Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit


Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, Lemonade Diet, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 14, 271 total comments)

wendy

I hope to start the ACV diet did anyone get any side effect from it.

posted Mar 20th, 2012 1:58 pm


nesbitt

Love it!I started it last week and lost 7 pounds.I also ordered miracle noodles and rice that have no calories.They are great.....I ordered these after losing the 7 pounds.They also have the acv with mother which I got 2 bottles of.Will keep going til I get there.lol

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 2:50 pm


nesbitt

I got the acv today but I am on b/p meds,will it interfere with them?Does anyone know?I had a friend years ago that lost a ton of weight just taking the acv and honey before meals.Good luck to everyone.

posted Feb 17th, 2012 12:01 am


Shree

Yesterday i started using ACV ..i m 194 wanna loose 50 pounds....if i find any weightloss will surely update here...wish me luck...only change i have observed since yesterday is i m feeling very active.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 4:27 pm


James Butman

Am I using the Apple Vinegar diet the right way? Apple Vinegar diet.....I don't know about the brand name mentioned but I did buy a bottle of Apple Vinegar I took one teaspoon right from the bottle.....ugh. Decided to look it up on the internet and discovered it should be used with water. Would one glass of water with one teaspoon be enough? How many times a day?

posted Jan 5th, 2012 5:07 am


Destiny

Hi everyone, I just had to update yall on my 7 pound loss in 1 day. Yayyy. I started yesterday, upon waking up I got on the scale then started the Bragg ACV 2 teaspoons 3x a day. It really work guys. I got on the scale this morning and YES I lost 7 pounds in one day. How, well it really curbs your hunger feelings and I wasnt hungry at all yesterday, I had to make myself eat some Ramen Noodles just to have some sort of food on my stomach. So if anyone say that they cant loose weight with this type of diet then something is wrong. Good luck everyone!!!

posted Dec 30th, 2011 10:34 pm


Destiny

I just started the ACV diet today and im trying to loose 100 pounds in one year. I purchased the Bragg Organic kind and have started taking 2 teaspoons full 3x a day. Wish me luck!!!

posted Dec 29th, 2011 11:10 pm


jonely

how times a day should i drink this drink? i've heard alot about the ACV diet lots of ppl told me about so i decided to start it today i'm 210 and would like to go down to at least 165 or 155 i started to exercise and eat healthy too hopefully it works

posted Oct 25th, 2011 2:34 am


Sheldon Cowles

It works. There reason why there has been no solid documented evidence of its benefits is because it would hurt the pharmaceutical industry. There's great money to be made by the sick.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 12:14 pm


slt

I am starting the ACV tomorrow morning with water

posted Aug 30th, 2011 5:40 pm


Chela

Some say the store brand apple cider vinegar doesn't work, does anyone know if it really matter what the brand is?

posted Aug 4th, 2011 12:31 am


princess

hello well i bought it yesterday and am going to give it a try...yesterday on my first drink it tasted horrible couldnt take it down to good today i added a little more water and a splash of apple juice just a splash not too much.my husband comes back into town in 6 days lets see how much i can loose in a week.i will post back if i see results...

posted Jul 24th, 2011 5:21 pm


Weightlossdesperate

UPDATE: I officially started taking Acv in 8oz water before every meal, on 30th June. My weight was 160lbs. Today is 6th July and I weigh 158 lbs. It's 2lbs lost in seven days. I am somehow not experiencing the dramatic weightloss as many of the people are, but I am Ok with it. I will keep trying.

Onething which I noticed is great improvement in my skin. My acne has dried out. My skin looks more hydrated and clear. I am really happy out.

Anyway I will keep you guys posted.. Thanks everyone for sharing their part of experience. It is motivating for me and for many others as well

posted Jul 6th, 2011 3:30 pm


Kumora

Well I started using Bragg ACV on Tues...I ve been taking 1 tblsp with 8oz of lemonade three times a day before I eat...I tried it with water and it would take me a while to drink it...but with the lemonade....it made it better to go down...So ths am i wieghed myself and down 4 pounds!!!!......I excercised once this week on the treadmill for 30 min....my appetite has decreased..because imma snacker.Will keep you posted on my journey!

posted Jul 1st, 2011 10:19 am


weightlossdesparate

i am so motivated with all these reviews that I am going to start it today. O have to shed atleast 30lbs. From 160lb to 130lb. I will update you guys as I get along

posted Jun 29th, 2011 10:18 pm


Samsam

I just started the diet today, I drank 1TBS with cranberry juice in the morning before a meal. Then at lunch I drank 2TBS in water & honey. I went to the gym for 2hrs. I went to the restroom to pee, but I havent gone #2 at all? HELP PLEASE.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 12:17 am


sweetpea

I tired 3 days ago with (1 )cup of bragg acv and with a100% honey (2tb) and I lost 2pound yesterday!!!! :)

posted Jun 6th, 2011 7:07 pm


michelle

Any recommendations for ACV tablets? Ive been looking at the ACV tablets for a while now and deciding to finally get some and try it out. Has anyone tried the tablets yet? Because there is a few tablets on the market and in not sure which one to purchase. Should you be on a diet when u take the AVC?

posted Jun 6th, 2011 5:56 am


Sondra

The only apple cider vinegar that seems to work is the Organic Braggs brand,(found in health food stores or nutritional aisle of market - most regular vinegar's found at supermarkets don't work. Also, drink anything with vinegar in it through a straw so you don't damage the enamel on your teeth. I have even mixed this Vinegar with Crystal Light or koolaid mixed with splenda to help with the taste, I try to avoid regular juices because of the sugars in them, and YES you should drink a lot of water with this diet to flush out the toxins the Vinegar is removing from your arteries etc. . To the person who asked about cellulite, for me, If I stop drinking ALL soda pop or anything carbonated, my cellulite almost disappears, but your suppose to do exercise too.

posted May 10th, 2011 2:57 pm


Zahra

My mom has told me about this for a number of years. Im 25, 5'6 and over 200+ lbs. I am trying this tomorrow and report back in week how I do. I sure hope this works.
Those who are one it, and who are going to start, goodluck!

posted May 6th, 2011 7:32 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account