Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit


Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, Lemonade Diet, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 14, 271 total comments)

Joyce

I've been researching the ACV diet for a while now and think it's about time I take the plunge. I am 5'4 and weigh 152. My goal weight is 135. I will incorporate daily exercise into my daily routine as I'm sure that will help with the weight loss. I will give an update in two weeks.

posted Jul 29th, 2010 5:24 pm


Jessica

Hi guys, I recently did the HCG diet and lost 17 lbs in 21 days!! I then started working for a company that specializes in the diet in the St. Louis area. I am starting another round and will be using the ACV to maximize my results. But I HIGHLY recommend the HCG diet along with the ACV! HCG actually pulls from your abnormal stored fat and burns 1500 to 4000 calories a day and so then you eat a low calorie diet because you're living off of your stored fat. If you would like more information you can email me at Good luck everyone!!

posted Jul 21st, 2010 9:42 pm


Marcia

I have been drinking Organic apple cider vinegar for years. I drink it because of the awesome benefits. I lost 20 pounds the first year and I have been ablr to maintain it. I also noticed that I am not tired anymore, which is awesome. I do hate the taste and I just recently came across this new product ACV On the Run. The websited address is www.acvlifestyle.com anyone seen this because it looks pretty cool. Thank you

posted Jul 19th, 2010 7:29 pm


Diane

I just finished my 2nd day of the diet, and although it is too early to definitively tell, I am seeing results. However, I think the acv may be destroying my esophagus! My throat has been hurting ever since starting this diet, I think due to the acidity of the acv...Has anyone else experienced this?

posted Jul 12th, 2010 11:00 pm


Nicole

I started drinking the ACV yesterday, I weighed myself this morning and lost 4lbs in one day. Im still in disbelief, but after reading everyones reviews and seeing it myself I guess it is the real deal! Good luck to everyone!

posted Jul 11th, 2010 8:59 pm


liz

Wwll i started to drink acv today,i ave eard great tings about it! i weigh 180 hope to loose some weigt!!!

will check back with u in 2 weeks to explain the results!

posted Jul 7th, 2010 4:02 pm


Madeline

So my update...I've lost 3 lbs this week. I've eaten 1200-1300 calories every day, haven't exercised. I dont know if fhe cider vinegar makes the weight loss happen but for me I use it just to supplement my diet... it makes dieting so much easier.... i don't have any cravings anymore, and when I get hungry its for fresh fruits and veggies and light foods. I also have been drinking lots of water. I highly recommend ACV. I use Braggs unfiltered.

posted Jun 26th, 2010 10:22 pm


Tye

Hello all so I started this diet yesterday and I have noticed that I dont have a strong appitite. I have a few questions ok 1 does it really matter that its not BRAGGs I brought Spectrum Organic unpasterurized( filtered) thats the only thing that they sell around my school its a small town with really nothing but a market. why does it have to be unfiltered? I have been feeling the same affects as others who have the unfiltered! oh yeah and my bottle says with "Mother" I just need a little insight into what I need to do inorder for this to be sucessful..

posted Jun 22nd, 2010 6:58 pm


Carlos

I only found a store name brand bottle of this, dont know if its organic or not, how can I know? Will the one I bought work?

Thanks.

posted Jun 20th, 2010 11:37 pm


Madeline

Definitely is working as an appetite supressant. Will let you know if I see any weight loss...
BTW, I struggled to reach the minimum calorie goal of 1200 calories today. THAT NEVER HAPPENS with me... i LOVE to eat. Ive been taking 1 tbsp in water 3-4x daily. Its really good in tea with honey. Love this stuff, hope it delivers results fast... but anyway I am just thoroughly amazed. I don't know why I havent heard of it before if its such a healthy and quick fix to losing weight!

posted Jun 20th, 2010 11:00 pm


Madeline

This is strange... I got the organic Bragg's like everyone has been saying. Yesterday, my first day of trying it, my cravings were still strong, but I think that is because I am PMSing big-time. Today, I got on the scale after waking up and I had not gained anything even after pigging out on half a pizza yesterday. Today, my cravings and desire to eat are gone. It's weird...I'm the type to eat when i'm bored, and I just went to the grocery store and bought a bunch of new stuff, and got home and unpacked...its lunch time...and I have absolutely no desire to eat. all I ate this morning was a granola bar that I forced down after my morning dose of ACV. I'm learning to like the taste, too. If you dilute it well enough in a glass of ice water, it can pass as lemon in your water. I like to sip it out of a straw, to minimize enamel damage. You don't taste the vinegar as much when you drink it like that, too.
I'll update whenever I start seeing results. As far as I can tell, if the ACV doesnt make me lose weight, my extreme loss of appetite definitely will!

