levels in the vinegar groups fell by about 20%. The placebo drinkers saw no changes.

Four weeks after the intervention ended, subjects were retested: values had returned to their baseline, pre-study levels.

The scientists report that the acetic acid in vinegar inhibits production of fat and may stimulate burning of fat as fuel. Although vinegar contains many other ingredients, they think the acetic acid is responsible for the observed changes.

My Comments

It??s possible that apple vinegar components other than acetic acid led to the weight loss and lowered triglyceride levels. Further study could clarify this.

These results may or may not be applicable to non-Japanese races.

This study supports the use of vinaigrette as a salad or vegetable dressing in people trying to lose weight with other diets. Vinaigrettes are combinations of olive oil and vinegar, often with various spices added. If you eat a salad twice a day, it would be easy to add 15 ml (1 tbsp) of vinegar to your diet daily.

With a little imagination, you could come up with other ways to add 15??30 ml (1??2 tbsp) of vinegar to your diet.

Steve Parker, M.D.

Reference: Kondo, Toomoo, et al. Vinegar intake reduces body weight, body fat mass, and serum triglyceride levels in obese Japanese subjects. Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry, 73 (2009): 1,837-1,843.

posted Nov 18th, 2009 6:40 pm


kat

hey, I just took the apple cider vinegar juice today (1 tablesppon before each meal) and i dont understand why people complain about the taste to me its pretty good, it tastes like apples to me and is quite sour but other than that its pretty good!

posted Nov 15th, 2009 5:40 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit

Related Diets: Lemonade Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet?