Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit


Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, Lemonade Diet, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 14, 271 total comments)

jessica

ok i want to try this diet. However, can anyone tel me if the skin stays stretched and saggy if we lose pounds so quickly/ or does your stomach slowly get smaller as you shed poundS? im just curious because i dont want to look saggy when im done.

posted Feb 13th, 2009 1:07 pm


Kashi

It works if you know how to use it.....

I can tell you shed the weight almost instantly:

I lost 8 LBS in one week....

Here is the 1-2 week diet plan:

Eat only fruits and veggies
Work out for 30-60 minutes a day
Mix 2 Tbsp Organic ACV in 8 oz.. distilled water at room temperature. (drink only at dinner- once a day)

**Also, find something that will make you "go to the bathroom" every morning.** :)

Eating raw grapes first thing in the morning works for me!

You will lose the MINIMUM of 5 lbs the first week.

Cycle on and off of this diet. 2 weeks at a time.

Good Luck! :)

posted Feb 5th, 2009 1:31 pm


Joannemali

i have just started the acv diet this morning and im so hoping that it works, i would like to lose alot of weight, i now weight 208lbs since having my son nearly 3 years ago the baby weight just wont go, so ill write back in two weeks and see what happens, fingers crossed. xx

posted Feb 5th, 2009 9:20 am


Lizzy Ray

This also what my dr. said to to do... it helps your PH too.

posted Jan 27th, 2009 12:19 pm


Carmen

Ive heard alot about this diet so Im gonna try it. I started 3 days ago and so far Im the same. I want to lose 10-15lbs by summer, hopefully this will help!

posted Jan 14th, 2009 12:15 pm


fazila

hi, Queen... ou should be using an organic brand vinegar and 2 tbs before every meal and before going to bed. Please dilute it in at least 16 ounces of water and drink it befor breakfast, lunch and dinner. Has to be organic acv, which has the "mother". i am at 7 weeks of using the acv, i am 5'1 and started at 140, i am now 132lbs, also i have lost 2-3 inches off of my lovehandles. Every body is different, so it might take you a little longer to see results. good luck

posted Dec 30th, 2008 10:38 am


Queen_Q

hi i am on this diet for 15 days and its not working with me can any one tell me what is good pills or vinegar it self .

posted Dec 30th, 2008 12:11 am


Fazila

i have been on this diet for a month now, and it has helped me lose inches off my waist as well as pounds. I started at 140 and i am 134 now.

posted Dec 20th, 2008 12:39 pm


Queen_Q

hi i am starting this today and let see how will it work with me .

posted Dec 16th, 2008 11:48 pm


LadyD

Has anybody experienced actual bone loss from using apple cider vinegar on a long-term basis...what vitamins can be taken so apple cider vinegar would not affect my body in anyway?

posted Dec 8th, 2008 6:14 pm


ahhh

its good

posted Nov 27th, 2008 2:58 pm


sage

okay...it totally works,

posted Nov 17th, 2008 12:13 am


laura

NEVER SIP acv it will strip the enamel

on your teeth and irritate the esophogus.

i suggest diluting 2 tsps with 8 oz. of warm water and drinking in small gulps or place on back of tounge and swallow.

for first time users use a small dosage and move up over a week to 2 tsps 15 mins before 3 to 4 meals a day. DO NOT EXCEED 8 tsps a day as stomach and throat irritaion will follow.

posted Nov 16th, 2008 7:32 pm


Annie

I take ACV tablets and have been for 2 years. I take 2 tablets after breakfast. And that's it. It works for me, it curbs my hunger, helps burn the fat, and helps keep my acne at bay. At first I took 2 tabs after breakfast and dinner and then to keep my weight steady I've cut back to two a day. I used to weigh in at 180 now I'm holding steady at 150 :)
I've tried lots and lots of diets and diet pills... this ACV is the best. Along with daily exercise, sensible eating, and of course daily vitamin. Oh yeah and I've trained myself to eat something every 2-3 hours and to stop eating at 8pm... drink lots of H20 and exercise your brain. You can do it! all you have to do is train your mind, the rest will follow. P.S. my initial adult weight was 265lbs, thanks to Adkins diet to help my initial weight loss. :)

posted Nov 15th, 2008 2:18 pm


MARY MINA

I have been using ACV for about 2 mnths now. and feel great. Even people are noticing the weight loss. I am just worried about the bone loss downside of long term use. The diet has curbed my cravings and am very happy. Can you please advise how long is the long term use and should I stop it or just take a very small dose.

Thank you and regards

Mary Mina

posted Nov 13th, 2008 8:22 pm


sandra

i have a question i stared a low fat diet ans acn 1 tsp ace in my orange juice is this all right.

posted Nov 13th, 2008 4:01 pm


Sheryl

Hello there. I started the ACV diet this week. It does curb your cravings, and makes you feel fuller. I reccommend taking some to work and putting a dash in your water cup. I sip it through out the day. I will keep you posted on the weight loss. I'm at 144 right now. I'm looking to get back to my weight of 115-118.





Good luck!

posted Nov 12th, 2008 2:29 pm


Lindsay

My friend told me about this the other day and I did some research on it and thought I would try it. I just started today so I will let you know in a few days if it helps.. Has anyone taking the pills before?? I heard of it but didnt know if it was the same or not. Also the taste is so bad to me. Anyone got any good ways to help??

posted Nov 11th, 2008 7:00 pm


fazila

My mom has used the apple cider diet for lowering cholesterol and drop a few pounds. After reading all the reviews, i will start and get back in two weeks

posted Nov 11th, 2008 1:54 pm


Gail

I started last week taking ACV for acid reflux, 1 T diluted in a cup of water, and it's working. If it helps with weight loss, one thing I've noted is that it has neutralized the stale tast I get in my mouth. This taste often leads me to eat something to cover it up, so if my mouth feels good, then the ACV is doing another job.

posted Nov 11th, 2008 12:38 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account