posted Jun 20th, 2010 1:50 pm


Jessie

I JUST START TRYING THE AVC MIXS WITH THE APPLE CIDER JUICE TO MAKE IT TAST A LITTLE BETTER BUT START ON MONDAY I LOST 1 POUND AND TODAY IS JUNE 16 2010

posted Jun 16th, 2010 11:58 pm


lynda

I weight 181, I decided to try Braggs apple cider vinger, starting today. Will let you know in two weeks, have I lost any weight.

posted Jun 10th, 2010 8:20 am


Barbara

My 97 year old great grandmother has been telling me about apple cider vinegar for over 15 years. I am going to try it tonight..I will check back in one month.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 9:45 pm


Sara

oh i am starting acv diet today! i read about this diet long time ago, but the way i read it is taking some in the morning with plenty of water 40 mins b4 you eat. anyways, what i am gonna do is take it also after my small portioned meal because really fi you think about it, no diet works if you eat LARGE meals 4 or 5 times a day.. its all will! will is power! common ladies we can do it!

posted Jun 7th, 2010 8:55 am


amber

I have been taking ACV (originally for a stomach bug) but I have lost 15 pounds in 2 months. Also my acne has cleared up. It is an amazing thing:) I heard it helps with depression because it detoxes the liver. My anxiety is gone....
I am so thankful for ACV!!!

posted May 31st, 2010 8:09 am


Simone

I tried apple cider vinegar (unfiltered, with mother) about 8 years ago and lost 12 pounds in 3 months without exercising or changing my diet. Interestingly I only took it once per day, before breakfast (2 tablespoons to 8 ounces warm water). I like warm in the a.m. Now I decided to do this again a month ago and has already lost 3 pounds. I still take it once daily and I exercise at least 3 times per week (walking for half-an-hour), Apart from reducing appetite and weight loss, the benefits are tremendous. It has helped reduce my blood pressure and cholesterol levels. I would recommend the ACV diet to anyone. Get Braggs unfiltered with "Mother."

posted May 27th, 2010 9:09 am



lori t

I'm trying the ACV. I started today, and I hope it will give me a boost in my weight loss. I've been at a stand still for sometime now, and I don't want to get discouraged, and give up I've done great so far, and plan on continuing. One thing I've notice on the reviews is the small amounts of weight loss reported so far on the ACV diet plan. I'm hoping to get better results for the amount of weight I still need to lose is large in comparison to other reviews.

posted May 21st, 2010 10:34 pm


Wahida

If you don't like the taste of the ACV add a teaspoon of honey and dilute well with water. If you really hate it put it in a glass of apple juice. It will still work. I don't believe its just suppressing appetite as I have not reduced meals. I think and have read that it speeds up your metabolism and helps your stomach to digest the fat better in the foods that you are eating. I think it literally melts away fat in your body. Make sure its the unpasteurised/unfiltered organic acv.

posted May 10th, 2010 9:19 am


Wahida

Hi I have been doing this for about 1 week now. and have lost an amazing 7lb, I take the ACV 2 teaspoons only in a tall glass of water with manuka honey sometimes. Sometimes just with water.

I have done only one 20 min session of excercise in that time and I am fairly unfit and don't excercise as I am a busy mum and feel to exhausted most of the time.

The only other thing that I have changed is replace my one afternoon coffee and biscuit with a cup of green tea (also supposed to boost metabolism) and a banana to fill me up in the afternoons instead of cake or biscuit I have still eaten chocolates, the odd biscuit and peanuts during this week so not on a diet at all but have still lost. whether its the ACV or the green tea I have lost weight. I know its exact as I got new digital scales just before starting this so I know I am not mistaken. ACV and green tea have so many health benefits I thought why not. I wasn't prepare to diet or starve myself and be miserable. I have another 7lb to lose so I will continue!!

posted May 10th, 2010 9:13 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account