Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

32%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Review: Does it Work?

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is a weight loss solution that requires users to drink a vinegar solution before meals. No official guide is offered to help explain what is needed to follow this plan, but there are simple suggestions made.

There is no added meal plan and instead it’s advised to eat in moderation while using this diet. Apple cider vinegar has become a popular holistic food as it’s claimed to be able to promote many health benefits. Our review experts have analyzed many unique diets and they’ve concluded the best overall is the 18Shake Diet. It ranks high in customer satisfaction due to its appetite suppressing meal replacement and fat burning diet pill. They help to increase weight loss without the use of stimulants, artificial ingredients, or fillers. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you click on the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The outline for this diet is simple, it has no official recipe, meal plan, or menu offered. It’s only advised to eat in moderation and to avoid snacking.

One has to take 3 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar around 15 minutes before eating a meal. One teaspoon is advised for first time users of apple cider vinegar, as it can be difficult to swallow. For a comprehensive list of the highest rated diets, click on the link here.

The reason why this diet was created was due to a 12 person study which showed that people who ate white vinegar with bread felt fuller than those who only ate the bread by itself. Still, it’s inconclusive since there were only 12 participants.

This diet is also said to increase overall health, though any weight loss benefits are said to be gradual and not all encompassing. It still requires having to control calorie intake, though no suggestions are offered as to what one should eat or how limited one’s food selections should be.Therefore, there’snot much available support given to followers of this diet.

Web MD also cited a study which used vinegar as a weight loss tool:

“175 obese but healthy people tool either vinegar or water daily for 12 weeks. Their diets were similar”

“At the end of the study, those who used vinegar lost slightly more weight on average. The vinegar group lost 1-2 pounds over the 3-month period. They gained it all back after the study was over”

While this study did show someweight loss, there wasn’t much benefit to it. A small 1 to 2 pounds of weight loss is not much at all. People also regained all their weight, so it was not a lasting effect.

 A dietician named Debbie Davis also mentions how vinegar might work:

“may have some benefits in terms of weight loss and weight management, but it is definitely not a quick fix”

It does have an effect on controlling blood sugar, but taking apple cider vinegar in high amounts and on an empty stomach can promote side effects such as:

Increased acid production in the stomach, difficulty swallowing, and nausea.

         • Increased burping, throat damage, and upset stomach.

It can also be difficult to drink straight shots of vinegar since it’s acidic and it has a very sour taste.

Other issues are mentioned by Web MD:

“It’s so acidic that it could harm our tooth enamel and your esophagus”

This is why it’s often advised to take only small amounts and to dilute it with water. It’s unknown if this is allowed while doing the Apple Cider Vinegar Diet.

Our experts have created a list of the very best weight loss diets in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet is simple; it only requires eating sensibly while introducing apple cider vinegar before meals. There’sno much available support, and there’s no recommendations for foods.

While apple cider vinegar can be healthy, it’s not enough to promote well rounded weight loss. Taking it on its own can be potentially harmful especially when drank repeatedly and on an empty stomach. This diet requires it to be taken just before meals which can strain the body.

Due to the potential side effects and lack of quality information about how potent it is for weight loss, it’s an overall poor diet. To see which diets were rated as the best for weight loss, click the link cited here.

The Price and Quality of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple cider vinegar is the only food which is specificallyrecommended to be taken. It’s typically sold in a glass jug for just a few dollars. Since this diet requires 3 tablespoons before meals, it’s likely one will have to buy in bulk.

There’s not much support offered by this diet however, as it’s basically explained in just a few sentences. No information is provided at all on what kinds of foods to use, instead it’s essentially advised to make sure to eat healthy and add apple cider vinegar. While this is a simple request, it’s unknown if this would be enough to promote long lasting or effective weight loss results.

The few studies available have only shown slight weight loss in a few groups. It’s unclear if this is a safe diet to use repeatedly and for a long time. Our experts have created a comprehensive list of the highest ranking weight loss diets available here.

Business of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

There’s no informationavailable to help show who created this diet, and no book or official guide is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to ask the creators any information about how to use this diet, or to learn of any tips.

The basics are outlined in a few websites that do not mention where they found information about this diet. This makes it impossible to determine why they suggest 3 tablespoons every day before each meal. It’s important to verify if this is the optimal amount, as it can be difficult to drink this much.

They also fail to mention whether or not one can dilute the vinegar with water or other liquids.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Very few reviews are available online, as there are other diets which also use apple cider vinegar as a main ingredient. Many users have confused these diets and often comment on different diets without mentioning their official names.

