Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit


Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, Lemonade Diet, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 14, 271 total comments)

harold

horrible taste but works.it lowers my blood sugar andhave more energy

posted Dec 29th, 2010 4:23 pm


Cloud

This is for Mahr. The best ACV for internal purposes is Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar. I've been taking it for six months and lost 10lbs. I do walk 1 mile a day and avoid fast food/junk food. The first thing you'll noticed when taking ACV is that it curbs your appetite, so you don't eat with your eyes. My routine is two tablespoons of Bragg??s ACV, one tablespoon of organic honey mix with 8oz of water upon rising. Same mixture in the afternoon before or after lunch and one before bedtime. I noticed my level of energy increased and it is a lot better than taking diet pills!

posted Dec 18th, 2010 7:51 am


carly

i started ACV and feel great! i have so much more energy, and i am really iron defficient, so feeling energetic is a task in itself, i even stayed up til 3am for the forst time since havin low iron! =)
My grandad swore by this..he lived til 93 and was fit and helathy pretty much the whole time until he needed a hip replacement in hosp.
i even went out and got a belly button peircing (have always been slightly overweight before now) this s*it is some kind of miracle cure all ! lol
and i cant give you guys andy bood recipes... i take 4 tbs, STRAIGHT every day. i kinda like the taste lol
PS. sorry to sound like a commercial, lol it just really is worth the 4$ you pay for it lol

posted Dec 15th, 2010 12:56 pm


Mahr

Can anyone please recommend me the right type of vinegar for weight loss. There are so many out in the market and i am ust so confused. I have been drinking Aspall cider vinegar for 2 weeks now but there has been no weight loss what so ever. Thanks.

posted Dec 7th, 2010 11:02 am


chris

i am so excited i am going to try this straight away.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 1:47 pm


Isabel

I have been taking ACV for 5 days now and cannot believe the difference it has made. I am taking it for water retention and to help with my kidney function. Within 3 days I noticed a significant difference in my legs and face. Plus I have lost weight and have more energy. I admit that I am also eating a very low protein diet but the combination with the ACV it is amazing. I just take a tablespoon in the moring and then one again at night and I pee for Africa the next day. Fantastic!!! It also tastes great over ice with a sprig of mint and topped up with water.

posted Dec 1st, 2010 2:04 am


Monei

I've researched ACV for the past week now (after one of my patient's told me about it) and have heard nothing but good reviews a couple bad, at any rate I started this today!! I hope to see some results!! I'm 5'6" and 149 lbs, would love to get down to 135, will check back in two weeks!! Wish me luck

posted Nov 30th, 2010 9:51 pm


Bella

My doc put me on ACV before meals to help with GERD.....totally works! I started out mixing it with Sprite Zero, ginger ale, etc......now I dilute with a full glass of water and sip it with my meal. No more antacids to mask poor digestion.

posted Nov 24th, 2010 4:37 pm


Michelle

My son, that is 10 years old, had 5 more lbs to lose (in the last 2 days) before football weigh-ins. Some of the other parents were doing laxatives and I didn't want to give my son the "do anything it takes to make it" impression--so I explained to him that apple cider vinegar is natural. (I did use more in this short time than I would advise to use over a longer period) I put 2 tablespoons in a bottle of water..along with 2 packets of flavoring (the best was the Hawaiian Punch brand) to mask the taste. You could still taste, but this was only for 2 days. That is all he drank and only ate a peanut butter sandwich on wheat bread at mealtimes. He lost 5 lbs in those 2 days. He has since kept it off...with no more ACV. He lost a total of 11 obs, but those last 5 we had to get off in a hurry!
Like I said, for longer term use, I would suggest much less vinegar at a time..I'm sure it could affect your stomach lining, but 2 days I felt okay about it.
Hope this helps some of you.
Good luck!

posted Oct 26th, 2010 4:02 pm


Al

I started the ACV and it is definetly working for me. I tried out 2 different brands (one was from Vitamin world, which tasted horrible) the second one I bought from a wesite called Vitacost.com, type in apple cidar vinergar in the search box and you can find a good quality organic apple cider Vinegar with the mother in it. It does not taste bad at all. I am losing about a pound everyday. I am not hungry after i drink it. It really does work. Also, I don't eat pass 3:00pm. I don't eat sugar or carbs. I don't excersize much but i am still losing a pound to a pound and a half every day. Also, I don't work for Vitacost, just try it for yourself and you will taste the difference.

posted Oct 16th, 2010 10:00 pm


dee

so ive been taking it as well for the last three days, not really to lose weight , but for my acne, and while doing some research on ACV i came accross this page.

I can honestly say, that my appettite has droppped big time. I think the vinegar tastes so effin disguting that just the smell of it makes me want to puke, and after a glass of it diluted with water...the last thing i want to do is eat. I really dont feel hungry as often...and i love to eat!

I was wondering if deliuting it with apple juice would take away some benefits as if i was to delitue with water...because i cant take it with just water, it really does make me puke.. anyone...?

posted Sep 21st, 2010 10:11 pm


cynthia

i would like to start the ACV diet and was wondering if anyone has tried mixing it with water and would it have the same benefits

posted Sep 5th, 2010 9:07 am


Annelize

Hi guys. After reading all the great reviews on using ACV I'm gonne try it! I'm aroung 150lbs and I'm short so I'm quite round at the moment. Want to get down to at least 120lbs, and seeing as I love cooking and eating it's nearly IMPOSSIBLE for me to diet! Have been drinking lots of water though and cut out the chocolates and snacks. Wish me luck!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 9:51 am


babylj

been using braggs acv for 2 weeks/ lost my appetite, lost my cravings for sweets, and i lost 7lbs already..

I'mtaking 1tbsp 3xa day!

posted Aug 30th, 2010 7:25 am


shawn

I have used this ACV before, and during the 3-4wks that I used it I had so much energy through out the day, I felt great! All my cravings were gone and I was barely hungry had no appetite to eat anything. I can't remember the last time I felt so great..., But you can ONLY USE Organic Raw Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar with the "MOTHER". The "Mother" is strand like enzyme molecules that you can see floating around in the bottle. I use BRAGG acv. But please DO NOT use regular acv that you would, it does not have the same effect and is to harsh for your stomach.

posted Aug 26th, 2010 1:58 pm


karma

Hello I have been readin everybody who comments for the last few days....I really really hope this diet works because I am going to start Monday! My plan well it is no plan the only thing I have is stomach and arms that I need to work on and im hoping this diet works for me...I want to be sexy by next summer any info contact me personally I am very serious and so ready to get started....

posted Aug 21st, 2010 3:37 pm


TaTa

after reading some of the comments on here, I'm gonna go and buy the acv today and keep everyone posted. I have tried so many diets but it's hard for me to stick with them because it takes so long for me to see results, so wish me luck!!!

posted Aug 21st, 2010 9:34 am


kya27

I'm wondering whether it would be ok for me to try, I didn't think so as I have erosive gastritis & hernia but when i googled ACV it said it could help. Has anyone else with stomach problems tried it and had results... good or bad?

posted Aug 16th, 2010 2:59 pm


Ajene

Hey guys I want to start this diet but i wanted to know if I can use the regular acv from the store because my friend used it and she lost 6lbs in two weeks?????

posted Aug 10th, 2010 5:31 pm


Katerina

Hi there!
I started ACV about 7 weeks ago to ditch my baby weight and i lost almost 17 pounds with no diet. I even have a cake or cookie when i want to. it is awesome. I'm very pleased with ACV. I feel so great.

posted Jul 30th, 2010 5:14 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account