Here are some reviews from those who have introduced apple cider vinegar into their diets:

“its not working with me”

“it is hard to swallow”

“My throat is still burning this morning”

“couldn’t get past the horrible taste heartburn, and being so thirsty. Also made me feel a little strange, kinda spacey”

It was hard for many to swallow this much apple cider vinegar. People oftencomplained about side effects such as heartburn, sore throat, nausea, inability to enjoy foods, and increased acidity.

When taking largeamounts of apple cider vinegar, it’s likely to promote increased stomach acids which can make eating more difficult. However, it can also promote side effects such as the one’s customers have listed above.

There were some that did manage to lose weight, but it’s unclear if this is a healthy approach to weight loss. There’s nothing in apple cider vinegar alone which is known to help promote any long lasting weight loss effects.

Click the link cited here for a comprehensive listing of the top ranked weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Work?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet has a very simple premise; it calls for eating in moderation and taking 3 tablespoons of this vinegar before meals. There is no official guide or website which claims to have created this diet. There are only a few sentences which help explain it. It’s unknown whether or not it would be safe to use repeatedly, or why it specified a specific 3 tablespoons. Without more information, it’s impossible to determine whether or not it was created with legitimatescience in mind. There were also mixed reviews from some people only experiencing side effects and others with modest weight loss. It’s unlikely to produce any long lasting effects however, as there’s no evidence to help support this exact diet.

Our review experts have reviewed many diets and the most effective one for weight loss was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of anappetitesuppressingmealreplacement that relieves hunger for hours, and a fat burning diet pill that helps to increase metabolism. Both have only natural ingredients without any stimulants, fillers, preservatives or fillers. They also have been rate highly by users who have leftpositivetestimonials and reviews on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for a risk free purchase that can be returned with no questions asked. Learn more about the benefits of the 18Shakle Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet
  • 32 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 15, 282 total comments)

slt

I am starting the ACV tomorrow morning with water

posted Aug 30th, 2011 5:40 pm


Chela

?

Some say the store brand apple cider vinegar doesn't work, does anyone know if it really matter what the brand is?

posted Aug 4th, 2011 12:31 am


princess

hello well i bought it yesterday and am going to give it a try...yesterday on my first drink it tasted horrible couldnt take it down to good today i added a little more water and a splash of apple juice just a splash not too much.my husband comes back into town in 6 days lets see how much i can loose in a week.i will post back if i see results...

posted Jul 24th, 2011 5:21 pm


Weightlossdesperate

+

UPDATE: I officially started taking Acv in 8oz water before every meal, on 30th June. My weight was 160lbs. Today is 6th July and I weigh 158 lbs. It's 2lbs lost in seven days. I am somehow not experiencing the dramatic weightloss as many of the people are, but I am Ok with it. I will keep trying.

Onething which I noticed is great improvement in my skin. My acne has dried out. My skin looks more hydrated and clear. I am really happy out.

Anyway I will keep you guys posted.. Thanks everyone for sharing their part of experience. It is motivating for me and for many others as well

posted Jul 6th, 2011 3:30 pm


Kumora

+

Well I started using Bragg ACV on Tues...I ve been taking 1 tblsp with 8oz of lemonade three times a day before I eat...I tried it with water and it would take me a while to drink it...but with the lemonade....it made it better to go down...So ths am i wieghed myself and down 4 pounds!!!!......I excercised once this week on the treadmill for 30 min....my appetite has decreased..because imma snacker.Will keep you posted on my journey!

posted Jul 1st, 2011 10:19 am


weightlossdesparate

i am so motivated with all these reviews that I am going to start it today. O have to shed atleast 30lbs. From 160lb to 130lb. I will update you guys as I get along

posted Jun 29th, 2011 10:18 pm


Samsam

I just started the diet today, I drank 1TBS with cranberry juice in the morning before a meal. Then at lunch I drank 2TBS in water & honey. I went to the gym for 2hrs. I went to the restroom to pee, but I havent gone #2 at all? HELP PLEASE.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 12:17 am


sweetpea

+

I tired 3 days ago with (1 )cup of bragg acv and with a100% honey (2tb) and I lost 2pound yesterday!!!! :)

posted Jun 6th, 2011 7:07 pm


michelle

?

Any recommendations for ACV tablets? Ive been looking at the ACV tablets for a while now and deciding to finally get some and try it out. Has anyone tried the tablets yet? Because there is a few tablets on the market and in not sure which one to purchase. Should you be on a diet when u take the AVC?

posted Jun 6th, 2011 5:56 am


Sondra

+

The only apple cider vinegar that seems to work is the Organic Braggs brand,(found in health food stores or nutritional aisle of market - most regular vinegar's found at supermarkets don't work. Also, drink anything with vinegar in it through a straw so you don't damage the enamel on your teeth. I have even mixed this Vinegar with Crystal Light or koolaid mixed with splenda to help with the taste, I try to avoid regular juices because of the sugars in them, and YES you should drink a lot of water with this diet to flush out the toxins the Vinegar is removing from your arteries etc. . To the person who asked about cellulite, for me, If I stop drinking ALL soda pop or anything carbonated, my cellulite almost disappears, but your suppose to do exercise too.

posted May 10th, 2011 2:57 pm


Zahra

My mom has told me about this for a number of years. Im 25, 5'6 and over 200+ lbs. I am trying this tomorrow and report back in week how I do. I sure hope this works.
Those who are one it, and who are going to start, goodluck!

posted May 6th, 2011 7:32 pm


mimii

I started this diet yesterday 4th May. I'm 5'4 weigh 139lbs and would like to lose 20lbs. I already exercise 3 times a week but am fed up of relying on exercise to maintain my weight and wanted to do something about the sheer amount of food I can put away.

I bought a brand of acv which was organic with the mother (but wasn't bragg-hard to find in uk shops). I really don't mind the taste think it's quite nice actually lol

So since I started yesterday I have lost 3lbs! No side effects but have been peeing loads. From other peopl's comments i guess this initial loss is water weight - hoping some actual weight comes off too

I hope to keep you all posted with how this goes

posted May 5th, 2011 10:35 am


HelpMeOut

Hey im only 16 years old, im 5'2 and weight 180. Yes obese i understand :/ but i have a few quick questions.

I go to the gym every day (mostly) i run like 30mins or so in 4.5 mph.

Im very thick & i would like to know if this will remove my celulite in legs, and will make my butt shrink ?
i have avery nice butt but with alot of celulite.

will this take my butt away and muffin tops? and arm fat?

so far what have YOU lost

thnks

posted Apr 16th, 2011 12:22 pm


vanessa1116

Update:
Hi all, it's me. I started this diet on March 22, 2011. I weighed 182.8, on March 27, 2011 I weighed 180.6, today the scale says 174.6. I walk 3 times a week (I promise) and I changed my eating habits as well. I will stick this out. Good Luck to all of you...

posted Apr 4th, 2011 2:14 pm user comment


d1rtyb0xer

hello people 1st i would like to say that yes the diet does work BUTTTT only while u r on it i box and i stay on this diet for about a month b4 a fight to CUT weight i no for a fact once you get off this you will just gain the wieght right back best way to keep it off is to not take ANY suppliment and just eat healthy and work out yes it will take longer but it will also stay off... plus your heart and body will be stronger and can help liveing a long happy life whats more important looking good for a week or looking good for years and living years longer

posted Apr 1st, 2011 11:36 am


randy

+

I worked the ACV diet a few years back and LOVED it. I'm not sure how much weight I lost, and I did loose. It curbs your appetite and makes you feel great.

3 tsp. in a large glass of water: chug. only way to get through it.

I recommend this for anyone who is trying to loose weight. Nothing else (except monitoring my food intake like a mad woman and working out everyday.. which blows) has worked for me.

I recently gained some weight, and I am back on ACV... can't wait!

Also- in my experience, the pills don't work. I suggest the juice.

posted Mar 31st, 2011 9:41 am


Denise

+

Today is 3/27/11, I started this diet on 3/22/11. I use 2 tbsp of ACV (Braggs), 1 tbsp of Organic Raw Honey and I squeeze a half of lemon juice. All the products come from Publix Supermarket (not expense). I walk 1 mile, 3 times a week. When I started I weighed 182.8, today I weigh 180.6 (ONLY 5 DAYS INTO THE DIET). I have to make myself eat because I'm NEVER hungry. Truthfully I'm eating 1 meal a day and my snack are carrots, Townhouse new flat bread crackers (garlic & olive oil). My goal is 40 pounds off. This is the a very easy diet and its not expensive. The taste isn't bad at all. I wish everyone the best of luck. If you want you can email me any questions you might have. I will post my progress weekly. Thanks and Good Luck!!! Let's do this. PS: I'm 41 years old, so if I can do this so can you : )

posted Mar 27th, 2011 7:57 pm


Elizabeth

+

I'm starting the ACV diet in the morning, i hope it works ive been struggling to lose weight for the past few years, ive always been over weight so lets see if this can help.

posted Mar 16th, 2011 3:23 pm


ANNASABELA

Starting Acv today and hope it works tooQ

posted Mar 7th, 2011 6:35 pm


Nyssa

+

I started the acv diet 3days ago today's day 3 I weighted myself as soon as I woke up and have lost 3lbs!!! No change in diet but I have been eating smaller protions n I've been so energetic!! I can wake up with my kids and not be laggy!!!!

posted Mar 1st, 2011 5:56 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

PROPRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CONCON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit

Whats better than
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet?